Blackbeard's Ghost (1968) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
38 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
As good as ever...
zerodegreesk9 October 2002
This movie had great memories from when I saw it as a kid. Usually, the movie's never as good as it was, you know, when you see it again once you're older. This one is still great, though! The jokes and gags are, for the most part, routine and common, but I think Peter Ustinov made the movie. You just have to let go of everything and have fun with it.
24 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A good Disney movie.
wenz-27 March 2001
This was a movie that brought back good memories. Our family went to see it at the theater back in the 70's.

It is a good story, with a few scenes that are very funny.

Dean Jones has the lead (of course), and Suzanne Pleshette is also very good. Peter Ustinov, is a great pirate for the kids to enjoy.

A good Disney movie, and a great family movie.
20 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
From the Newton School
bkoganbing2 April 2006
Watching Blackbeard's Ghost yesterday put me in mind of the late Robert Newton and his portrayal of Blackbeard in a classic film from the Fifties. Had Mr. Newton not died of chronic alcoholism in 1957, I'm sure he would have been the Disney studio's choice to play Blackbeard.

With Robert Newton not being available, the studio got another actor famous for a bravura performance, that of Nero and Quo Vadis. Who'd have thought that Peter Ustinov would have gotten another role that called for flamboyant overacting. Ustinov's Blackbeard is a combination of Newton's Blackbeard and his own Nero. And he dominates the film completely.

Dean Jones who was Disney's major leading man at the time who played the roles Kurt Russell was too young for, borrows a great deal from that other actor, who's career Disney rejuvenated, Fred MacMurray. In fact the similarities between this and Absent Minded Professor and Son of Flubber are too obvious to be missed.

Still those were two pretty funny films and Blackbeard's Ghost is in a great tradition.

Dean Jones is the new track coach at Godolphin College and he stays at the inn that's run by the descendents of the crew of none other than Edward Teach better known as Blackbeard. But they are a harmless bunch of senior citizens led by Elsa Lanchester. Yet that inn is coveted by gangster Joby Baker who's bought the mortgage.

Jones finds a faded piece of paper in an old bedwarmer and it's a spell that makes the ghost of old Blackbeard visible to him only. After that Jones plays straight man to a hilarious Ustinov. Blackbeard and is doings cause some romantic problems for Jones with Suzanne Pleshette, but in Disney tradition in the end the old buccaneer sets everything to right and escapes the limbo he's consigned to.

For Peter Ustinov fans, this is a must. You can see it in his face and his performance how much of a good time Ustinov was having with this part. It will translate into your enjoyment as well.
15 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
His breath would stun a horse!
Spikeopath15 December 2010
Blackbeard's Ghost is a live action picture out of Walt Disney Studios and it's directed by Robert Stevenson. It's based around the novel written by Ben Stahl, with the adaption for the screen by Don DaGradi & Bill Walsh. Starring are Peter Ustinov, Dean Jones, Suzanne Pleshette, Elsa Lanchester & Joby Baker.

Plot finds Ustinov as the titular phantom of the title, who is suspended between worlds after a curse was put on him by his ex-wife. When amiable track coach Steve Walker (Jones) arrives in the coastal town of Godolphin he attends a charity sale and buys an antique bed warmer. Later that night Steve finds a hidden spell located in the bed warmer and after reading it out aloud he conjures up the ghost of Blackbeard. Seems that only Steve can see the bluff old pirate, and apparently Blackbeard can only escape his curse if he does a good deed. Good timing, then, since the old hotel run by the old ladies of Godolphin is under threat of closure from unscrupulous gambling gangster Silky Seymour (Baker) who wants to build a casino on the land. In spite of the fact that they just can't get on, Blackbeard and Steve may just be good for each other.

A perfect light hearted live action film for the young and the young at heart. Looking a bit dated now on account of the advent of special effects, Blackbeard's Ghost none the less carries a weighty good against evil parable and brings on the laughter in spades as it goes. The set up is classic Disney, a pretty little coastal town is home to buccaneer secrets and the equilibrium is being upset by baddies who want progress to further their greed. Enter a bad boy coming good and the underdog sports team suddenly finding a new lease of life; aided wonderfully by Blackbeard during the film's funniest quarter. And there's even an engaging romance between Jones & Pleshette that's easy to warm too. The cast are inoffensive and pleasant, particularly Ustinov who is on full tilt pantomime overdrive, while the little devilish motif of cheating for the greater good finds Disney not hiding behind the syrup jar.

Personally I laughed out loud on a number of occasions, most notably a cheerleader sequence that still has me giggling as I write this piece. Hopefully this film can have a similar effect on those looking at it for the very first time. Seek it out folks and watch with the family, for it is perfect family entertainment. 8/10
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Funny and entertaining movie about a likable ghost excellently performed by the great Peter Ustinov
ma-cortes29 January 2012
Fun Disney-fantasy comedy about a pirate/ghost that returns to our time. Enjoyable story that mingles adventure , fantasy , slapdash and amusement . One of Disney's best live-action comedies , this stars Peter Ustinov in the title role as Blackbeard , he has been cursed by his spouse who was an evil witch , so that he will never die . The phantom is suspended between worlds after a curse was put on him by his ex-wife . When a sympathetic trainer named Steve Walker (Dean Jones) arrives in the coastal little town called Godolphin he attends a charity sale and buys an antique bed warmer. After that , Steve discovers a hidden spell and after reading it out aloud he conjures up the title character and he only can see the fantastic pirate , being one important trouble , no one will believe him . The only way to "break" the curse is to do a good act for once in his life . As the notorious pirate is a ghost who has to prevent his descendants from becoming a gambling casino . Meanwhile , an ancient hotel run by some old ladies called ¨Daughters of Buccaneers¨( Elsa Lanchester and others ) of Godolphin little town is under threat of foreclosure from nasty gambling mobster who wishes to construite a house game on the location . As the coach Steve and the gorgeous Jo Anne (Suzanne Pleshette ) help protect his descendants' home from being taken over by racketeers who want to make it casino , both of whom along with the 400-year-old ghost romp around in the motel threatened with closure.

This slapstick fantasy Disney is plenty of adventure , imagination , comedy ad lots of fun . This is a likable sort of a kiddies' adaptation of a ¨ghost story¨ and another attempt for repeat the Mary Poppins magic . Peter Ustinov as the titular phantom of the title is terrific , he steals the show , as himself grins, grunts and botchers around which makes him all the more endearing . Many of the gags are good , but the movie sometimes drags . Highlights of the movie result to be the amusing scenes in which the pirate uses his powers to aid the young runners to gain competitions and fun final at the house game . Well produced by Bill Walsh , colorfully photographed by Edward Colman and lively musical score by Robert Brunner ; the three of them customary experts on Disney fantasy home . The motion picture is well directed by usual craftsman from Disney productions named Robert Steveson who achieved for the famous company its greatest successes such as ¨Mary Poppins¨ , ¨Bednobs and broomsticks , ¨Gnome-mobile¨, ¨Herbie rides again¨ , ¨Absent-minded professor¨, ¨Son of Flubber¨, ¨Shaggy DA¨ , ¨That darn cat¨ , ¨One of our dinosaurs is missing¨ and many others . Rating : Acceptable , 6,5 , worthwhile watching . Amusing and engaging film with effective combination of primitive special effects , live action , adventure , fantasy and humor . The children will get a kick out of this Disney film .
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
They don't ,make movies like this anymore.
atinder12 August 2009
I saw this movie on Easter Monday this year, I loved it, it has so many great jokes, mostly ghost jokes which were great.

One of the most funniest movie, I have seen, I could not stop laughing.

Blackbeard's Inn, a small hotel on the Carolina coast, is run by the Daughters of the Buccaneers, a group of little old ladies all claiming to be descendants of the notorious Edward Teach, known as Blackbeard. When Steve Walker.

The new track coach for Godolphin College, registers at the inn, he learns that the Daughters are desperately trying to pay off their mortgage in order to prevent a takeover by the local gambling czar, Silky Seymour. Encouraged by Jo Anne Baker, a college instructor, Steve helps the old ladies' cause by buying an antique bed warmer at a charity auction and discovers that it was once owned by Blackbeard's 10th wife.

Before being burned as a witch, she had condemned her philandering husband to wander in limbo until he performed one good deed. By accident, Steve conjures up the devilish pirate's spirit and persuades him to help the Daughters.

After that he life is being turn upside down by this ghost, it some very funny scenes, then people starting to thinking that Steve is the one who is going crazy.

Great comedy for the whole family.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Ustinov is a master at comedy
nielseernink29 March 2005
This Ustinov performance is one of the few I saw of him. The amazing ease and wit with which he performs is admirable. Who would have thought that a classic role such as a pirate could be filled in with such dignity. The story itself is a patchwork of silly situations all centring around the fund raising for a group of old ladies. The whole cast is up for a good laugh (I suspect Ustinov has something to do with this) and this gives the movie some swagger. The sets and effect used in the movie are amateurish, BUT this is what makes the movie all the more gullible. Although this might at first seem a movie to be seen on TV on a rainy Saturday afternoon, I recommend you go to the videostore and enjoy it on a Friday night before you go out.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Silly and a little overlong, but thanks to a stellar Peter Ustinov it is a very enjoyable film
TheLittleSongbird3 March 2010
While silly and over-the-top at times, this film is a lot of fun. My main problem though with "Blackbeard's Ghost" though is that it is tad too long by 10 minutes. But it is hugely enjoyable entertainment for the whole family, with some nice costumes and cinematography. Also a vast majority of the jokes are very funny, the intriguing plot is along the lines of "The Canterville Ghost" and the performances are spirited. Peter Ustinov, a great actor, makes a very lively lead who is condemned to wander in limbo until he performs a good deed, and Dean Jones also does a good job. Elsa Lanchester almost steals the film though, as one of the ladies he must save from gambling gangsters. Overall, while not perfect, it is enjoyable and worth watching. 7/10 Bethany Cox
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Alternately tiresome and funny.
gridoon21 July 2001
This entertaining Disney comedy-fantasy drags at times, but its two major set pieces (the track championship and the final showdown) are worth watching. It's true that most of the film's dialogue passages are pretty tiresome, but it also has many clever visual gags, and some spectacular special effects. (**1/2)
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The cursed Captain's ghost meander around looking for redemption!
mianaliilyas78611 June 2011
Disney have a great share of making joyous movies for a long time, every little movie they make shares laugh over my face, and BlackBeard's Ghost is no exception too. The movie with all its dainties is an awesome treat to watch. Actually I wasn't a kid when I first saw this movie in fact I was in late twenties and I enjoyed that movie a lot. There are many pirate movies but the way Peter Ustinov played Captain BlackBeard was not just hilarious; it was utter treat to watch him playing treacherous captain gone good. The movie is very funny and I love it any time I watch it. The movie is highly recommended for those who wanna have nostalgic attack!
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Hilarious. Great Disney And Great Comedy.
johnstonjames7 October 2010
Warning: Spoilers
note: do not bother to watch the American release DVD of this. for some reason with a few of the harder to find live action classics from Disney like 'Gnomemobile' or 'One of Our Dinosuars is Missing', the DVD transfers offered on the American disc are inferior transfer. they looked like Disney transfered them from VHS or something. the region 2 DVD releases from England are, for some reason, a far superior transfer and look like they were transfered from film and not VHS. don't know why you should have to go to a foreign market to get the best quality from an American studio, but this seems pretty typical of the failure by the Disney co. to adequately showcase it's live action classics from the studio's golden age.

all that tech talk aside,'Blackbeard's Ghost' has always been one of my favorite live action Disney fantasies. and definitely one of the studio's best comedies ranking with 'The Absentminded Professor' and 'One of our Dinosuars is Missing'. with the (shall i say it?) stellar acting combination of Ustinov and Jones, 'Blackbeard' plays out like a Diney/fantasy version of Neil Simon's the 'Odd Couple'. and if you are partial to Disney and slapstick, possibly a lot funnier.

the performances by Ustinov and Jones are decidedly a focal point that drives the film and gives it it's most weighty substance. the performances, especially Ustinov's, are inspired and sharp witted. they come off as sort of lunatic fringe, counterparts to Matthau and Lemmon, but with a lot more testosteroned, highly charged, craziness. Ustinov and Jones performances are much more "over the top" than Matthau's or Lemmon's, but as charged up as their performances get, they are restrained and controlled with lots of character insight that makes the two protagonist seem like human beings and not nuttily drawn cartoons which could have easily have happened with all the buffoonery.

even though cartoonish, the characters are developed with some psychological insights. insights very similar to Simon's 'Odd Couple' play. one is uptight and repressed, the other is gregarious and lacking any moral conscience and a slob. also much like the 'Odd Couple', this is a take on the age old saying "you can't keep two bulls in one pen". a testimonial satire on the difficulties in the male relationship and of male dominance assertion. the compatibility between the two is aggravated by their extreme differences. one is a square, the other a pirate, one is living, one is dead, etc. of course in true Disney fashion, they learn to come to terms with their differences and work together.

it's also interesting to note that for a film that is over forty years old (God. forty years. i saw this at the movies when it first came out), the gimmicks and FX are still true today as ever. in many respects, the mechanical effects are even more inspired in an age that relies on CGI for everything. Peter Ellenshaw's beautiful matte composites look even better and more painted art than the monochromatic CGI composites of today.

classic Disney doesn't get much better than this. and it is certainly better than a lot of the bland, under-whelming fare, offered by the Disney channel TV movies of today.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Fun Disney flick
gcd706 July 2008
Warning: Spoilers
Peter Ustinov has a ball and the rest of the cast are most enjoyable in this fun Disney flick which is ideal for young audiences.

Director Robert Stevenson brings Ben Stahl's novel to the screen as he tells the story of legendary pirate Captain Blackbeard, who was cursed by his wicked wife to walk the earth in limbo until such a time as some small portion of good might be found in him. Disney released similar films around the late sixties and early seventies including "Bedknobs and Broomsticks" with much success at the time.

This enjoyable, merry fun also stars Elsa Lanchester, Dean Jones (of "Herbie" fame) and Suzanne Pleshette.

Sunday, January 18, 1998 - Video
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Peter Ustinov is ever so good as I rememberd him!
moing17 January 2003
I saw this film some 30 years ago and when it came on my television I remembered it as very funny. And it is still very funny, thanks to Peter Ustinov who is the real soul of the film. I would say that this film ages well.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A Bit Dated But Funny
gavin694222 October 2017
On the Carolina coast, Godolphin College's new track coach lodges at Blackbeard's Inn, run by the Daughters of the Buccaneers who claim to be descendants of the notorious pirate and who risk losing their hotel to the local mobster.

While I ultimately enjoyed the film and found it to be pretty funny, it does take a while to get going. For the first 20 to 30 minutes, I was rather bored. And that is a shame, because if I am not alone it would turn other people off to it.

Also, the version I watched was on an official Disney DVD. But it was fullscreen and clearly not cleaned up, at least not much. I do not know the original aspect ratio, but it seemed to fit the screen strangely as fullscreen.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Ustinov, Jones, and Pleshette elevate lightweight Disney comedy
a_chinn21 October 2017
Lightweight Disney comedy gets a big boost from a strong cast. Dean Jones is the new track coach at a local college and after spending the night at Blackbeard's Inn, where he befriends the cantankerous ghost of Edward Teach, AKA Blackbeard, played by the always excellent Peter Ustinov, who then helps Jones and love interest Suzanne Pleshette secure money to save the hotel from being taken away by the bank (and gangsters). The plot isn't really why you'd watch this film. It's the banter between Jones and Pleshette, and the comic mugging by Ustinov, which all goes a very long way. It's also fun to see the original Bride of Frankenstein, Elsa Lanchester, in a supporting role. Far from a Disney classic, it's still solid entertainment. And as an aside, I'm kind of fascinated thinking back to the many Disney live action films of the 60s and 70s that were made for kids, but which feature no children. This is something you don't ever really see anymore in children's movies.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Blackbeard's Ghost is not scary but not that funny either
chauge-7325317 September 2017
Blackbeard's Ghost stars Dean Jones as GoDolphin College's new track coach. On his first night arriving, he stays at Blackbeard's Inn and discovers said ghost after accidentally conjuring the spell that makes him visible only to him. The rest of the story centers on the relationship between the two and how they help the ancestors of Blackbeard's crew retain ownership of the Inn from the clutches of the local casino-running gangster. Richard Deacon plays the Dean of the college and Suzanne Pleshette plays the psychology professor assigned to keep an eye on their new track coach once they notice he seems to be talking to himself a lot (although it is really to Peter Ustinov as Blackbeard, who is invisible to everybody else). You have to suspend some disbelief in the beginning that this track coach comes in to town knowing very little about the school or the team of track misfits he inherits and that there is no athletic director character or anybody that enters the story that actually hired him, but oh well, I digress... Ustinov does a great job with the character, taking full advantage of the opportunities he gets to show off his comedic skills, and Dean Jones does a sneaky good job too with the role he's given, playing the good man going crazy over dealing with the ghost he didn't sign up for. There are plenty of special effects and sight gags, and some are entertaining to watch, but overall it's just not that funny. Suzanne Pleshette plays the straight woman to perfection, which you can see becomes the precursor to her role on The Bob Newhart Show. Overall a watchable show with some slow patches and some good performances, but I wanted to leave it with a few more belly laughs than what I got. Maybe I needed to be ten years old again to enjoy it more.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Light entertainment mostly for youngsters
SimonJack23 August 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Besides his renown for creating cartoon characters and making animated films, Walt Disney had a penchant for telling the stories of people of legend and fairy tales. This has carried on by the Disney Studios since Walt's death on Dec. 15, 1966. "Blackbeard's Ghost" is one such storied film. It is a fictional story that has a notorious American colonial period pirate come back to life as a ghost in modern-day (1968) North or South Carolina. (The movie doesn't say which one, and the location and Godolphin College are fictional.)

This is a children's film that has some very silly scenes. Blackbeard's ghost, played well by Peter Ustinov, helps the track team of newly arrived coach, Steve Walker (played by Dean Jones), win an invitational track event between four schools. His athletes are mostly physical weaklings, but they beat the top athletes of the other schools in several events. The ghost trips runners and points them to run the wrong direction. For the top competing shot putter, the ghost blocks the iron ball about five feet away and it falls to the ground to the befuddled look of the husky athlete and those watching nearby. Then, the Godolphin athlete's ball takes several bounces in mid-air (we don't actually see this, but Blackbeard looking on and moving his finger to show the bounces). Another scene shows Blackbeard taking the Godolphin athlete's javelin toss, running with it some distance, and then tossing it. It has the look of a javelin bouncing along in the air to the spectators who can't see the ghost. Other silly scenes show outcomes of the pole vault, high jump, discus and hurdles.

The acting is OK, with good performances also by Suzanne Pleshette, Elsa Lanchester and others. But the story is lame and the script isn't better than average. The portrayal of Blackbeard's character as not vicious and somewhat whimsical may be closer to the real Edward Teach than the legends would make him out to be.

The story of the real Edward Teach (aka, Blackbeard) is an interesting read. While he was a feared pirate – mostly because of his appearance and some actions, he was never known to have killed anyone he captured. He had served in the British Royal Navy as a seaman before joining the pirate trade under Captain Benjamin Hornigold. For a couple of years, 1716-18, Blackbeard held sway off the SE Coast of the new land and into the Caribbean.

In May 1718, Blackbeard organized a pirate blockade of Charles Town (now Charleston, SC) that plundered the town and commercial ships. His ship took captives who were ransomed with a chest of medicine. The lieutenant governor of Virginia, Alexander Spotswood, hired two private ships and organized a small force of Royal Navy men to hunt down Blackbeard. They caught up with him at Ocracoke on the Outer Banks of North Carolina on Nov. 22, 1718, and killed the pirate and many of his men. Blackbeard was only about 38 years old when he died.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Peter Ustinov
Kirpianuscus28 June 2016
at first sigh, a comedy who use the skills, obvious in many other films, of two good actors. in fact, only a great comedy. who gives to Peter Ustinov to create a lovely character who conquer entire story. and that is the basic fact who gives color and force and charm to a film who remains seductive decade by decade. the small pieces of history. the cliché of bad guy. the mediocre sport team , the pressure to lost their tradition to a small community. tradition, legends and hilarious meeting are only the best ingredients for a story for every age. one of films useful for rediscover the taste of a period. and the flavor of an age. and, sure, to enjoy one interesting performances of Peter Ustinov. who gives a memorable hero portrait , fascinating, seductive, nice scene by scene.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
lovely
Vincentiu28 November 2012
nice, a good family film. and this is not a really surprise because presence of Peter Ustinov is always great virtue for a movie. but, in same measure, it is a smart script and the gangs are really seductive. a pirate story but in different manner. a coach, a book, a hero, and a lot of adventures. all as slice of childhood cake of emotions.it is a wonderful Disney work. a fairy-tale with role of moral lesson in which love, duty, humor, nuances of facts are in wise way presented. must see it ! not only in a gloomy afternoon. because need of magic and soft entertainment are gifts for each season of year. for each season of life.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great Disney Movie
kariokebob-159-34320030 January 2012
I watched this movie last Saturday morning with my 11 year old daughter. This was the first time she saw this movie and about the fifth time for me.

It is a movie full of humor and great acting. I really enjoy the Disney movies from the 60's and 70's

If you have not seen this movie you must rent it. It is a movie the whole family can enjoy. No dirty words, no political agenda, just good old fashion fun.

If Walt Disney were alive when this movie came out he would have put his stamp of improvement to it.

Kariokebob
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The Vidiot Reviews...
capone66620 October 2011
Blackbeard's Ghost

For a pirate from the 1600s, the biggest shock on the high seas today would have to be the treasure trove: human trafficking.

And the while misplaced marauder in this comedy is interested in loot, it's for charity.

When a college coach (Dean Jones) buys a bed warmer owned by the pirate Blackbeard's wife, he finds a book of incantations inside and recites one.

In doing so, he resurrects the restless spirit of Blackbeard (Peter Ustinov), who has been cursed by his wife to remain in limbo until he performs a good deed.

Deciding to help save the local inn, Blackbeard's bumbling antics instead expedite its transformation into a casino.

An optimistic take on the murderous pirate, Blackbeard's Ghost is a zany romp that doesn't skimp on classic live-action Disney charm.

However, now that pirates are harmless, does that mean we can drink liquids with the Jolly Roger on them? (Yellow Light)
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Very entertaining
Quackle1 March 2003
I enjoyed this movie very much; there is rarely a moment where I wasn't finding it interesting. There is some great acting, especially by Peter Ustinov, playing the ghost of Blackbeard. 9/10
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Blackbeard's Ghost
lasttimeisaw1 May 2013
A feel-good Disney production, a priggish track-and-field coach (Jones) accidentally invokes the ghost of the centuries-old notorious pirate Blackbeard (Ustinov), who has been stuck in limbo eternally after death because of his 10th wife's vicious curse, while being only visible to the coach, Blackbeard needs to do something good to break the curse, so he decides to assist the coach's lame team to win the college competition (using his stunt of invisibility) in order to win the wager to pay back the bank mortgage and save the hereditary hotel which runs by Blackbeard's descendants (a gaggle of old ladies led by Lanchester).

Directed by Robert Stevenson after his post-MARY POPPINS (1964, 7/10) glory, the film fully taps into the jejune bickering and antics between the coach and Blackbeard, an anachronistic farce which hones up to a gratifying hilarity meanwhile tips the scales in hasty absurdity. The over- exploited shtick of Blackbeard's invisibility is as stock as fatiguable, it is a decent family treat after all.

Ustinov's eloquent oratory shines even under the circumstances of nothing stimulating needs to be uttered, whose mellifluous cadences alone can save the audience from the stodgy character' default setting, a tad annoying, a tad self-boasting, but nothing remotely hints Blackbeard's venomous nature. Dean Jones, with a Sean Connery-alike visage, contradictorily jibes with Ustinov's maverick image, has a holier-than-thou standard offering in his goodly appearance, completely sedated under Ustinov's grandstanding and so is Suzanne Pleshette, a professor of child psychology but more frisky and outward than her formal love-interest. Elsa Lanchester, owns a great gambit as an offbeat soothsayer, shamefully then steps off most of the time as a sightseer.

The embellished plot-line of the track events and casino gambling works well with the laughters, Stevenson and screenwriters surely had contrived a plan to let everything looks plausible no matter how illogical it seems, so as hard as they tried, it is a run-of-the-mill level of creation and self-aware of its demographical appeal.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Laugh Out Loud Funny
Serenstars13 February 2012
This just came on the television as I was working on some sewing ... I sort of half started watching it and before I knew it the sewing had been set aside and my 16 year old daughter was calling from the other room to ask what I was laughing at. I hadn't even realised I was laughing so much and it really is funny - mainly because of Peter Ustinov's wonderful comedic performance as the pirate Blackbeard's Ghost, but also the completely bonkers events that occur - particularly the madcap track and field competition, and the fight with the bad guys at the end in which fingers are used as guns to hilarious effect (you'd have to watch it to understand what I'm on about). Silly, slapstick, knockabout nonsense it may be ... but the script is sharp and funny (particularly Ustinov's wonderful dialogue) and all in all it's a delightfully daft romp that made me smile, chuckle and yes .. laugh out loud.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Another title: "How every comedy movie should be"
rapt32 October 2007
Warning: Spoilers
This is just a masterpiece of comedy movies! In the same words of Peter Unistov as Blackbeard, it seems that people don't know how to have fun anymore nowadays. I think that's the reason why I never saw many excellent comedies like that anymore. I love to see a great piece in the big screen, one of those who give us some reflection of life, some outstanding lines, epic portrayals of great men of our history and everything. But I also LOVE to strike a great laugh as well! And this movie delivers!! You just blow your head off of laughing, from the very beginning 'till the very end! The jokes are some of the best of all times!! Every single frame of this movie is a turbulence of nonstop laughing!! I just can't find words to say something bad about this movie, I mean it.

How can one not give a single good laugh after seeing Blackbeard (Peter Unistov) put Steve Walker (Dean Jones) into trouble with a police officer? Or even, in the olympics where Blackbeard helps poor Godolphin team to win, specially when he messes up with the final competition, where he confuses every other runner simply using a hot-dog, a flag and a bottle of rum! THIS FOLKS, IS HOW EVERY COMEDY MOVIE SHOULD BE MADE!! I mean it! This is first class comedy! I first saw this movie when I had 8 years. I'm 26 now. And I continue to love this as much as I loved when I was a boy.

This is, without a doubt a 10 out of 10! And even giving this a 10 is not enough, because it deserves much more! Perhaps, shouting the magic words (kree kru vergo gebba kalto kree) out loud can make some other picture like that appears around. While this isn't happen, get this one and have fun beyond your imagination!
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed