Maude (TV Series 1972–1978) Poster

(1972–1978)

User Reviews

Review this title
26 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
6/10
Beatrice Arthur's Show
DKosty12317 December 2006
This show centered around Bea Arthur's Maude character. This is without a doubt the highlight of Bea's career. She took Maude & developed her into a larger than life liberated woman.

Bill Macy & Adrienne Barbeau are strong support, & this show dealt with women's liberation which was taboo on TV until this show. People forget that even in the early 1970's, employers still discriminated against women in the workplace. The major ones try to cover it up now, but those women who lived then know better.

This show was not always as well done as All in the Family, but was very socially relevant in its time. Another well produced Norman Lear sit-com.
17 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Then There's Maude!
Syl1 April 2007
Unfortunately, I never saw Maude until I got the DVD first season of her show. It appeared nowhere in syndication maybe because it was too controversial and might offend too many people. Compared to other shows today, Maude is quite mainstream and ahead of it's time. I loved Beatrice Arthur in this role of Maude, forget Dorothy Zbornak. Bea plays a terrific Maude Findlay, the cousin of dimwitted Edith Bunker, from All in the Family. Anyway, the casting of Bill Macy as Maude's fourth husband is genius. They work so well together. Adrienne Barbeau is terrific as her divorced daughter, Carol. Of course, we never see Philip, the eight year old dimwitted grandson. Then there is the supporting cast which is stellar like Conrad Bain as the conservative Republican right wing doctor neighbor and friend to Walter's character and Esther Rolle who plays the African American maid, Florida Evans who is fawned over by Maude's character in the beginning that she doesn't get much work done. Don't forget Rue McClanahan as dimwitted Vivian and friend of Maude. I can't help but like Maude. For all things that she gets wrong, she gets a lot of it right. Today's television writers and developers should learn from the sitcom master, Norman Lear, that a great show like Maude's can be both controversial and funny and genius too. Most sitcoms today lack the balance between left and right. Lear's sitcoms provided both sets of opinions without winning the battle. I'm sure if the sitcom people today would watch, they might learn something about developing quality sitcoms. Remember it's not quantity but quality and it's a shame. They think we want to see beautiful people like Friends in sitcoms with minor problems and the same point of view.
14 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
And Then There's Liberation!!!
dataconflossmoor8 January 2004
At the beginning of the Vietnam War, television showed a housewife burning a chocolate soufflé, at the end of the Vietnam War, MAUDE WAS HAVING AN ABORTION!!!!....The television portrayal of women who played the maternal figures was always one whereby everybody else in the household could have problems, but, she could not!! The role of the mother in the early TV sitcoms was such where she was branded "Miss Perfect Homemaker". Maude was the New York suburban housewife who broke the mold to all of that by giving a pejorative spin to so many of the politically liberal philosophies which prevailed during the 1970's ...While Alice Kramden ("Honeymooners") and Edith Bunker ("All in the Family") established ground-rules on the perfect mother and wife not being so perfect, it only went so far, and was attributed to a lack of adequate household income... Maude was different in that, she, herself, was the culprit to domestic upheaval, and that, she ,alone, was anything but perfect!!!...Maude was the lousy Long Island Liberal.. Have at least twenty percent of the guests at your party be African American...The maid is not inferior to me...She is to have lunch in the dining room...THAT'S AN ORDER!!..My daughter can have casual sex in my house, just to prove that I'm a modern mother....All of these socio-political actions were disconcerting qualities of successful liberalism...The ultimate compliment being...Maude is just like Jane Fonda or Barbara Walters!!!... One of the most scathing indictments of Maude was that she used minorities as objects of tokenism to nurture her seemingly egalitarian beliefs!! Arguments in the Findlay home would linger into the wee hours of the night, and would ultimately translate to Maude basically saying "I need to assuage my guilt!!" The television show "Maude" was WAY!!!! ahead of it's time, and was an accurate depiction of the increasingly emerging, yet typically atypical upper middle class domicile of the seventies...Social hang-ups and affluent facades made the perception of lace curtain living a precarious panacea!! Regardless of any political party affiliation with anyone on this show, anguish stemming from unrealistic expectations always seemed to rear it's ugly head!! A largess of emotional afflictions with the characters on "Maude" were always related to instinctive reactions!! Modern problems were perpetually subjected to the trials and tribulations of egregious human errors!! The transition in the overall American value system is what compounded the day to day domestic dilemmas in Maude's family life!! This show is one of my favorite situation comedies of all time!! Up until 1972, no TV show possessed such acrimonious and such witty dialog like "Maude" did in the whole history of television!! I wish more shows could be so realistic about attitudes and quirky lifestyles!!! Having the same producers as the show "The Honeymooners", it does not surprise me. The talent for articulating abominable human behavior in both these shows was simply amazing!! The series, "Maude" encompassed a bevy of recognizable flaws and executive class frailties which made it extraordinarily humorous!! Quasi affluent families in America are not stilted, "Maude" was one of the first television shows to point this out!! Objectionable humor is often times a necessary metamorphosis in small screen entertainment!! While some may protest to this technique, it signifies a very healthy element of realism in a television show to bring out household peculiarity concerning skeletons in the closet to everybody's immediate attention!! After "Maude", suburban New York will never be the same!!
25 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Maude Rules!
raysond13 September 2002
I only got the chance to catch seldom episodes when it ran recently on Nick's TV Land,but I wanted to see more,but before I could seen them they took it right off the air. When CBS premiered this spin off from "All In The Family" in September of 1972,no one had the slightest idea that it would last until April of 1978 where it ran for an astounding six years.

"Maude" gave people a chance for the people of "All In The Family" to tackle the female side of issues..by creating a powerful,subtle and holds no punches as well as humorous and full of fight woman that had just as stronger views as Archie Bunker--who else couldn't keep her mouth shut! She spoke her mind on things and her her political views were extremely rare to boot! However,Maude's household was full of surprises cause you never know what can you expect especially the occurrences happening at the Findlay's. In other words,in Maude's house she didn't take no crap from any sucker cause she was the total boss of the dome! Tough-spirited yet gullible. Bill Macy was the perfect husband Walter who was an salesmen played it to the hilt! Also rounding out the cast were there next door neighbors--the nutty and slightly unpredictable Harmon's played by Rue McClanahan and Conrad Bain,and the Findley's daughter Carol played by Adrienne Barbeau and their housekeeper played by two different actresses(Seasons 1-2 played by Esther Rolle who played Florida who after this had a spin off from Maude as well called "Good Times")and Carol's son(from a previous marriage) and Maude's nephew Phillip(played by two different actors especially one of them who played the first Phillip went to star opposite Linda Lavin's son onanother CBS series "Alice").

One of the best three favorite episodes from the series was the one where Phillip was acting like a real brat. Carol and Walter were fed up with him,but Maude believed there was no such thing as a bad child. THEY WERE WRONG! She showed Phillip who was the boss around here especially when adults are in charge!

The other episode where Phillip had some friends over to the Findley's for a party complete with a live band. What made Maude so angry in that episode was that Phillip was with some friends in the back yard smoking pot while the rest of his friends really trashed the house! But anyway when Maude asked Phillip about the pot,he really gave his mom a hard time and his room and himself was smelling like pot as well and of course lied to her about it,but it was Maude that gave him a wicked back hand across his face for talking back to his mother and to her! In other words,Carol didn't know how to control Phillip when he got older,since she was a divorce parent who never took time out since Phillip's dad was never around,but it was Maude who really gave the kid a good advice and some common sense,and to Carol as well on how to raise her son!

The other episode was when The Harmon's had a special guest in the neighborhood and no one really knew it at first,but the beans leaked out and out of the blue comes the Duke himself---JOHN WAYNE! and also had a musical interlude by no other but Donny Hathaway in a rare TV appearance who also wrote and compose the show's theme song.

LONG LIVE THE QUEEN....MAUDE RULES!!!
13 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Controversy---Thou Name Was the 1970s.
tfrizzell19 December 2003
The controversy of "All in the Family" continued with this original spin-off. The titled character (Beatrice Arthur), Archie Bunker's (Carroll O'Connor) cousin, was everything that the aforementioned was not. She was a wildly independent feminist who was on her fourth marriage (with appliance store owner Bill Macy) and cut others with a dry wit that was quietly malicious, but admittedly hilarious at the same time. Adrienne Barbeau was a dominant fixture as Arthur's daughter and neighbors Rue McClanahan and Conrad Bain just added to the overall adequacy the show had. "Maude" was in constant scrutiny. One episode dealt with the freedom of choice issue (a woman's right to have an abortion) and that definitely remains the most fiery and politically-incorrect (especially for the time period) episode of the series' seven-year run from 1972 to 1978. Never did reach as high as "All in the Family", but was a legitimate envelope-pusher that still strikes a nerve in many conservative circles. Good series overall. 4 stars out of 5.
10 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
God'll Get You For That!
JWLJN30 November 1999
If you don't watch this show, that is. I must admit, I love All in the Family, however for me this is just a bit better.

Bea Arthur was PERFECT in her role as the tough-spirited yet gullible Maude Findlay. Bill Macy was the perfect husband for her, playing Walter to a T. Conrad Bain and Rue McClanahan were wonderful as well, playing the slightly nutty Harmon's, and watching their relationship develop was a testament as to how the writers could bring two characters believably together. Rounding out the cast were Adrienne Barbeau, and the late Esther Rolle and Hermoine Baddeley.

This show also tackled as many serious subjects as All in the Family. From abortion to alcoholism, Maude and family dealt with it in a fashion that was not only informative but humorous and tasteful as well.

Maudie is back!
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
LOUD spin-off from "All in the Family"
Skinny-1521 October 1999
Norman Lear is notorious for his liberal (so they called it ground-breaking) television series of the 70's in which he tampered with conservative censors' traditional television taboos. "All in the Family" was the first step, and despite the over-the-top stereotypes, it succeeded. The downside is the way the show outdated itself by being too topical, but on the other hand it stands as a time capsule. "Maude", a spinoff based upon AITF's recurring character, was a novelty at the time and chose to play the feminist card (however loosely), but at the end of the day, the only element that survived the translation between the two programs was the heavy dosage of loud shouting matches. Bea Arthur is a better actress than this show displays, since she is rarely given the opportunity to do much more than posturing and screaming "Walter" repeatedly. Many 70's programs are now waving the banner of 'retro' to gain some sort of badge of hip for the straplings that weren't there; this show should be returned to the vaults and only drudged up for retrospectives iconifying what made this era of entertainment the very worst that the century had to offer.
7 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Maude- Edith Bunker's Liberal Cousin ****
edwagreen18 November 2007
Lady Godiva was a freedom rider...

And when the country was falling apart, Betsy Ross had it all sewn up...and then there's Maude (repeat,) right on Maude.

That was part of the opening theme song of this very popular show of the 1970s brought about by Beatrice Arthur visiting Archie and Edith Bunker's home on "All in the Family." Go know that Edith and Maude were cousins. The hilarity broke loose when Maude's liberal views were tested with Archie's ultra-conservative leanings. Arthur was such a success on the show that she was given her own show "Maude."

While Maude is very liberal, the film showed that her home was anything but functional. I guess that the same can be said about any liberal or conservative.

The show was highlighted by another great supporting cast with Bill Macy and Adrienne Barbeau as husband and daughter to Maude, respectively.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
RIGHT ON, MAUDE!
BlackJack_B15 October 2001
Maude is one of my favorite sitcoms off all time. Even though it's pretty dated stuff, it still is uproariously funny. I think the older comedies are funny because they mixed social content with humour better than today's sex-drenched drek.

I read somewhere that Maude Findlay was supposed to be Edith's sister in this spin-off. Although the two are as different as night and day, Maude does sound like Edith when she's irked. Beatrice Arthur plays Maude, a feminist who has been married 4 times and is looking to make her mark in the world. She lives with her 4th husband, Walter (Bill Macy), a man who can deal with her manic depression and mood swings, and her divorced daughter (played by the buxom Adrienne Barbeau) and her son. Also, there are the Harmons, played by Conrad Bain(Arthur) and Rue McClanahan(Vivian).

Maude was always funny because the cast worked brilliantly together, the script-writers had consultation from the great Bobs Weiskopf and Schiller(of I Love Lucy fame), and the shows of the 70's didn't have to worry about being PC, because at the time, people weren't so sensitive about their stereotypes then. It was truly zany, with too many great moments to mention; mine was when The Harmons were having trouble in their young marriage and were relying on sex games to liven it up. One night the Findlay's go out to visit the Harmons, and Vivian is naked, but wrapped up in Saran Wrap. She opened the door thinking it's Arthur, but when its Maude and Walter, she screams and slams the door, and The Findlay's are standing with their backs to the camera for 40 seconds. It was gut-bustingly funny, waiting for their take on what just happened. A true comedy hit of the past.

Of course, who can't forget Maude's trademark line: "God will get you for that!" when Walter or someone else took a good verbal shot at her.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Right on, Maude!
harpo-1924 October 1999
I think Maude was the best of Norman Lear's shows of the 1970's. Maude was probably the first show to tackle such issues as abortion, face-lifts and alcoholism. Bea Arthur was simply priceless as Maude--the rest of the cast was great, too, including Bill Macy as Walter, Conrad Bain as Arthur, Rue McClanahan as Vivian and Adrienne Barbeau as Carol. Maude is usually hard to find on TV.
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the funniest women of all time
danicanau15 August 2018
Maude is an all-time favourite of mine, which has finally made it on to DVD after many years of waiting. I used to love watching with my mother. It was an amazing bonding experience to laugh in unison with these colourful characters, and we discovered our similar sense of humour. As with so many shows with headlining female characters, this show is not only a stand out model of it's time, it tackles the human condition with the perfect balance of heart and humour. A stellar cast with the inimitable Bea Arthur as Maude, this is a superbly crafted comedy which deals with all kinds of matters in life in with wit and wisdom. A great dose of 70's fun and style.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Maude Is One of a Kind
SoSingular16 April 2007
One thing that I disagree with is that Maude was like All in the Family, although perhaps an upsides down All in the Family in that Maude was liberal and Archie was conservative. This show was, truly, one of a kind. It is true that both shows discussed real issues of the times, but both settings are entirely different, Maude and Carol are women and the dominant characters, and the texture of the film is entirely different. It is a sophisticated classic that deserves to be thought of independently for its own guts, comedic genius, and point of view. It had a lot of great stories to tell, and it had the guts to tell it to the whole world
3 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The Other Side of All in the Family...
MattWard14 January 2001
"Maude" was a chance for the people of "All in the Family" to tackle the female side of the issues... by creating a powerful, subtle and humorous woman that had just as strong views as Archie Bunker.

Bea Arthur has since become well known for her humor and the looks at the camera... she was the perfect choice for Maude... noone else could have pulled it off.

Throughout the years "Maude" tackled many issues and caused controversial uproars, just as it's parent show "All in the Family" did.

When naming a list of the most memorable shows, "Maude" should be listed at the top... although it hasn't earned the respect as it should have now.

If you get a chance to watch this series... do it...
3 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
This was good!!!!!
JennLynn29 October 1999
This was good. Many people did not like it. There are people like Maude... no matter how much some people think that is not true. This was good. Bea Arthur was great, and so was the rest of the cast. EXCELLENT casting, for sure. Carol was the perfect manipulative daughter of Maude.
3 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The sitcom for every generation of women
Nermal-31 June 1999
I love Bea Arthur and this show is the only one that tops "The Golden Girls." The show was controversial, but greatly written, and carried it off with fantastic acting! Norman Lear is a television dynasty within himself. I wish I could have been old enough in the seventies to appreciate the first run of these episodes...however, I can deal with the re-runs just fine!
3 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
"JOAN D'ARC?"
hUgH-1717 April 1999
Women everywhere on the planet should thank Bea Arthur for the freedom they enjoy today...Maude was a 'real' woman. She was sweet, noble, outspoken (way too much I'll say) and sincere as no one else in television. (Not even her cousin Archie could shut Maude's mouth)
3 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Ahead of its time
numberone_116 August 2000
I was in grade school when Maude was on...but I remember it as one of the funniest shows on television at the time - it was a true classic, and opened the doors for television to begin tackling other social issues that, up until that time, had been displayed only on daytime soap operas or special programs. The cast was excellent - can anyone tell me where to find reruns?
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Archie's Polar Opposite
Sargebri11 July 2003
When she first appeared on "All in the Family", Maude was seen as the anti-Archie. Whereas Archie was the loud, boisterous, ultra-conservative bigot, Maude was seen as a loud, boisterous, ultra-liberal feminist. In fact, Maude came along at the height of the Nixon era and was seen by some as being even more controversial than the show it was spun-off from. Subjects such as plastic surgery, impotence and abortion were covered on this show and it really got a lot of people talking about these issues. In fact many people, myself included, thought Maude was a little too liberal. The way she was written, she almost went out of her way to prove she was a very liberal minded lady especially the way she treated Florida, who thought she was crazy. This show was good, but unfortunately it will never be the classic like the show that gave it birth.
2 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
And then there's Maude!
Danorgan29 December 1999
I am only 15 years old and was not even thought of when Maude was on CBS but I love to watch this show on TV Land. It is so funny! I am a Bea Arthur fan and I like to watch The Golden Girls and Mama's Family too so I know Bea Arthur and Rue McClanahan from Golden Girls and Rue McClanahan from Mama's Family. When I first tuned in to Maude, I was suprised because I saw Rue McClanahan and her mouth was moving and I heared a womans voice but through my TV Speakers, it didn't sound like her! I eventually got used to her northeast axcent she was doing on Maude. I was so used to a southern axcent from The Golden Girls and Mama's Family. My favorite character on Maude (Other than Maude obviously) is Mrs. Naugatuck. She is too funny! I think we all recognized Hermione Baddley from Mary Poppins! She seems to be always playing a maid but I really liked the episode when Mrs. Naugatuck first came, she and Maude were useing the word "Oppinion" alot when they weren't getting along at first.

Mrs. Naugatuck: "You're very oppinionated!" Maude: "That's your oppinion."

and so on! We were filling out a survey at school on our favorite TV shows so I filled out a less obvious show for me and put Maude. Some kid in the next desk looked over at my ballet and sayed "Maude? What's that?!" My algebra teacher sayed "Oh, that's some messed up TV show in TV land. That actress is a witch! I hated her on Maude and I especially hated her on The Golden Girls," he sayed. "Also, that show is a knock off to All in the family." What I was trying to say by that is, I am glad I found positive comments on Maude because not many people in my town like that show. There is only one lady I know of that likes it, she is also a Golden Girls fan. I have alot of Golden Girls fans at my school but none for Maude. Alot in my town say they like The Golden Girls but they don't like Dorothy. I just don't understand. Well, I hope TV Land never ever ever takes Maude off the air because there is really no place else that would air it! LONG LIVE MAUDE!
2 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
"........And then there's Maude"
bkoganbing18 July 2016
Bea Arthur's outsize personality so well used in Golden Girls got a start as Edith Bunker's cousin Maude visiting Archie and Edith in All In the Family. Maude proved so popular and such a worthy adversary for Archie that Norman Lear gave Arthur her own show and the title role in same. It ran for six seasons. In the 70s Norman Lear could practically do no wrong.

Maude was a liberated woman, liberated in fact from three previous husbands before settling down and marrying Bill Macy. The family also had Adrienne Barbeau living with them and her son as well. Barbeau was Maude's daughter by marriage number 2.

Maude's hero was Eleanor Roosevelt and like Eleanor she lived in upstate New York in the rich suburb of Tuckahoe. From there she debated and worked for various liberal causes always indulged in by her husband. She didn't need Archie Bunker to debate her issues, she had wealthy Repubican doctor Conrad Bain next door. Bain had a lot more education than Archie did and he was a more formidable adversary.

I always liked Bill Macy in this show. The ever patient Walter Findlay who decided that the other three husbands had it wrong and he should just go with the flow. He did, but he also said some wise things every so often that brought up his outspoken wife very short.

Bea Arthur bought some real life into this character. She and Macy were a matched pair. And Maude was wonderful viewing.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
This should be put out on DVD.
Evedammit12 May 2004
ATTN: Industry people, put this out on DVD. This was one of my favorite sitcoms and is much better than a lot of older shows now available on DVD. BRING BACK MAUDE PLEASE!! I believe this show surprisingly wouldn't appear dated, but still relevant. And Bea Arthur was funny as heck. She and Carol Burnett were the funniest ladies of this TV era. Maude and even "Mary Hartman" should be issued on DVD. Definitely. Bea Arthur as Maude was the most endearingly smart, sarcastic character. Also her boldness offended my Dad, which made me love her even more. Along w/ All in the Family, "Maude" was ahead of its time re: cultural and societal referencing on early 70's television. I don't care what it'd cost, I'd love to own Maude on DVD. Hopefully the powers that be in Hollyweird will someday make it happen.
1 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
great show. One of my favourites after "All In the Family"
kellystorms200211 July 2003
I just read the above comments. I would just like to correct one piece of information. Maude was Edith's cousin; not her sister.They were both very different characters though; would never believe that they were related in anyway. Maude was more independant and certainly more outspoken whereas Edith, while anyone would probably love her to be their mother was the housewife who took care of her family.
1 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Just a cheap "All In The Family"
philipfhayes24 August 2018
I think that after 6 years of watching Maude that it was AiTF but with Bea Arthur as Archie. Nothing bad against this show because it did the unthinkable in 1972 and ended on a strange note in 78
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Foundations of the sitcom
jamariana4 July 2017
I watched nearly three seasons of this television show for its leading star Bea Arthur (and then once I had started, for Adrienne Barbeau). I loved seeing Arthur and Rue McClanahan on a show together before The Golden Girls, a show of absolute comedic gold, where they played Dorothy Zbornak and Blanche Devereaux, respectively. However, I couldn't help but think that Maude was a hypocrite, someone I absolutely couldn't sympathise with and Maude's husband, Walter, was even worse.

"Maude" disguised itself as a feminist, liberal sitcom, but it was and is neither of those things. Obviously, watching the show over 40 years after it originally aired on TV makes it seem aged, and sure what was liberal then may not considered liberal anymore. For example, interracial marriages, those are pretty standard nowadays - they're more of an issue concerning rights rather than just a left- wing demand. Maude would talk proudly and assert herself as a leading woman, but cower at the slightest suggestion from Walter. We are suggested to believe that they are a great couple because Walter is the only one who can "control" his woman.

Another thing that bothered me about this show is that the majority of the episodes were written by male writers. And NO, a man can never know how to write female characters or dialogue as well as a woman. Plain fact based on the fact that a man does not grow up experiencing what it is like TO BE a woman. There should be no argument on that front. There were plenty of great female teleplay writers in the day, and they should have been writing for this show if the show was so concerned about passing for a show for women. Furthermore, not ONE episode of the 141 episode show that ran for 6 seasons was directed by a woman. Sure, my problem is not necessarily with representation, but rather with what they were trying to sell. They claimed that "Maude" was a woman's show, but didn't utilise any female directors or as many female writers as they did male.

That little fact lowers the quality of the show for me tremendously. Maude would sometimes say something so blatantly sexist or racist that I couldn't believe my ears! She claimed to be a feminist and advocate of PoC rights, but every episode she would be shown to be a hypocrite in some way. Now that to me does not make a good show. And quite frankly, it's the fault of the studio for hiring all the wrong sorts of people to write and steer the show. It's not enough to have female leads, if females aren't also the ones accurately creating and controlling the development of those characters. Still, the show is not as bad as other shows of the time or of the present day, and for that it is still above a 6 star rating.
0 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed