Blue Money (TV Movie 1985) Poster

(1985 TV Movie)

User Reviews

Review this title
9 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Fun & Charming
carina66792 August 2000
This is a truly great and fun movie. I found an old copy of it in my local video store, and rented it twice!! Thanks to a fellow Tim Curry fan, I now own a copy as broadcast on the CBC network.

I'm a huge Tim Curry fan, and I love all his work. But.. I will admit that this movie is hands down the best work he's done. "Rocky Horror" was great, yes. But "Blue Money" shows off his versatility much more. I laughed, I drooled at Tim's beauty, and had a ton of fun.

We see Tim singing, dancing, doing impressions, dressing in drag (once again!), and he finally doesn't play a bad guy. Larry's no angel, but you'll love him anyway.

If you see this for rent, or in a bargain bin at a flea market or video store...BUY IT!! You'll never regret it, and own a fun movie too.
10 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
blue money
mposbiston29 March 2005
I have seen this film once and thought it was brilliant i would like to see it again but have no idea where to obtain it.i have told friends about it and they tell me they would, the acting is very good and Tim curry plays a brilliant part its also funny.I have not seen any other films with Tim Curry in so i cannot compare it with any of is other films,therefore if there is any Tim Curry fans out there this is a film for you,it will keep you in your seat from start to finish with a lot of action and a lot of laughs. I do not watch a lot of television so i may have put it on by chance i am very pleased i did.Because this film kept me in my seat,the main part of the film i can remember is Tim Curry as a taxi driver i am now a taxi driver myself and often think of this film while i am taxi driving.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This is one of Tim Curry's best roles. He sings and dances!
TimCfan25 January 2000
This is a great MUSICAL comedy. Why do they have it as a crime film for genre??? If you spend the time to get a used copy of this you will be glad you did (if you're a Tim Curry fan). He sings, dances, and does impressions. This is a Tim Curry fan pleaser.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Take the Money And Run! (spoilers)
vertigo_1425 December 2004
Warning: Spoilers
This movie was a great find...something obscure and possibly long forgotten--a low-budget English caper comedy about a chauffeur (wonderfully played--as usual--by Tim Curry) and aspiring stage performer who, almost seemingly down on his luck and out on his ass, comes upon a rather problematic opportunity when he finds his employer carries around a suitcase full of cash.

The pathetic dolt steals the money and goes on a spending spree with his girlfriend, Pam, who unfortunately gets caught up in the mess as well, though somewhat understandably so. Although she was once reluctant to play along in the game for fear of violent retaliation by the owners of the money--South American drug lords, she has fun indulging in the "finer" things of life with her mate. This leads to a large number of problems once the drug lords figure out who has the money and follow him across the United Kingdom to get hold of it.

The beginning of the film is somewhat slow. If you are unfamiliar with the plot (although, if you read this review, you now have some idea), then you may just think it is the story of a struggling stage performer. Actually, that's pretty perfect, because the beginning moves rather slowly and at times--slightly confusingly--but once the chauffeur gets a little curious about the contents of his driver's briefcase, it is more than the story of a rather pathetic, happy-go-lucky guy. It turns into a hilarious little caper.

Moreover, the ending to this rather mad, and often hilarious, series of events was somewhat of a let down and, one might say that our character, though at times sympathetic, was still an idiot for stealing the money and, even though they presumably wanted a happy ending for the film, he got off rather light and we were left with a very vague way of tying up the loose ends of the story's on-going conflict among the main characters. Nonetheless, Tim Curry (and the rest of the cast) give a great performance.

This movie is perfect not only for Tim Curry fans, but for people who just love to watch movies, especially older, obscure ones that no one has really ever heard of, but could never hurt to try. It is a great way to pass eighty-two minutes.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Tim Curry showcase
jacquesbrel9 July 2004
This funny crime caper drama deserves wider airing. The made-for-British-television drama showcases the best of Tim Curry's mercurial talents, combining humour, parody, music and acting to create a delightful entertainment as a singing cabbie. Mr Curry has not always been a "comedy hood/villain" parody of himself as he appears in his more recent cameo performances (i.e. dating from Home Alone 2). Many fans of the Rocky Horror Picture Show will delight in seeing the Curry charm work in a smaller scale, more subtle music-focused piece of theatre.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A wonderful musical treat for Tim Curry fans
TheLittleSongbird8 October 2009
I am shocked at how underrated this film is. It is fantastic! It has a good plot, a funny script, nice camera-work that reminds me of shows like the Sweeney and fine direction. The soundtrack is absolutely brilliant, especially Blue Money, Hit The Road Jack and Love Me Tender. In fact all the songs are superb, but these are the ones that stand out. One of my favourite scenes was the audition scene, and I loved the line "if he dies I'll bleeding kill him!" But what makes the film so hugely enjoyable is the performance of Tim Curry; here he acts, sings, dances and does impressions and he does the whole lot to perfection. Is there anything he cannot do? Seemingly not, it just makes you wonder why such a talented actor like Tim hasn't got the respect he so rightly deserves. Also, although he sang superbly in Rocky Horror Picture Show, and we all know that Tim has an amazing voice, this is the best I've heard him sing. As for Larry Gormley himself, you cannot help love him, he is naughty, yet so lovable, handsome and charming. Debby Bishop is just great as Pam, and she too has a marvellous and overlooked voice. If you love Tim Curry, like I do, then this is a wonderful musical treat for you. 10/10 Bethany Cox
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great Fun
MrExcitement8 March 2008
They sure don't make TV movies like this anymore. You don't know how funny and talented Tim Curry is until you see this movie. There's action, comedy, great music, and one hell of a funny cast. BLUE MONEY was fantastic. Tim Curry as the charming & funny Larry and Debby Bishop as the sweet and lovable girlfriend, Pam. Tim Curry does everything from singing to doing impressions. I loved this movie, and luckily was able to find a copy on Amazon. I recently dug it out and enjoyed it again. It is a shame they don't make great movies like this for TV anymore. If you haven't seen this movie, check it out. You won't regret it. It's a Tim Curry fan must-see. It gets funnier every time I see it.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Pearl Among Pebbles
Captain_Cobweb13 June 2010
Without a doubt this movie captures it all, Tim Curry is excellent as usual even though his Irish accent is probably the worst i have heard it just seems to fit anyway.

His mannerisms and facial expressions make you laugh out loud. i just love the way this film was put together and am so surprised that it has not been shown more, this is one of those golden films that will someday be shown to a generation of new young watchers who will give it a cult status.

Bravo to all involved and my hat is off to Tim Curry for his great talent. Thank You.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Should you watch this? (1 Spoiler)
conthesleepy112 August 2007
Warning: Spoilers
Boringly = yes. I'm afraid to disappoint you with yet another fan of this movie. But the answer is yes, you should watch it.. Because, well, its rather good! On a personal note it was one of the rare movies that my father and i both enjoyed watching very much. Possibly as we're Irish, I dunno. He's passed on now but, as a quote I heard him laugh at when watching this film would be from

Tim Curry: "If he dies.. ... I'll bleedin' kill him!" -

But you'll have to watch it to get the humor. You'll know what i'm saying when/if you do... ;¬)

So Yes .. watch it. I liked the charm and feel to the movie. Acting was extremely good. Characters charming. And I guess yes, musically it is pretty flawless - The songs = class. And what makes them more personal is the charm that is generated by the actors and actresses who give an honest, realistic performance offset by a creative/humorous/charming performance from Tim Curry. Who manages the job effortlessly. Didn't know it was for T.V. originally.

Know its very hard to get though. My Pops tried for ages...

On that note has anyone seen Darby O'Gill and the Little people - another one of his faves. heh heh.

Okay... so I.d give it an 8.4. And I'm personally very glad I could comment on this movie - So thanks IMDb. - great site.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed