The Birds (1963) Poster

(1963)

User Reviews

Review this title
495 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
A terrifying work of beauty
gogoschka-117 December 2013
Warning: Spoilers
I don't think anyone was prepared in 1963 for the unexplained horror Hitchcock unleashed here (hell, I wasn't; and I first saw it 25 years later). Now, 50 years later, it's still absolutely unique and remains a stand-alone picture which doesn't cease to amaze me.

The tension Hitchcock slowly builds and the atmosphere of impending doom he creates are mesmerizing. This was probably the first true apocalyptic nightmare ever put on screen; a shocker, and the terror this film inspires is greatly enhanced by the fact that it refuses to give the viewer any answers. Nature just turns on humanity all of a sudden, and although it's just those adorable tiny creatures called "birds" that we see go amok, I was left with the impression that this might just be the start of something bigger, much much worse.

This was Hitchcock, the man who - next to Chaplin and Disney - probably had the biggest impact on the evolution of cinema from the twenties to the early sixties, at the peak of his creativity.

A terrifying work of beauty. My vote: 8 out of 10

Favorite films: http://www.IMDb.com/list/mkjOKvqlSBs/

Lesser-known Masterpieces: http://www.imdb.com/list/ls070242495/

Favorite Low-Budget and B-Movies: http://www.imdb.com/list/ls054808375/

Favorite TV-Shows reviewed: http://www.imdb.com/list/ls075552387/
55 out of 77 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
A highly innovative horror
Gommy31 May 1999
Imagine Hitchcock trying to sell this idea to the film studios: the lives of a mundane country family are shattered when vicious rooks attack. Why? No particular reason. And what then? They fly away. and then? They come back again and attack. And then go and then . .. It seems like an impossible plot to pull off, but Hitchcock does it, slowly building up the tension which spasmodically swells and subsides. Younger viewers may get irritated with the slow stealth of the opening scenes and may want to thrash the T.V. when the film comes to its beautifully droll conclusion, but form once those birds start attacking, every viewer is riveted. It was fine Hitchcockian innovation that took this very slim, cock-a-mamy story and turned in to a tense thriller. But the greatest innovation is the film score - there isn't any. No director is more closely identified with the music of their films, but in Birds, Hitchcock created a horror that is uniquely quiet. The great man appreciated something that so few others do - the atmospheric potency of silence, and how, in different settings, silences can differ in character. Yet so many who watch the film seem to forget that the music isn't there. That's the film's greatest attribute.
182 out of 299 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Tippi Feathers With Mother
Donald Agustamarian5 February 2005
Seems silly to give a 10 to "The Birds" what can I give to "Notorius" then? Or "Rear Window"? A 20? It doesn't matter, a 10 shouldn't mean the best but one of the best. Best as in degrees of enjoyment, best as in time of enjoyment, 10 for the kind of enjoyment. "The Birds" is a ten for all of the above. Hitchcock's world varied consistently, it depended very much on his travelling companions. Writers first and foremost then composers. There is no music in "The Birds" so most of my questions are directed to the eclectic Evan Hunter who dissected Daphne de Maurier's original story and transformed it into something that not even Hitchcock had attempted before. A lyrically surreal horror soap opera kind of thing. It visits many of Hitchcock's obsession's of course, an icy blond and a castrating mother. Tippi Hedren follows a long line of Hitchcock blonds, from Madeline Carroll and Ingrid Bergman to Grace Kelly, Kim Novak, Janet Leigh, Eva Marie Saint and Doris Day as Jessica Tandy follows Madame Constantin, Jesse Royce Landis and Louise Latham not to mention Mrs. Bates. Evan Hunter was behind films like Richard Brooks's "Blackboard Jungle" and a semi forgotten gem Frank Perry's "Last Summer" As well as having Akira Kurosawa based his film noir "The Ransom" on one of his novels. Here, he follows Hitchcock's needs with religious reverence and at the same time comes out with something quite unique. I love the light weightiness of the heaviness. I've always loved the daringness of the pacing. The car trip to to Bodega Bay or the long shots of Jessica Tandy's truck driving away in horror from the farm. This movie is also a reminder to the filmmakers, depending in special effects, that effects tend to age a movie far too fast. The effects should be at the service of the characters and not the other way round. Rod Taylor, a charming, versatile matinée idol with a brain and the scrumptious Suzanne Pleshette ad to the many pleasures this 10 of a film will keep in store for generations to come.
206 out of 344 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
A true puzzle without an answer; brilliant
kintopf4328 May 2003
One of Hitchcock's most enigmatic and fascinating films, a true puzzle without an answer. Hitchcock chucks away all but the barest conceit of DuMaurier's story, and instead constructs an elegant little comedy of manners so dry it'll sting your lips. Tippi Hedren's spoiled rich girl makes a trip to a west-coast fishing town to play a joke on a smartass lawyer who still lives with his mum, and things get complicated. In the movie's first half, the director layers on the sexual tensions and the bitchy wit until you're at the screaming point--and then unleashes a cataclysmic natural horror so unspeakable it could be something out of the Bible.

All technical elements are superb. Hitchcock, so well known for his use of music, shows here how terrifying silence can be, and 'The Birds' remains an intensely quiet picture, even punctuated, as it is, by sudden noisy violence. The set pieces, like the fireplace scene, the playground scene, and the visit with Dan Fawcett, are studies in perfection. The cast is smooth down to the tiniest roles, with the proto-Altman ensemble scene in the diner being one of the most memorable segments in a film chock-full of them.

And it is literally impossible to imagine better-cast actors in the leads. Hedren is perfect as Melanie Daniels, the party girl who, while not nearly as clever as she thinks she is, may just be telling the truth when she says she's looking for something more meaningful in her life. Rod Taylor is charming and somewhat inscrutable as the local-boy-made-good who thinks he knows what he wants. Suzanne Pleschette is smoldering as the cynical (and perhaps sexually ambiguous) schoolteacher who takes Melanie in.

And perhaps most important, Jessica Tandy is a searing, twitchily hypnotic presence as Lydia Brenner, surely one of greatest supporting characters in the Hitchcock pantheon.

As the movie runs on, the director gleefully ignores one loose end after another, leaving the viewer with an epic catalogue of unanswered questions at the climax (the most important of which is articulated by the diner's birdwatching crone: Why?). And if you're the kind of moviegoer who likes having everything neatly explained, you'd best try something else. But if you like ambiguity (and a healthy dose of existential nightmarishness), it doesn't get any better than this. 10 out of 10.
66 out of 105 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Seaside gulls go mental in Hitchcock's macabre masterpiece!
The_Void29 December 2004
Despite spending most of his career within the realms of the thriller genre, Alfred Hitchcock hasn't restricted himself where variation is concerned. Most of his best work represents a different type of thriller, and The Birds is no different. It is often said that Psycho is Hitchcock's first foray into the horror side of the thriller, and it is indeed; but it's not the complete horror film that The Birds is. Often cited as an obvious influence for Night of the Living Dead, The Birds follows Melanie Daniels as she travels to the seaside town of Bodega Bay with a pair of lovebirds for Mitch Brenner, an eligible bachelor that she met in a pet shop in San Francisco. However, while there the birds of the coastal town begin to attack the residents and so begins a terrifying tale of man's feathered friends waging a war against humanity...

It could be said that the plot of The Birds is ridiculous, and it is. The idea of birds, a type of animal that isn't aggressive, attacking humans despite living with us for millions of years is preposterous and is never likely to happen. However; it is here where the film's horror potency lies. Birds live with us in harmony; we're so used to them that for the most part we don't even realise that they're there, and the idea of something that we don't notice suddenly becoming malicious is truly terrifying. Especially when that something is unstoppable, as the birds are portrayed as being in this film. The fact that the birds' motive is never really explained only serves in making it more terrifying, as it would appear that somewhere along the line they've just decided to attack. Of course, the film could be interpreted as having Melanie's arrival, or the presence of the lovebirds as the cause for it all; but we don't really know. This bounds the film in reality as if there was a reason given, it might be improbable; but there's no true reason given (although there are several theories), so it can't be improbable!

The first forty minutes of the film feature hardly any - if any - horror at all. Hitchcock spends this part of the movie developing the characters and installing their situation in the viewers' minds, so that when the horror does finally come along, it has a definite potency that it would not have had otherwise. In fact, at first the birds themselves come across as a co-star in their own movie as there are brief references towards them, but they never get their full dues. However, once the horror does start, it comes thick and fast. Hitchcock, the master craftsman as always, uses his famous montage effects and never really shows you anything; but because you're being bombarded with so many different shots, you'd never realise it. Many people have tried to copy this technique, but most have failed. Hitchcock, however, has it down to an art and this is maybe the film that shows off that talent the best. There are numerous moments of suspense as well, many of which are truly nail biting. We see the birds amassing and ready to strike - but they don't. And this is much more frightening than showing an attack from the off. Hitchcock knows this. The final thirty minutes of The Birds is perhaps the most thrilling of his entire oeuvre. First, Hitchcock gives us an intriguing situation where numerous inhabitants of the town give their views on the events, and also explains the birds' situation with humans, even giving the audience an angle of expertise from an ornithologist's point of view. He then follows it up with a truly breathtaking sequence of horror that hasn't been matched since for relentless shock value.

Hitchcock has made many great films, and this certainly stands up as one of them. Here, Hitchcock gives a lesson in film directing and creates a truly macabre piece of work in the process. I dread to think what the state of cinema would have been if Hitchcock had never picked up a camera, but luckily for us; he most certainly did.
175 out of 298 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Perfect Example of why Hitchcock is "The Master of Suspense"
This is one of Hitchcock's most well-known movies. Along with Psycho, it's the movie that most people identify with him. Many pages have been written about it and surely there will be more. I know that the superb technical aspects of the movie have been discussed a lot, so I'll try to focus on something I noticed yesterday when I watched it.

It's scarier when there are no birds on screen. The tension, the silence, the uncertainty, the mystery. That's what suspense is about.

I was amazed of how carefully Hitchcock builds the suspense in this movie. You watch the birds standing there, and they do not move, they are just waiting. Even when you think they are dumb something tells you they are thinking. They are analyzing your moves.

This was possible with the aid of a top-notch screenplay, and great performances of the actors. This was probably the most difficult film for Hitchcock, specially for the technical aspects that were involved, but when you watch it, it really was worth the pain.

The main plot is well-known: Melanie Daniels(Tippi Hedren),a young girl goes to Bodega Bay looking for Mitch Brenner(Rod Taylor),a handsome man she met in San Francisco, when suddenly, the birds start attacking humans by no reason. Pretty straight forward, and by this date very outdated, but Hitchcock adds his magic and the script spices this with the very complex relationships between the characters.

The complex relationship between Mitch and his mother Lydia(played by Jessica Tandy), and the conflict that she has with Melanie is very interesting and brings back memories from Psycho. Also, Melanie's relationship with her own mother and the bond that she creates with Lydia and Mitch's 11 years old sister Cathy(Veronica Cartwright) is fascinating.

The scene when the four of them are trapped inside the house with the birds waiting outside is classic; not only is, as I wrote above, a perfect example of the use of suspense, it is an awesome study of the characters and how their relation grows. I think that this particular movie was main inspiration for George A. Romero's claustrophobic climax in his landmark film "Night of the Living Dead"(1968).

The technical aspects may be the focus of many studies, but the characters deserve to be praised, even the support cast with a few lines develop a personality of their own. The restaurant scene is Hitchcock at his best with witty dialogs that are both humorous and creepy. Very good ensemble.

Overall, this is an awesome movie, many reviewers have said it, I know. But I wanted to point that beyond the technical advances this experimental movie features, it is a perfect example of why Alfred Hitchcock is considered, "The Master of Suspense".

9/10. Classic.
93 out of 155 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Obsessions Under the Strobelight.
nycritic19 January 2006
Warning: Spoilers
Some films are so well made that watching them unfold sequence by sequence creates the feeling of surrender to a higher force. Hitchcock, no stranger to spellbinding his audience, was known for bringing a sense of intense masochism into the viewer's eyes. In THE MAN WHO KNEW TOO MUCH the Albert Hall sequence is a perfect crescendo of images and music in which Jo McKenna sees a man who is the key to her son's safety prepare to commit a crime with deadly slowness. In PSYCHO, Marion Crane takes a fatal shower and gets a vicious visitor. In VERTIGO, Scotty and Judy begin a dizzying affair which itself is as obsessive as narcotic and culminates high above the bell tower, filled with revelations upon revelations.

