Redneck (1973) Poster

(1973)

User Reviews

Review this title
11 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
4/10
REDNECK (Silvio Narizzano, 1973) **
Bunuel197626 August 2008
This proved to be a rare case of a poliziottesco made with British funding; unfortunately, the result is undistinguished (except by its exceeding unpleasantness and borderline-camp approach) despite stars and director. The former is led by a wooden Franco Nero and an ultra-hammy Telly Savalas as a couple of would-be robbers (if anyone is able to believe either actor – who generally exude cool – as a duo of bumbling crooks, he's more gullible than I am!).

Their 'job' goes awry (ending in murder and saddled with cases of cutlery instead of jewels!) – however, the mismatched criminals see an opening to their dilemma when they inadvertently 'kidnap' the son of a British diplomat (a miscast Lester, who even gets to kick trigger-happy Savalas where it hurts at one point). Still, they never actually ransom him and their sole intent is to cross the border into France; tagging along with them is Nero's girlfriend (a wasted Ely Galleani): soon enough, though, she's had enough and decides to run away while the others are sleeping; the crazy Savalas notices this and, following the girl, kills her. In the meantime, Nero and Lester have woken up – the former thinks his accomplices may have double-crossed him, so he goes on the lam with the boy in tow; after a brief spell at a rich old lady's country estate (which features totally gratuitous rear nudes by both Nero and Lester!), Savalas catches up with them. They continue their trek, where the trio run into a family of German campers: the situation degenerates to the point where Savalas shuts them inside their trailer and tosses the lot into the river – though he's badly hurt in the process himself; typically, it all ends with the 'heavies' getting killed just as they're about to reach the border.

The film, therefore, contains most of the genre's typical elements – sleaze, sadism, violence, chases (the aftermath of the opening robbery when the getaway car causes havoc in the city's narrow back-streets and even disrupts a funeral procession is downright farcical), etc.; one mildly interesting aspect to it is that, by the end, Lester himself is seen to have been definitely (irrevocably?) marked by the experience – coming to feel excitement when an act of violence is committed.
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Waste of an interesting cast
The_Void11 February 2008
I actually went into this film with some expectations, not because I thought the film sounded particularly good, but because I'm a fan of Italian exploitation flicks and with a cast that sees Franco Nero and Telly Savalas starring alongside Oliver Twist, I figured it had to be interesting at least. Well...RedNeck does have one or two positive things going on, but for the most part; it's a dull, lifeless film that is as ridiculous as it is pointless. The plot simply focuses on two criminals (Nero and Savalas) who kidnap a young kid (Oliver). The twist in the tale is that the kid realises that he'd have more fun if he gets accepted into the 'gang'. Telly Savalas and Franco Nero are two actors that have proved they can carry a film on their own on numerous occasions, and they do have some memorable moments in this film - although really for all the wrong reasons. Savalas in particular gives a silly portrayal of the 'bad' criminal. The plot doesn't flow badly, but since nothing interesting happens, that's not really a positive point and doesn't save from the film from being mediocre. Overall, I can't recommend this film; it may appeal to some for its cult value but it didn't do anything for me.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
uneven and disturbing tale of thieves on the run
dbborroughs27 July 2009
Warning: Spoilers
Franco Nero and Telly Savalas star in the story of a trio of jewel thieves who take it on the lamb after the heist goes very wrong. Wrecking their car they take another unaware that there is a teenager hiding in the background. As the flight becomes more frantic, the young man is discovered upsetting the balance of the thieves (which wasn't that hard to do since Savalas's character is more than a bit nuts).

Dark disturbing film that has some strangely funny moments this is not a film for all tastes. There is a darkness about much of what happens that may not sit well with people who only know typical American movie fare. Children are shot, people are raped and there is an are of death hanging over the whole affair. It's a bleak film, who's humor, while eliciting laughs is often the sort that doesn't really sit well after the fact. I like the film but I don't love it. It's the wrong sort of disturbing. Actually I think part of the problem is Telly Savalas, who's performance is a bit to "mannered" to completely work. The role feels wrong as if the completely self assured actor is pretending to be something else, and you can feel him pretending. I think it diminishes the film. Still if you want to see a crime drama that is not like any other out there give it a shot.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
An obscure , unpleasant and disagreeable thriller dealing with a relentless getaway
ma-cortes23 July 2013
A pair of thieves called Mosquito (Franco Nero) and Memphis (an extreme Tour-De-Force by Telly Savalas) pull off a heist into a jewelry but it goes wrong . Both of them along with their accomplice called Maria (Ely Galleani) escape and take a car where is hidden a little boy (Mark Lester , also producer) . They are pursued and attempt to cross the border into France . Memphis thinks his colleagues may have double-crossed him , so he goes on the lam with the boy in tow and he carries out a criminal spree .

This is a thrilling tale with a twisted screenplay by D'Amico and Wells based on a story by Rafael Sanchez Campoy ; it contains psychological characterization , grisly killings , tense situations , excitement , though resulting to be a mediocre flick dealing with a failed theft and the thieves take it on the lam after the heist goes awry . This thriller has some delirious components, most notably the interpretation and the quirky roles , but is low on real emotions and high on scenery chewing and strangeness . It's atmospheric and slickly developed ; however extremely nasty characters and dark disturbing scenes create an inappropriate film . There are moments worth highlighting though like the violent theft and escape , a great sequence where Memphis terrorises a family of German tourists with unexpected and tragic results . This is an offbeat as well as far-fetched picture realized in unlikely style portraying lurid events . Telly Savalas steals the show as a wacko with ominous purports , though sometimes hands the role overblown and overacting way , as filmmaker Silvio Narizzano proved unable to control him . Average cinematography by Giorgio Tonti , being necessary a right remastering because of the copy of the film is washed-out . Atmosheric musical score by Maurizio Catalano and John Cavacas .

The motion picture was middlingly produced and directed by Canadian-born director Silvio Narizzano . He gained high reputation for his shooting of human dramas , as from the mid-1950's, worked in British television in a variety of genres ranging from thrillers and horror to serious dramatic works . Silvio subsequently filmed a Hammer film titled ¨Fanatic¨ with Tallulah Bankhead and his best picture was ¨Georgy Girl¨ with Lynn Redgrave . He also had successes with ¨Why shoot the teacher ?¨ and ¨The class of Miss MacMichael¨ ; however failed directing a Western titled ¨Blue¨ with Terence Stamp . The rest of career has been uneven to say the least and it often seems that he has followed over-heating his movies to fever level such as ¨Rednecks¨ also titled ¨Senza Ragione¨.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Ah say boy...ah say!
Bezenby21 December 2017
This is truly a marmite film - people love it for the madness that's contained within, and other people hate it and dismiss it as a foul piece of exploitation. It's a Euro-crime film but only barely, as it's really a twisted road trip film with a bunch of weird characters.

Franco Nero plays dumb robber Mosquito, who hooks up with insane robber Memphis (Telly Savalas) in order to rob a jewellery store. After being in the store about ten seconds, Memphis loses his rag and shoots the owner multiple times, setting off the alarm and causing the robbers to grab the nearest cases and run. Things go from bad to worse when dumb getaway driver Ely Galleani crashes the car straight into a hearse, causing a coffin to smash through the window. After further crashing in a market, the trio finally grab another car from a rich lady and set off into the countryside, making for the border.

This isn't as easy as it first seems, as it turns out that they have unwittingly taken the rich lady's son with them as he was hiding in the back of the car. After a strangely slapstick scene of the trio chasing Mark Lester around a field (where he kicks Telly Savalas in the balls) we see why people might hate this film. When he finds out he's being watched by a young Shepherd boy, Telly Savalas coldly murders him - then blames the Shepherd boy for running away!

Yep, this is grim stuff alright. We also find out that Lester's parents are so removed from their child that they cannot agree on what age he is, so he's not exactly the most stable child either. The mother however does identify both Memphis and Mousqito, and a huge manhunt ensues. After the discovery that they have stolen a load of useless cutlery, things become even more strained, and Memphis becomes even more unhinged as everyone heads for the border...

Although Telly Savalas' southern accent comes and goes, his performance as a nutcase is really quite good. He often sings to himself, refers to things his mother told him, and constantly blames other people when he murders folks, including the dead people themselves. He also spends the last third of the film with his scrotum ripped open for some reason.

Nero's character is less insane but still as strange. I guess most people will be wondering why his character shaves naked in front of Mark Lester, and to be honest it is a head scratcher, but I guess the best answer is 'It was the Seventies'. Ely Galleani has a larger role than usual too, and when she is murdered by Savalas (spoilers), Nero ends up wearing her fur coat for the rest of the film. Also - check out the guy on the IMDB who is offended by the nude scene but goes into minute detail about the whole thing, while also constantly referring to actor Franco Nero as actor Fabio Testi - maybe if they spent more time looking at the actor and not the actor's arse they might have noticed that. Methinks the lady doth protest too much.

Anyway - strange film, strange decade, I enjoyed it. Stimmerung!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
If You liked "Nicht Hair Child", you will love "Redneck"
lediadumene27 December 2006
Although I fully enjoyed Mark Lester's performance in "Oliver", I was quite unnerved by the rather dull role he was made to play. Having viewed "Night Hair Child" (the uncut version of "What the peeper saw") and now "Redneck", I realize that Mark Lester probably found it too. The plot of "Redneck" has been correctly resumed by Snider82, and it made me buy the film, so I won't add much. I just wanted to stress the fact that it's quite unusual to find a film showing the fascination real action can produce in a boy having a far too dull life. I was not shocked at all by the scene where Mark undresses, as it was part of a plot, here Mark wants to prove himself he can make it, be part of the gang. "Redneck" is a far more convincing film that most of the US thrillers of that kind I have got the opportunity to see. No comparison at all. And Mark Lester is simply great.
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
A real disappointment
bensonmum27 September 2009
Warning: Spoilers
Definitely not your typical Polizia, Redneck just never worked for me. The movie tells the story of a jewel heist gone wrong and a young boy who is inadvertently kidnapped in the process. In their attempt to get away, the robbers leave a bloody trail of death in their wake as they hatch a plan to ransom the boy. The plan is never carried off as the robbers are more intent on getting to France and the boy is intent on staying with them. While I could cite a number of problems I had with the movie, I'll focus on the most obvious – the character Memphis played by Telly Savalas. From his work in The Dirty Dozen and Kelley's Heroes to other Italian films like Crime Boss to his most remembered role as Kojak, Savalas was a winner. I've always thought of him as one uber-cool customer. Unfortunately, Savalas is almost unwatchable in Redneck. Did the director turn on the camera and instruct him to act as psychotic as possible? It might not have been too bad had his actions been done within the context of a plot I cared about, but here he seems to be acting bizarre for sake of being bizarre. It's appears to be random lunacy. And what's with that accent? Savalas might have been a lot of things, but Southern isn't one of them. He sounds completely ridiculous even attempting the accent. Beyond that, I found little of interest in the rest of the movie. As I indicated, the plot never drew me in. I just didn't care about what was going on. And the notion that the boy is so quickly attracted to the criminal lifestyle doesn't ring true. As for the other actors, Mark Lester is almost as bad as Savalas and the usually reliable Franco Nero isn't a whole lot better. Three "name" actors and not a good performance between them. To make matters worse, I believe the director filmed many of the night scenes with nothing more than the glow from his watch to light the shots. I couldn't tell what was going on. Characters I hate, a plot I don't care about, and a production values that failed – little wonder I've given Redneck a 3/10.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
An enjoyably appalling piece of disgusting Italian crime thriller trash
Woodyanders31 July 2009
Warning: Spoilers
Blundering hoodlum Mosquito (the ever-cool Franco Nero) and his loud, volatile, obnoxious hillbilly psycho partner Memphis (an outrageously hammy Telly Savalas) botch a jewelry store heist. The incompetent duo steal a car and inadvertently kidnap proper and pampered rich lad Lennox Duncan (well played by Mark Lester of "Oliver" fame). Mosquito's meek, whiny girlfriend Maria (the lovely Ely Galleani) tags along for the ride. Naturally, Lennox falls under the evil influence of the two slimy crooks. Director Silvio Narizzano, working from an unapologetically sick and sordid script by Masolino D'Amico and Win Wells, whips up an extremely odd, harsh, and downright repulsive flick that gleefully wallows in excessively bloody and sadistic violence, shocking brutal behavior, and a truly wicked sense of grimly ironic humor. The coarse, rough, and nasty tone gets more vile and upsetting as the seamy story unfolds towards its perfectly depressing bummer ending. Savalas has an absolute field day with his gloriously unrestrained eye-rolling portrayal of the manic and unhinged Memphis: Telly mangles an overdone Southern accent, shoots a little boy dead, gets kicked right where it counts by Lennox, smokes a joint, sings, cries, kills a mangy crippled dog, and even massacres an entire family by pushing their trailer home into a lake so they can all drown. Moreover, there's a bizarre homoerotic undercurrent in the relationship between Mosquito and Lennox which adds an extra freaky edge to the already depraved proceedings. Both Giorgio Tonti's slick, agile cinematography and Maurizio Catalano's eclectic, melodic score are up to par. A satisfying serving of raw and offensive low-grade sleaze.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Something of a missed opportunity
Leofwine_draca5 February 2013
An offbeat entry in the Italian crime genre that features elaborate flourishes of brilliance here and there but becomes increasingly disappointing as the story progresses. I love polizia movies and there's every reason to love this one too, from the reliable cast members to Silvio Narizzano's confident direction, but the story seems to lose focus as the running time increases and come the end there's a whimper rather than a bang.

It's a pity, because things kick off with a robbery followed by a blistering car chase which is one of the best I've seen in a long time. Once the robbers have become unwitting kidnappers, however, things really start to lose their way. The presence of the hostage would, you think, add to increased suspense and ransom demands, but none of this ever takes place and the police barely register. Instead, the plot meanders its way across the Italian countryside as Telly Savalas chews the scenery and Franco Nero contributes an oddly subdued turn.

The film's attempts to become a psychological drama fail thanks to the distractingly over the top cast members. Mark Lester's plummy British accent is an irritant to even this British viewer, while Savalas adopts a grating Southern accent (hence the title) which is truly irritating to listen to. In fact, I refuse to believe Savalas put this excruciating voice on himself and I prefer to think he's been dubbed. Nero, who gave such good value throughout his career as a leading man, is miscast as a clumsy robber and scenes like the one where he accidentally drops his gun are never believable for an instant.

An inexplicable interlude, set at night with no lighting, means that a full twenty minutes of the plot takes place in almost complete darkness and by this stage I was starting to lose my patience. Things do pick up occasionally when Savalas commits further depravities – the interlude with the German campers is a highlight – but his antics pale in comparison to the likes of Tomas Milian in ALMOST HUMAN and ASSAULT WITH A DEADLY WEAPON, where the scriptwriters and director knew how to play up their star to his full potential. In the case of REDNECK, it feels like a missed opportunity.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
A very strange--and very sick--obscurity.
sdiner8226 May 2006
In the mid-1970s, my NYC apt. building was finally wired for cable-TV and since Showtime (instead of HBO) was the only premium channel offered showing recent movies, I signed up for it. Being a writer and night-owl by nature, I soon discovered the channel was showing movies late at night and until the wee hours of the morning I'd never even heard of--most of them American independent films and foreign films that had never been given a U.S. theatrical release. Many of them had recognizable "star" casts and respectable directors, and thanks to Showtime, I discovered many first-rate films I (and other Showtime subscribers) would never else have had the opportunity to see. Most of these cinematic mongrels were indeed "dogs" but often so bad they were unintentionally hilarious. One night, Showtime unveiled a little Italian-made gem called "Redneck" (filmed in 1972, given a limited European release in 1973). Even though the movie had never been released in the U.S., the MPAA rating was listed as an 'R'. Since the director was one Sylvio Narizzano (the director who made his name with the glorious "Georgy Girl"), and the three leads were Mark ("Oliver") Lester, Fabio Testi and Telly Savalas, I decided to give it a try. And found myself nailed to my TV screen in disbelief for 89 minutes. As I recall, Savalas and Testi played two criminals, the former a raging maniac who, in one stomach-churning scene, casually sent a German family to their deaths by nudging their trailer off a cliff, thereby plunging to the wilderness depths below. So far, so bad. Then, out of nowhere, Testi (as the "nice" psycho) and Lester (all of 14 when the movie was made) are seen, both nude, in a men's room, Testi sneaking peeks at the kid's body while shaving, and poor confused Lester fixated on close-ups of Testi's naked butt. As a not-yet-jaded member of the movie industry, and a card-carrying liberal (I was as much against censorship then as I am today), the entire movie made me queasy (and, being the early '70s when I thoughtI'd seen everything in the anything-goes movies of that liberated era--including the uncut version of Altman's "That Cold Day in the Park", a real jaw-dropper until it was trimmed for an 'R' rating and would have spelled The End for Altman's career had he not next come up with something called "M*A*S*H"), I still wonder if anyone else except me ever saw "Redneck" and was appalled as I was. Trashing the actors and movie-going audiences is joy maladjusted filmmakers have been merrily indulging in since the beginning of time. But leeringly exploiting a highly respected and talented child actor (Mr. Lester) at a time when he was beginning to make the difficult transaction from child to adult actor (and I'm sure his film offers had thereby dwindled to meretricious junk like "Redneck")...Mr. Narizzano, you should be hanging your head in shame. (Incidentally, I was soon to make friends with actors who had appeared in Narizzano's future, undistinguished efforts. They both despised him. Surprise?)
12 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
You can have GET CARTER and PERFORMANCE...
matt-20113 April 1999
...I'll take this almost intolerably nasty 1972 Italian drive-in movie, which features Mark Lester (of OLIVER! fame) as a kidnap victim who gets into scrapes that, in their uncut version, would probably get this movie in Federal chickenhawk-busting trouble today. Franco Nero and Telly Savalas are the two conscienceless galoots who are the movie's anti-heroes; Savalas re-ups his giggling hillbilly cretin from THE DIRTY DOZEN, here caricatured to beyond a fare-thee-well. Savalas is the cherry on the cake of what may be the most remarkable set piece in all seventies Italian exploitation: calming a tourist family, packing them in their mobile home, then untethering the trailer and singing a gospel hymn as the terrified Germans plunge into the drink. If I'm not misremembering, there may be a little jig involved here as well.
4 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed