The Rocky Horror Picture Show (1975) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
524 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
"Don't dream it, be it!"
nick-9618 October 1998
As an 18 y/o stranded in a small, bible belt town in the sticks of Missouri, I would drive 120 miles every two weeks to St. Louis to the Varsity Theater to see The Rocky Horror Picture Show during the early 80's. For me, it was a chance to live, to breathe free, as anything went; there was no need to conform to any narrow minded conventions, as I felt I had to survive at home. The first time I witnessed Tim Curry flinging open his cape, proudly proclaiming "I'm just a sweet transvestite, from Transsexual Transylvania," I knew I'd found a place to be myself. Even now, some 18 years later, that sight still gives me a thrill. Sure, the plot is ridiculous (on second thought, it had more to offer than 80 percent of the crap coming out of Hollywood then and now) and it is loaded with technical flaws. Still, I consider it the greatest film of all time. How many films draw a crowd of regulars weekly, create a sense of community, especially for people who, more than likely, felt as if they were not a part of any community, as I felt? Over the years, I've seen the film 64 times, and when I'm 80 I plan on getting up on my arthritic legs and doing the "Time Warp."
19 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Mother of All Cult Films
mercuryix-114 September 2005
Or I should say, the Sweet Transvestite of all cult films!

To those who haven't seen Rocky Horror, don't bother reading reviews about it. It won't mean anything. Don't rent it on DVD which it recently came out on. It also won't mean anything, because it's missing the thing that gave it and the stage play that preceded it life... the audience. By definition, a cult film is meant to be seen by a group. Preferably, a large one.

I saw Rocky Horror 20-something years ago, and wound up playing "Brad" with the players next to the stage. Something I would normally never do. Why? The show's energy sucked me in. More accurately, the audience's energy sucked me in.

The show, with a revved-up audience, is almost like a dialogue between the movie and the people watching it. It celebrates sex, hedonism, even while playing out the danger, violence, and tragedy it can result in. It allows the audience of mostly young kids to exude and rejoice in their sexuality, whatever it is. And without ever taking their clothes off. I think that is the real appeal of the show. There's a joyousness, and a strange innocence, in throwing raunchy comments at the screen, watching the live performers on-stage act out the scenes in racy costumes, and sharing the energy anonymously in the dark with strangers.

The live show with the original actors must have been electrifying. Plays always have more energy than films because of the immediacy of the live actors, and the energy must have been even more intense. I'll always regret not having the chance to have seen it.

The movie itself has been described too many times for me to give a synopsis. I will however say that it is really a collage of feelings, ranging from fear, trepidation, excitement, lust, joyous sexual fulfillment, more lust, tragedy, and a strange sadness at the end. Basically, all the emotions that make life worth living, in an hour and a half. However, the visceral enjoyment of this film, and the emotions it brings, will only be experienced with a large, highly energized audience. If you get a chance, and if you can get your reserved ego out of the way, go to a midnight showing in your area when you know there's going to be a big showing. Don't go expecting a logical, coherent storyline. Its about experience, not narrative. You'll get an experience that you've been missing your whole life. At the end, there is a message here, hidden under all the seemingly blissful hedonism. It takes a long time for it to become clear, however.

I wonder if O'Brian, its creator, was clever enough to have put it there all along?

By the way, there is no nudity or actual sex in the entire movie. For a movie with its reputation, that's pretty amazing. Compared to the slasher/gore fests passing themselves off as film these days, the movie is strangely quaint and innocent. But then, that's what true enjoyment of sensuality should be.

For a cult film, 10 out of 10 stars. It doesn't get any better than this as cult films go.
121 out of 155 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A young naive couple experience a modern Frankenstein.
taysurfs16 September 2005
Those who gave this gem a low score - Please! Crawl back in your cardboard life and stay there! This film bubbles with zest, wit, subtle humor, raw humor, strange scenes, great songs and a huge host of memorable characters. Most of the characters are drawn as sharply as if a straight razor...well, not straight...as if a razor had been used. Not intended for the super straight part of our culture, which is why it usually plays at midnight shows, but you'll notice that it's been playing steadily for 30 years now, especially along the American coasts, which is a better record that almost anything else you can think of (excluding Gome With The Wind in Atlanta, a single town). I even took my mother to one of the 15 or so theater viewings I've attended. She thought the dressed up audience was a little strange, but she found out why they were so enthusiastic and quite liked the show. It's just a time slip....
152 out of 200 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Better To Watch At Home!
Gazzer-22 March 2001
A squeaky-clean young couple, Brad & Janet (Barry Bostwick & Susan Sarandon), get a flat tire on a late rainy night, and decide to stop off at a nearby castle to use the residents' phone and call for help. What they don't realise is that these are no ordinary residents: Dr. Frank N Furter (Tim Curry), with assistance from his servants Riff Raff (Richard O'Brien), Magenta (Patricia Quinn), and their ragtag bunch of fellow Transylvanians, has his own diabolical plans for the evening, set against a kick-butt rock 'n' roll music score....

Call me a twisted "Rocky Horror" fan, but I actually prefer to watch this cult classic movie-musical in the comfort of my own home, rather than going out to one of those midnight theatrical screenings that have made this 1975 film so popular. Oh, I'm sure there's great fun to be had at a midnight showing, but the fact is, you're not going to see or hear very much of the movie itself, what with the audience shouting & throwing stuff at the screen literally every two seconds (think of "Mystery Science Theater 3000" on speed), as well as the live cast performing in front of the movie screen! If you want to really *see and hear* "The Rocky Horror Picture Show" as you would any other film, watch it on video first. Then, when you've got the movie firmly etched in your head, head out to the theater. But NOT before!

Having said that, this movie version of the hit stage musical written by Richard O'Brien (Riff Raff himself), is a ton of great, naughty fun. It wonderfully sends up B-movie sci-fi/horror flicks, with a playful, healthy dose of blatant sexual innuendo thrown in for good measure. Classic, memorable rock 'n' roll tunes written by O'Brien throughout, including "The Time Warp," "Sweet Transvestite," "Hot Patootie"....the list goes on and on. And, of course, you have a spectacular cast, led by Tim Curry, who IS the larger-than-life Dr. Frank N Furter, and a young, attractive Susan Sarandon, who simply lights up the screen as Janet. But everyone else, including Barry Bostwick, Meatloaf, Little Nell, Patricia Quinn, and Charles Gray all make excellent contributons, too.

I love "The Rocky Horror Picture Show": it's very funny, sexy, and brilliantly performed, with great rock 'n' roll music t'boot. But I, personally, still prefer to watch it at home, where I can see the film in peace & quiet without being yelled in my ear, getting soaked, or having rice & toast tossed all around me!
141 out of 189 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
dammit Janet!
didi-519 October 2003
Moving on from the riotous cult stage show which was born in a small studio theatre in the early 70s, this movie version is a well-cast, outrageous romp showcasing the absurdity and sci-fi obsession of Richard O'Brien's inventive musical.

The small cast - the wonderful Tim Curry as Frank 'n Furter (the sweet transvestite from transsexual Transylvania'); Barry Bostwick and Susan Sarandon as the odd science students Brad and Janet; Patricia Quinn as Magenta ('a domestic'); Little Nell as Columbia ('a groupie'), Jonathan Adams as Dr Scott; Meat Loaf as Eddie; Richard O'Brien himself as the handyman Riff Raff; Peter Hinwood as the muscle man Rocky, created by Frank in a spoof on Frankenstein; and Charles Gray having a great time as the Criminologist - are all really good, and the songs are terrific, from the madness of 'The Timewarp' and 'Sweet Transvestite', to the ethereal 'There's a Light' and 'I'm Going Home', by way of the rocky 'Whatever Happened To Saturday Night?' and the film-reference heavy 'Science Fiction Double Feature'.

Great, great fun and the floor show sequence in particular, showcasing Frank's obsession with Fay Wray and the RKO cheapies, is exceptional, with its statues in basques and its huge swimming pool. Trash, yes, but classy trash, and most enjoyable.
81 out of 108 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Science Fiction Double Feature!
mdm-1122 May 2005
We-e-e-elcome to the Late Night Double Feature Picture Show! This Cult-Classic mixes elements of "Bride of Frankenstein" with "Forbidden Planet", "The Day The Earth Stood Still" and other classic Horror Flicks. This is a brilliantly conceived original, unsurpassed by any similar effort.

The heroes, a newly engaged young couple, are stranded with car trouble on a rainy night, looking to use the phone at the "Frankenfurter Mansion". They are in for a turbulent ride! There are some great song & dance numbers here, most noteworthy the "Time Warp" and the numbers involving "Eddie" (played by a then unknown Meatloaf). Tim Curry is delicious as the bisexual satyr-like Frankenfurter, who sees his young visitors as fair game for seduction.

The action is fast paced with one thrill after another. It's quite understandable that some fans have watched this film every Saturday at Midnight for the past 30 years. Get a bag of rice, toast, a squirt-gun, surgical gloves, etc, and have yourself a Rocky Horror Picture Show Party!
71 out of 98 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great fun and hilarious, I'll always love it!
ItWasGreatWhenItAllBegan18 September 2005
The Rocky Horror Picture Show isn't a film for everyone. You need a sense of humor to enjoy, I would say, and must have an open mind.

Back in the 70s I used to see this film almost every weekend with my buddies. It was a blast! The audience participation is so energetic! Dressing up was also something I loved doing (I'd dress as Magenta!) The film is hilarious and the lines delivered are priceless. Kudos to Richard O'Brien for writing such a good script! And the actors were simply amazing!! A first role for many of the stars. Tim Curry stands out as Dr. Frank-N-Furter, 'the sweet transvestite from Transsexual, Transylvania', a role he will always be famous and remembered for. He is so hilarious, delivers his lines perfectly and, if I do say so myself, he is quite magnetizing! Susan Sarandon performs great as Janet Weiss and has a very nice singing voice. Barry Bostwick's character, Brad, is simply lovable! Patricia Quinn and Little Nell are 2 beautiful women playing 2 beautiful characters who are also very entertaining! Charles Gray and Jonathan Adams are also a great addition to the film.

Another major plus of this film is the singing and the dancing! Catchy songs and thrilling dance numbers drew me to this film the most! So see it at home, see it in the theater, but just make sure you see it and get ready to have ultimate fun with what is, in my opinion, the best movie out there!!
59 out of 82 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
You'd better believe that Susan Sarandon can sing!
lee_eisenberg23 September 2005
Well, everybody knows that "The Rocky Horror Picture Show" is probably the ultimate cult classic; at this point, "RHPS" isn't even really a cult movie anymore, due to its prominence. The plot (or whatever it is) of course has Janet Weiss (Susan Sarandon) and Brad Majors (Barry Bostwick) going to a castle run by the bizarre Dr. Frank-N-Furter (Tim Curry), a "transvestite from transsexual Transylvania". Mostly, the movie seems like a big excuse to be weird, and they do just that to great effect. And who ever would have guessed that Susan Sarandon, now known for serious roles, could do such a cool job singing? So, was "RHPS" trying to tell us anything? Who cares? It's just so neat that you just have to sit back and enjoy. And enjoy you will, even if you think that nothing good came out of the '70s (I, for one, don't hold that opinion).
61 out of 86 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
"And crawling on the planet's face, some insects called the human race"
oOoBarracuda22 August 2016
The Rocky Horror Picture Show was one of those glorious films I began watching with no preconceived notions about it or any clue what it was about. I knew that there was a cult status that had followed this film since it was first released in 1975, but I knew little else about it. So rarely does one get the chance to go blind into a film, and I took that chance and could not be any happier with the result. Directed by Jim Sharman and starring Tim Curry in his film debut, along with the film's writer Richard O'Brien, Patricia Quinn and Nell Campbell reprising their stage roles, The Rocky Horror Picture Show has exploded into a phenomenon filled with audience participation, props and shadow casts making a viewing of the film a rite of passage for young people. Beginning as a stage production before being made into the film, The Rocky Horror Picture Show has withstood the test of time, crowned as the longest constantly running film in movie theatre history.

The film opens at a wedding outside of a church in the idyllic city of Denton Ohio. Friends of Brad Majors (Barry Bostwick) and Janet Weiss (Susan Sarandon) have just tied the knot, and Janet has caught the bouquet. Taking his cue, Brad proposes to Janet and the two decide they must travel to see their former science teacher, now friend and mentor, to share the good news. Along the way, the two experience car trouble and wander upon a mysterious castle to ask for help and use a telephone. What Brad and Janet have come upon disturbs them as they meet a peculiar group of people who have come to see an affair of a transvestite scientist. Brad and Janet are undressed by the domestic of the home, Magenta (Patricia Quinn) and the handyman Riff Raff (Richard O'Brien) and taken up to the master's laboratory. Once they formally meet Dr. Frank-N-Furter (Tim Curry) they begin to learn that he is a scientist interested in reanimation and has the secret to human life. The affair that they happened upon is one in which Dr. Frank-N- Furter is going to reveal the muscle man he has created. After the reveal of Rocky (Peter Hinwood), things take a turn for the strange, and everyone is escorted to bed as Frank and Rocky get better acquainted. After a night of trysts, it is unsure whom should be paired with whom anymore and everyone, including rival scientist, and friend to Brad and Janet, Dr. Everett V. Scott (Jonathan Adams), who happened upon the night's activities, is invited to dinner. After a raucous dinner reveal/birthday party more sexual liberation occurs and everyone participates in Dr. Frank N-Furter's floor show in full formal attire. After spending time in Frank-N-Furter's palace and submitting to his plans, Brad and Janet definitely don't leave the same way they came in.

From the opening sequence of Patricia Quinn's infamous red lips singing to the audience, one knows they are in for a wild ride. The beginning of the film is filled with fun nods to classic cinema, including The Wizard of Oz as the same characters that are at the wedding will also appear in Transylvania. There are also tons of nods to B-horror movies of the early days of Hollywood making The Rocky Horror Picture Show a treat for fans of classic films. My first experience with a rock musical did not disappoint. Since I first saw this movie just two months ago, I have bought the soundtrack in two different mediums so I can listen to the music anytime I please, yeah, it's that good. Speaking of the music, am I the only one that thinks that, as cute as Time Warp is, Sweet Transvestite is the song that really steals the show? Although, to be fair, any scene with Tim Curry stole the show. It's unbelievable to think that this film was Tim Curry's film debut; what an introduction! He was extraordinary in this role and proved that if he can do Dr. Frank-N-Furter, he can do anything. It's truly unfortunate that he has been so underutilized in Hollywood, with acting ability and a voice like his you would expect him to be in just about everything, alas, this did not turn out to be, although he has an extensive filmography of voice work to his credit. I suppose such is the life of a character actor, it's just so disheartening to see how great he can be (If you need any further evidence check out Three Men in a Boat or Blue Money) and to see him act in the worst American movies imaginable. I wonder if Tim Curry's entrance coming out of the elevator in The Rocky Horror Picture Show isn't the best on film. The Rocky Horror Picture Show does many things that are hard to do well on film. Not only does the film use a narrator which can bog down the story line and come off clunky and often disjointed, but several of the characters also broke the fourth wall as well. This device is almost never done well but executed flawlessly in this film. What's more, however, is that The Rocky Horror Picture Show encourages rebellion of expectations, tolerance of differences, and acceptance of our own individuality. Of course, sexual freedom is explored in the film but so was rebellion from a meaningless middle-class existence where a new wife is praised for her cooking or a new husband is commended because he has a promotion on the way. The Rocky Horror Picture Show offers viewers the message of sexual freedom, but that's not all. Being true to yourself if the heart of the film, and to go after what you want no matter what it is; don't dream it, be it.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The weirdest musical movie ever!
Irishchatter1 June 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Oh my god, my head is spinning from seeing this movie. Crikey like Tim Curry was the one who was mind blowing in this film. His singing was incredible and he just added so much personality to his character that I couldn't keep up with him. In my childhood like, he played the Mouse King in the Barbie film: Barbie and the Nutcracker, he just was so good at being evil but I think he sang only little. I knew he was an excellent actor and singer especially playing in drag version!

Susan Sarandon had such a cute little singing voice. It's like she was singing a Disney song in the movie although she didn't sing in the Enchanted regardless of her playing a villain. I would've loved to have heard her sing. She looked really sexy in the film, although I bet she was cold having just a bra and underwear on. Oh well, she did a great job anyhow!

The songs were amazing, the cast were amazing and the storyline was hard to follow but good at the same time. Watch this film!!!
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Unmistakable and irrepressible!
Joxerlives22 June 2014
Warning: Spoilers
With Rocky Horror you either get it or you don't, it's that simple. It really is an excuse for a heterosexuals to embrace their inner fetishist and embrace the hidden campness within. It has no equal, it has no rival and it will live forever more. The fact that such a trendy series as Glee sees fit to pay tribute to it in one ep with actors who weren't even born when the movie version was released ably demonstrates its' timeless appeal and popular resonance.

What's great? What isn't great? Tim Curry is the ultimate Franknfurter, better even than Anthony Head who also excels in the role. Barry Bostick and Susan Sarandon are also terrific, Richard O'Brien, Little Nell and Patricia Quinn all brilliant, much like Dickens there's no such thing as a small role in this film. Interesting to see Christopher Biggins as one of the Transylvanians and a very young Koo Stark as one of the guests at the wedding. And off course this is the film that made Meatloaf a star, he makes a huge impression for having so little screen time and actually no spoken lines, he sings absolutely everything. Charles Gray makes a wonderful narrator, so weird to think he actually never met the rest of the cast.

Great music, Richard O'Brien must have a terrific songwriting ability to produce all these crackers. Love Time Warp, Sweet Patootie, Sweet Transvestite, I'm Going Home, Burning at the Frankenstein Place. Not so fond of Janet Bryce and a few of the others which tend to slow things down a tad in my opinion.

Contains 2 of the best lines in movie history. Firstly; Franknfurter; "Magenta, you and your brother have served me faithfully" Magenta; "I ask for nothing" Frankfurter; "And you shall receive it in abundance!" plus Magenta (surveying the carnage wreaked by Riffraff); "You killed them! But I thought you liked them? They liked you" Riffraff (hysterically, exposing all his inner insecurities);"They didn't like me! They NEVER liked me!" Priceless!
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Let's Do The Time Warp Again!!!!!!!!!!! With a Little bit of Antici............pation!!!!!
barendbkj25 September 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Okay I have watched this movie 38 years after it was made and even now in this modern age it is definitely not like any other musical out there.

I can understand why they call it a cult-classic, after I watched the Show I couldn't stop Tim Warping in my room...it was amazing.

I love that they don't try to hide anything, they give you "More, more, more" and it's so satisfying I had a smile on my face the whole time. The music is timeless and I think even my children will one day still hear the music of Rocky Horror Picture Show...

Susan Sarandon is amazing in her portrayal...she brings the innocent factor, but then with "Touch-a-Touch Me" I was like "Go Susan..."

And then there is Tim Curry...There will never be a better Frank...he was amazing. His voice probably the best of them all.

May The Rocky Horror Picture Show live forever....
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Both Creepy and Entertaining,With an Inspired Cast and Very Memorable Songs,
lesleyharris3014 August 2013
The Rocky Horror Picture Show is a brilliant movie with a very inspired and different storyline and a really inspired cast.The music in the movie is outstanding,all the songs are really catchy and will stay in your head long after you finish watching it.The cast is all fantastic,but the best is without a doubt Tim Curry,he delivers his performance as Dr. Frank-N- Furter with so much heart and is definitely the most frightening part of the movie,Susan Sarandon is also very good as her character gets stranger throughout and I was surprised how attractive I found her.The Rocky Horror Picture Show is a must see for all fans of both comedy and musical.

A transvestite scientist is trying to create a perfect man,while he holds a newly engaged couple who's car breaks down near his castle captive.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Something brilliant for the ages...
kluseba7 February 2011
This is probably the best musical movie that exists and it entirely deserves its cult status. You may adore this movie or hate it because there is not much left in the middle but the sure thing is that you will never forget this film once you have seen it.

The crazy, diversified and simply unforgettable characters where each one seems to be at a near equal level even though everyone seems to have a personal favourite (mine is probably Columbia), the catchy songs where one hit hits literally the next, the very creative and surprising scenario which honours many clichés of the horror and science-fiction genre and the different actions that have to be done during certain scenes of the movie have all contributed to the fact that this movie has become a masterpiece that has still a big group of fans and followers nowadays and has been presented as a musical in many countries. I have seen the musical as it came into my hometown when I was ten years old and I will never forget it. This is the perfect movie to get together with friends and have a good time, to sing, drink and laugh along no matter to which generation you belong as this movie seems to connect them all.

To keep it short, anyone who likes the cinema and music in general should have seen this movie at least once in his lifetime as it would take too much place and would effectively never really work to describe this flick about transvestites in a few words because there is such a high amount of sex, drugs, rock'n'roll, love, passion, horror, drama and slapstick in this masterpiece.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The Rocky Horror Picture Show
m-bailey828 October 2010
Warning: Spoilers
This movie was definitely not made during the days of the Hays Code. This musical has amazing, talented actors that can keep a straight face. This movie deals with being different in society, from sexuality to the way people look. The directing was good, and the scenery and lighting gave the story that takes place in this big house believable for the movie. This also helped keep the audience interested. It made people think of things like "What's going to happen to Brad and Janet?" "Will they ever get out of this house?" "How is this movie going to end?" Although the story was very different then from what I'm used to watching, it was still great nonetheless.

The story was hard to follow towards the end. When Dr. Frank and Rocky die, and Riff Raff and Magenta return to Transylvania it was a little confusing. This movie works for the movie, but something like this couldn't happen in real life. I liked this movie anyway since I'm a sucker for a good musical.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
an essential movie
sublimekiwi9 January 2007
I first saw 'Rocky' on video, aged 14, and was confused as hell by it. BUT the songs stuck in my head, I rented the video and watched it with two mates, we learnt the songs off by heart, and drove everyone we knew up the wall!

I think this film IS a modern classic - it's fun, it's cheesy, it sets your fingers tappin' your feet a-dancin', and gets you humming 24/7. You shouldn't't take it seriously on ANY level; it's a blatant parody of 50's B-movies, with awful dialogue, wooden acting, wobbly sets... *sighs*... wonderful!

Tim Curry in full drag is probably the sexiest sight ever on screen, and the movie, IMHO, is actually more erotic by implying sex than the blatant warts-and-all approach we are given in most adult films these days.

This is a film to watch with friends, preferably nutty ones, and just have fun. The new DVD with the sing-along feature is excellent for Rocky virgins, and the live show directions (squirt water pistol NOW) make it the most fun DVD in my collection.

Highly recommended.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The...
Gutza7 April 2006
... quintessential pre-pop outrageous pop art rock opera freak show comedic hall of weirdos with a pumped-up 70s fragrance and sexual innuendo slide-show of parodic impossible-to-predict sci-fi implausible kind of impossibly over the top horror-meets-fantasy in a grotesquely but quite voluntary way of ridiculous and out-of-worldly piece of contemporary art-hinting quasy-minimalist semi-theatrical interpretation of an intentionally petty pulp-like quite erotic and kaleidoscopic, surprisingly accurate in trend prediction movie.

Quite remarkable.

{Note to editors (this should be removed from the posted comment): I'm aware I'm risking my free account with this post, and I could've easily refrained from posting it at all; I do however feel the "review" above is appropriately styled for The Rocky Horror Picture Show. And yes, I also typically hate such "original" adjective lists. But this is no typical movie. Please just dump my review if you don't think it's a good idea after all. Regardless of your decision, thank you for reading this!}
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Morals: Why I love this film
kleiner_fuchs25 August 2007
Warning: Spoilers
I admit I'm too lazy to read through all the reviews here and see if I'm the only one who loves this classic not only for its music, its cast and costumes, or its insane collection of cinematic references. Just in case I'm the only one, I post this comment to perhaps give you a new view to this wonderful film.

Under all its noise and gaudiness, I think the RHPS is profound, touching and tragic.

A German critic (sympathetic to the film) called it "utterly immoral". This is ridiculous, as the RHPS is one of the most deeply moral films of all times.

Why do Brad and Janet let themselves so easily be seduced by Frank N'Furter? Because they never spent a thought on the rules they want to live by. They think, you don't have sex before marriage because that's just the way how decent people should live. Obviously no one has told them that there could be a real understandable REASON for living this way. They have no clue. Trying to live by a moral without understanding the foundation of this moral must lead to tragedy.

Frank N'Furter is a fascinating figure, one of the most memorable villains in cinematic history. There can be no doubt that what he does, to Brad, to Janet, to Rocky, to Eddie, is not only rude, but evil. Not before the "Floor Show" at the end we get a glimpse at the human core in this monster. There he sings about how he wanted to be dressed like Fay Wray when he saw her in "King Kong". I suspect that he not only wanted to be dressed like her, he wanted to BE her -- a longing that could not be fulfilled. Wearing women's clothes tragically didn't made him an angelic figure like Fay Wray, it made him a freak. And it seems to me that all he wanted in the first place was to be loved and be accepted for what he was. When he sings "I'm going home" and imagines an audience, this audience doesn't consist of weirdos like the Transsylvanians who are present when Frank is introduced into the film. Instead they are ordinary old people who friendly applaud his performance. Frank makes you think about how unfulfillable desires can torture people and make them outsiders. I don't think Frank wanted to be an outsider.

For me, the most beautiful scene is when they sing "Don't dream it, be it" in the pool. The other four people in the pool are dressed like Frank; there are no boundaries any more, no distinction between the sexes, no gravity. This is pure bliss, the single truly utopian moment of the RHPS. Makes you want to believe that it could really be possible to be in love with the whole world, caress and be caressed back, without jealousy and pain, beyond time and space, beyond good and evil. Not even Dr. Scott can resist (great performance in his monologue, magnificent actor!).

But is this more than a dream? Could it be real? The scene could go on for ever, I wish it would, but it is short and is abruptly ended by Frank himself when he jumps out of the water and starts singing "Wild and untamed thing". Why? Doesn't he trust his own utopia? Earlier in the film, we have seen how Janet imagines different people replacing the face of her lover, Rocky, during her orgasm. This is basically the same utopia, but here the way it is presented doesn't make it look very tempting, but bizarre and disturbing. I suspect this scene is closer to our reality outside of the cinema, outside of our dreams: When you love with your body but not with your soul all you can hope for is a moment of frantic pleasure, but no real fulfillment.

The ending of the RHPS cannot be mistaken in its moral. Brad and Janet spell it out when they sing the sad last song "Super Heroes". What is left for them from the big party? Nothing but pain and disillusion. They have not been loved, they have been used, and now they are scarred for life. This is not a happy ending.

The epilogue by the narrator is very pessimistic. But are we really "insects", crawling on this earth, without hope, without meaning? I don't think so. We could decide to live a different life. A life without deliberately or thoughtlessly hurting other people. Respecting and accepting other people for what they are. Living not by an empty moral, but by a real one, with love and compassion.
12 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Do the Time Warp
Tweetienator22 September 2017
The Rocky Horror Picture Show is a fantastic and unique movie in every aspect, and a musical with not only wonderful songs but a wonderful message, the celebration of life, the celebration of being different.

I not only like the super transsexual whatever genius Dr. Frank N. Furter but even the conventional Brad Majors, all figures are well defined and with their weaknesses and merits likable, understandable.

All those left-liberal minds that fill nowadays the media with mediocre and redundant works should watch and learn from this movie - to like the weird outsiders of this movie is easy, and easy it is to like the conventional characters too - in this movie, there is no judgment but sympathy. I personally am fed up with all those whiny mediocre minded and weak-hearted minorities depicted in modern movies, characters who always complain about life being unjust, being not understood etc. pp. - life is always unjust, every single man and woman on this planet has a burden to bear, no matter if one is a heterosexual or whatever-sexual, no matter if one is white, black, yellow, pink skinned, two- or three-legged.

The Rocky Horror Picture Show: a great plea for acceptance and a strong defender for "being different". A mind- and heart opening experience. A must-see.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Yes, it really is the greatest cult-film of all-time.
Coventry25 December 2005
It's fairly easy to see why "The Rocky Horror Picture Show" became such a huge cult-favorite so quickly... So huge even that the fans went to screenings all dressed up like drag-queens, singing along with the songs and waving around cigarette lighters. "The Rocky Horror Picture Show" simply is a tremendously inspiring movie and it's almost impossible not to start swinging yourself when the legendary songs such as "The Time Warp" and "Touch Me" are being sung by the vivid cast. The screenplay is adapted from Richard O'Brien (who also co-stars) play and it still comes across as very wit and all-knowing in its humor. There's spoofing and referring to everything from Universal and RKO-Pictures horror movies over typically 50's science-fiction to Hammer horror and the filming locations & set pieces are leftovers from other classic genre titles. The story is ridiculously simple and merely just introduces a young couple whose car breaks down near a ominous dark castle. When they go there for help, they're sucked into the eccentric world of transvestite Dr. Frank 'N Furter and his bizarre collection of servants and friends. The frenzied doctor created himself a muscled and blond-haired toy-boy and he's in the middle of presenting his creation when Brad and Janet (a great early role for Susan Sarandon) stumble in. The lines and song lyrics are often hilarious and far from politically correct and the lingerie costumes are quite nifty. All the acting performances are terrific but immensely divergent, since Tim Curry's Frank 'N Furter is extremely grotesque whereas Charles Gray's narrating character is straight-faced.
37 out of 59 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Musical Dream Come True
jimwhittaker021 January 2005
Warning: Spoilers
The Rocky Horror Picture Show is the greatest rock musical of all time. It succeeds on every aesthetic level; the cast is a wonderful collection of cartoonish eccentrics, the premise combines the adventurousness of experimental theatre (The Rocky Horror Show) with the fun of film and musical popular culture, the songs are all catchy and beautifully arranged, and the costumes and sets are inventively quirky.

The overwhelming creativity of the film has its roots in the hit London stage musical, Richard O'Brien's exuberant first work. After quitting the cast of Jesus Christ Superstar over creative differences, O'Brien set out to write a rock musical that would combine all the things that "give you a buzz," from science-fiction and horror films to comedy and glam rock. Impressed by Alice Cooper's recent concert assaults on London, O'Brien created what he originally called an "Alice Cooper type Frankenstein" character named Dr. Frank-N-Furter, who would build a blond muscleman for his own pleasure. Tim Curry assumed the role in the 1973 London play, sharing the stage with O'Brien, Little Nell, Patricia Quinn and Jonathan Adams. Behind the scenes were director Jim Sharman, production designer Brian Thomson, musical arranger Richard Hartley and costume designer Sue Blane, all of whom brought their considerable creativity to the production. The core members of the Rocky Horror stage family went on to create the film, building on a year's worth of theatrical innovation.

Transferring Rocky Horror to the medium of film allowed the concept to take on a dreamlike quality. The film's tone is satire; Richard O'Brien enjoyed the dialogue of classic science-fiction films, where actors were called on to say outlandish lines with straight faces. The songs are integrated (not "backstage") musical numbers, which advance the plot. All of the characters are seduced or controlled by Frank, but his influence does not end with them. The film is at its most subversive when Frank talks and sings directly to the camera; the technique is a tribute to Jean-Luc Godard, Jim Sharman's favorite director.

In the film, "Sweet Transvestite" Frank is given a glamorous, Joan Crawford-like film star appearance, and speaks in a feminine voice (with an upper-class Knightsbridge accent). When he/she gazes into the camera and beckons "Give yourself over to absolute pleasure," his message is not meant only for his poolside partners, but for us. As the bisexual mad doctor commences his final descent into decadence, his "moral" subduers are portrayed as similarly decadent hypocrites, offering up Frank as a sexual martyr. We are left in the swirling mists with Brad, Janet and Dr. Scott, forced to reconsider our own inhibitions. But first, Let's do the Time Warp again!
16 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A gem of a musical that started as a smash play in London, then scored a phenomenal success on the midnight "cult movie" circuit…
Nazi_Fighter_David7 October 2008
A middle-class young couple, motoring in the country on their wedding night, have car trouble in front of a huge mansion… Wanting to use the phone, the two approach the house and go in just as its master, Dr. Frank N. Furter, is leading an experiment… His newly made creature, the body-beautiful Rocky, is ready to be unveiled, and the innocent couple is caught up in this strange household filled with the doctor's campy, exotically dressed admirers… Both the wife and the husband are seduced by this garter-belted "scientist."

The film's first half is fast and funny, with virtually every song a memorable one… But the second half tries to do too much and the film loses much of its potency… Nevertheless, the adorable characters make this a delightful entertainment…
29 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Let's do The Time Warp Again!
Adriane17 August 1999
Oh, come on admit it: we all love this movie and have gone to see it in the theatre. I have only seen it live once, but it was something that I won't soon forget. I still love watching it at home and practice the singing! Tim Curry, Susan and Barry are all hilarious, and the songs will be forever imbedded into your brain. "Damn it Janet, I love you."
51 out of 89 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The best musical ever!
OrangieTooDope26 April 2017
A very long time ago someone told me I needed to see this movie so I gave it a shot but I couldn't make it past the wedding. He told me to give it 5 more minutes,so I did.That time I made it until Frank showed up. The third time I made it all the way through and was in love with this movie.Since that day I have seen it over 300 times. RHPS is a science fiction musical comedy with a twist. An engaged couple gets a flat tire and go to a nearby castle to use the phone.Up to that point the movie seems like it's just a corny comedy but it gets really good. It turns out that the castle is actually a space ship from the planet Transsexual. The music is awesome and the story is great. This is a must see.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Musical Comedy Horror
SameirAli2 March 2017
Movie starts with a marriage function. Hero proposes to the heroine. On their way, the car broke down. In search of a telephone, they reach a castle. There were some strange things happening there. A crazy Dr. Frank-N-Furter gives them hospitality.

One of the best musical horror comedy films. Great performance from all the cast. Not a second of lagging. The music gives excellent blending to the movie.

There are many reference to other films, especially Frankenstein.

Highly recommended.

#KiduMovie
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed