The Name of the Game (TV Series 1968–1971) Poster


Episode List


Season 1

20 Sep. 1968
Fear of High Places
The mysterious death of a woman who claimed to be the mistress of a married public figure sends Jeff Dillon investigating.
27 Sep. 1968
Jean Thorndyke is the woman who knows too much - and Dan Farrell must find her before her murderous husband can silence her.
4 Oct. 1968
The Taker
Glenn Howard must cope with a hostile takeover bid by the unscrupulous Arthur Jellicoe.
11 Oct. 1968
Collectors' Edition
Dillon's life was saved in Vietnam by photographer Peter Max; now, Max is in big trouble and Dillon must help.
18 Oct. 1968
Five years after his wife was shot dead in front of him, Dan Farrell has a chance to bring her killers to justice.
25 Oct. 1968
Incident in Berlin
When a Howard Publications employee is jailed in East Germany for being an American spy, Glenn Howard attempts to negotiate for his release.
1 Nov. 1968
Shine On, Shine On, Jesse Gil
Wealthy farmer Jesse Gil Macrae is a respected, popular figure in his community - but is he also a murderer? Jeff Dillon investigates.
8 Nov. 1968
Lola in Lipstick
In Rome, Glenn Howard investigates the doings of the Jet Set - and also the mysterious death of a gangster's girlfriend.
15 Nov. 1968
The Protector
Glenn Howard takes on a right-wing multi-millionaire who may be planning some sort of coup with a private army.
22 Nov. 1968
Linda Ramsey will be executed in just a few hours - unless Dan Farrell can save her.
29 Nov. 1968
The White Birch
August, 1968: As the Russian tanks roll into Czechoslovakia, Glenn Howard has a chance to smuggle out the manuscript of a new book which is "political dynamite".
6 Dec. 1968
High on a Rainbow
Children in schools are getting access to dangerous drugs. Dan Farrell goes undercover to find the supplier.
13 Dec. 1968
The Black Answer
When an African-American newspaper editor, a strong advocate of non-violence, is brutally murdered, a controversial militant is suspected. Jeff Dillon discovers the killing is more involved that first appears.
20 Dec. 1968
Pineapple Rose
Peggy is kidnapped - she's been mistaken for the sister of pop idol Lincoln Bridges. Howard's executive assistant Andy Hill leads the hunt for Peggy.
27 Dec. 1968
The Revolutionary
In a Latin American country, Glenn Howard becomes involved in a counter-revolution.
10 Jan. 1969
Swingers Only
Kay Martin's husband has been mixing with some very dubious people - can the marriage be saved? Dan Farrell discovers a sinister secret behind the crowd of swingers Martin was mixing with following a girl's death.
17 Jan. 1969
The Inquiry
When Howard is accused of stealing money during a combined OSS and resistance mission during WWII by an inimical senator at an appointment hearing, he proceeds to contact those involved in the mission to determine who took the money.
24 Jan. 1969
The Incomparable Connie Walker
Mayor Conway Walker is the victim of a smear campaign - or is he really corrupt? Jeff Dillon finds himself questioning his own loyalty.
31 Jan. 1969
Love-In at Ground Zero
Can Glenn Howard prevent a protest group from committing mass suicide?
7 Feb. 1969
The Suntan Mob
American gangsters seem close to taking over a British island in the West Indies. Dan Farrell sets out to expose the gang.
14 Feb. 1969
Keep the Doctor Away
Could the charming Dr. Evenhauer be a killer? Jeff Dillon overhears a nurse claim a patient friend should not have died and takes a closer interest in the physician.
21 Feb. 1969
The Bobby Currier Story
Bobby Currier was always trouble just waiting to happen. Now he seems to have gone on a killing spree. Dan Farrell, taken prisoner by Currier, discovers an unexpected 'accomplice' has influenced his actions.
28 Feb. 1969
A Wrath of Angels
An idealistic priest takes on a ruthless wealthy slum landlord, alerting Dan Farrell to the plight of poor tenants.
7 Mar. 1969
The Third Choice
What is the link between the kidnapping of one of Glenn Howard's editors and an attempt to overthrow an African government?
14 Mar. 1969
Breakout to a Fast Buck
Dan Farrell is alerted to a prison break out, and discovers it directly relates to a major crime planned in advance.
21 Mar. 1969
An Agent of the Plaintiff
Whilst visiting London, Glenn Howard finds himself being sued for libel.

 Season 1  Season 2  »

See also

TV Schedule

Contribute to This Page