THE BIRDS is by far one of Hitchcock's most deadly incursions into cinematic masochism. In itself, it's a masterpiece of misdirection. Hitchcock has no wrong man in his story, no chase sequences (or at least, none that involve Cary Grant and some Bad Guys), and no double-crosses. All he presents here is Tippi Hedren's arrival to the small town of Bodega Bay, a series of Meet Cutes between her and Rod Taylor, what could pass as romantic suspense, and the most impressive sweeping of the rug right out from under the audience's feet at precisely halfway through the movie when the plot makes a left turn into uncharted territory. Who else can lay claim to that feat? Hitchcock, in revealing the black petals of his deadly flower revealing themselves, opening up, and swallowing the viewer whole at this precise mark is one of the un-topped achievements in cinema history.

And so begins a sequence of events that proceed at the vertiginous crescendo of domino's falling. We've seen the birds amass and attack in increasing ferocity. We've seen the damage they've done to the little city. Hitchcock, of course, has one better on the viewers during the film's overpowering climax: making their presence oppressive and omniscient through the use of sound imitating their shrieks until it becomes deafening and everyone is twisting and turning in revulsion among the corners of the house in reaction not only to their fury but to what they might imagine as their horrible deaths. Hitchcock never once gives an emotional release, and then he outdoes himself in using the most hackneyed excuse for a plot device: Melanie ascending the stairs because she heard a rustling noise, the quintessential "Don't go there," which is the oldest trick in the book. Because we know what lies on the other side of the door....

The stroboscopic effect of the last attack is petrifying as it is unflinching. Melanie, waving the flashlight in a weak signal for help, being slammed against the door, as Mitch tries to get inside but finds he cannot. As Melanie begins slumping and surrenders to the birds' attack, she has an odd mixture of horror and pleasure. We, of course, can't do anything but watch and watch and watch.

Hitchcock had always been attracted to the theme of rape. Because his (professional) relationship with Tippi Hedren was brittle at best, this sequence, somehow out of place and character, seems more in tune with his love-hate attitude towards blonde women and his need for their total submission. Beginning with the emotional rape Jo McKenna suffers with the disappearance of her son, the psychological stripping of Madeleine's identity in VERTIGO, Marion's violent death at the Bates Motel in PSYCHO in and culminating in the barbaric rape sequence of FRENZY, he possessed a desire to destroy that which he loved or desired the most.

I notice how he makes Rod Taylor's character suddenly incapable of saving Melanie right at the end (which heightens the viewers agony -- they want, they need her to survive the birds' attack). It's almost as if he, the Director as Ringmaster, were pushing the Heroine right to the edge of the abyss for one last moment before bringing her back to the (relative) safety of family. Even then, with the vague ending, Hitchcock seems to sort of wink at the audience and tell them that it's still not over -- and this is the sort of thing only a sadistic imp of a personality would do. THE BIRDS is his obsessions at its most explicit (as they were implicit in VERTIGO) and is the kind of cinematic experience that can always be rediscovered even when its tricks become evident. It's been considered Hitchcock's last masterpiece before returning to almost full form for FRENZY, and in many ways, it is the setup for the more graphic, cruel violence of the latter film.
149 out of 263 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
The last movie Senator Gill ever saw
ericolsen195330 December 2004
An old friend, the late State Senator Ted Gill, of Holyoke, Colorado, once told me that The Birds was the last movie he ever saw. He gave up movies after seeing this flick...they were just getting too weird and disturbing for an old rancher like him. It's still pretty terrifying, even if you've seen it again and again. You know what bad, brutal scenes are coming and don't want to see the carnage again, but can't help yourself. It's ominous as the crows flock tighter and tighter, always more and more, on the schoolyard Monkey-Bars and it's also exciting to see the school kids chased down by the crows a few minutes later. Subplots like the pitiful neurosis of Lydia Brenner, Mitch & Annie's lost-love-affair, Mitch's indifference to the needs of others, and the poor-little-rich-girl Melanie, who still just wants her mommie, are all well-written and acted. Loved best by me is Hitchcock's humorous characters who are CHARACTERS! The old drunk at the bar quoting Holy Scripture, the nosy neighbor done wonderfully by Richard Deacon, the dowdily-dressed old intellectual in the cafe buying her cigarettes and evidently a scientific expert for any field. Sir Alfred's macabre touches of comedy are unmatched, even in today's thrillers. I'm repulsed and attracted by such scenes as the one in the farmhouse, where Jessica Tandy discovers an old friend pecked to death, with his eye sockets bloody and empty. I find myself still searching for gory details on the farmer's body because Hitch didn't let the camera dwell on the horrible face too long. But he DID give us two rapid jump-cuts with closer and closer close-ups, and we end up seeing just as much detail as Jessica just did - enough to know that "We gotta git outta there!" Overall, a fine time. 119 minutes of revolting fun!
140 out of 265 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
A Masterpiece
jonrose20 August 1999
Another film to prove that Hitchcock really was one of the most gifted film makers ever. His films are more 'fresh' today than any of current Hollywood megabuster.

The screeching bird soundtrack in itself was chilling.

The absence of backgound music added a sense of calm before the storm which made the bird attack scenes all the more intense.

The film builds up slowly and that serves to build up the tension and edginess.

The most chilling scene was definitely when Melanie (Tippi Hedren) was waiting outside the school while the singing was going on in the school. At each loop of the song, a few more crows would perch on the climbing frame. The site of them was truly grotesque. This scene is a lesson to all the "subtle as a sledge hammer" so called 'thrillers' that are churned out today.

By the end of the film, there is no conclusion, no neat result. It is somewhat uncomfortable watching a film like this and not seeing a conclusion. How will it end? Why did the birds attack?

Why spoil the film with an explanation?
79 out of 144 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Brilliant and frightening
style-231 January 2005
Warning: Spoilers
This movie scared me to death when I was five. My parents had dumped the four of us at a theatre for the afternoon and two hours later, I was a swollen, puffy mess, still sobbing from the horror I had witnessed. That was 35 years ago, but you'd think it happened yesterday, the way my sister still sadistically laughs at me for being so frightened. I no longer react with fear upon seeing the movie – but it is with a wizened eye that I now look at the scenes that had such impact: and they're still some of the scariest scenes put on film. Done entirely without music, the scenes unreel with alarming suspense. The theme of nature-run-amok has been made into mincemeat in the decades since, but seldom with such a deft touch. Much is made about the outdated special effects, but they are mild compared to the overusage in modern films. Tippi Hedren, whom Hitchcock spotted in a diet drink commercial and became his latest obsession, makes her debut as the cool and soignee Melanie Daniels, socialite-at-large. Hedren, who named her daughter Melanie (Griffith) after her character, subsequently had a less-than-stellar career, starring in such classics as *Teresa's Tattoo* and *Return to Green Acres*. The plot line involving Daniels and her pursuit of attorney Mitch Brenner definitely has problems, but seems necessary to create the atmosphere and set the stage for the real stars of the movie – the birds. There are so many birds in this movie, billing and cooing with an innocence that belies their malevolence, that the nightmare unfolding on the screen must have been rivaled by the nightmare on the set. Tales of tranquilizing the birds and wiring them in place surely would cause distress among animal-rights activists today. Jessica Tandy is chill and formidable as Mitch's mother, Lydia, and Suzanne Pleshette, as schoolteacher Annie Hayworth, is one of the most interesting characters in the movie. And her final scene is most memorable, as she is found facedown in front of her home, pecked to death.

The climactic attack that takes place at Mitch's home is sheer brilliance. As the birds are pecking through the door and gathering in the attack, there is a sense of madness unleashed that is breathtaking. The ambiguity of the ending has been roundly criticized – but it is most successful in leaving behind a sense that the story is not quite over. Of course, it wasn't quite over – it had to be insulted with a sequel, *The Birds II*. The film has acquired a certain campiness over the years that allows the sophisticated viewer to look past the obvious plot devices, and find an arch humor in the classic scenes. From Melanie getting clocked on the forehead by a seagull, to the crotchety ornithologist at the café, to the scene with the guy whose eyes have pecked out, to the amassing of the birds at the schoolhouse, where the children are singing what is surely the longest children's song ever written, the scenes are imprinted indelibly on our memories. So much so, that Tippi has become a popular Halloween costume – just pin a bird in your wig, and you're instantly Melanie Daniels. It's easy to laugh at something that used to be scary, but is there anyone that doesn't think of *The Birds* whenever they see more than a dozen of them get together?
59 out of 107 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
I Never Get Tired of Watching "The Birds"
Gordino21 June 1999
Warning: Spoilers
I recall watching "The Birds" for the first time when I was about 8 years old and afterwards I was afraid of birds for years. (I'd still be freaked if one flew into a room I was in!)

I've probably watched "The Birds" over 25 times since I first saw it in the 1970's and it still impresses me. By what exactly? Many things.

First, the special effects were amazing for a film from 1963. How did Hitchcock get the birds to attack (I read that Hitchcock once joked when asked that question: "They were well paid!)

Secondly, the detailed camera angles that Hitchcock put into the film. You notice this almost immediately in the Bird Shop when the bird is flying around loose. Who would ever think to film "arms and the ceiling"? Later in the Phone Booth the scene is filmed as if Melanie is in a "bird cage". Other astounding angles include when the birds attack the house, not to mention the final attack in the bedroom. So many directors shoot scenes in a boring manner, but not Hitchcock.

The more times I view "The Birds" the more I understand the ending, but I do agree that at first I was not satisfied with it. I wanted the birds to either finish the job or to be challenged by something (Mitch did hear on Melanie's car radio that perhaps the military might be called in!) but we never saw anything like that. I guess that's why we have imaginations!

'Tippi' Hedren was a beautiful cool blonde who played Melanie Daniels as she should have - icy and yet ultimately very vulnerable. Rod Taylor as Mitch Brenner seemed a good reason for her to travel to Bodega Bay. Jessica Tandy as Lydia was what you'd expect of an older, widowed, small town woman from that time. Suzanne Pleshette as Annie Hayworth, the school teacher, with her dark beauty was quite a contrast to Melanie and I felt awful at her death by the birds. Veronica Cartwright as Kathy Brenner was a little annoying when she cried but then that IS what young girls do!!

Of course some of the dialogue is dated but that's with most films.

There is really nothing I dislike about "The Birds" as you can probably tell. Others may disagree, and they're entitled to their opinion. I just think everyone should re-watch "The Birds" a little deeper; perhaps it will change their perspective on it.
88 out of 166 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Complex, brooding & savage movie, set in sunny rural idyll
acamera19 August 1999
Warning: Spoilers
Images of birds stay with you, long after the film has finished. Whether sat, menacing, on the school climbing frame, or flying in screeching monochrome against a pallid sky, those birds make a profound impact. What do they mean?

One cannot help thinking of things 'coming home to roost'. Tippi Hedren (playing Melanie), an ex-wild child who enjoyed the dolce vita in Rome- however true the 'naked in fountain' allegations- confesses to trying to 'find herself' via charity work and studying linguistics! In her first film appearance (Hitchcock discovered her in a diet drink commercial) Tippi produces a wonderfully perplexing performance of tight suppression; her hairstyle alone, so smooth and well-polished, indicates neurotically tight personal packaging: when it starts to come unravelled, so does she!

Robert Boyle- the film's designer- claims that the design of the film was inspired by Munch's painting, 'The Scream'. In a direct and visual sense it is hard to see that. But, in terms of this being a film that is about personal anguish and dislocation, there are definite parallels. All is not well in sunny Bodega Bay! Mitch (played woodenly by Rod Taylor) has a dead father, a mother who never got over that bereavement, and an 'ex' who washed up as the local schoolteacher. Via an off-shot TV set we hear about meaningless violence in the outside world.

The scene in the local cafe is pivotal: when, thanks to the birds, the stone of this little community is turned over, all manner of small crawling things emerge. In the cockpit that the diner becomes people turn on each other and (metaphorically) spit as the anxiety gnaws at them. The film is worth watching for that sequence alone.

Hitchcock shows his usual and effortless mastery of the visual. There is the early humorous touch where two lovebirds in Tippi's car sway from side to side as she drives round the curves of the coast road. There is the heavily symbolic 'pieta' scene at the end where Tippi (who has no idea where her mother is, who is dead to the world after being savaged by the birds) is cradled in the lap of Jessica Tandy- playing Mitch's mother, Lydia- who is finally enabled by this new crisis to start to get over her old one (the loss of her husband): the tableau is enormously moving.

It is worth reflecting whether what makes little sense as a straight account of external events doesn't add up a great deal better as an indicative account of internal events. In the cafe scene Tippi is accused of bringing the birds with her and- in this sense- that would be true: her unresolved and pitiless internal landscape is writ large in the skies above Bodega Bay, where she has to fight, suffer, and ultimately be redeemed. Meanwhile the schoolteacher- holding a torch in self-imposed exile- is finally snuffed out.

Oh, and there is the strange case of the dog that did not bark: this is a Hitchcock film unique in that it has no music! How does that affect what it conveys?

Another wonderful feature of the narrative is the ironic inversion between birds and humans it tells of. The petshop where the action opens is full of caged birds. One escapes and briefly flutters round before being ignominiously caught under Rod Taylor's hat and bundled back in the cage. At the height of the action it is people who are caged up in their houses by the birds- to the extent where they are nailing themselves in! Yet, finally, the birds allow the carload of people to leave showing, in this respect, more liberality than their erstwhile captors. One is reminded of what Tippi says in the petshop (to Rod Taylor) "now you know how it feels to be on the other end of a gag"
62 out of 117 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Cinematic bliss
Leofwine_draca31 March 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I've just watched THE BIRDS on Blu-ray for the first time and ended up loving it more than ever. I can now safely say that this is an excellent Hitchcock film, perhaps not one of his very best, but certainly up there among them. It comes second only to JAWS as my favourite animal attack film, and is expertly made. The whole first hour takes time to get to know the characters and feels much like a Doris Day-style romantic comedy (helped by Rod Taylor's presence) before Hitchcock lets rip with the full-blooded horror in the second half.

Some might complain that the first hour is a little slow, but when the direction's this good I didn't mind at all. Still, once the birds DO attack, things really hot up. The shock scenes do just that - the bit with the chimney is an example of a good, solid cinematic moment. The attack on the children's party is another. Characters hole up in a bar, and things remain just fine until the end. Hitchcock choreographs an excellent 'out of control' set-piece as the town is destroyed, full of flames and broken glass and chaos. We get a mini siege scenario at the end, no doubt inspiring the likes of NIGHT OF THE LIVING DEAD and all that's come since. The special effects are still pretty good to this day and Hitchcock doesn't skimp on the sadism in the bloody attacks, either. This might well be one of the first of the Hollywood FX blockbusters.

The cast is very good too. Taylor is as perfect as the everyman hero as he was in THE TIME MACHINE. Jessica Tandy is excellent, playing a very irritating character and giving her some warmth and life despite her bad points. Veronica Cartwright is convincingly menaced, just as she was years later in ALIEN and INVASION OF THE BODY SNATCHERS. I didn't care much for Tippi Hedren's cold character the first couple of times I saw this, but her presence has subsequently grown on me in the intervening years.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Hitchcock goes out on a limb and scares with THE BIRDS...
Donald J. Lamb21 March 1999
Warning: Spoilers
Hitchcock topped himself in 1960, basically inspiring all modern horror pictures with PSYCHO, a new kind of fright flick never seen before. 3 years later, he made a foray into the supernatural with THE BIRDS. If you have not seen the film and do not think a bunch of gulls and sparrows can hold you in suspense, think again. The great thing about a Hitchcock movie is that you always know you are about to enter a world where all is not right. This 'world' usually involves an innocent man wrongly accused, eventually on the run. The world of THE BIRDS has none of this. Nature has run amok and the characters, paper-thin as they are, will go through a truly terrifying ordeal.

One of the most innovative aspects here is a lack of any musical score of any kind. Hitch's long-time partner Bernard Herrman is listed as "sound consultant" and I'm sure he had something to do with the ominous sounds of the various birds, as their building wrath is indicated by their squawks. The attack scenes are a bit dated, but considering the technology of the day was pre-historic compared to the computer generated effects of today, they come across chillingly. Some birds were props, others hand-drawn, even others real. The film surprisingly benefits from a lack of music, heightening the suspense.

Tippi Hedren is the icy blonde and a standard of Hitch's movies, the jealous or overbearing mother, is played by Jessica Tandy (in an awkwardly distant role). Performances aside, Hitch does something he wished not to do in PSYCHO. The bloody attacks are in bright technicolor, and one scene depicting a victim of the birds is quite shocking. Hitch was afraid of showing the bloody carnage of the 'shower scene' in color, leaving it to the viewer's imagination. It works here, showing the blood-red evil happening in this everyday small town.

If you are claustrophobic, I would avoid THE BIRDS. Like Janet Leigh in the PSYCHO shower scene, Tippi Hedren is caught in a phone booth in one of many tight situations, shot from overhead. Otherwise, let Sir Alfred play you like a piano, like he so often has before !
68 out of 131 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
what the heck was the point of this movie?
MorganleFay199925 January 2006
This movie is a complete waste of time! I rented it because I am a big fan of suspense/thriller movies, and thus far I have enjoyed all of Hitchcock's movies I've seen (Vertigo, Pshycho, Spellbound, North by Northwest, Dial M for Murder etc.) I was very excited to see this movie, it has received very good reviews so I expected to be wowed like all the other Hitchcock movies.

I was not only not WOWed, I can't even say this movie is mediocre. This movie was just plain awful. There was honestly no plot. The only thing that happened was the birds went nuts and attacked a town. We don't know why, we don't know anything about the characters who got attacked. It wasn't even scary! It was actually somewhat cartoonish, with the liberal use of obviously-fake bright red "blood", and the screaming children and towns people were pretty silly.

All in all, I just can't believe this movie was made by the person who made Vertigo. That movie was EXCELLENT, it had a very solid and Suspenseful plot, great and complex characters, and it kept us guessing until the end. There was nothing mysterious about this movie. The only mystery was why did these birds go insane? But we were not even afforded the luxury of receiving an explanation. When the movie ended, I couldn't help myself and said "That has got to be the crappiest movie I have ever seen." You know when was the last time I said that? It was after watching Pearl Harbour.

Don't waste your time! Just because it was made by Hitchcock doesn't mean it's worth it.

Still annoyed ...
59 out of 116 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
"They're coming! They're coming!"
jhaggardjr17 June 2000
"They're coming! They're coming!" were the words said by Tippi Hedren at the end of the coming attractions trailer for Alfred Hitchcock's 1963 film "The Birds". And boy did they come when the movie opened. This is a terrifying story about what could happen if our fine feathered friends turned on man. "The Birds", like the Master of Suspense's 1960 masterpiece "Psycho", has the ability to give people the chills. I found "The Birds" to be just a tad below "Psycho" (it starts a little slow), but it's still a pretty scary movie. It features good acting by Tippi Hedren (in her most famous role), Rod Taylor, Jessica Tandy (26 years before "Driving Miss Daisy"), Suzanne Pleshette, and Veronica Cartwright (16 years before "Alien"). Plus it has impressive special visual effects, and probably the scariest sound effects that I've ever heard. The sound effects alone give me the creeps. And it has its share of humorous moments throughout. "The Birds" is classic Hitchcock. If you like horror movies that are well made with a well told story, then you'll like this one.

***1/2 (out of four)
50 out of 97 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Sorry, Hitch, a real misfire here...
davismargaret29 December 2006
Unfortunately, the self-styled Master of Suspense is the Master of Pretentiousness in this one. The "I'm an auteur now, as you can see by slooow pacing, the waxy, masklike stares of my blonde, and my deliberately withholding from any character the faculty of reason."

Main-character Melanie, the Paris Hilton of her day (did she or didn't she skinny dip in a Roman fountain? Oooh, titillating!) has absolutely no affect to her voice--in every line, she channels Lauren Bacall on barbituates. The women all hate each other instantly and are each fixated on "Mitch," a hubba-hubba guy with no chemistry. The cute meet is stupid; the melodrama is boring; there is no suspense because, between deadly attacks, people seem to forget the trauma of the birds--after a harrowing encounter, the mother rambles on about missing her husband and not knowing whether she likes Hubba's new relationship, for example.

In short, this would be excellent, excellent fodder for Mystery Science Theater--just the right level of movie-making competency and retardness to make for gleeful ridicule.
36 out of 68 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
The movie lacks a solid story and an honest resolution.
disdained_heart20 February 2008
Having never seen the movie, I read the script first to prepare myself for the 'visual companion', in other words, for the film. I am a huge fan of Daphne Du Maurier's "Rebecca", and although I have never read "The Birds" novel, I figured it would be an interesting story as well.

By the end of script page 161 I had not really learned anything worthwhile from any of the characters. Since the script called for "insert information here from Dr. X for a possible reason to why birds may violently attack", I decided to watch the movie in hopes that I might find a reasonable explanation and maybe have a better understanding of the characters. I also decided to watch the movie thinking maybe it was a story that needed to be 'seen' in order to capture the eeriness and essence of the birds' wrath. I must say, that was not the case.

Melanie (Tippi Hedren) is a spoiled rich girl that is used to being childish and foolish and uses her Daddy's newspaper to bid her ways. Mitch (Rod Taylor) is the sophisticated lawyer strangely attracted to Melanie's beauty despite her 'reckless' behavior. Lydia (Jessica Tandy) is Mitch's widowed mother who is (unsuccessfully) coping with the loss of her husband and clinging to her son tooth and nail. Annie (Suzanne Pleshette) is Mitch's ex-girlfriend who still remains friends with him but continues to love him. Add to this soap like melodrama the sudden attack of birds for no inexplicable reason and you have yourself a movie titled "The Birds".

The reason why it failed to even remotely interest me was not because it wasn't "scary enough" or because the "special effects weren't good enough"… those are poor excuses … but because I could not see a personal growth from almost all of the characters. The romance between the two lead characters seemed abrupt, there is a scene in the script that actually displays them getting close and ultimately displaying their affections for one another, but in the movie it just seems rushed and out of nowhere. Annie's love for Mitch is not resolved in a tasteful manner … her character meets a terrible faith and she is simply taken out of the equation. Lydia is about the only person that comes to some sort of resolution and resignation in this inexplicable catastrophe of events. The brief 10 minutes of monologue she has on screen serve to explain the struggles she finds herself in as she attempts to overcome the fear she has been plagued with.

Still, the connection and emotional value just lack from my part and do not allow me to engage with a plausible contempt for the story.
33 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Hitchcock makes a masterpiece Ed Wood must have been proud of
Gabriel Teixeira19 August 2013
A rich woman goes to a small coast town after a man she saw on a pet shop. Her arrival, however, coincides with strange happenings in the city as the birds gradually start attacking everyone.

I was attracted by it because of its status as a 'classical horror', appearing in many listings as one of the best horror films, and the fact it's made by Alfred Hitchcock.

I can't understand all the hype. Ed Wood made better films.

This film is so bad, most of the 'scary' scenes actually had me laughing. No just the 'that is too silly' laugh, but the 'I almost fell out of my chair laughing' laugh; nothing short of Monty Python or Chaplin have ever made me laugh this much.

I showed this film to some of my family; the adults were mostly shaking their heads and questioning how Hitchcock could have success with something like this, while the younger ones (10-14 years old) were laughing and later said it was the best comedy they ever watched.

The acting is beyond amateurish, with characters mostly making faces to the camera and shrieking to convey their shock being something straight out of a bad parody. It also shocks me that Hitchcock, who always cast beautiful women like Ingrid Bergman, Vera Miles or Grace Kelly to star in his films, would cast the rather ugly Tippi Hedren. Was there no beautiful/cute blondes available? The characters are not far behind with their terrible development, being pretty much caricatures of human beings; Hedren's character being the worst offender, with her motivations or actions. They also act inexplicably dumb at times: Hedren's reaction to the birds in the school being the best example, but also the information given by the radio news.

The special effects are terrible. Not just the usual background scenes, but the birds and their attacks are laughably badly done. Suspension of disbelief can only work so far; in here, the birds looked like bad puppets with the way they moved. I fell laughing at most 'attack' scenes, with the gas station one being my favorite. The fact this was Oscar-nominated is nothing short of a joke, you could find better effects in the silent era four decades before this.

But the very worst of all is the story itself. Hitchcock always managed to make his stories have a degree of sense, even his most fantastic tales like 'North by Northwest'. That doesn't happen here. There is no explanation at hand, not even a hint for us to go by. Even horrors like George Romero's zombies or crap like 'The Mist' leave a hint for us to work on, to base ourselves. Hitchcock offers nothing at all. He explained that, by giving a reason, the movie would turn into science-fiction; clearly, he must either be an idiot or not understand horror at all.

This is a terrible, nonsensical film that should be on par with the likes of 'Plan 9 from Outer Space' or 'Battlefield Earth'. It is as if Ed Wood himself wrote/directed/produced.
29 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Melodramatic, not scary, bad acting/directing
MichaelKeith21 September 2013
Warning: Spoilers
I've never seen it before and was expecting it to be amazing and scary. My favorite movie is Rear Window, so I know I like his movies, but this was ridiculous and not at all scary. The beginning was exhausting and too much setup. The acting was melodramatic and we literally laughed at times.

The writing was horrible and forced. The worst was probably when, near the end of the movie, Melanie (Tippi Hedron) was sitting on the couch curling up into a ball because they here the birds trying to get into the house. Just seemed like either bad acting or bad direction by Hitchcock. I'm gonna guess bad direction because Tippi was a fairly good actress through most of the movie.

Oh and the scene where she is attacked in the room! Why would you go in there and then when you're in there getting attacked, why wouldn't you scream?

Ugh! Sorry the whole movie annoyed me! Don't waste your time.
27 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Hitchcock just past the crest of his prime achievement.
tostinati28 August 2005
There are some reviews you dread writing because you know sufficient numbers of people think highly enough of a property you're about to drub that nothing but a punishing reaction can come from your comments. You also dread writing them because they fly in the face of a personal icon and art touchstone. The Birds is one such film for me. It may be understating it to say that I adore Hitchcock. As some astute person said, he stands as the very definition of the term film director. But, try as I might, I cannot muster full and enthusiastic appreciation of this film. Having followed The Birds, as it were, checking in to view it and review it several times over the last three and a half decades, I find that it gets worse instead of better with age, for a couple of reasons.

Perhaps the major problem, for me, is that by this point in his life, Hitchcock seems to have decided his destiny lay in making honest-to-God Art Films for the masses. It's a confused mixed pot that Vertigo, Psycho, The Birds and Marnie comes from. A French auteur critic-influenced pot. His montage called more attention to itself than ever at this time; his pacing slowed, also becoming more deliberate; and a European stillness, almost Bergmanesque, began to pervade his films. I don't know if the man felt personal confusion at this time about whether he was an artiste or a roller coaster designer (to use his own frequent parallel), but his films seem to betray such a state of confusion. There are stretches that are downright odd in these films, so slow and floating in some abstract space. For the first time you are moved to ask, of this brightest of directors, "what on earth is he getting at here?"

The scene where the Pleshette character sits taking a smoke while the birds cover a playground set is brilliantly constructed of "pure montage". --But also slow as molasses. It takes one of the master's hallmark gambits (letting us in on something that the people in his film do not know yet, and tightening the screws until, as he said, we want to cry out to them "don't go in there!") and inverts it by dragging it out to the point of comedy/absurdity, not tension. This time, we want to scream "we get the point already!" by the time the scene reaches it's flash point. Am I wrong to read this as arty conceit setting aside the vitality of the Hitchcock of old? But there is perhaps, too, a bit of uncertainty about how to proceed, how to pace things that all this attention to Hitchcock the Artist may have thrown off kilter for good. The sureness and lightness of touch seems impaired.

The other big issue I have with The Birds is that it looks and feels like a Universal TV show. Gone is the grit and bleakness of Psycho (which one could describe as like Universal TV, too), replaced by Universal City in Hollywood cheapness. The color is garish and the sets look freshly painted and put up. But this isn't just a question of production values. The look and feel of the film adds to the impression that nothing about the Birds (or Marnie) seems to be taking place in the real world. The production screams back lot. This problem, which one overlooked for a decade or so after the films release, becomes harder to ignore over time. It wasn't long after this that films began shooting more and more on location, in natural light on faster speed film. This replaced the 60s TV look with the grit of real locations and images of Rembrandtesque palette and color control. Film cross-processing would come along in a couple more decades and make the universe of the Birds seem even more alien.

Now, I didn't wake up one day saying to myself, "I want to beat up on my all time favorite director." But hearing a radio adaptation from the 1950s of Daphne DuMaurier's original story reminded me of how great a director Hitchcock really was. He recast the story for the film and expanded it to something mythic and universal, far removed from its pulp melodrama origins. Then, a couple of weeks later, a local theater showed The Birds in a retrospective. That reminded me of the limitations of The Birds of which I had been aware for some time.

Final report: The Birds is a film by one of the two or three most brilliant, innovative, influential and visionary directors in film history. Here, he is in absolute control of his medium, but not at the top of his form, sorry to say.
36 out of 71 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Birds attack humans and Hitchcock doesn't care much to explain why.
Fedor Petrovic (fedor8)3 January 2007
Warning: Spoilers
So this is the super-duper masterpiece "classic"... First thing I noticed: Hedren is ugly - unbearably ugly. Then there is an eternity until the birds appear. "Cute" comedy/melodrama shticks of the first half (in which the birds are noticeably absent) interest no one. Pointless dialogues which get us to know the irrelevant characters better. Why? There is a stupid exchange with the cop when he interrupts Taylor with "how old is she (Taylor's sister)?". Why is the sheriff skeptical? Were the birds attacking Taylor & co of all people? Why didn't the sparrows attack when they got in through the chimney; because they're smaller they're less violent?! Come on... Why did Hedren decide to get the children out of the school when the birds gathered outside? Shouldn't it be the most basic of all reasoning to stay inside where it's safer?! There was no previous indication that Hedren's character has an I.Q. lower than 4 - which would be the only sort of intelligence which would explain that daft decision. And why did she react so slowly to the gradual gathering of the birds in the school park?? After all, she'd been attacked two times before that! The gov't is unsure whether to send an army?! Not only that: nothing and no one gets sent to the town in spite of knowledge of bird attacks!! This movie hasn't been thought through at all; the illogic is everywhere. If some unknown director had done this crap, it would never have received nearly as many good reviews as it otherwise did. But just because it's Hitchcock, it doesn't get justly regarded as a dumb horror film about birds. I liked the parrots acting peculiarly in the car, but that's about it.

If you want a truly silly analysis about the "deeper" meanings behind this turd of a film, check out Slavoj Zizek's rants in his documentary "A Pervert's Guide To Cinema".
29 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Still scary
preppy-318 October 2004
Warning: Spoilers
Melanie Daniels (Tippi Hedren) visits Bodega Bay to give some birds to Mitch Brenner (Rod Taylor) a man who flirted with her once. While there her and Mitch begin to fall in love. But also strange things are happening--birds seem to be attacking people for no reason. The attacks escalate and soon Mitch, Melanie and their friends are fighting against birds who attack and kill for no reason...

Some of the dialogue is awkward and it goes on way too long but this is one of Hitchcock's most frightening films. It's beautifully shot and everything looks perfect. The only real debits are the length and Hedren's lousy acting (she was beautiful--but no actress). Taylor gives out a good performance and Jessica Tandy and Suzanne Pleshette are excellent in strong supporting roles. Still, I have trouble watching this movie.

I love horror films and pride myself on being able to sit through anything but I get horrified watching this film. Children are attacked twice--I seriously draw the line at films that have children being hurt. The sequences at the birthday party and (especially) the school (with the infamous jungle gym bit) are just harrowing. Seeing screaming children running in terror as birds peck at them them is not fun. But then it isn't supposed to be. Also Hedren being attacked is even worse. The poor actress had a bunch of birds tied to her by nylon rope--when the birds tried to fly away they couldn't and, naturally, attacked Hedren. They shot that for THREE DAYS until Hedren had a complete nervous breakdown. Knowing this makes the scene even harder to watch. And the discovery of Pleshette's body is hard too. Some people have complained that no reason was given for the birds attacking but seriously--what reason COULD they give?

A strong, frightening film but one of Hitch's best horror films. Decidedly not for children.
29 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Awesome Hitchcock movie with horror moments and hair-raising scenes
ma-cortes17 March 2010
This suspenseful shocker deals about a beautiful and rich girl named Melanie Daniels (Tippi Hedren), at the beginning she is shopping in a San Francisco pet store when she meets Mitch Brenner (Rod Taylor). Mitch is looking to buy some birds for his young sister's birthday , he recognizes Melanie but pretends to mistake her for a shopkeeper. After that ,she decides to buy the birds and driving up to the pacific isolated coastal California community called Bodega Bay, where Mitch spends his weekends with his mummy (Jesica Tandy) and sister (Veronica Cartwright) . Shortly after Melanie Daniels is crossing a lake, then she is cruelly nipped by a gull. Gradually, events of bird attacks on people by pecking increases. Kids are attacked at a birthday party (where appears as little girl Morgan Brittany). Meanwhile, children are sent home from school run by teacher (Suzanne Pleshette), townspeople (Charles McGraw, Karl Swenson, Chapman) take refuge in a lunchroom, a gas station is burnt, Melanie is trapped in a phone booth, and, finally, everyone hides in homes tightly closed against repeated attacks by the birds.

Hitchcock's classic about a gorgeous woman who follows a gentleman until a quiet place where suddenly happens mass bird attacks . After frightening spectators of the 60s with ¨Psycho¨ director Hitch took one more successful outing at the terror genre with this excellent movie full of subterranean hints. Exciting scenes when birds attack with death dropping fiercely , its menace magnified similarly to crop-dusting images in ¨North by Northwest¨. Interesting screenplay by Evan Hunter based on Daphne Du Maurier's (Jamica Inn,Rebecca) short story. Al always, Alfred Hitchcock cameo, this time as man walking dogs out of pet shop. Wonderful Tippi Hedren as obstinate Melanie , she's marvelous and brilliantly dressed by Edith Head , but she had a tortuous involvement to Hitch, habitual issue with his leading ladies. Acceptable special effects by Ub Iwerks, Walt Disney's usual, and Albert Whitlock in pictorial designs and the future director John Bud Cardos as bird wrangler. And colorful and evocative cinematography by Robert Burks, also Hitchcock's customary. Rare and strange electronic musical score fitting to bird attacks. This delightful film is stunningly directed by the master Hithcock. Followed by a lousy and cheesy sequel in 1994 titled ¨The birds II : land's end¨ by Rick Rosenthal under ordinary pseudonym as Alan Smithee with Brad Johnson, Megan Gallaher and again Tippi Hedren. Rating : Not for squeamish but well worth seeing because it is an immortal classic movie. This is Hitchcock at his best.
12 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Birds don't just go around attacking people, do they?
Coventry30 August 2009
I still have quite a few of Hitchcock classics to see, but I can already rest assured that "The Birds" will remain my all-time favorite effort by this legendary director. Being primarily a horror movie junkie, I consider this milestone to be the pioneer in the delicious 'nature revolts' sub genre. For reasons that remain unexplained throughout the entire movie, birds spontaneously launch virulent and aggressive attacks against the inhabitants of Bodega Bay; a little seaside town 90 miles away from San Francisco. Still several years after the release of this film, clever and ingenious independent horror film directors borrowed this formula and used it as an excuse to manifest practically every species of the animal kingdom as vicious killing machines, usually because of the ongoing pollution by mankind. But "The Birds" remains the original classic even though the story develops itself very slowly and the script refuses to give any type of explanation whatsoever. For nearly a full hour, the film simply focuses on the bizarre love-story between the spoiled daughter of newspaper owner and an arrogant crime attorney. She drives out to his parental house in Bodega Bay, where he spends all of his weekends, to play out a practical joke. "The Birds" then subsequently unfolds itself as a strangely compelling romance between the two aforementioned characters, but also the embittered local school teacher and the attorney's frigid mother. The interactions between these four unusual characters are often downright eerie and there isn't even a bird in sight at that moment! Meanwhile, however, the menace of our 'feathered friends' is continuously present and noticeable. The attacks gradually increase in number and intensity, like the birds are putting up some sort of strategy even though there's no obvious motive. After the virulent attack during a child's birthday party, the thriller definitely shifts into high gear, with many sequences that are righteously considered as classic by now (the schoolyard, the phone booth, the exploding gas station). Hitch's nickname 'The Master of Suspense' is justified through many individual moments here in this film, like when the entire community seeks shelter inside the café and accuses the girl of bringing this mayhem upon them. The film's brilliant anti-climax, with thousands of birds just sitting and suspiciously waiting outside the Brenner house is legendary and imitated copious of times. "The Birds" is a perplexing Hitchcock landmark, with a couple of surprisingly shocking make-up effects and a truly ominous atmosphere that still manages to send cold shivers of fright down your spine.
18 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews