Death Rage (1976) Poster

(1976)

User Reviews

Review this title
25 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
6/10
"If I were you I'd still shoot"
bensonmum230 April 2006
Warning: Spoilers
I found Death Rage to be a fun little Euro-crime movie that's much better than it's reputation would suggest (or at least better than many of the reviews I've read). Yul Brynner plays Peter Marciani, an aging hit-man hired to go to Italy to kill a mob boss. At first he refuses until he learns that his intended target is responsible for his brother's death. Along the way, he meets and befriends a young, overly helpful, wannabe mobster and a beautiful showgirl. Can these three pull off the job?

Quite simply, Yul Brynner is the man! He brings a certain authenticity and coolness to Marciani and makes most of the film a blast. I bought into his hit-man persona completely. When confronted by two hoods wanting to take him to see their boss, Marciani calmly says "If I were you, I'd shoot." One of the hoods tells Marciani that he's worth more alive. Marciani's response – "If I were you I'd still shoot". How classic is that! Death Rage also features a number of exciting car chases and gun battles in the narrow street of Naples. These scenes are exciting and very well done.

The film co-stars Barbara Bouchet. For the most part, she is underutilized and most of the scenes involving her are too predictable. You just know that at some point the bad guys are going to use her to get to Marciani. Also, I never really believed the relationship between Marciani and Bouchet's character. The two made a ridiculous looking couple.

Finally, I can't really end this without mentioning the subplot involving a problem with Marciani's eyes that, I suppose, relate to the film's title in some way. These scenes are pointless and go nowhere. Can you say "padding"?

While I've rated Death Rage a 6/10, I'm almost positive that my rating would change if I ever have the opportunity to see an uncut copy of the film. My copy of Death Rage has a runtime more than 15 minutes less than that listed on IMDb.
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Yul be bored to tears
Zeegrade27 January 2009
When you think of Yul Brynner nine times out of ten it's his roles in either The Ten Commandments, Magnificent Seven or the King & I. Lucky for him that his mailed-in performances at the end of his career are so forgetful that they do little to mar his reputation. Death Rage is one of these movies.

Yul Brynner plays former mob hit-man Peter Marciani that has flashbacks of the murder of his brother. The so-called "Death Rage" appears as an epileptic red montage of his brother's death superimposed over Peter's face whenever something reminds him of that fateful day. At one point in the movie it is proposed that Peter suffers from glaucoma as evidenced by his "eye medicine" however he is then told by an optometrist that nothing is wrong with his eyes and that perhaps the problem is mental. Whether this was deemed necessary to flesh out the story remains a mystery to me because it never factors into the movie. Obviously his sight is fine due to the fact that he's an amazingly accurate shot and the flashbacks do not in any way alter his demeanor. You might as well have named the movie Serious Bald Hit-man and been done with it.

The cast also includes Massimo Ranieri as Angelo, Peter's eager beaver apprentice who tries very hard to impress him. One of Angelo's gifts to Peter is the introduction to Amy played by the gorgeous Barbara Bouchet. She instantly falls head over-heels in love with Peter and provides the few scenes worth viewing as she is topless in a strip club and fully nude in a following hotel scene. This, it appears to me, is the only reason this movie was given an R rating as the violence is the soft side. Martin Balsam rounds out the cast as, guess this, an Italian commissario! I'm sure Mr. Balsam cashed all of his checks thinking to himself if at some point he would still get paid for playing the same character.

The reason I think so lowly of Death Rage is because it is boring and forgettable. Two sins that supersede production value, sound editing, or poor acting that plagued many seventies flicks. To top it all off, Dino DeLaurentis released basically the same movie three years before this called Frank & Tony starring Lee Van Cleef of spaghetti western fame as Mean Frank and his entertaining sidekick wannabe Tony LoBianco as Crazy Tony. Watch that one instead.
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Let Yul Brynner's bald head hypnotize you...
Jonny_Numb18 July 2006
The "Chilling Classics" 50-movie pack was staring me down like a salivating jackal as I stood in the horror aisle of Circuit City, contemplating the pros (50 movies for dirt cheap!) and cons (probably crap quality as a result). My inner consumer scanned the titles on the back of the package, and was intrigued enough to hand over the greenbacks. First flick: "Death Rage," a Naples-set crime thriller starring stoic bald superman Yul Brynner, an ex-hit man who is brought back into the world of organized crime to avenge his brother's murder--car chases ensue; an unlikely pupil is taught the ways of contract killing; a blonde sex kitten (Barbara Bouchet, from "Don't Torture a Duckling") falls for our chrome-domed hero; and Martin Balsam shows up to pay the rent. Director Anthony M. Dawson (really Antonio Margheriti) keeps the pace moving along, and stages some good (if ridiculously unrealistic) action sequences. And Brynner's performance is a wooden hoot... While "Death Rage" is hardly brilliant, it is low-budget, low-down fun.
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Mediocre Gangster Thriller
bkoganbing29 September 2007
Before surrendering himself completely to touring with The King And I as completely as Bela Lugosi surrendered to being Dracula or James O'Neill surrendered to being The Count of Monte Cristo, Yul Brynner made this final farewell screen appearance in this very mediocre gangster thriller.

Along for the ride on this wild turkey is Barbara Bouchet as Brynner's gangster girl friend, Martin Balsam as the Italian police inspector in Naples and Italian pop star Massimo Ranieri as Brynner's apprentice hit-man.

Brynner is a retired hit-man that gets brought back into the active Mafia by news that a top Naples crime boss ordered and carried out a hit on Brynner's brother. Brynner leaves New York and plots his revenge.

All that distinguishes Death Rage is some nice location cinematography of Naples in the mid seventies. All those seventies fashions are there as well, I can hardly believe I wore some of that. The Americans look bored and just walk through the roles, the Italian players are poorly dubbed in English.

Death Rage is for die-hard fans of Yul Brynner only.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Low-Budget Italian Revenge Flick That is Actually Pretty Decent
Dave Kaminskas21 April 2006
Peter Marciani's brother was killed by the mafia. Now Marciani is traveling to Italy to kill his brother's murderer and he is going to take out his mob one man at a time. Low-budget revenge flick similar to The Punisher movies as far as plot. Slow paced, but peppered with some nice shoot-outs and car chases. I thought it was a fun little movie. Yul Brenner playing Marciani really makes the movie. Martin Balsam was good as the police inspector. The only problem was that their wasn't much characterization on the female lead Anny. Worth a look at if you like movies like The Punisher, other people might want to stay away. ** out of ****
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Deceptive Thriller
Claudio Carvalho20 October 2014
When a mobster is assassinated in Naples by the gangsters of Gennaro Gallo (Giancarlo Sbragia), the retired hit-man Peter Marciani (Yul Brynner) learns that Gallo was the responsible for the murder of his brother. He travels from New York to Italy to revenge his brother and he hires the smalltime crook Angelo (Massimo Ranieri) to work for him. Angelo introduces Peter to the dancer Anny (Barbara Bouchet) and they have a love affair. Meanwhile the Italian police inspector (Martin Balsam) unsuccessfully tries to anticipate Peter's move.

"Con la rabbia agli occhi", a.k.a. "Death Rage", is a deceptive thriller with Yul Brynner. The unoriginal story uses clichés most of the time with a poor development of characters. The shameful Brazilian DVD released by the Cult Classic distributor has worn out image and is awfully dubbed in English. My vote is four.

Title (Brazil): "Na Trilha da Morte" ("On the Trail of the Death")
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
A Violent Day at the Races
Coventry26 November 2006
Just in case you didn't know it yet, Yul Brynner isn't the type of guy you want to mess with! This charismatic tough bastard starred in a whole lot of western & war movie classics and wasted the lives of approximately a thousand bad guys on screen. Being a big fan of his macho style, I loved to see him star in a typically violent crime-thriller, particularly because this an Italian crime-thriller and those guys always add more of the red stuff and sleaze! The plot of "Death Rage" is unimportant and routing Mafia & Revenge guff, but the car chase sequences are exhilarating and the wild shootouts are truly blood-soaked (at least in the uncut version...). The events are set in Italy – mainly on the horse racecourse – where the American hit-man Peter Marciana has come out of retirement especially to kill the gangster boss who was responsible for the death of his beloved brother. Peter gets entangled in the local mafia network, falls in love with a ravishing strip bar dancer (Barbara Bouchet!) and makes a young and spirited thug his hit-man-acolyte. This last sub plot is stolen directly from the Charles Bronson flick "The Mechanic", but who cares, as every fan knows that Italian cinema loves to borrow ideas from popular American blockbusters. Yul Brynner is still the total definition of coolness, even though he clearly didn't put too much passion into his performance of the ageing assassin. His bald head, his eyes (that appear to malfunction) and his sneaky smile are enough to make his character convincing! Martin Balsam is another veteran actor whose character isn't really important, but it's still very nice to have him around. Antonio Margheriti is – in my humble opinion – Italy's most underrated cult director and "Death Rage" is another amiable effort in his repertoire.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Mostly unsuccessful Italian thriller
The_Void31 August 2008
I can only imagine that Death Rage was meant as some sort of cash in on the success of Yul Brynner's earlier movies because as a film in its own right, it really is severely lacking. This is actually quite a surprise too as it's directed by Antonio Margheriti who, while certainly in the 'B' category of Italian directors active in the seventies, still made some very good films with the likes of Schoolgirl Killer and Danse Macabre. This, however, is not one of his finer hours. The plot is just your average everyday story of a hit-man looking for revenge on someone that he is close to; in this case, it's the death of his brother and on the way to his revenge he falls in love with a stripper played by Barbara Bouchet. Yul Brynner often gets the "hard man" act spot on; but personally I find him to be uncharismatic and I can't really say I'm a fan. The main reason I saw this film is because of the inclusion of the beautiful Barbara Bouchet; but unfortunately for me (and the rest of the red blooded male audience) she is sadly underused. There's a fair bit of action in the film, but to be honest I couldn't really care about it as the plot line is so boring. The film hasn't exactly won itself a good reputation in the thirty years since it was made and I'm not surprised about that. I can't really say there's any good reason to see this film.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
A Story of the Mafia, Revenge, and International Relations
gavin694223 January 2007
Yul Brynner stars as a retired mafia hit-man who is called out of retirement to avenge his brother's death. Packing up his fishing pole in New York, he returns to Italy where he confronts the man who killed his brother and his associates, while taking on an apprentice and picking up a lady.

This film had two things working against it: most notably, horrible picture quality. If anything wasn't completely filling the screen, you couldn't always tell what it was supposed to be. This made it difficult to recognize characters, especially when we were looking at things fro ma distance. For the most part, I was able to adjust. But also, this film lacks blood. People get shot from guns with invisible bullets, to grab invisible wounds and fall as they bleed invisible blood. That's some cheap special effects! I guess the "R" rating was used for the nudity, which is nothing spectacular when the camera can't stay focused.

The story itself was decent, and a time-honored tradition in mafia films. Revenge. Maybe that plot gets old for you, but I think it worked quite well here. And the characters were alright. Someone said they weren't surprised this was Brynner's last starring role... I liked him. His apprentice was also alright and the cop was a nice touch (more on this in a moment).

One running theme I liked was the triangle between Brynner, the police and the mafia. The police knew Brynner was there to kill a man (and in fact kills several people) and in one scene the chief even has a lunch with him. The message he sends is "be careful" rather than "you're breaking the law". Now, I understand the point: mafia crime is cleaned up without the police being involved, and because Brynner's an American they can just say he escaped and not waste time on a manhunt. But I still find it hard to believe cops just let killers roam the streets.

My judgment: not a bad film, if someone would provide the labor of love to clean it up. Maybe even a remake is in order, although with all the other mafia and revenge films out there, it's not really one that would stand out. If Brynner is still alive, maybe have him in a cameo role. But seriously, if you can tolerate poor filming and like this type of thing, not a bad picture.
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Naple Syrup
sol27 December 2006
Warning: Spoilers
**SPOILERS** Being contacted by a top Mafia hood, Cannavale, from his hometown of Naples Peter, Maricania, Yul Brynner, spending his retirement years fishing on the Brooklyn waterfront is told if he's interested to do one last hit on gangster Gennare Gallo, the man who murdered his brother. The hit on Gallo has of course nothing to do with Peter's brothers killing. It has to do with his hoods knocking off one of Cannavale's men at the Naple's trotter racetrack. The fact that Peter is told that he in fact did kill his brother makes Peter quickly get a plane ticket to Naples and check out Gallo's pad getting everything together to put the hit on him.

It just so happens that Peter soon runs into young and wanting to make it big with the mob Angelo, Massimo Renieri. Angelo tries to impress the world famous hit-man with his ability to pick winners at the race track. Peter at once realizes what a fake Angelo is when he sees his way of picking winners is. Hiding in a shack and shooting the soon to be winning horse with an air-gun causing him,or her, to brake and end up being disqualify by the racing officials. While the horse that he picks cruises first across the finish line! You wonder why Peter was so quick to pick this up Angelo's cheating and the racing officials, who for what seemed like months, who's job it is to spot these things couldn't? where they all in together in this scam with Angelo?

Gallo knowing that Peter is out to get him dispatches a number of his hood to get Peter. It's Gallo's boys who end up taking gas with two of them getting it in the Naples subway system, by being run over and killed, and one at a local cemetery who ends up being a resident there permanently. Another one of Gallo's hoodlums is himself done in by Gallo's right hand man at the Gallo estate for him screwing up the hit at the racetrack. That of the American mobster, with two of his associates ,getting shot that brought Peter to Naples to put the hit on Gallo in the first place.

The movie at first moves at a snails pace until we have a couple of exciting but mindless foot and car chase scenes as well as shootouts. We also have Peter getting introduced to Angalo's, by Angelo, girlfriend disco dancer Anny, Barbara Bouchet, who gets it on with the sexy hit-man and has a number of wild spins in bed, that were unfortunately edited out in the films and later DVD US release, with him. Anny is also beaten up by two of Gallo's thugs who attempt to kidnap her. There's also the always reliable to be a pain in one's butt, whenever he's in a movie, the overly annoying Martin Balsam as the Commissario. Who's alway getting in the way of Peters work, in and out of bed, and more or less makes an absolute nuisance of himself to everyone,including the audience, in the movie by just being in it.

After almost an hour into the movie we finally get what exactly Peter is planning and it has to do with the wet behind the ears Angelo. Angelo is, unknowingly, being groomed by him to take his place as a top hit-man. As you would expect the kid screws it all up by not being able to knock off Gallo as planned at a New Years party that has Peter, who at the same time knew that young Angelo wasn't up to it, suddenly and unannounced show up and do the job himself.

Were then given another, like so many before in the film, mindless chase scene with Peter, who was badly wounded by Gallo's bodyguard's, knocking off about a half dozen of Gallo's men with him ending up dead for all the trouble he went through. Not only to get Gallo but at the same time make a clean getaway. In fact it was the inexperienced Angelo who made good his escape and at the same time not reveal himself, like Peter did, to Gallo's men. Angelo didn't at all disappoint his dead friend and teacher Peter. Were given this twist ending that takes place at Peter's funeral that was about as surprising as a horse-racing aficionado finding out who won last years Kentucky Darby.

Actually Yul Brynner's last top staring role and for all the movies faults, which are many, he's really the only reason, with the sexy Barbara Bouchet's nude scenes cut out of the movie, to watch it.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Hit-man vs Mafia Kingpin
Rainey Dawn15 October 2016
One of Yul Brynner's least known films and the last film he made. Death Rage has Brynner as Peter Marciani, retired hit man that is force out of retirement to avenge the death of his murdered brother. Marciani (Brynner) goes to Naples and after the man he learn killed his brother, mafia kingpin Gennaro Gallo.

The film is fine generally speaking: not great but it is not horrible but it is the storyline that that seems to be lacking something to me and I'm not sure what - maybe a little bit more action scenes and a little less talking at times? My point being: the film needed some "spice" that it lacked to make this film stand out better. Really the only thing to make this film stand out is Yul Brynner himself - and that's it.

If you like 1970s crime-action films you might like this one but just remember this film could use a wee bit more action... also if you are a fan of Yul Brynner's then I would recommend the film to you.

5/10
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Brynner's fine in a somewhat predictable hit-man thriller
Leofwine_draca11 June 2016
Warning: Spoilers
DEATH RAGE is one of the probably hundreds of Italian polizia flicks made in the 1970s. These tough crime thrillers could typically be characterised by gangsters, violence, shoot-outs, car chases, and no-nonsense cops investigating the cases and I have to admit that they're among my favourite kind of films. This one is slightly different in that it's more American-focused than usual, in an attempt to pass itself off as a US-made movie. It doesn't work, but the film provides passable entertainment for those who like these kinds of movies. Imagine a '70s version of LEON and you'll be halfway there.

The best thing about the movie is undoubtedly the main star. Yul Brynner has always been a favourite of mine and he trades on his Hollywood hard man image here as the icy assassin. Although he's clearly middle-aged by now, he more than looks the part in his dashing black suit and he acts everyone else off the screen effortlessly. Another big bonus is who he's cast against; Martin Balsam was an old hand in these types of films and once again he's typecast here as the commissioner. So what? Balsam's always excellent and he provides good value for money yet again.

The revenge-style plot is nothing new and there isn't much in the way of twists to make it stand out. In fact, it's not particularly memorable, detailing Brynner's vendetta against a gangster gang, revealing how he works his way up from the small-fry thugs to the head honcho. Some interest is added from the inclusion of a young 'apprentice' killer, played by Massimo Ranieri. At first I didn't like this guy; there was no real reason why he was always hanging around Brynner's character (apart from hero worship). Yet by the closing scenes, in which Brynner sets him up to take over his line of business, I was more engaged and there's a nice twist ending involving his character.

Director Antonio Margheriti is one of my favourite Italian auteurs, simply because he's so enthusiastic about whatever he does. He was there from the early '60s pepla through the spaghetti westerns, crime flicks, science fiction and fantasy. He can always be relied upon to make a decently-shot movie and this one's no exception. The pacing is spot on and there's the requisite number of car chases and shoot-outs just waiting to be enjoyed. The director was fond of fantastic elements in his movies and there's a little gimmick here of an animated blood pool popping up as Brynner relives a traumatic event from his past. It doesn't really make sense or fit in but it explains the title, I guess. The only other thing worth mentioning is an extraneous turn from Barbara Bouchet, who provides window dressing and nothing else. Bouchet is happy to strip for the role (literally) but she couldn't be more wooden. She's not the reason to tune in: Brynner's well-groomed, good-and-evil hit-man is. He keeps you watching.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Somewhat average Italian crime-thriller
Red-Barracuda7 November 2010
Death Rage is a poliziotteschi about a retired hit-man (Yul Brynner) who decides to take one last job to avenge the murder of his brother by a mafia gang; he is assisted by an eager young would-be mobster. This is a fairly routine plot-line with no surprises. Yul Brynner plays the role well enough but his character isn't especially interesting. He does suffer from debilitating flash-backs of the killing of his brother; this is shown on screen by an odd red graphic. It's maybe the most interesting idea in the film but it doesn't really ultimately go anywhere, similarly the bad eye-condition that Brynner suffers isn't developed in any way, and feels just like padding. The movie does have an extended car chase and quite a bit of gun-play, so it does at least attempt to keep the action flowing. The problem is more in that the story isn't very dynamic and the villain doesn't seem to do very much or pose too much of a threat, so it's hard to get very involved. The film does also star Martin Balsam in a pretty clichéd role as a police commissario. Much more interesting is the inclusion of Barbara Bouchet as a stripper. This cult Euro actress is a great asset to any film that I have seen her in, and this film is no exception. But, despite being naked quite a lot, she isn't really utilized very well. Overall, this is not a film that comes especially recommended but as a basic crime-thriller it's passably entertaining.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Only if you love Yul Brynner!
rodrig581 November 2017
If you want to see again the New York's twin towers, you have the opportunity here at the beginning and in the last frame of this film. Otherwise, you do not have much to see. Many gunshots, too many, exaggerated, unjustified, in a story that is hard to accept. Well, it's just a movie! But, not one of the best, unfortunately. It's the last film of the great Yul, in a role not exactly in proportion to his great actor's value. A very beautiful Barbara Bouchet, who is not ashamed to show us all, absolutely everything which has beautiful any woman... A Martin Balsam, in the typical role of an Italian policeman, as seen in other Italian mafia films. And a Massimo Ranieri trying to convince us that he is an actor too, not just a singer. The musical theme that is repeatedly used, is "inspired" by Henry Mancini's Peter Gunn theme.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Terrible Video Quality
Stephen A. Martin22 May 2017
The quality of this film is terrible. It's blurred and faded. I might as well have been watching an old used VCR video. Amazon should have revealed this to me before taking my hard earned money.The sad thing is...it's not the first time they've done this.

Shame on you, Amazon.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Eeeeh
loujackandrandy20 February 2017
I actually found this movie to be quite boring. It didn't really keep my attention. I mean, the acting wasn't bad. I guess the main thing was I didn't really care about any or the characters. None of them! And the story itself didn't engage me. My attention kept wandering. And I like mystery/action movies generally. It had its moments I guess. But overall it's one of those movies I'd have on in the background while I'm cleaning or something just to have some noise.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Decent...but not one to rush and see.
MartinHafer8 May 2016
This is Yul Brynner's final film, though he lived another decade after completing this Italian film. Not surprisingly, it's been dubbed into English and the two American stars in the film, Brynner and Martin Balsam, provide their own voices in the English language version. How much the two versions differ, I have no idea. But this one downloaded from archive.org is the English one and, oddly, the sound and video are about 4 seconds off!

The film is about revenge. Years before, Peter Marciani (Brynner) was shocked when his brother was murdered--and now a mob boss has told him who was responsible because they want the guy killed. So, like a crazed but cool character (a bit like Lee Van Cleef in his Italian films), he works to bring down the murderer's mob...and he has the help of two people. One is a beautiful woman who inexplicably falls for Marciani and LOVES to take off her clothes (making this a very explicit film) and a young guy who wants to be a hit-man just like Marciani.

The film is short on plot and her high on action, death and nudity. Mindlessly enjoyable...making it far from a must-see but decent entertainment.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
An average thriller
sb8815 July 2008
In "Death Rage," Peter Marciani is out to get the man who put a hit out on his brother. It's not the most original story by any means and there's no doubt it's been done other places better. Throw in a couple other very familiar plot plot elements and it brings even less to the table.

Maybe that's a little unfair, though. Despite all the clichés, the movie still isn't bad. It's everything you come to expect, but that doesn't made it can't provide some cheap fun. There's gunfights, car chases, and some funny lines.

Overall, it's fairly harmless. There's worse ways to spend 90 minutes, but there are also better ones. Since it's easily available (and probably for free online), it's not a bad idea to check it out and get some cheap thrills.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Easy to see why this was Brynner's last starring role
William18 April 2000
This poorly put together mafia hitman film is just another dull movie wasting the talent of the late Yul Brynner. Seeing this film I understand why Mr. Brynner quit motion pictures and stayed in KING & I tour for many years. This mishmash has Yul as a hitman who finds out that a kingpin in Italy is the man that killed his brother. Yul takes on a rookie sidekick, fall in love with a dancer (bouchet) and Martin Balsam plays a italian cop. The film at least have Yul and Balsam not dubbed by someone else, and does have some car chase and nudity to keep the action audience entertained. I think Brynner could've made a career like most action stars who do Italian film, but this was the only low-grade film he ever did. I guess performing to a crowd on KING & I on stage is more rewarding than doing a film going straight to the drive-ins/grindhouse circuit. Only amusing moment is the rock star badly lipsinc a Oliver Onion tune in the opening scene which has nothing to do with the film.
3 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Ho Hum!
Hitchcoc18 December 2006
I don't know much about Yul Brynner ("The King and I" and "Taras Bulba" and all that). Because of his shaved head, he used to get a lot of notoriety. Today, everyone has a shaved head. He did have that deep voice and piercing eyes. He's a very good actor and a pretty masculine presence. This movie is so easy to figure out and so dull, that he's not given much to do. He, of course, is trying to avenge the death of his brother, during some race track intrigue with people shooting trotters and pushing them off their game. It's like thousands of other films. We wait for the showdown, we have a minor character who must become a man and show his stuff. It's not that it's a terrible movie. It just seems slow moving and ordinary.
1 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Very forgettable
Ryan J. Gilmer20 April 2000
This is a short and forgettable film. Brynner is the reason to see the film, but even his role does not have much presence to it. A lot of the dubbing is mediocre and the story is rather straight-forward and nothing new (even for the 70's). Chase scenes are OK and amusing and some of the Brynner/rookie interplay is good, but overall everything could have been better and some aspects were predictable. viewed/owned on VHS
1 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
sleaze
Cristi_Ciopron28 January 2015
Warning: Spoilers
A trite crime story about revenge, with a handful of known actors, one of them an aging Brynner overacting as a vengeful Italo-American, who has a younger thug as sidekick and disciple; a few car chases, nice landscapes and sets, lots of murders, a general atmosphere of sleaze, many mindless Italian policemen, a barely sketched plot, the most unlikable thing is Brynner's dire role, with his outlandish look and weird demeanor, in an eminently physical role, done carelessly and senselessly.

Perhaps a well-meant vehicle for Brynner, but he's the worst here.

So, ineffective nastiness. Still, you can see some nice Italian places. The plot seems generally meaningless.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Yul Bryner Has the Death Rage
evanston_dad20 September 2010
Yul Bryner plays a hit man out to avenge the death of his brother in this low-budget European thriller that also features Martin Balsam (of all people) as an Italian police chief!

There's not much of note about this film except some exquisite but all-too-brief full frontal nudity provided by bombshell Barbara Bouchet. The film's not bad, exactly, but it's too rough around the edges and uninspired to be truly good. The malady that gives the film its title is a sort of mental migraine that afflicts Bryner whenever he's about to kill someone and has a flashback to the killing of his brother, and it's visually represented by a groovy smear of red that runs down the frame like blood. But though the filmmakers make such a definite point of introducing that particular plot point, it oddly plays no role in the film and nothing comes of it.

Grade: C
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews