Cheers (TV Series 1982–1993) Poster

(1982–1993)

User Reviews

Review this title
112 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
A Classic
vorazqux13 August 2010
Cheers was one of those shows that had all of the ingredients of being a success from its inception, yet it took a while before it really gained the respect it has over the years. In fact, it was in jeopardy of being canceled after its first season due to low ratings. However, thanks to some smart executives, amazing writers, and a stellar cast, Cheers persevered. The sitcom mainly takes place in a bar and focuses on the daily lives of a variety of colorful characters and the comical situations they create. In a way, it's like watching a slice of what it means to be a citizen in this great country. We are a melting pot of different people, circumstances, beliefs, hang–ups, triumphs, misfortunes, etc., yet when push comes to shove in moments of desperation and/or despair, we work it all out. We work as a team to solve problems and get through each day, whether it be a good one or a day wrought with idiosyncrasies. That's what the patrons in Cheers do. Sure, they have their issues and selfish forays that help define them as individuals, but they're basically good people with good hearts. Everybody commits selfish acts sometimes. This show simply magnifies these types of predicaments for the sake of humor that's all in good fun. It's nice to know there is a place where everyone knows your name that is an extended family of sorts. Sometimes we have to get away from those closest to us just to recharge our batteries. Wouldn't it be nice if everyone could go to a place like Cheers to unwind now and then?

The main ensemble included the cocky–but–likable head bartender, Sam Malone (Ted Danson). I believe Danson was perfectly cast here, and his two Emmy wins are well–deserved. Sam had a love interest on the show for the first five seasons named Diane Chambers (Shelly Long). She was brilliant as the stuffy, neurotic bookworm filled with insecurities and dilemmas that would drive anyone nuts. When Long left the show, Rebecca Howe (Kirstie Alley) took over. She would eventually buy the bar and have her own insecurities to contend with. She had big shoes to fill as Diane was a popular television character. In fact, Long won an Emmy and two Golden Globes for her scene stealing performances. Alley, to her credit, was a terrific replacement because she brought in a distinctive flavor to her character and added a different dimension to the show. She won an Emmy as well. Rhea Perlman played the fiery head waitress, Carla. She could be a bit hard to swallow at times, but she was dead–on in all of her performances and has four Emmy awards to prove it. The rest of the cast included the spacey bartender, Ernie Pantusso (Nicholas Colasanto), naive bartender Woody (Woody Harrelson – who replaced The Coach after his death in real life), couch potato, Norm (George Wendt), goofy mailman, Cliff (John Ratzenberger), quirky Dr. Frasier Crane (Kelsey Grammar – who went on to star in his own very successful spin off show aptly titled Frasier), and Frasier's uptight wife, Lilith (Bebe Neuwirth). All of these diverse characters provided plenty of humorous material and the actors/actresses played them to a tee. It was their top notch performances that propelled this show to a higher level than it already was.

In closing, Cheers offers the viewer the opportunity to escape the rat race world of the major cities (and perhaps the humdrum of small towns??) that we live in where we can enjoy some good conversation, a few laughs, and great company. Feeling welcome is never a bad thing...
31 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
What Television Is Meant to Be.
tfrizzell29 July 2003
A dominant block-buster of a television series that put NBC on top in the ratings race in the 1980s and the network has not looked back since. When "Cheers" first came into homes around the nation in 1982, it was greatly ignored by the viewing public. The Emmy Awards more than anything resurrected a series that had no life after a first season that found the series consistently in the gutter of the Nielsen Ratings. After several big-time awards (including one for Best Comedy Series) "Cheers" sky-rocketed and was almost always a top 5 show and most of the times the number 1 program in America. In modern-day Boston, a small tavern does prove that there are still places where everyone does indeed "know your name". A former baseball player (Ted Danson) owns a bar that caters to many (bar-flies George Wendt and John Ratzenberger, former professional coach Nicholas Colasanto, waitress Rhea Perlman and love interest Shelley Long). Quirky stories, heartwarming moments, heartrending situations and consistent comedy would always follow the key players. As the years passed, the cast changed (Long left the show and was replaced with Kirstie Alley who became the owner and Colasanto passed away in real life and the Woody Harrelson character was created), but the constant was always the show's outstanding group of creative writers and top-notch directors. Psychiatrist Kelsey Grammar (and wife Bebe Neuwirth) would also come along early in the series and just add more color, heart and intelligence to a show that had a surplus of all those elements throughout its 11-year-run. From the emotionally-charged theme song to its smallest of bit players, "Cheers" proved that there could be quality on television and that it could sustain and withstand unfortunate problems with its players in real-life. Monumentally important to the art of television study. A truly outstanding achievement for all involved. 5 stars out of 5.
54 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Cheers - where everybody knows your name!
fluxsoda6 March 2004
Cheers - a tv-show you just can't stop watching! Many people dont like the show that much in the beginning, but when you get to know the persons in the bar, you start to understand them and their great humor.

They will become your friends, and you want to go out to Cheers to meet them, and hang out with them. You want to shout "NORM" when he enters the bar. You want to listen to Cliffs theory about why the next president has to be named "Gelnic Mcwava", and you want to listen to Sam telling about his great baseball career. If you need help, you got dr Frasier Crane, if you need someone to cheer you up, you got Diane, if you need a loose, you got Rebecca Howe. IF you want to be yelled at, Carla is there for you, and if you want to listen to funny stories about Indiana, Woody will tell you all about it.

All i can say is that Cheers is the place everybody wanna go, because you are allways welcome the place EVERYBODY KNOWS YOUR NAME
54 out of 65 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Raise your glasses!
Lejink17 July 2012
I adored "Cheers" on its original release in the early 80's and have lately been revisiting my adoration in catching re-runs right back to the first series. Like the best series, it makes you stay with it, through series after series, cast changes or not, like other American favourites of mine "The Mary Tyler-Moore Show", "Rhoda" "M.A.S.H." "Taxi" "Newhart" and more recently "Friends". Indeed it's easy to see "Cheers" influence on the latter, both fixing much of the action on a popular drinking hole. This was back in the days when writers wrote laugh-out-loud jokes and characters you could empathise with unlike today's post modern ironic shows where the odd line might make you smile at best. "Cheers" always kept you watching for the next line, which more often than not brought forth a laugh. Set-bound as it was, like, say, the bridge on the Starship Enterprise, familiarity bred content as you got to know the characters and their surroundings. The characters were great from the start, Sam "Mayday" Malone, pseudo-intellectual barmaid Diane, the feral barmaid Carla, permanent bar-stool residents Cliff and Norm and best of all the dotty bar manager Coach, with a heart of pure gold. Newer characters entered as the series progressed, especially oddballs Frazier and Lilith Crane, Carla's combative husband Nick and later, the dim young barman Woody Harrelson's "Woody"(a great replacement for Coach) and Kirsty Alley's "Backseat Becky" (ditto for Diane). Great as the smart direction and comedic delivery were, it was all about the writing. Great writers like Heidi Perlman, the Charles brothers, David Lloyd and Earl Pomerantz kept the quality high, season after season as I'm sure my end-to-end re-viewing will testify. 7 down, 244 to go!
12 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
After all these years, still the best
mrenzella11 January 2004
The difference between Cheers and about 90% of the other sitcoms that have come and gone, is that in Cheers, nothing seems forced. The characters interact with such chemistry, that all you have to do is tune and it's like sitting at a bar listening to you're best friends tell tall tales. The characters, especially Sam Malone and Coach, are so well-rounded that the joy comes simply from watching them interact. As far as I can remember almost every episode of Cheers ended with someone smiling or laughing, and it's that sense of warmth that is so rare in television, that it makes Cheers stand tall amongst any competitor, then OR now. I feel wholly justified in calling Cheers the best program ever made. It's just that good.

PS-I hope in Heaven I can sit at Cheers, and watch Sam hit on girls, listen to Carl tell useles trivia, and see Norm catch curving beer bottles around the corner of the bar.

MIke Renzella
56 out of 81 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Where everybody knows your name...
Howlin Wolf4 June 2007
... and the people who populate this little watering-hole become so familiar to you that they start to feel like family after awhile. Everybody has their own personalities and preoccupations, and with Norm it's only ever one thing: Beer. (What else?!) How the writers managed to dream up always funny one-liners connected to his favourite beverage for 11 years, I'll never know, but anyway... There was also his wife Vera, who never was seen but was often the source of some laughs. It's intricate little running gags like that which made it easy to spin off and create another successful comedy institution with "Frasier".

If I had to pick one I'd say my favourite character was Sam, though. He didn't have very many passions in life (probably only two: women and baseball) but he never stopped thinking about them, and there's a funny quality to a guy who's not ashamed to admit he's that single minded. You could mostly predict what Sam was going to try to do each episode, he'd attempt to get each of his head barmaids to sleep with him. The comedy in that comes from the many diverse ways he planned to do this, and that no matter how many times he was rejected or foiled, he kept coming back. You've gotta admire a guy for trying, and Ted Danson is famous for playing most of his material in such an easy and relaxed manner that it's hard at times not to pull for him to succeed.

I for one would like to say "Cheers!" to the creators and cast for blessing us with such a great show.
18 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
One of the Few Great T.V. Classics!
Washu2219 July 2003
There aren't very many shows that I deem almost (or absolutely) perfect. 'Cheers' is, by far, definitely one of them. On the top. 'Seinfeld', 'Roseanne', 'Bewitched', 'Frasier'...(Those are just a few of the others that I think are great.)

'Cheers' is the perfect show because it has something for everyone. There are so many different character personalities to chose from in that one, simple bar that you can't NOT have a favorite. I don't think anyone (anyone that's ever watched the show) could say "I don't like it, I don't like any of them!" ...But how could you not? For the people that want an (at least) semi-intellectual character (instead of everyone being a complete moron) they have Frasier, Diane, Lilith. Everyone loves Norm's witty one-liners as he enters the bar. Coach and Woody are goofily funny in their own stupidity. Carla has her crude, sarcastic zingers. Sam and his "little black book." Cliff with his "know-it-all" attitude when in actuality he doesn't know a thing. Rebecca's a great, all-around character...

It also has the backup of being CONSTANTLY funny, some episodes aren't completely boring, then the next, twenty times funnier than the one before (though, I admit, some are absolutely hilarious!) It gets better and better with each year, not old and drawn out, just more jokes! That's why it lasted so long.

So, if any of you read this, look in you're TV guides to see when it's on. After just a few, you'll know and love the characters, and you'll be completely hooked!
20 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Where Everybody Knows Their Names
dataconflossmoor8 November 2006
When this series was introduced to television in 1982, NBC was in big trouble, so much trouble that the pathetic plight of their plummeting ratings relegated them to a virtual "Old Man and the Sea" style dilemma!! NBC counted on "Cheers" to be one of their stellar instigators to reeling in the big kahuna, and thus, "Cheers" would become a crucial component to NBC's quest for nationwide television ratings escalation!! After several episodes, popular response and critical acclaim for this series were radically different!!! "Cheers" esoteric demeanor received accolades from T.V. and magazine critics, but, popularity from the television audience was tenuous!! Eventually "Cheers" non-conventionalism titillated the small screen viewer!! Once popularity homogenized the auspicious direction of this show, it became a smash hit!! People took to the unorthodox gist of the series!! Wholehearted chuckles required an academic comprehension of grandiloquent vocabulary words which Shelly Long, Kelsey Grammar, and Bebe Neuwirth uttered out by the nanosecond!! This television show's comically ugly depiction of these spawns of ivy league intellectualism, was one whereby they could easily rattle off Shakesphere, but, the slightest adversity would invoke them into a temper tantrum which was indicative of a seven year old who is forbidden to order dessert at a restaurant!! What would someone with an IQ of 9000 be doing frequenting a local sports bar anyway?...Add insult to injury, they were the ones who wound up being patronized!!"Cheers" put a humorous spin on how book smarts are often times useless, especially on plebeian turf!! This is just one of "Cheers" many attributes!!!

"Cheers" is a fond reminiscence of my days as an urban preppy, I spent more time in sports bars than I did in my apartment!! As a matter a fact, I ran into Woody Harrelson at "SHE-NANNIGANS" in Chicago, a bar I would constantly go to for drinks!! "Cheers" reflected the happy days of the eighties to perfection!! Innocuous sex jokes, (especially by today's standards) evoked a naivety that the eighties unintentionally masqueraded!! The haughty character's cerebral rumination was often times reduced to an isolated quip and/or a ludicrous jeremiad that the majority of Americans could effortlessly ignore!! How true this is in the real world!! Social mediocrity was the prevailing villain on "Cheers" which astutely amused the television audience for 11 seasons... very successfully too!!! (obviously!!) What did people watch on Thursday nights at 9/8central? Three guesses,first two do not count!!! "Cheers"

The theme song to "Cheers" was entitled "Where everybody knows your name"..Your average barfly embraced a particular camaraderie with this song!! More to the point, however, it is a case of where everybody knows their names!! The cast that is!!! Ted Danson is synonymous with "Cheers" as are all of the other running characters: George Wendt, John Ratzensberger, Kirstie Alley, Woody Harrelson, Rhea Pearlman, Kelsey Grammar, Bebe Neuwrith, and Shelly Long. Evaluating all of the characters in "Cheers" you can attain a thorough knowledge of why this show was noted for it's remarkable acting talent!! Ted Danson, (Sam Malone) the aging rogue who exemplified the term "has been" in every aspect of his life. George Wendt (Norm Petersen); He was very complacent in his precarious plight of non-productivity!! This affliction is common in mainstream America, in reality, however, it is not very funny at all!! John Ratzenberger (Cliff Clavin) the proverbial windbag of verbosity, even the alliteration to his name insinuated the stigmatic label of your "just in general jackass!!" Kirstie Alley, (Rebecca Howe) a character who was predicated on a lot of physical humor,she was not stable at all, as a result, you did not want to touch Rebecca with a 10 foot pole!! Woody Harrelson, (Woody Boyd)he was the ultimate purveyor of the Huckleberry Finn perspective!! Rhea Perlman (Carla Tortelli) though her character was overdone, her flippant disposition with the trials and tribulations of being a single mother perpetuated an identifiable laughter from the television audience!! Kelsey Grammar (Frazier Craine) a shrink who needed to see a shrink because he did not have a normal childhood!! He went on to be a resounding success in his own television series, "Frazier" !! Bebe Neuwrith, (Lilith Craine); her agonizing contemplations became an in-veritable horror story, she would decimate any act of spontaneity by requiring it to be accompanied by a concept analysis report!! Finally, Shelly Long, (Diane Chambers) the perennial A+ student egocentric elitist who was an emotional glass house!! All of these roles accentuated many character discrepancies which are essential to the creation of a terrific situation comedy..Other sitcoms have tried to accomplish this as well, yet, they never achieved the cunning and succinct finesse of compounded character flaw creativity that "Cheers" did!! Each one of these people has gone on to be tremendously successful, and, as a result of being enormously popular on "Cheers", they all left the show multi-millionaires!!

The show "Cheers" was extremely likable, it oozes with talent, and the unconventional genre of "Cheers" became a noteworthy element in establishing NBC's impressive Nielson ratings during that era!! I loved the show "Cheers" back then for comedic entertainment!!! I love it now for nostalgic entertainment!!
22 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
consistently great
mcfly-3115 July 1999
The perfect setting for any tv show in my opinion, was this little bar in Boston. After a couple of so so seasons (NBC claims to have left it on because they had nothing else to air) the show really hit its stride in the mid 80s, with the core being the romance between Sam and Diane. But lending a comic hand were Norm, the unemployed accountant, Cliff the know-it-all mailman, Carla the spitfire waitress, Coach the dim-witted bartender (who passed away in the 85 season), Woody the second dim-witted bartender, and in later years Frasier the neurotic shrink. After the 87 season Shelley Long (Diane)left the show to pursue a film career, unsuccessfully. She was replaced, by my personal preference, with Kirstie Alley as Sams love interest and female foil. Too many high points along the years to mention, but top episodes would be the one where Woody and Sam try and kiss Rebecca, any episode dealing with Garys Old Towne Tavern, Rebeccas visiting sister, and maybe the night at the opera episode. ("Get a load of the warheads on that cellist!") Only real downside was the final episode, which didnt really tie up loose ends very well. None of the characters had any real life changes, the bar wasnt sold or destroyed, everyone stayed put, and the overall amount of laughs werent very strong. But there were so many other great moments that a bad send off can easily be overlooked.
22 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Historically interesting and great fun
richard-dugan20118 January 2015
This excellent series is now available on Netflix. all episodes are available but I recommend watching the first four or so and then skipping to the 1985 season when Woody Harrelson joined the cast. The writing and performances seemed to become much better year after year until the series ended. All of the main characters received numerous awards for their performances between 1985 and 1992. This series introduced many actors to the viewing public for the first time. Te Danson, Shelley Long, Woody Harrelson, Rhea Perlman, Kelsey Grammar, Christy Alley (this was her first really successful venture) and many others. It is unfortunate that George Wendt and John Ratzenberger, never received Emmys for their outstanding work here.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The GREATEST television comedy of all time!
hnt_dnl14 April 2009
Warning: Spoilers
CHEERS was the peak of nighttime TV; premiering in 1982 and hilarious to the end in 1993. The weakest episode of CHEERS is still funnier than probably EVERY episode many other TV comedies!

Into an obscure Boston bar one morning walks an uppity, sassy, snobby (yet attractive and even sexy!) recent grad school graduate Diane Chambers (played memorably by Emmy winner Shelley Long). Dumped by her fiancé, Diane meets the owner-bartender, former Red Sox relief pitcher Sam "Mayday" Malone (played during the show's entire run to sublime perfection by the great Emmy-winning Ted Danson). Sam enlists Diane as one of his waitresses. A wannabe writer, Diane decides to work at Cheers until she finds her footing.

Sam Malone, is one of the top TV characters, simultaneously a ladie's man and a guy's guy! Danson brought a personable, EVERYMAN quality to the role that drew the viewer in each week. Danson won a couple of Emmys, but should have won at least 2 or 3 more! Together, Danson and Long's Sam and Diane form the greatest TV pairing of all time. Trading barbs, stares, glances, lustful looks, and quick-witted exchanges every week, these 2 were a joy to watch! Long left after the 5th season, though, but the show went on w/o her!

They brought in Kirstie Alley as Rebecca Howe, the anti-Diane in a lot of ways. While Diane was overqualified, Rebecca was underqualified. Initially, Rebecca was a shakily written character that the show's writers didn't seem to know what to do with, but thankfully the rest of the cast more than made up for the void left by Diane. Then by Season 9, Rebecca came into her own as kind of a daffy, loser-ish character, which worked greatly to her advantage! I think initially, Rebecca was to be a replacement for Diane as Sam's girlfriend, but the show thankfully never really went that route as Sam-Rebecca just didn't have the Sam-Diane romantic chemistry-magic. I like to think of Rebecca as an "accepted outsider" that fit in nicely with the group.

The true gem of CHEERS was the best ensemble in TV history. The supporting cast was pure GOLD! And heeeer'es the lineup!

The leadoff hitter! The late, great Nicolas Colasanto played the dimwitted Coach (Sam's bartender and former pitching coach) initially the first 3 years before sadly passing away. Colasanto was hilarious with brilliant comic timing, maybe the best of all the actors on the show; during the rest of the show's run, they would showcase Colasanto's passing with subtle hints and in the last episode, Sam's adjusting of the picture was a tip o' the hat the Mr. Colasanto.

Next up!...Norm!...or as Diane would say, "Norman". With a folksy, sarcastic approach, Norm Peterson, played by the wonderful George Wendt, Norm was the smart-alecky guy at the end of the bar who EVERYONE knew! A permanent fixture on the corner stool of the bar, Norm would amass a bar tab for the ages!

Batting 3rd is Carla! The mean-spirited, lusty baby-machine waitress played with gusto by Rhea Perlman! Carla hated everybody, but especially Diane! No one escaped Cheers without facing the wrath of Carla Tortelli!

Cleanup hitter is one Dr. Frasier Crane! Initially brought on as a short-term character in Season 3 as Diane's fiancé after she and Sam split up at the end of Season 2, Frasier (played hilariously Emmy winner Kelsey Grammar) quickly became a key part of the CHEERS ensemble after Diane dumped him at the end of Season 3. Frasier was the resident psychiatrist, spouting off Freudian epithets and trying to analyze the nutty occupants of Cheers! Of course, he went on to star on the CHEERS spin off FRASIER, which ran almost as long as CHEERS itself.

Frasier's wife (and comic foil!) and fellow psychiatrist Dr. Lilith Sternin Crane (brilliantly played by Emmy-winner Bebe Neuwirth), the Yin to Frasier's Yang! Lilith was the ultimate ice queen and, if you ask her, a better analyst than Frasier!

Our next batter is Woody Boyd! After Coach died, Woody (played hilariously by Woody Harrelson) was brought in as a young bartender that Coach trained. Woody was Coach's replacement in the dimwit department. Not as perfect as Coach (but close!), Woody was an important part of the CHEERS lineup!

Now, for the unsung, under-appreciated Most Valuable Player!...Cliff Claven! Played to perfection by the unique John Ratzenberger, ole Cliffy was an uber-annoying Mama's boy who got on everyone's nerve spouting off useless facts and inciting riots from time to time! Cliff was the character that made the absolute most comedy out of the absolute least material!

Also there were a host of memorable recurring characters: Nick Tortelli (Carla's sleazy ex-husband played by great film character actor Dan Hedaya), billionaire Robin Colcord (Rebecca's beau for a couple seasons played with panache and aplomb by British actor Roger Rees), the wacky heiress Kelly (Woody's equally wacky girlfriend and eventual wife played by Jackie Swanson), Paul Krapence (Norm and Cliff's lackey played wonderfully by Paul Wilson), Phil (played by Rhea Perlman's dad Philip Perlman), codger Al who sat diametrically opposite to Norm's side of the bar(played by the late Al Rosen), lovable Ma Claven (perfectly portrayed by the great Frances Sternhagen), scheming grifter Harry the Hat (played by the wacky Harry Anderson, who starred on the wonderful TV show NIGHT COURT during most of CHEERS run).

The CHEERS characters were all so well-defined and realized that they still to this day seem like real people that you knew. I mean, you can literally watch the series premiere in 1982 and the series finale in 1993 (for which Shelley Long returned to resume her role of Diane) and see that this show never lost it's charm, humor, or appeal. Oh, yeah, and EVERYTHING in between was great, too!...Cheers!
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Back from an era when NBC didn't suck so much
Op_Prime5 January 2000
This show was great. It had clever writing and lots of classic moments. This was back during a time when tv shows were able to be funny without making constant references to sex. Ted Danson does some of his best work here, as well as the rest of the cast. A classic in our own time.
25 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Absolute Classic
danielpacecar5 April 2018
This show is an absolute classic!

All these years later Cheers is still hilarious. The jokes, stories and characters hold up today.

Not many shows can last that long and choose to go out on top. The cast was amazing.

Despite a lot of cast changes the show stayed great, which is very hard for TV shows to do.

I think most people will love this show after the first season which is kind of slow. It dips a bit in the later seasons as well but not much.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Superb comedy series
grantss11 February 2015
Superb comedy series.

Cheers pretty had everything: great one-liners, quotable jokes, characters that you cared about, a setting and atmosphere that made you wish you were there. Very funny - some of the jokes still stick in my head today, 30 years later.

It lasted 11 seasons and 271 episodes. In that time many characters and actors/actresses came an went, but the comedy stayed clever, fresh and incredibly funny. (Only four characters were in all 271 episodes: Sam, Carla, Norm and Cliff).

It launched the careers of Ted Danson, Woody Harrelson, Kirstie Alley and Kelsey Grammar and helped the careers of Rhea Pearlman and Shelley Long. It also produced a great offshoot, Frasier.

On the negative side, the skits did become a bit uneven in their quality towards the end. The writers resorted to farce more often they than had before, which brought the tone and quality down.

Still, overall, one of the greatest comedy series of all time.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
One of the best sitcoms there is
ComedyFan201014 July 2014
Today I for the first time finished watching this show that aired its last episode over 20 years ago. And I am kind of surprised, because I am somebody who likes to watch TV and Cheers is very good, a real classic.Yet for some reason we don't see many reruns on TV. Which is very surprising considering that we have shows being shown that are older and less good.

Set in a small and cozy bar in Boston we watch the variety of the characters go through their every day adventures. It is pretty fun and I love the variety of cast we have in it. Smart ones,dumb ones,romantic, badass, mean, anything you can think of is represented on this show. My personal favorites were Frasier and Lilith, they were indeed very extraordinary characters that always made me laugh. But I must say there was nobody on the show that I disliked. Even characters like Carla whom I would never want to be friends with in reality, were very special, irreplaceable and so many dimensional.

I must say Cheers was lucky with the cast change in the middle. Not everyone liked Rebecca years more than Diane. But one has to agree that this big change in the story is what partially helped keeping this show safe from becoming a caricature of itself with a tired storyline. It remained fresh and fun until the end. A real classic.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Still one of the best sitcoms, over 20 years later!
SeriousJest10 March 2014
Not only was this show good enough to run a full eleven seasons, but, over twenty years after the last episode, it still holds up! The topics are still relevant, the dialogue is still funny, and you can still see real-life versions of these scenarios play out in your local favorite watering hole. I've already called out a few Cliff Clavins!

Whereas most shows that start out hot eventually lose their steam and fizzle out, this series changed characters, tweaked plot lines, and kept just enough of its essence true to execute a strong run throughout (I think the show got better when Woody came aboard!). I normally hate sitcoms, but this is one of the best ones I've ever watched. Queue up the complete series on Netflix, and watch every last episode.

For more reviews and a kickass podcast, check out www.livemancave.com
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Where Everybody Knows Your Name!
ShelbyTMItchell31 March 2013
Warning: Spoilers
When the show first premiered it was at the bottom of the pack in the Nielsen ratings back in 1982. But NBC execs could not let a potential and promising show be canceled at all. As they indeed felt that the show could be a hit.

A year later in 1983, it was a hit and climbing in the top twenty to the top ten in ratings. A great cast, a great ensemble, and a great writing. That shows wit and charm! Led by Ted Danson as Sam Malone, a former baseball player who owns the bar in Boston, it had the wit and charm. With a cast of characters of Norm and Cliff, played respectively by George Wendt and John Ratzenberger. Crazy Carla played by Rhea Pearlman. And the love interests, first Diane played by Shelly Long and then, Rebecca played by Kirstie Alley.

The show had so much charm as it was the show to be in the 1980s and early 1990s as it went out on top in 1993. A rarity in TV these days.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
When it was good it was very good
studioAT4 July 2014
At it's best Cheers fully deserves it's place as one of the greatest sitcoms of all time. Well cast, sharply written and made all the more impressive when you consider that most of the episodes rarely stray from the bar setting.

Cheers fans though are a divided bunch. Some prefer the Coach years, others prefer the Woody years. The Diane or Rebecca dispute is far more controversial.

For me I enjoyed the Diane years more. The chemistry between Shelly Long and Ted Danson was great and their characters on/off relationship gave viewers something extra to invest in whilst watching the antics of the other patrons.

Upon watching the later seasons the standard is far lower though, with weaker plots and the characters far too exaggerated from their original form. It happens with a lot of long running sitcoms I know, but when a Cheers episode was poor, it really was poor.

I forgive and forget the latter years though and celebrate the first five because that for me was when Cheers was well worth drinking to
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Cheers Rocks
WhySoSerious200722 September 2012
Cheers! What an iconic T.V. Show! I followed the lives of Sam, Norm, Cliff, Carla, Diane & Rebecca, (at different times) and Coach & Woody, (again at different times), from the age of 9 Years until I was 18 Years! Not many entertainment mediums can hold an interest for people for so long. But Cheers did exactly this, for exactly that long! Why? How? Honestly those aren't things that can just be answered with easy reason. A classic like this has many reasons for it's success, and it usually stems from production, (producers, crew, etc.), cast, (they were exceptional), to post-production and advertising, (easy to say, nearly twenty years on, that both were capable and dedicated). Cheers went through all kinds of trials and tribulations, most notably, the death of "Coach", still this show went on making people laugh and thriving, and WE ALL KNOW the main purpose of Cheers was to make us laugh. They succeeded. Yes, I was a child when Cheers came to life, I was an adult when Cheers came to and end, but I never forget what Cheers meant to me! The same it meant for all who loved the show. Because sometimes you do want to go "Where every-body knows your name" and it's important that they're "Always glad you came". In summary, I believe (And I'm an age old fan of good Cinema and good Television) that Cheers is one of the greatest Sitcoms of all time. Probably true that you had to grow up with this Sitcom to appreciate it the most, but I believe it can appeal to all lovers of comedy and of Television.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Sheer class!
Simon_J_Rodgers13 August 2012
There really is not a great deal that can be said about this show that hasn't been said already, it is a true classic.

So many sitcoms come and go and there is always a fan-base of them regardless of what it was about or how popular it was in general. However with Cheers you have to admit that it was popular in general and so many people like watching it.

It has wit and style, not to mention clean humour. Okay there may be one or two bits that do dabble in unclean humour or innuendo but not very often.

This programme has to be seen to be believed. All over the world, I'm sure there are many reruns and I really hope they do in the UK very soon.

Some people say that this was the best sitcom of the eighties, but this isn't true. This must be the best sitcom EVER.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A comedy classic
TheLittleSongbird24 June 2011
I do love sitcoms, and Cheers and its spin-off Frasier are two of the best sitcoms there are in my opinion. Cheers is a comedy classic, I have been a fan of it for quite some time now and never got round to reviewing it until now. The production values are of top notch quality, there's nothing cheap or dated about Cheers, not then, not now. The story lines, springing from a simple but good concept, are outstanding in their ideas and in their execution and Cheers has some of the best, funniest and creative writing I have heard and seen in a sitcom. The characters are wonderful, timeless and best of all real, all of them are easy to relate to and one of the main reasons, aside from the writing, why Cheers is such a hit for me. My favourite is the eloquent Frasier Crane, but I love them all equally. The acting is superb as well, not just from Ted Danson and Rhea Perlman but also from Kelsey Grammar, I can't choose who's the best as this is one of the rare sitcoms in my opinion where nobody gives a bad performance. Overall, a comedy classic that has stood the test of time. 10/10 Bethany Cox
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A True Classic
Sargebri14 June 2003
This has to be one of the greatest character driven comedies in the history of television. All of the characters were just your basic every day working stiffs who just hang out at their favorite watering whole. The only one that really didn't fit in was Dianne who always thought she was more important than all the patrons. That's one reason I prefer the Kirstie Alley years to the Shelley Long era. Rebecca was more of a vulnerable character than Dianne and she was more down to earth than Dianne. However, the entire cast made this show a classic that will be a major sitcom influence for years to come.
19 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Why Cheers Is Still the Very Best Sitcom Ever
jmbwithcats30 August 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Cheers did something masterful that I have never seen another show do so well. It was able to capture an honesty and plumb the emotional depths from laughter to heartfelt tears with the precision of a master artist.

There are so many examples of this greatness, from Diane trying out for the Boston Ballet, only to say "Nevermind", but then look back as her dream slips away.

To the episode where Diane finally leaves Cheers for good, thinking to herself she is only leaving for six months, and Sam saying quietly, "Have a nice life." He knows she has to take her shot, it's truly selfless, add to that the scenes of possible futures growing old together, and it's enough to make the hardest heart crack.

The show brought up incredibly meaningful and real issues, timeless and touching, stirring the depths of the human condition, with humor, and alacrity so soft and human as to make it's nuance linger long after the credits roll, and the theme song has vanished from the ear... it continues on in the mind.

Cheers in my opinion is the best sitcom ever made, I think MASH comes in a close second, and there have been other shows I love dearly for many reasons, Get Smart, Fawlty Towers, and others I am sure, but Cheers was simply beautiful.

As a kid I watched Cheers when it first aired and I enjoyed it, but never returned to the series until recently, 30 years later... and I glean so much more now, and have been nothing but impressed with the writing, the humanity, the chemistry, the joy of the cast working together, and the opportunity to really say something.

I hope others always enjoy and appreciate this show, because it does have it's laughs, it's tears, and it's memories, but it also has it's lessons, it's losses, and it's inspiration.

The show deserves nothing less than a 9, but I gave it a 10, because it touched me deeply, and that cannot be ignored.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Place Where Everyone Knows Your Name - a Show for Everyone
BackInMyDay30 November 2018
What can you say about a Television Sitcom that has changed the shape of Situation Comedies? This show is the "stuff of legends," like I Love Lucy, Three's Company, All In The Family, and many, many others. I have watched at least one episode of Cheers every day for the last 10 years, possibly longer. It's a show you can turn on to watch, for background noise, although calling this show "noise" is a huge misnomer. I watch this show before I fall asleep, or while I'm just messing around the house. There aren't a lot of shows that you can do this with, but Cheers is one of them. I love almost every episode. The only episodes I tend to tune out are the one's with Carla's oldest Son and insufferable girlfriend/wife. However, there are usually other plot points in these episodes that help block out the terrible acting by these two, "movie stars." The show really picks up after Season 1, and only gets better, in Season 3, thanks to the genius and fantastic actor that is Kelsey Grammer, who plays Frasier. Season 6, onward, are very fun and entertaining seasons as well, but do not capture the love that I feel for the first 5 seasons. Not to give away any plot points, but the series goes through a metamorphosis with characters, losing 2 character from the first 3 seasons that I love dearly. However, the 2 that fill their shoes are almost just as special. This series is by far my favorite series. It is the only reason I still have Netflix, also because I cannot find it syndicated on Television. I would give this show a 9.8/10. I would take off .2 points for the aforementioned actors in certain episodes. Do yourself a favor and watch this fantastic series. It will change your life and you feel like your in the bar with the characters the more you watch this series; they feel like a part of your family. I enjoy visiting Cheers at least once a day. It is, of course, a place "Where everyone knows your name." Happy viewing!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A must be be seen
cathylr3 August 2018
Probably the sitcom of reference. Clever yet not too intellectual, light yet subtil, the situations can speak to any generation. The actors are excellent and the script always renewing itself. I could have rated this 10 but I was rather disappointed that Shelley Long left and although Kristie Alley did a good job, it wasn´t quite the same. Maybe shoud I warn you that you cannot watch Cheers without watching the spin-off Frasier so, be prepared to be busy for a little while (22 seasons!)
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed