Sweet Sweetback's Baadasssss Song (1971) Poster

Full Cast & Crew

Directed by 

Melvin Van Peebles

Writing Credits  

Melvin Van Peebles ... (written by)

Cast (in credits order) complete, awaiting verification  

Simon Chuckster ... Beetle
Melvin Van Peebles ... Sweetback
Hubert Scales Hubert Scales ... Mu-Mu
John Dullaghan ... Commissioner
Wesley Gale Wesley Gale ... (as West Gale)
Niva Ruschell Niva Ruschell
Rhetta Hughes Rhetta Hughes ... Old Girl Friend
Nick Ferrari Nick Ferrari
Ed Rue Ed Rue
John Amos ... Biker (as Johnny Amos)
Lavelle Roby
Ted Hayden Ted Hayden
Mario Van Peebles ... Young Sweetback / Kid (as Mario Peebles)
Sonja Dunson Sonja Dunson
Michael Augustus Michael Augustus
Peter Russell Peter Russell
Norman Fields Norman Fields
Ron Prince Ron Prince
Steve Cole Steve Cole
Megan Van Peebles Megan Van Peebles ... Kid (as Megan Peebles)
Joe Tornatore
Mikel Angel Mikel Angel ... (as Mike Angel)
Jeff Goodman Jeff Goodman
Curt Matson Curt Matson
Marria Evonee Marria Evonee
Jon Jacobs Jon Jacobs
William Kirschner William Kirschner ... (as Bill Kirschner)
Vincent Barbi Vincent Barbi
Chesley Noone Chesley Noone ... (as Chet Norris)
Joni Watkins Joni Watkins
Jerry Days Jerry Days
John Allen John Allen
Bruce Adams Bruce Adams
Brer Soul Brer Soul
Rest of cast listed alphabetically:
Edson C. Kurose Edson C. Kurose ... Coronor (as Ed Kurose)
Max Van Peebles Max Van Peebles ... Young Sweetback
Maggie Bembry ... Woman (uncredited)

Produced by 

Jerry Gross ... producer
Melvin Van Peebles ... producer

Music by 

Earth Wind & Fire
Melvin Van Peebles

Cinematography by 

Robert Maxwell ... director of photography (as Bob Maxwell)

Film Editing by 

Melvin Van Peebles

Makeup Department 

Nora Maxwell ... makeup supervisor

Production Management 

Clyde Houston ... production manager

Second Unit Director or Assistant Director 

Jose Garcia ... second unit director
Clyde Houston ... assistant director

Sound Department 

John H. Newman ... sound editor (as John Newman)
Arthur Piantadosi ... dubbing (as Art Piantadosi)
Clark Will ... sound
Luke Wolfram ... sound editor

Special Effects by 

Cliff Wenger ... special effects

Camera and Electrical Department 

Jose Garcia ... camera operator
Robert Maxwell ... camera operator (as Bob Maxwell)

Editorial Department 

Jeremy Hoenack ... assistant editor
Jon Kinyon ... archival editorial services (uncredited)

Music Department 

Earth Wind & Fire ... orchestrator (as Earth Wind and Fire)

Other crew 

Chic Borland ... production assistant
Skip Karnas ... production assistant
Winfred Tennison ... production assistant
Priscilla Watts ... production assistant
Crew believed to be complete

See also

Release Dates | Official Sites | Company Credits | Filming & Production | Technical Specs

Contribute to This Page

Recently Viewed