End of the World (1977) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
42 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
4/10
Inferior production about an extraterrestrial invasion with the great Christopher Lee as a strange alien
ma-cortes25 September 2012
After witnessing a man's death in a bizarre accident, a coffee machine explodes sending him through a window and into a neon sign where is electrocuted , Father Pergado (Christopher Lee) encounters his alien double bent on world conquest and he then retreats to a convent . Meanwhile , a marriage formed by a scientist (Kirk Scott) and his wife (Sue Lyon) are investigating weird signals from beyond space , it leads them the convent where are some nuns and the Doppelganger Father Pergado who have malignant objectives .

This laughable below average Sci-Fi deals with an extraterrestrial invasion from outer space formed by aliens plotting to destroy the Earth while disguised as religious figures . It's realized in a television style , terribly developed and slowly paced . This is a low-budgeted film and plenty of stock-shots about disasters and catastrophes . Protagonist duo is mediocre as Kirk Scott and the famous ¨Lolita¨, Sue Lyon , who had a bad career . Stoic and serious acting by the incombustible Christopher Lee , still today successfully playing , such as ¨Dark Shadows¨and ¨The Hobbit¨ . Support cast is very good , but really wasted , being featured by experimented veterans in brief interventions such as Dean Jagger as Collins , Lew Ayres as Beckerman and Macdonald Carey . Middling cinematography and electronic musical score by means of synthesizer , being composed by Andrew Belling and Joel Goldsmith , Jerry Goldsmith's son . The picture was produced by Charles Band and absurdly directed by John Hayes . John was a writer, director, usually produced and edited as well as often penned the scripts for his films , and occasionally actor who made a wide variety of outlandish and obscure low-budget independent pictures throughout the 60's and 70's . John made his feature length debut with the interesting 1961 drama "The Grass Eater." Hayes went on to make a diverse array of drive-in exploitation outings in such sub-genres as World War II potboilers ("Shell Shock," "The Cut-Throats"), rowdy redneck romps ("The Farmer's Other Daughter," "All the Lovin' Kinfolk"), sleazy crime fare ("Convicts' Women," "Mama's Dirty Girls"), Terror ("Dream No Evil," "Tomb of the undead," "Grave of the Vampire" , ¨Garden of dead¨), low-brow comedy ("Up Yours - A Rockin' Comedy" , ¨Five minutes to love¨), Drama (Sweet trash , Fandango) . John pops up in bit parts in the wholesome Disney family features "The Shaggy D.A." and "Treasure of the Matecumbe." His last directing credit was an episode of the horror anthology TV series "Tales from the Darkside." ¨. ¨The End of the world¨ results to be his only Sci-Fi movie and is considered a bottom of barrel flick . It might be good for a few , for the Christopher Lee hardcore fans . Rating : 3,5/10 . Below average .
10 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Father Christopher Lee
wes-connors20 June 2008
"A scientist discovers signals from space that appear to carry information concerning a series of seemingly unrelated natural disasters, occurring across the globe. Hoping to discover the source of these signals and who's behind them, the scientist and his wife set out on a trek to locate the intended recipient of the signals. What the couple eventually discovers is a small remote convent with occupants who are not really who they appear to be," according to the DVD sleeve's synopsis.

Kirk Scott (as Andrew Boran) is the scientist who intercepts alien messages on his computer. He suspects a series of "Large Earth Disruptions" may be connected to the weird space static. Mr. Scott and pretty blonde wife Sue Lyon (as Sylvia Boran) investigate the mysterious signals from outer space. They discover priestly, but creepy Christopher Lee (as "Father Pergado"), and other silliness. Given that, "End of the World" is remarkably dull.

*** End of the World (1977) John Hayes ~ Kirk Scott, Sue Lyon, Christopher Lee
14 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
My God, the apocalypse is boring!
Coventry22 March 2020
At the moment I'm writing this review, the world is faced with the Corona-virus pandemic. Many countries, mine included, are in lockdown and the immediate future doesn't look too hopeful, so I though it was perhaps appropriate to watch a Sci-Fi/horror film with a title like "End of the World".

Well, when the world does come to an end for real, whether due to Corona or another biblical catastrophe, I sincerely hope it won't be as slow and boring to sit through as this dud of a film. There are two noteworthy scenes in this film; - namely the pre-credits opening sequence and the cataclysm-montage during the climax. Everything in between is painfully dull, difficult to follow and plain uninteresting. The almighty Christopher Lee stars as a priest, but his persona is taken over by an evil alien bent on destroying the world from within a secluded little monastery. It's up to a clueless scientist and his wife Lolita to save the planet. In other words, we're doomed!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
The End of My Patience
Hitchcoc13 March 2007
A good deal of running around. A badly conceived adversary with very little complexity. A scientist who works in communications sending off signals into space and receiving them, gets caught up with aliens. Along with his pretty wife, he invades their territory and is given secrets about them. He becomes rather traitorous in the process. Granted, he is given little choice anyway. There is a scene where he gives them everything they want. This is a dull movie with lots of long stretches where little happens. The plot isn't technically bad. It's just that we are usually following a car, a trip through a woods, investigating a building. This is what editing is all about. I suppose the story wouldn't technically support much more. Not much here.
9 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
It almost takes until the end of the world to watch this.
gridoon12 February 2003
Dull, cheap sci-fi thriller, made with an almost total lack of conviction (a control room full of computers and other devices used to receive and decipher messages from outer space is run by only ONE MAN, and is VERY poorly guarded at night), and full of campy sound effects. Christopher Lee is not only wasted, but he also gives one of his few "I'm here strictly for the money" performances. (*1/2)
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Disappointing even for the trash fan
rolandbrilla29 October 2001
I rented this movie as part of the mini-series "cult video", hoping for as much fun as I had with "Laserblast" or "creepozoids" that are also part of the edition. Unfortunately, this movie cannot keep up with those gems. Even though it is stupid enough, it is all in all just boring, and moments of fun (like the seconds where the "true face" of the aliens is shown) are too rare to make it up. I have to say, however, that the concept of destroying the whole earth is somewhat audacious, and the movie even delivers one scene of odd true horror, that is when the couple watches the end of the world (earthquakes, inundations) on some TV screens like from the distance ...
14 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Here today, Nun tomorrow...
barnthebarn3 June 2008
The Earth is destined to be no more thanks to Father Pergado and a bunch of Nuns. Christopher Lee (who has since said that he was duped in to appearing in this by his producers who told him loads of great actors were involved) is Father Pergado and gets to do his usual serious and scary routine. The cast are not too bad, though most have now retired from acting. The film has terrible sound effects (mainly created from pressing keys on an old computer it seems) and it ridiculously pondering at times - showing a scene of the sky, for instance, for what feels like hours at a time. Despite this the story is pretty humorous in a world-is-doomed sort of way and the production is adequate. Interestingly one scene features Albert Band and wife Jackie; Meda Band; Writer Frank Ray Perilli and Charles Band's assistant Bennah Burton. Despite its plodding nature I genuinely wanted to see how it all worked out and thus quite liked it.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Christopher Lee Wants To Take Over The World
Rainey-Dawn4 May 2016
Lee plays Father Pergado / Zindar - the good father of a church and Zindar the alien wanting to take over planet Earth - OK not really they are more like ET they just want to go home - they will stop at nothing to do so - they can be violent if need be. Their home planet is a peaceful utopia. OH Lee's character has quite a few nuns on his side - they are aliens too.

The film is not for everyone it is very slow and not a lot of action except for the beginning and the ending while in-between is slow. Most reviewers and critics do not like this film for various reasons.

There is something about this one I like but I am in the minority for liking the film a little bit and I guess mainly because Christopher Lee is in the film.

Really this film is worth 2 out of 10 stars but I have to give the film two more stars for the sheer novelty of it - Christopher Lee is an alien! 4/10
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Christopher is great...this movie is not!
sreillyx20 May 2000
Christopher Lee is one of my favorite actors! I'm trying to view all of his work. He has been known to single-handedly save movies with his presence. Unfortunately, this is not one of them. This movie suffers from a low budget and it's production values are disturbing. Please...for the love of Christopher....avoid this film!
19 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Alien Nuns Destroy The World By Boring It To Death
junk-monkey24 February 2007
Warning: Spoilers
It's got Christopher Lee, it's got huge banks of 1970s computers that make Teletype noises as letters appear on the screen, it's got radioactive isotopes that not only glow in the dark but emit pulsing thrumming noises, it's got volcanoes! evil aliens disguised as nuns! tidal waves! earthquakes! exploding cars! exploding coffee machines! and as a climax the entire planet blows up. How on earth does this film managed to be so incredibly, mind-numbingly DULL? The answer, my friend is because 90% of this movie is made up of establishing shots, most of them involving long tracks, pans, or zooms in combinations, or occasionally all three, that do nothing except give the crew something to do. There are endless shots of our protagonists driving, getting in and out of cars, driving again, walking around looking at stuff, getting in cars and driving... I just sat there watching endless parade of nothingness in stupefaction muttering "Say something, please somebody, just say something... DO something... anything!..."

The dialogue, when it does come, is terrible.

"Maybe their minutes are measured on a different scale than ours." was a typically meaningless line. The script culminates in the destruction of the world by stock footage, justified in this speech from Lee as the head alien:

"The planet Earth has emitted an over-abundance of diseases, they are contaminating the Universe. All the planets light years away from here will suffer unless it is destroyed!"

This is is Neanderthal SF script writing. This is the sort of motivation you find in the sort of 1950's Japanese monster suit movies aimed at 7 year olds. It is, and I collect such things, the most god-awful line from an English language SF movie since Buster Crabbe retired. It beggars belief that this movie was released in the same year as Star Wars and Close Encounters.

Lee, who always struck me as a smart, useful actor with a sure knowledge of his limits, delivers his lines as if he is going to kill his agent for getting him into this pile of drek. I don't blame him.
11 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
About As Bad As They Come
Michael_Elliott4 June 2017
End of the World (1977)

1/2 (out of 4)

Father Pergado (Christopher Lee) is desperately trying to do research on aliens that he believes are on Earth. Before long another couple join the search and soon it turns out that the Father will be going up against Zindar (also played by Lee).

John Hayes' END OF THE WORLD has the title that would make one think that they were walking into a disaster movie but it's actually a science-fiction movie and a really awful one at that. Apparently Lee wasn't too fond of this movie either as he was apparently lied to about it. With that said, it's obvious that there wasn't any sort of budget here as the entire thing has a very cheap feel and in all honesty, the screenplay is incredibly bad and almost on the level of PLAN 9 FROM OUTER SPACE.

There are many problems with this movie but the biggest is the fact that I'm sure everyone was wanting to do a "big" movie but didn't have the money for it. The problem with the screenplay is that it has a good opening and then everything else that follows is just pure boredom. I mean, the entire investigation that eats up the majority of the running time just isn't all that interesting and I'd argue that there's not an ounce of suspense or anything else for that matter. You're basically just sitting there watching this stuff and wishing you were anywhere else.

The film does have an impressive cast but I think it's fair to say that everyone was just hoping that their check wouldn't bounce. Lee is decent in the film but you really can tell that he'd rather be somewhere else. Sue Lyon and Kirk Scott play the main investigators and don't bring much energy the picture. Lew Ayres appears during one scene so it appears he was just paid for a day's work. You've also got Dean Jagger in a small role. Good, solid names but they just don't add much.

END OF THE WORLD is a really awful movie but the ending is so bad you pretty much have to see it to believe it. I won't spoil it here but it's almost worth sitting through the rest of the picture for.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
If you like watching people do a lot of nothing, this is the film for you
vigilante407-122 December 2006
Warning: Spoilers
This film had a great cast going for it: Christopher Lee, Dean Jagger, Macdonald Carey, Lew Ayres -- solid b-movie actors all. But this downer of a movie didn't use any of them to any sort of advantage, with none of their characters even meeting on screen (though Christopher Lee does get to play opposite himself in several scenes).

The motivations for the aliens in this movie seem to change at the drop of a hat. First, they just want to repair their ship and leave, then they turn on the main character by killing most of his friends and not releasing his wife after he gets them the crucial part they need. Then, out of nowhere, this "peaceful" race decides they have to destroy the planet because it causes too many "diseases" (though they do offer the main character and his wife a spot in their society).

Most of the film is spent watching the man and wife drive or walk or stand around or sit at desks doing nothing. You almost wish they had gotten taken out with the rest of the planet at the end, just in vengeance for boring us to death.

Unless you really like Chris Lee or seventies low-budget sci-fi, I'd give this one a miss. It falls into that narrow range of wasted celluloid between Star Odyssey and UFO: Target Earth.
9 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
My all time worst
pgx0029 March 2007
I saw this movie in the theater when I was a kid and always remember it as my first experience with getting ripped off by a horrible movie with a good commercial. The commercial was great, but it I found out later that it had every explosion or 'special effect' in the entire movie (about 4) and even some that weren't in the movie. There was some sort of plot relating to the aliens but the aliens were never actually shown in the movie as far as I remember. It was clearly a case of someone making a buck off a cheap movie designed to scam people. I guess my world of innocence ended that day, when I found out there were bad people out there who make bad bad movies.
14 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Is this a movie?
Maciste_Brother3 June 2003
Warning: Spoilers
Spoilers

Wow, END OF THE WORLD is a singularly underwhelming cinematic experience.

Here is the full story: a scientist is getting messages from space (a la INDEPENDENCE DAY). The messages say stuff like a massive disaster is about to happen and then the scientist hears later on the radio that a huge earthquake just happened in China. He starts thinking that the messages have something to do with the disasters around the world so he's trying to figure out who's receiving the messages (and who's also sending out messages in space). He and his wife eventually figure out that the messages come from a convent. They visit it. Everything looks normal, including the priest played by a bored Christopher Lee. But the scientist is adamant and really believes that the messages are coming from and going to that convent. So he and his wife secretly go back to the convent where they are caught snooping around by the aliens, disguised as priests and nuns. They are held against their will and the alien played by Lee forces the scientist to get something they need in order for them to return to their planet. Once the alien get the special element, the aliens all depart one by one to their home planet in some sort of tacky looking transporter platform. Lee, being the last alien left, tells the couple that the earth will be destroyed because of some sort of hokey decision by the aliens. Lee walks in the transporter and he's gone. The couple, looking at the monitors that show stock footage of natural disasters occurring all over the world, decide to follow the aliens. Because earth is doomed, the couple doesn't see any point of staying behind so they walk in the transporter and disappear. The last shot of the movie is a papier mache planet earth exploding. The end.

That's it.

I've never seen such a dull movie in my life. It's the most underwhelming movie I've ever experienced. The scientist and his wife are two of worst heroes or protagonists ever put on screen. They don't care about anything. They see the earth disasters on the monitors and decide "what the heck, who needs earth anyway?" They don't even try to stop them or do something to make things better. This kind of story might have worked if the film had an overwhelming sense of doom to everything but the action and atmosphere are nonexistent. The actors and the folks behind this dull flick are going through their paces, so much so that you can almost feel when they punched their cards when they got off and returned to work. I wasn't expecting much with this movie because it IS a Charles Band production, but I didn't expect it to be this bad.

Christopher Lee was once asked what was his worst film he ever made and he mentioned STARSHIP INVASIONS. Well, I'm sorry Chris but STARSHIP INVASIONS was actually goofy fun. STARSHIP INVASIONS is terrible but terribly entertaining. END OF THE WORLD is MUCH, MUCH, MUCH worst: it's beyond dull and inert, with NO entertainment value whatsoever.
7 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
END OF THE WORLD (John Hayes, 1977) *1/2
Bunuel197618 July 2015
That Christopher Lee wanted to put Hammer Films behind him after two decades of solid service is perhaps understandable given that, as he is reported to have claimed, the quality of parts being offered to him within that stable had steadily deteriorated over the last few years. However, considering that what awaited him outside its boundaries was generally more of the same – only cheaper still and mostly downright exploitative – the choice may not have been a wise one! As it happened, the famed British company was actually on its last legs and, indeed, their last horror outing (before the recent, rather low-key revival) would prove to be the maligned TO THE DEVIL…A DAUGHTER (1976), co-starring Lee in the role of an evil priest.

That alone should have spelled disaster for the movie under review as Lee was again called upon to don the habit – in the promising first scene of technological mayhem in a small-town café – not to mention play a dual role, to no evident benefit, this time as the leader of a small alien community (his cohorts, hiding with him inside the safety of a convent, under the guise of nuns!) bent on destroying Earth before its 'excesses' throw the entire Universe in chaos!! That is basically it for this truly lame sci-fi effort – seldom has the impending apocalypse been depicted so dully, uneventfully and unimaginatively! To add insult to injury, the producers managed to recruit a serviceable cast – Sue Lyon (far removed from her signature role in Stanley Kubrick's LOLITA {1962}) and old-timers Dean Jagger, Lew Ayres and Macdonald Carey – but then forgot to give them anything at all worthwhile to do. For instance, the leading lady simply tags along (throwing an occasional, and most unconvincing, hysterical fit) with hero Kirk Scott – whose help is somehow sought by the enemy in getting back home (is that not a tired concept, one which I have always found ludicrous to begin with!) – on his mission to thwart Lee's plans, but she could just as well have stayed home for all the good she does him or his cause!

The script, too, does not even attempt to explain itself: coded messages from outer space precede natural disasters occurring here on Earth (are they meant as fair warning before complete annihilation, or just a gratuitous display of the latest – albeit by-now cumbersome – computer machinery?); Lee is confronted with the callous murder of seven innocent people to achieve his aims, and he can only (straight-facedly, mind you) reason thus: "We had no choice – there was a malfunction in the negative velocity!" … come again?! However, what really sinks this is the climax: the protagonists not only never bother to alert the proper authorities about the imminent threat to our planet – but they even turn traitors and, by escaping through a convenient time-warp, join their opponents' ranks (truly a case of "if you cannot beat them…")!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Woof it's a dog!
BandSAboutMovies25 October 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Christopher Lee, the main selling point of this movie, said, "Some of the films I've been in I regret making. I got conned into making these pictures in almost every case by people who lied to me. Some years ago, I got a call from my producers saying that they were sending me a script and that five very distinguished American actors were also going to be in the film. Actors like José Ferrer, Dean Jagger, and John Carradine. So I thought "Well, that's all right by me". But it turned out it was a complete lie. Appropriately the film was called End Of The World."

The film opens with a shaken Lee as a Catholic priest trying to get to a phone call. All hell breaks loose and a diner is destroyed, with the owner blinded by coffee before being killed and the pay phone being blown up. Turns out that Father Pergado is due to be replaced by the alien Zindar. Good start. And it was the trailer, filled with science fiction machines and evil nuns that got me interested in this picture!

Professor Andrew Boran discovers radio signals that predict natural disasters. He and his wife investigate, discovering that they come from a convent where aliens have taken over. The aliens want him to join them, as the Earth is too diseased to exist.

The leads are wooden and only seem to want to have sex with one another, yet there are no love scenes. They're utter failures at being heroic and simply move the plot along to its conclusion, where we learn that the Earth is filled with glitter. It blows up real good!

There are some ridiculous moments, such as Lee's true form and seeing nuns operate supercomputers. Seriously, if I just read the description of this movie, it'd sound like everything I love. But seeing the execution leaves a lot to be desired.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Despite starring Christopher Lee, it's crap...very, very dull crap!
planktonrules21 April 2010
Warning: Spoilers
Wow, this film had 'crap' written all over it! The sound effects appeared to have been done by some guy using computer, a crappy synthesizer and pinball sound effects for EVERYTHING! In fact, it was the director who also handled the sound...and it showed. Also, I know this will sound terrible, but veteran actor Dean Jagger looked like death warmed over--like he was dying of cancer. Now I know he went on to live another 14 years, but here in "End of the World" he looks like he's on borrowed time. Plus, because the director was also the guy in charge of sound, Jagger's severely weakened voice came off as only a little more than a raspy whisper. Additionally, while a film in the public domain is no guarantee of horrible quality, it IS pretty highly correlated! You can clearly see why no one would want to bother renewing the copyright on this...film.

As the film progresses, a series of natural disasters strike. While the number and intensity are unusual, no one suspects anything...except for one egghead with a computer. He's been trying to decipher some signals from space and he is able to interpret three words that make it seem like aliens MIGHT have something to do with one of the disasters! In addition to this strange occurrence, he also uses his equipment to try to determine where some huge radio signals are coming from---and it appears to be from a convent! It seems the nice father in charge (Lee) is communicating with aliens! Don't you just hate that?! Sadly, once the egghead figures all this you, the film really, really loses steam. When he is confronted by these aliens disguised as people, you'd think there'd be a lot of action and tension. Instead, the entire scene is amazingly muted and dull--with a monologue by Lee that sounds as animated as his reading a phone book! After all, you'd THINK seven aliens disguised as a priest and six nuns would be pretty cool--and even more so because of their cool machinery. But you'd be wrong--there is no excitement whatsoever to this--how could that be?! It's because it's all so talky and lifeless, that's how.

Overall, the film is a major chore to finish, as there's just nothing interesting about it. Plus, while it's bad and cheap, it's just not bad and cheap enough to be fun for a laugh--it's just bad!
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
If you watch "End of the World", it will be the End of your Life!...
connerg-219 October 1999
This is one of the most boring movies I have ever seen, its horrible. Christopher Lee is good but he is hardly in it, the only the good part is the opening scene.

Don't be fooled by the title. "End of the World" is truly a bad movie, I stopped watching it close to the end it was so bad, only for die hard b-movie fans that have the brain to stand this vomit.
7 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A gripping, suspenseful sci-fi thriller!!!
beetle-259-55414830 January 2019
Don't let all the negative reviews fool you; this movie is a low-budget high tension thriller with aliens!!!

This movie is beautifully shot, getting you immersed into the 1970s setting and sucking you in... what if... all these natural disaster you see in the news are something bigger? This is no goverment conspiracy ..... the aliens are behind it!

Christopher Lee is not Dracula but a heartless alien... a role he plays to perfection!!

In this movie, everything explodes; pay phones, coffee machines, computers, Ford Thunderbirds, and paper mache planets!

If it seems boring, just let your mind fill the blanks.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
good actors wasted in bad movie
vampi196023 September 2006
end of the world looks like a good movie on the box cover but be warned its bad.being a big fan of mega star actor Christopher lee i was fooled. like tentacles(77)a good cast does not mean it'll be a good film.the beginning looks promising then it turns to tedium,many parts of the movie are too dark to see whats going on.the rest of the cast is shown briefly like;Lew ayres,dean Jagger,and MacDonald Carey as a security guard.i would expect better from Charles band who made good fun movies like the re-animater and dolls.i heard Christopher lee was tricked into making this film.he was told his co stars were going to be Jose ferrer,john carridine,and dean Jagger.well dean Jagger is there but the other two never made it(lucky them)if you make a movie about the end of the world use a bigger budget and better storyline.dean Jagger went on to do two good movies afterwards;alligator(80)and game of death(79) sue Lyon(Lolita)is also in the movie minus her lollipop.if you are a glutton for punishment then watch end of the world i dare you to say awake during the whole movie.1 out of 10.
5 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The End of this movie is the best thing about it!
dpnyneo30 August 2007
Warning: Spoilers
I love B science fiction/Horror movies & Christopher Lee is a legend but this was so bad it was actually funny! Acting is bad, soundtrack is bad, extra's bad, sound effects bad, special effects bad & it's very boring! Especially for 1977. Check it out if you want to waste almost 2 hours of your life or just for laughs if you are a die hard movie fan etc. On the good side, the TV screens at the end of the movie with every part of the planet going to hell being destroyed by floods, storms, earthquakes etc & viewed on these screens looked pretty eerie and I thought this was a nice idea for shock value for this scene & freaked me out as a kid visually but it was filmed poorly. Also the movie poster is a creative Idea. I can understand why Christopher Lee did not like being in this movie. I think they can redo this movie as a remake better this time around in this era of movie's in our lifetime. I would like to remake this and maybe use Christopher Lee again! God bless him he is still alive!
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Could be an endurance test, even for loyal Lee fans.
Hey_Sweden27 March 2016
From B movie perennials Charles Band ("Trancers") and John Hayes ("Grave of the Vampire") comes this noticeably cheap and only moderately amusing effort, written by Frank Ray Perilli ("Laserblast"). Sir Christopher Lee has dual roles, principally that of Zindar, an alien leader who's impersonated a priest (and whose associates are impersonating nuns). While natural disasters plague other parts of the Earth, an intrepid communications expert, Professor Andrew Boran (Kirk Scott), ends up discovering Zindars' plans and lair, accompanied by his wife Sylvia (Sue Lyon).

B cinema enthusiasts will surely WANT to enjoy this one more than they likely will. Sir Christopher is always good value, but even his effortlessly authoritative presence can do little to enliven the presentation. Producer Band and director Hayes do what they can with limited funding, but the movie is dull and uneventful for too much of its running time, with not enough suspense. The action picks up somewhat in the second half, but this story never really hits a stride. Some people may be fairly entertained by the level of cheese on display, in any event. Hayes was also the editor, and makes a cameo as the helpful driver on the highway. Andrew Belling composed the decent music score

Scott, who reminded this viewer (somewhat) of Christopher George, is an incredible stiff, and his character is an insipid "hero". Lyon, of "Lolita" fame, is lovely, but not much of an actress. Dean Jagger offers some fun as Borans' boss, but Lew Ayres and Macdonald Carey are utterly wasted in small roles. It's basically up to Lee to do all of the heavy lifting.

Viewers may enjoy the ending.

Five out of 10.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
"Some warp speed should be in order"
hwg1957-102-26570417 February 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Aliens alter the earth's environment as preparation to invade the earth but in the end decide not to invade and go back to their own planet leaving the earth to explode. A scientist and his wife get involved with the aliens who include six nuns and a cloned double of a priest. I think that is the plot but am not sure. It has the makings of a cult film but lacks anything of interest above the banal. Calamities are referred to but not shown until the end when stock footage comes into play. (The lava flow looked very familiar.) It also moves slowly. Very slowly.

It has a great cast. Christopher Lee! Dean Jagger! Lew Ayres! Macdonald Carey! Sadly these fine professionals all suffer under a terrible script and turgid direction. The scientist Andrew Boran is played by Kirk Scott and is indeed boring. Sue Lyon as his wife doesn't fare much better. Simmy Bow plays 'Diner Owner' which I only mention because of the actor's cool name.

You would expect a film called 'End Of The World' would be thrilling but it is rather tedious. Not with a bang but a whimper.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Fair 70s scifi horror starring Christopher Lee
oulamies24 February 2018
This film gets a bad rep on this page here. Personally, I didn't think it was that bad at all. The main problem with End of the World (as every other review lets you know) is perhaps the movie's rudimentary script and the lack of trying to keep its audience stimulated. Though I do think it also works to the film's advantage.

The absence of action scenes and special effects combined with the often abysmal lighting creates a pretty cool ominous atmosphere. The soundtrack plays a big part here; without the dark, droning electronic ambiance and sound effects this movie would surely turn to a chore to sit through.

But there I was, end credits rolling, wide-awake and alert. In retrospect, a lot of the scenes were absolutely pointless, not bringing the ultra-simple plot forward (the story is seriously that of a 30-minute short film). Don't expect interesting characters, escaping tidal waves, thrilling suspense, lasers.... Here's what you get: a few explosions, stock footage and a cool set towards the end of the film. Deal with it, or go watch Star Wars.

If you don't mind low-key cinema, give End of the World a try. A lot of people here seemed to be expecting a disaster movie, given the title. This is essentially a movie that does not care about your thirst for vibrant cinema. It's cheap 70s science fiction. Oh yeah, and Christopher Lee is great as always!
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Convent& doomsday exploitation
Cristi_Ciopron14 March 2009
Warning: Spoilers
Your mind will not be satisfied by this no—budget doomsday thriller; but, pray, who's will? A youngish couple spends the actual end of the world in the hidden laboratory of some aliens masquerading as Church people.

Small _apocalyptically themed outing, END OF THE WORLD has the ingenuity and the lack of both brio and style of the purely '50s similar movies. And it's not only that, but EOTW plays like a hybrid—not only doomsday but convent creeps as well. The villain of the movie is a well—known character actor.

This wholly shameless slapdash seems a piece of convent—exploitation, that significantly '70s genre which looks today so amusingly outdated. Anyway, the convent's secret laboratory is some nasty piece of futuristic deco! Christopher Lee is the pride of End of the World; but the End of the World is not at all his pride!
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed