Wait Till Your Father Gets Home (TV Series 1972–1974) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
20 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
One of the most controversial shows of its day-Wait Till Your Father Gets Home-The Classic
rcj536521 September 2006
After the phenomenal success of "The Flintstones",and "The Jetsons", producers William Hanna and Joesph Barbera made their return to prime time in this animated comedy titled "Wait Till Your Father Gets Home". First seen as a special for the ABC-TV situation adult comedy series "Love American Style",was basically shown as a pilot and on the strength of that pilot,the show was launched into an weekly animated cartoon series for prime-time. It was shown in first-run syndication from the premiered episode on September 12,1972 and ended in March of 1974,in repeated episodes from the first season. This was an attempt to cash in on the enormous success of Norman Lear's All In The Family, and from the first episode was a instant hit,but it was aimed at adult audiences. It was the first for Hanna-Barbera Productions to do something that was beyond the usual calling---this was something totally different from the norm. This wildly funny series illustrated the generation gap and social issues reflecting the times,and this was set in the period of the early 1970's. But it was nothing like "All In The Family" at all,with one exception: Harry Boyle was not a racist at all,but he was however,highly educated and very successful as a businessman. A far cry from the radical aspects of Archie Bunker.

Father figure Harry Boyle(voiced by Tom Bosley of "Happy Days" fame) was a conservative businessman-father who was the president of the Boyle Restaurant Supply Company,who was continually exasperated by the excesses of his hippie/slacker of a son,Chet(David Hayward),and his sexually liberated daughter Alice(Kristina Holland),not to mention his obedient youngest son,Jamie(Jackie Haley). His wife Irma(Joan Gerber) was neutral but supportive with her husband in some of the topics mentioned. Their next door neighbor is the neanderthal communist hating Ralph(Jack Burns)who had a thing against people who were on the opposite side of American values. Harry's own modern-day children had their own side to certain issues but going through the difficulties of accepting their father's old-fashioned methods and the philosophies of life itself.

This was show that may have been quite controversial when it premiered,but it was extremely funny in parts along with some of the topics that were the brink of discussion but with mixed results. Since this was an adult-oriented show and a cartoon that was seen only in prime-time. The scripts that were written by some of the best in the business,especially for an animated cartoon with a social message in between the segment were done by the team of R.S. Allen and Harvey Bullock(writers for several Hanna-Barbera shows including "The Flintstones",and "The Jetsons")and also from Jack Elinson and Norman Paul. Elinson was one of the writers for the shows "Good Times", "One Day At A Time",not to mention several episodes of "The Andy Griffith Show". Paul on the other hand was a writer and as well as one of the producers for "The Doris Day Show".

Broadcast between 1972 and 1974,the 48-episode series appeared in prime-time only,and the first show since 1970's "Where's Huddles?" and the first in six years since "The Flintstones". The executive producers for this series were William Hanna and Joesph Barbera,with the animation produced in Canada to cut production costs. The show was seen in several major markets,including five-owned and operated NBC and ABC affiliates stations across the United States. The series was rebroadcast again on cable's Cartoon Network and again in 2002 for Cartoon Network's sister station Boomerang on a limited basis.

FYI: A good many celebrities appeared on the show,sometimes voicing cartoon representations of themselves. Among the special guest lists were Don Knotts(of The Andy Griffith Show),Phyllis Diller(of Laugh-In),Don Adams(of Get Smart),game show host Monty Hall(of Let's Make A Deal),along with Rich Little and Jonathan Winters.
12 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
A few observations
Brian Kistler3 May 2005
One of the commentators mentioned that this was a Saturday morning cartoon. Wrong......it was aired during prime time, just like the original 1960 Flintstones series. The show was clearly aimed at an adult audience; not just because of the time slot; I remember that one of the show's sponsors was Haynes panty hose. I cannot agree that this show was a parody of All in the Family, as this same commentator mentioned; at least not in the sense that the father figure was a parody of Archie Bunker. The father in this show was not at all bigoted, as was Archie Bunker (and he was also a much more educated man).

I do remember seeing a very humorous old lady, in at least one episode, who was paranoid, thinking that there was "a communist under every bed". My mother commented to me, at the time, that she thought that this character was a take-off from the old lady in the 1971 movie "Cold Turkey" (about the town that gave up smoking for a whole month), and I believe that she was correct. "Cold Turkey" came out a year before "Wait Till Your Father Gets Home" debuted.

It's really a shame that this series did not make more than one season's worth of episodes (I believe it ran for two years, but the second year the shows were just repeats). I thought that it was a great show. When it debuted in '72, it had been 6 years since "The Flintstones" prime time show had ended. I missed seeing adult cartoons on TV. After "Wait Till Your Father Gets Home" ended, adult TV animation hit a dry spell for the next 15+ years, until The Simpsons began.

Brian
11 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
A Cult Classic
Brian Washington6 July 2003
This is one of my favorite show's from Hanna-Barbera. After years of placing families in the stone age, the space age and even in ancient Rome, Hanna-Barbera finally had a piece that took place in this century. The best thing about this show was the fact that the Boyles were played more or less like real people and it was a very humorous look at how conservative Harry dealt with not only his liberal kids, Alice and Chet, but with a changing world around him. However, the real star was Ralph, Harry's reactionary neighbor. He made Dale from "King of the Hill" look normal. Ralph was always looking for communists in every nook and cranny and he would always give Harry all sorts of crazy advice based on his wild theories. The only thing I found wrong with the show, however, was the poor job of animation (allegedly Hanna-Barbera "farmed out" the animation work to a Canadian company as a way to save money). All in all, though, despite the poor animating, this still is one of the funniest cartoons to come out of the 1970's.
11 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
My parents loved this show
patriot857924 March 2005
We used to watch this when I was very little...maybe four or five, and I have dim memories of the theme song and some of the voices. They are good memories. As I remember it, the show "King of the Hill" kind of puts me in mind of it, with the concise wit, varying personalities and their interactions and the references to modern culture. My dad used to laugh at the neighbor, whose constant "Huh? Huh? Huh?" briefly became something of a catchphrase in the early 70s. I'd buy this in a second if they released it on DVD...why haven't they? They have everything else out there...every obscure show that was ever produced. I even saw the boxed set of "The Powers of Matthew Starr", for God's sake. They put that out, and leave "Father" in the vault? Come on!
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Jackie Earle Haley
macarthurp5 February 2007
I love this show. I was 10 when it came out but funny enough, don't remember watching it back in 1972. I guess I was too busy watching the Partridge Family and Brady Bunch. I'm glad it's on the Boomerang network, along with another childhood favorite, the Banana Splits. Thank God for DVR so I can tape them since it's on in the middle of the night. I hadn't seen mentioned here in detail that Jackie Earle Haley, later of the Bad News Bears and most recently, the movie "Little Children" (Oscar nominated) was the voice of youngest son Jamie. According to his IMDb bio WTYFGH was his first acting job, albeit vocally only.

This show is awesome and I'm sure was very topical for its time, for example, the episode when Chet wants to move in with his girlfriend. I'm surprised that the Jack Burns character was able to get away with talking about "Mexicans, Puerto Ricans, Blacks" on a cartoon. He reminds me of a cartoon version of Archie Bunker, for sure.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Wait Till your Father gets home
united-dream1 December 2006
I am an avid fan of the series. I am looking for others to share my interest in the DVD set. Let me know what you think. I believe I can help with any questions you may have as I have ran some fan clubs in the past for this great television comedy. I can remember seeing the show when I was a smaller one and really didn't get it, yet as I grew older I started to think about the material and what was said and was blown away. Some of the racial comments were treated lightly due to the cartoon style and I thought this was a crazy concept and I think that is why it has stayed with us in one way or another.

Thanks, Larry
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
"War Games? In my backyard?" ( Quote : Harry Boyle )
happipuppi1311 November 2006
Warning: Spoilers
Long after the Flintstones & Jetsons and longer before The Simpsons and their Sunday night counterparts,there was "Wait Till Your Father Gets Home."

Pre-Happy Days Tom Bosley voiced the character of Harry Boyle,conservative father to a college age-hippie son Chet,a "free spirited/liberated daughter" Alice and a good boy Jamie,who wants to be just like his dad. Harry's wife Irma (who really tries not to take sides)seems quite obviously to be an animated but less confused Edith Bunker.

Then again,the show was created as kind of an animated "All In The Family" to begin with. For 2 years it worked and it should have had more than 2 years but... with Bosley becoming Howard Cunningham on "Happy Days,I guess it wasn't meant to be. The story lines are simply what an old fashioned father has to put up with in the (then) modern world of the early 1970s. Just like "All In The Family",but a little less "loud".

While I didn't see it in it's first run in syndication,I happened to catch repeats of it when I lived in San Diego,California from 1977 to 1980. Our TV was able to receive a station out of L.A. (most likely KTLA)that ran the show. Just like my title implies,I recall vividly the "War Games" episode where neighbor Ralph conducts these games in case the "Commies" attack the U.S.;Harry's not to thrilled about it to be sure.

He's most likely less thrilled with his daughter (although not exactly mentioned)she's possibly not a virgin anymore,as well as having very outspoken ideas. Oldest son (22!) Chet is in college,not necessarily learning much though and lives in the "free" style of the hippies,although he sure doesn't mind still receiving an allowance!

Another show I recall dealt with Harry and Irma going to a marriage counselor,where Harry points out Irma's annoying habit of chewing on the handle of her glasses. "I do not!"... she quips,with the tip in her teeth. I know I saw more but those are the stand outs. The theme song was catchy and for all who saw the show,unforgettable. I always did laugh at the end of the song,when the roof of the house flew up and back down again,as if Harry was yelling,"Whaaaat??!!"

The main cast is: Tom Bosley-Harry Boyle (all shows) Joan Gerber-Irma B. Kristina Holland-Alice B. David Hayward-Chet B. Jackie Haley-Jami B.

(Comedian)Jack Burns as Ralph (no last name given).

Although I don't recall more shows,I do know a good TV show when I watch one and like most here,I'd love to see this on DVD as well! It's been 26 years since I've seen it but I can still give it 10 stars!

"Dad's not so bad and he seldom gets mad"...yeah,right. LOL! (END)

RIP Tom Bosley 10/19/2010
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
One-of-a-kind show (that got almost no credit for it)
Skragg9 September 2006
Much of what I have to say about it, I've already said on "Jump The Shark," but, this was a show that tried to be a cartoon answer to ones like All In The Family, without being a COPY of them, and it actually succeeded in a very big way. Without getting credit for it, or much of any publicity that I know of. (It was a syndicated show, and in my area at least, came on before prime time, so it probably "flew beneath the radar.") In some ways, it actually OUTDID the Norman Lear kinds of shows. Especially with the "Ralph" character, played by Jack Burns, who's always been so great at playing comical loudmouths, and sometimes bigoted ones (as in the famous Burns and Schreiber "Taxi" routine). The Ralph character was almost closer to "Joe" (in the Peter Boyle movie) than to Archie Bunker, because he was an actual vigilante (although one who never actually DID anything violent), who was on the lookout for minorities as much as Communists. And some of his lines were genuinely "strong," lines that AITF probably would've though twice about putting into Archie Bunker's mouth.(But again, who expected something like that from a Hanna-Barbera cartoon show? So no one seemed to know about it.) Then there was "Chet" the older son, who (even though it was a cartoon) was one of the least exaggerated comical hippies on TV! One of the best episodes was about Chet getting drafted, and planning to leave the country, which is STILL a touchy subject. Even though it had a sort of "tidy" ending - he gets a deferment - it was still a pretty bold thing to do with a REGULAR character on a show (as opposed to a ONE-TIME character, that no one's going to see again). And Alice (played by Kristina Holland, who played the "ditzy" secretary on "Courtship of Eddie's Father") was far from a stereotyped "fat girl" - instead of being worried about her having no social life, Harry always seemed to be worried about her fooling around with too many boys. And of course, Tom Bosley as Harry - some time before Happy Days, he was already playing the put-upon father very well.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Hanna Barbera does adult! I miss this show!
au_law200122 January 2005
Wow! When I first saw this when I was a kid, I had no idea this was Hanna Barbera. And I though to myself, finally, they made a show down to Earth, and something that reflected society, as the story of a dad, normal, white, tries to live a good life in the '70s despite his hippie son, and teenage liberal daughter, and each episode has a good lesson or a message filled with social commentary, much like The Simpsons, or King Of the Hill in the "Me Generation", or The Flintstones or Jetsons in the 70s. And Ralph is the most unforgettable and perhaps the funniest character in the whole series, as the conservative McCarthyist, as he said things about commies. Yes, it had the feel and sentiments of the Cold War days. Recommended to all those who love The Simpsons, King Of the Hill, and the Adult Swim shows. If they were to remake this, they should make Ralph the same, except they should make him say things about terrorists instead of the Reds. No swearing or violence.
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
The relevance for today
livelifethemin28 January 2006
Surely this cartoon series has resonances for today and deserves a contemporary audience.

There are many funny scenes and dialogues as a broadly average family man struggles to deal with all the tribulations we have come to expect from raising teenage children.

However, Harry also has to put up with a lunatic neighbour who is armed to the teeth and sees communists everywhere.

Superimpose an image of the overreaction of many to the perceived terrorist threat of today. Everyday behaviour is modified, trust is at a minimum and everybody is suspected.

Against this background, Harry is trying to raise his family, prepare them for the future and help them make educated decisions.

Allow today's viewers to draw their own conclusions about the paranoia and fear in America at the start of the 21st century and the effect that this has on family life.

But don't forget, "Wait Till Your Father Gets Home" is very funny.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
PUT THIS OUT ON VIDEO NOW!!
madsagittarian18 October 2002
What a delightful memory. Although it only lasted a couple of seasons, this time capsule was shown on Saturday afternoons on Global Television for almost ten years afterwards! Sadly, this great animated series hasn't resurfaced in almost twenty years. If it came out on video, I would buy it in a minute. If they released it on DVD, I would actually buy a player just to see this!

Long before the irritating "Simpsons", this cartoon show featured a dysfunctional family ala early 70's, when everyone was feeling the ripples of the 60's liberation and counter-culture. The last time I saw this I was 15, yet even then I was surprised at this animated program's frank references to drugs and sex. Daughter Alice is the early 70's liberated woman, and son Chet is some hippie wastoid. Plus, check out their neighbour Ralph, who's always rambling on about pinkos and yippies. I kept on waiting for him to strap on a rifle and go shoot some long-haired kids. (Was he the world's first conspiracy theorist?)

Although it was loosely based on a live-action series, in the animated world, this show was a true original. This is one program that has yet to be resurrected in the "retro" trend these days. I sure hope someone rescues this from the vault soon.
9 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Great show starring Bosley,next to Happy Days
LiloandStitch0129 November 2002
A lot of people think this show was the cartoon version of All In the Family,but in reality,it is a spin-off from Love,American Style,by coincidence,Tom Bosley was also on another show that spun off from Love,American Style,Happy Days
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Irma and Chet , why they matter in 2006
noosic5 October 2006
Between the character Irma's constant destructive enabling and antithesis to Harry's good-natured common sense, and the oldest son Chet who at 22 years of age refuses to get a job, do anything around the house and yet still has his hand out for an "ALLOWANCE", I mean really...a 22 yr old college graduate who gets an allowance??. One really gets a sense of why the values in our country are less then desirable in 2006. It really makes you think about what has happened to us in the 34 years since this show aired. This is a very good example of how the "Super Mom" approach to child-rearing even back in 1972 destroys the morals and values of the adults today. We have them to thank for lack of respect, suspicion, and the jumping to conclusions kids have towards adults. How fun it must be to be belittled, sworn at, made fun of, and even being threatened and knowing you can't do anything about it for fear of a lawsuit or more often the infamous Super-Mom quote: "My child couldn't possibly have done anything wrong! It is the teacher, the other parent, the doctor, or society's fault!"

Thank you "Super-Mom"
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Kids Today Like To Have Their Own Way
ShadeGrenade15 September 2006
Memories of this charming show were rekindled recently when I bought a video tape from a charity shop. Only five episodes were on it, but they were enough to make me realise that the overpraised 'The Simpsons' was not the first series about an animated dysfunctional family. What I found refreshing is that the show is firmly on the side of Harry Boyle as he encounters - and is mystified by - modern youth culture. A similar show now would encourage the audience to laugh at Harry for being behind the times. The Boyle's next-door neighbour, Ralph, is a right-wing cretin who sees Communist conspiracies lurking under his refrigerator ( the inspiration for 'Jimmy' in 'The Fall & Rise Of Reginald Perrin', perhaps? ). Though a cartoon, the show lacks the conventions of the genre such as chases, comic sound effects ( okay, there are a few but they're not very noticeable ) and frenetic music. In fact, 'Wait' is better written than many live-action comedy shows. If you get the chance to check it out, do so.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Before "The Simpsons" and "Family Guy"
Blueghost20 July 2012
I saw this when it first aired way back when, and was always curious as to why a major network would air a "kids' show" during prime time TV. I mean prime time was reserved for Hawaii Five-0, Sanford and Son, Gunsmoke, Adam 12, the Mod Squad, and a host of other serious dramas and comedies. Then someone takes a chance on an animated show?

Being a cartoon I watched it religiously, then wondered why it got taken off the air. As far as a cartoon goes it wasn't very engaging. There was little slap stick, fewer sight gags, and a lot of talk. I of course remember the infamous Monitor verse Merrimac episode, but little else sticks with me about this show other than it happened, and I used to watch it.

The themes and story are reflections of contemporary society as the US transitioned form one form of social upheavals to a new era that was uncertain. "Wait til your Father Gets Home" was a sort of "Father knows best" kind of program commenting on how popular culture was clashing with traditional values etched from after the second world war.

An interesting watch. I wish I had more to say about it. It's one of those TV adventures that was a little daring and ahead of its time, but was perhaps both a little too flat and too ahead of the curve to be really accepted. Probably more the former than the latter as the success of Hanna Barbara's "The Flintstones" will attest to (i.e. another cartoon that aired during prime time during its initial run), which lasted six seasons. Alas "Wait til Your Father Gets Home" wasn't as adventurous, and suffered for it. As such it was pulled from the air.

Not a sterling series, but still a good watch for what it was. An interesting look at the early seventies just before gas lines and right at the preamble of the so-called "sexual revolution". See it once out of curiosity, and, who knows, you might like it.

Enjoy.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Some of the featured voices used & other comments
Norman30 June 2008
First it was a pretty good reflection of the times with the dad & mother taking on the rolls of parents who were raised with the 50's roles and oldest son, who was a hippie a younger son, who was just being a kid, and a daughter who was into women's liberation with the parents adapting and learning to accept the changing times. A couple of voices I knew about were Tom Bosley, Mr. C on Happy Days, and Jack Burns who was the half of the comedy team of Burns & Schreiber who had their own TV show that featured some later more well known names like

Teri Garr ( Mr. Mom, Tootsie)

Fred Willard (Late Show with Jay Leno, Best in Show, Roseanne (TV))
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Sure would like to see it again!
cookthechickens13 May 2006
This is another show I remember from my youth. I would have been first, second, third grade when it was on.

Saturday evenings, early, around five or six p.m. and again I don't remember the net work it was on.

I didn't realize at that time, it was Tom Bosley who did the father's voice. Of course I remember his best as Howard Cunningham in another 70's series, Happy Days.

I can't seem to explain it with the right words, but... if I had to define the era (early seventies) to a new generation, I would do it with this TV show! I also appreciated that the daughter, although she was heavy set and wore glasses - which by some standards of the time and sadly, still exist today - had a boyfriend!!
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Pushing the limits ahead of the time of which they had pushed the limits on TV.
Stebaer424 June 2015
My 2 Brothers J.Kevin and Mark found this one night on a Rhode Island Channel because of how they went Channel changing because they didn't like the episode of The show of which we usually watched that night.We even for a time addressed it as "The Cartoon." Also even after I found it in The TV Guide and showed it to my older Brother J.Kevin saying hear it is and it's only on Tuesday."He then said "Wait till Your Father gets home."I looked it up because he said "Remember that cartoon for tonight."Later that year in The Fall It came to our Local State's Channel and it was one of those first run syndicated shows of which was played on Various networks.

Next onward to pushing the limits ahead of the time of which they had otherwise started to on TV one review said this cartoon was to cash in on the Success of "All in the Family." whether or not that's really so most of us know that it premiered as a sequence on "Love American Style." It was titled as follows "Love and The American Father." In this as I saw on one episode Harry and Irma were hiding from the kids in the Bathroom to eat Submarine Sandwiches so that they wouldn't see them & want some too when they only got two.In this scene we see a toilet on The right side of the screen while in "The Brady Bunch." as told on Nick@ Nite's "Brady Bunch." Block Party Summer There was a Red Arrow pointing and bouncing up and down on The right side of the screen and with the Pop up Bubble saying "Here's where the Toilet was but then the censors had ordered it to be removed before there were ever any bathroom scenes filmed on the show."So naturally The censors couldn't order it removed from this cartoon when it's a cartoon and already made and then released.At one time on "All in The Family."As told by a media source it was a big thing just having a toilet flushing background sound heard behind the door. They also had the episode of which Irma had the same signs of one who's Pregnant but it turned out not to be as it's put at times on TV shows as"The New Life."Before this was found out Harry was thinking of how things would be if he had another son and what things would be like by the time he was,at the age that Jamie was then,He'd be in a wheelchair and with a long beard and no fun for his son while trying to catch up with his son while he'd be riding his bike.Another Example when Chet said to his Mom in Conclusion We're not going to get married we're only going to live here together like we're Married and she then fainted and fell off the chair and when after a short time that they did so and his girlfriend introduced to him a motorcycle gang-member that she'd be going out with that night he then said to I wont let you and she then said to Chet "Wont let me!?";"Chet Boyle We'll through!"A similar almost Parallel to this as seen in "All in the Family."was the episode in which Mike and Gloria wanted their friends of whom are a Hippie Couple move into their home with them but because they weren't Married Archie didn't/wouldn't allow them to. Chet was like a hippie he had not just had wanted to demonstrate that people like him didn't need to work to get around but had long hair of which he didn't want to cut whenever he was asked to.I recall one episode when The Father had told Chet to either get a job or live outside then Irma said to Harry "it might be to dangerous out there there may even be animals out there too."Then They showed A gorilla with a knife and fork and maybe 2 other animals including a wolf too.Then it rained and Chet came to the door knocked and then said "Okay Pop you win I'll try to get a job."

One night when my Sister Maureen and I were watching this my Mom even asked wasn't this cartoon on "Love American Style."? Then Maureen said "Yes that's right."I later saw it in a 10:00am rerun and told then how I saw it in the next room and so then we switched it and watched it together.

The late Tom Bosley who's most famous for playing Howard Cunningham not only continue this voice supplementation for this when it went beyond the Love American Style Pilot of which was Addressed as "Love and The American Father." But also got to take over the role of Howard Cunningham on "Happy Days."Because The late Harold Gould who first had the role in The "Love American Style." Pilot of "Love and the Happy Days."couldn't reprise it because he was on vacation and so he couldn't come back from vacation in time to do so.We also see various other examples of which were never seen on TV Shows at this time that weren't cartoons at this time.But do watch these episodes on Youtube and see for yourself sometime and you'll see what I mean too.Like from The Pilot and seen in the opening when Alice comes back from her date in that beat up state. Yes this just might be the next prime time cartoon in line after both "The Flintstones." and "Rocky and Bullwinkle."of which came out a year before 'The Flintstones."Then after "Wait till Your Father gets Home would come both in this order "The Simpsons." and then "Family Guy."

Truthfully, Stephen "Steve" G. Baer a.k.a. "Ste" of Framingham,Ma.USA

P.S. As I'd previously told on these IMDb sites my older Brother J.Kevin came up with Ste when that was all that he could get out and being just a year older than me and why I couldn't be brought up to prefer Stephen.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Another Cartoon Version of a Sitcom Hit
MIK7x331 May 2000
It's been a while since I've seen this show, but from what I remember, it was another cartoon version of a sitcom hit. Just as "The Flintstones" had parodied "The Flintstones" years earlier, "Wait Till Your Father Gets Home" was the Saturday morning version of "All in the Family." Generational wars of words were commonplace in the turbulent early seventies, and on "Wait Till Your Father Gets Home," the Boyles were no exception. Harry, much like his prime time counterpart Archie Bunker, was a reactionary middle aged businessman, while his wife, Irma, not unlike Edith, was the half-scatterbrained, half-sage housewife. Their children included young son Jamie, liberated daughter Alice, and hippie son Chet; the latter two would have been perfect soul mates for Mike and Gloria Stivic. And the groovy way they got along? This probably could best be answered with a line in the theme song. Kids today like to have their own way, and what Daddy doesn't know won't hurt him.
3 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews