The Day Mars Invaded Earth (1963) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
42 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
tepid, atmospheric shocker
akersbp6 December 2000
Upon first seeing this film as a youngster, I was frankly disappointed at the lack of a "bear" (to borrow the term used to describe the weekly monster featured in vintage Outer Limits episodes). What kind of monster movie is this, without a monster? They really saved on their budget by having their Martians be invisible--how lame, I thought. But upon seeing it again more recently, I was pleasantly surprised at its subtlety and stylistic nuances. There is a surprising and happy comparison with the Val Lewton/Jacques Tourneur horror films of the 1940's, which stake their appeal on mood, atmosphere, and things the imagination conjures up--as opposed to the old Universal horror films which center on a classic monster. The other comparison would be with some old Outer Limits episodes, which often used a subplot founded on tensions in human relationships (e.g. a troubled husband/wife pair) as a driving force of the story, along with visually rich settings. This film does a similar thing, taking an unusually mature approach to its juvenile subject matter with interesting results. The musical score is effective and classy. In one scene, the wife/mother has to go out and check on a door which is reportedly open when its not supposed to be. This scene (reminiscent of a scene from the original "Cat People") builds tension almost subliminally, with her looking around anxiously, as if someone is there watching. Suddenly she hears footsteps and gets scared. Soon she is fleeing, running down long outdoor landscaped corridors, overwrought. She almost stumbles upon a poolside statue which scares her--even ordinary things become menacing to her in her psychological state. There's nothing hitting the viewer over the head, but rather a careful, slow drawing back of the curtain to reveal what's happening, in a way that builds intrigue and suspense, versus having a boogie man jump out and go "boo!". This zero-budget film has worn a soft spot in the heart of this scifi movie buff for its attention to little things that other offerings neglect. I recommend it to grown-ups nostalgic for the thrill they knew as youngsters watching saturday matinee monster movies, now frustrated because they can no longer suspend their disbelief at the sight of a rubber-suited alien monster as easily as when they were young. Story and characterization are this film's strong suits, and it builds up to a shock end
41 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Low budget suspense
S Gill31 December 2000
This film was a pleasant surprise and reminded me of "Invasion Of The Body Snatchers" and "The Shining" both in plot content and, more particularly, the methods used to build atmosphere and suspense.

The film struggles to overcome its budgetary constraints and suffers from some rather wooden performances from the limited cast. It is unfortunate that when dealing with such a small cast a below par performance is a great deal more obvious than it would be in most films. A case of not enough flowers to hide the weeds.

I was surprised to see comments from another viewer who attributed this film to the UK, as far as I can see there are no links to the UK. The writer was Canadian and the cast, director, studio and locations all American.

It's certainly worth 70 minutes of your time to give this production a chance, if nothing else it is a refreshing change from the hideously unconvincing "rubber monster" flicks that were so prevalent in this genre.
17 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Twilight Zone style Martian flick
krorie27 June 2006
Were it not for the fact that the classic sci-fi feature, "The Invasion of the Body Snatchers," appeared nearly a decade earlier, this film could have been a noteworthy original alien movie. As is, it would have played better as an episode for Rod Serling's legendary "Twilight Zone." More realistic than many Martian monster stories, the aliens here are comparable to electrical charges of energy, intelligent forces that are without physical form yet can assume the shape of earthly beings, becoming non-genetic clones.

Writer Harry Spalding does an admirable job with story and script. The ending is effective and keeps within the plot framework. Most of the action takes place in one locale. So Spalding had to write for a restrictive setting. With less skill behind the pen, the movie would have played as a stage drama. Director Maury Dexter met the challenge well, for the show moves along at a fast pace.

The acting is first rate. Kent Taylor, TV's "Boston Blackie," was originally groomed by Hollywood to be a major romantic lead, but he never quite made the big time. He ended up making many B features during his long movie career. Yet he was an able actor who could be counted on to give a good performance, as he does in "The Day Mars Invaded Earth." Need I say Marie Windsor was one of the screen's favorite femmes fatales? She was such a convincing actress that many believed her screen image was the real thing. As with Taylor, Windsor never gave a bad performance. The surprise in this film is William Mims as Dr. Web Spencer who makes the most of his supporting role.

Apparently produced for the drive-in crowd, this seldom seen little gem deserves a second look.
13 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Honey is that you?
evilskip27 December 2000
Don't kid yourself as this is a very low budget shocker.But it is a shocker and a pleasant one at that.99% of the film is shot in one location but what a location!

A scientist with a troubled marriage sends a probe to Mars.Unknown to all concerned the probe sends back a little something,namely Martians as invisible energy beings.They become doppelgangers of the scientist and his family. Their mission is clear;to stop earth from travelling to Mars.(They like their high property values obviously).The Martians play havoc with his home life until the very end.

A small budget flick with an appealing cast of old pros.Quickly paced and well written by Harry Spaulding.Even a downbeat ending to add to the menace.Better than average and worth a look in a forgiving mood.
23 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Murky, Cerebral, but Slow-Moving 60s Sci-Fi
mrb19806 October 2005
Warning: Spoilers
The presence of Kent Taylor, Marie Windsor, and William Mims as the main three actors in this film is a sure invitation to sci-fi B-movie fans everywhere. The film--a sort-of remake of "Invasion of the Body Snatchers"--is no classic but will hold your attention for the most part.

David Fielding (Taylor) and his assistant Web (Mims) are space scientists who sent a probe to Mars. The probe quits functioning within about a minute, so Taylor decides to fly to California, and to his crumbling marriage with Claire Fielding (Windsor). The Fieldings and their two children are living as guests on a huge estate.

The Martians, meanwhile, are quite irritated about the probe and dispatch exact doubles for the Fieldings, as apparently their first step toward taking over Earth. The rest of the movie consists of Taylor and Windsor seeing their doubles wandering around the estate, as they try to figure things out. Taylor has a final confrontation with his double, Mims is roasted alive by some sort of mind power the Martians have, and the movie ends with the Fieldings reduced to ash and the Martians taking over. The end is surprisingly downbeat for a movie of this type and for its era.

The movie, though mostly entertaining, moves like a glacier most of the time, although it does pick up toward the film's end. The title's promised "invasion" simply consists of the Martian doubles driving off in Taylor's car. Fans of Taylor and Windsor will certainly want to see the film, but be prepared for some pretty slow going. I still think it's a good "B+" effort.
11 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
failed mars probe inspires search
penpan2 January 2004
the recent disappearance of the mars probe, the beagle, made me think of this film - although i had no idea what the title was. .. but i knew that i had seen it as a young child, and so i thought that it had probably been released in the 60's. so, went to teoma.com and looked for sites which might allow me to narrow the search. came up with a couple of possible titles, then followed a link to IMDb and typed in each possible before reading the plot line that seemed to fit.

this is the one.

this film creeped me out as a child - i remember having dreams about it afterward, and that the feeling of foreboding and threat, the horror of there being no escape, and the way that the characters never knew whether they were talking to their real family members or not, would sometimes enter my thoughts for years...

the ending i think was especially threatening - the sense of there being no way that anyone could find out the 'truth', when the evidence of their existence was washed away.... eeeughhhh.

so saying, i'd love to see it again now.
18 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
don't dismiss this one because of the less than stellar rating
kalibeans29 February 2012
This was a 60's sci-fi movie that had somehow escaped my radar until today. I'm a particular fan of the genre. I almost did not watch it due to the low 4.8 rating on IMDb. This is one of the rare instances where I'm glad to say I disagree with the general consensus. I can see where the under 40 crowd, used to CGI and faced paced action/thriller type sci-fi movies would be bored with this film. Actually I would consider it a combination paranormal/sci-fi flick. The estate on which the film was made is stunningly beautiful, even in black and white. Not your average backdrop for a science fiction film. The premise is terrifying. There are the obvious flaws of "why in the world would they stay once they've seen what they did?" and other arm-chair quarterbacking thoughts that I'd have done a lot differently in their situation. I think it's difficult for 21st century viewers sometimes to put themselves in a 50's or 60's setting. How could they if they did not live during those times? I found the film to be suspenseful and entertaining. Doubt it will make to anyone's "top 10 film" list, but it was a very pleasant surprise and great way to spend a rainy afternoon. There is something primeval about the plot of the film that is very unnerving and thus makes it so scary. There are no cheesy costumed Martians or monsters to spoil this one. It's all intellectual type fear. Give this one a shot - especially if you are age 50+, you won't be disappointed.
19 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Very familiar but with a very odd ending...
MartinHafer26 March 2012
It was a very interesting coincidence that I watched this film when I did--right after seeing "Ramona" (1936). That's because Kent Taylor was one of the stars in both films. However, here in "The Day Mars Invaded the Earth", he was late in his career--and in a lot less prestigious film! Now this isn't to say that sci-fi films of the period are all bad--they can be great fun. But they don't have the huge star power of this earlier film--when Taylor was on his way to being a major Hollywood star (though, it never exactly came to be--though he did appear in a huge number of films--mostly Bs). In addition to Taylor, Marie Windsor (who played a great film noir 'dame' in the 50s) co-stars as his loving wife--but she looks quite different with her blonde hair and 60s hairstyle.

The plot of this sci-fi/horror film is very familiar and reminded me of many sci-fi and horror films of the day. A man (Taylor) is working on a project that has sent a probe to Mars. Soon, weird things start happening to him and his family--as Martians come to Earth disguised as him or family members. It seems they do NOT want humans bothering them.

This is all very, very familiar territory but with one twist. The ending was NOT at all predictable and was pretty off the wall. Otherwise, a decent film for those who love the genre. Not a great film--but worth your time and it makes do quite well with a small budget.
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
The 'Marienbad' of Sci Fi ?
Steve Ellison9 February 2007
The perpetrators of this confused, yet strangely effective low budget sci fi 'thriller' had obviously seen Alan Resnais' Last Year In Marienbad the night before shooting started. The interminable tracking through the estate was obviously lifted from Resnais' confuserama, one of my favourite movies, and the blandness of the acting, while probably not deliberate as it was in the classic French movie, means that you can't take your eyes off the screen, in case anything actually happens, which it very rarely does. The two movies would make a weird, but engrossing double feature. I'm very concerned now, because I LIKE both movies a lot. Strange ?
14 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Is it real or is it doppleganger?
Sterno-219 February 2001
This is an interesting little movie. The viewer's hopes are not raised when the opening credit sequence is on top of stock footage of a rocket blasting off. The movie struggles to gain altitude, barely avoiding clipping the trees with its cheesy Martian landing scene. But, baby, does this plane take off after that!

It turns out that the smoldering probe was actually the launching pad for the Martians -- essentially beings of pure energy -- to invade earth and produce dopplegangers of the scientist who built the probe and his family. It gives an interesting juxtaposition: Just who is invading whom? We tell ourselves that we're "exploring" Mars, but what would we do further down the line except colonize? Wouldn't it be reasonable to expect that sentient beings, seeing the planet being explored by another race, might take matters into their own hands?

In another light, one could look at the dopplegangers as the alternate face we show to others (even loved ones) that we may not even wish to recognize ourselves. This could be seen in the way the scientist and his wife relate to each other, especially when it is the "real" person meeting up with the doppleganged spouse. The final 10 minutes of this all-too-short movie are both shocking and thought-provoking.

Sterno says join the invasion forces.
11 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
I I love the old sci-fi movies ...but not this one...
tsull4946 May 2015
Just watched this film on TCM. I stayed with it because as the summary above says i am a sucker for old sci-fi films. But I swear over half this movie is long shots of the stars walking thru an estate in dim light. Although it appears to be a beautiful house and gardens, the day for night filter on the camera lens(and perhaps the print quality I saw) made this a less than enjoyable experience. that being said, there are far better "mars invades earth" films from that era and before. As one previous reviewer commented, we should make allowances for the tech available during the 50's and 60's. I do respect that. But a bad movie still stands out whatever it's current technology. This is a bad movie.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
A Soporific Exercise.
prman-118 August 2005
Both Kent Johnson and Marie Windsor must have concluded that their careers were now on the skids and that they had household bills to pay before signing on to this turkey. With no real production value to speak of, this B-movie cheapie was a lame excuse to develop a single borrowed idea: that hostile Martians exist as pure energy (whatever that means) and have come to earth to replicate humans and destroy the prototypes (the concept cribbed from the exciting 1956 hit, "Invasion of the Body Snatchers").

As earlier commentators have noticed, their is no action at all in this execrable script, unless you give credit to people walking aimlessly -- sometimes running, even -- around the grounds of a mansion, or lighting up and puffing on cigarettes, or engaging each other in trivial conversation. Nothing much to engage the audience's emotions or attention.

Consequently, it was impossible not to doze off for about 20 minutes during the middle of this stinker, awaking only to witness the unsatisfactory, arthritic ending. When the words, "The End," finally appeared, I discovered that I was 70 minutes closer to death.
11 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Good Use of Its Low Budget
Michael_Elliott6 January 2013
The Day Mars Invaded Earth (1963)

** 1/2 (out of 4)

Dr. David Fielding (Kent Taylor) sends a probe to Mars to see if there's life there but it seems nothing was returned. Soon afterwards the doctor begins to realize that something did happen and that the aliens have copied his body (as well as his families) and are planning on an invasion. THE DAY MARS INVADED EARTH really isn't all that original but I thought the film managed to be quite entertaining even with its incredibly low-budget. I thought the film managed to be quite interesting in regards to the story because instead of just giving us cheap looking aliens who look fate, the story decided to do something different and work with the budget. Here we never see any little green men or men with big heads but instead we just get doubles of the cast. I thought this made for some pretty effective scenes including one involving the daughter who wakes up in the middle of the night with the double in the room with her. I won't spoil the ending for those who haven't seen the film but it's quite unusual and very good. The performances are a major plus here as Taylor manages to do a good and believable job with his role. Noir regular Marie Windsor plays the wife and William Mims is good as a fellow scientist. The CinemaScope ratio really didn't add anything to the picture and I think more than anything it just exposed how low the budget actually was. Still, fans of the genre will want to check this one out. Even though it's not a classic it's at least entertaining.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Mars Needs a Plot
bobbooker24 February 2006
I don't mean "bad" in the way of other 60's scholkfest flicks that were a fun diversion--and spawned many stars. This thing is just BAD. I sat down with my kids and said "This is one of those low-budget sci-fi things that were popular when I was a kid". Very soon, I realized I had steered them wrong, and may have put them off the genre for life.

You have to admit that it has a great title, but it's a promise that's totally unfulfilled. No spaceships, no aliens, no shootouts with ray guns or even earthly firearms.

The clichéd shot of a door mysteriously closing behind a character in the entryway of the house is the height of the suspense in this flick. So, what does it have? Well--long stretches of second unit footage, little dialog, and effects that make Ed Wood look like George Lucas. Don't even waste 70 minutes of your life on this stinker.
7 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
good but could have been better
oldmovieman18 August 2005
Warning: Spoilers
The story line has been related in other reviews so no need to repeat it. Yes, it is a low, low budget movie, shot essentially on the grounds of a mansion (a very big mansion!) and there are no effects to speak of. But the story is, at first, intriguing, and definitely creepy and atmospheric. The storyline does a very good job of keeping the viewer on edge, wondering what's going on and creating a good sense of mystery. In fact, for the first half of the film, it's more mystery/thriller than sci-fi. The problem is that the protagonist, Kent Taylor, solves the mystery without the script giving him any real basis for doing so. And once the mystery is revealed, there's not much left but to wonder whether they'll survive. And that gets wrapped up so quickly that the end comes as a surprise, both as a shock ending but also "where's the rest of the story?" Nonetheless, the atmosphere makes this worth watching. A slightly better script could have made this into a real cult movie.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Much More Than I Expected
Hitchcoc21 June 2015
A scientist, the brains behind a Martian probe, returns to his wife and family because things are starting to fall apart in the marriage. They are currently living in a part of a mansion. Once there, strange events occur. He is walking around when he sees his wife, but she doesn't respond to him. When he sees her later, she says she has been in the house all along. Soon there is an opposite event with her seeing him as a threat. The children are affected too. We are finally let in on things. Doppelgangers of these people have formed from a kind of energy scan. At one point, the handsome young boyfriend of the teenage girl is killed when he crashes his car trying to avoid her on the road. This copy later appears in the girl's bedroom. What can they do? This has some tight suspense. The down side would be that it gives its principle characters little or no power to counteract what is going on. By the way, if I had seen this as a young child, I would have not slept for a week.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Make sure you watch the full version!
JohnHowardReid19 November 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Although it has now achieved something of a cult following, this "Invasion of the Body Snatchers" look-alike was completely ignored on its first release. Not even "Variety" bothered to review the movie because the editor felt its prospects were so limited, that no theaters would screen the film even if the exchange made them a gift of a free copy. And some exchanges had the further disadvantage of a cut-down copy which removed some essential background and motivation. I rated this version as less than mediocre.

The full version, however, is quite entertaining and whilst the movie doesn't deserve the unstintingly overboard admiration of Maury Dexter's admirers, it's still well worth a look in its original CinemaScope format. Locations are atmospherically utilized, particularly the scenes in Greystone Mansion in Beverly Hills.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
After the Body Snatchers
gpeltz3 November 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Spoiler alert; Holy Cow, They win! but more of that in a moment. we are talking about "The Day Mars Invaded Earth" (1963) Directed by Maury Dexter, and written by Harry Spalding. A Black and White film. The version I watched was uploaded on You Tube, and who ever did the upload used image Stabilization. This caused much distortion to the otherwise sharp image. The film was well lit and shot, in the old school studio style, There was a minimum of special effects. The California location shooting was impressive, The Rich mansion that served as the background for the story was in fact the Greystone Park and Mansion in Beverly Hills. The acting was minimal and efficient, as was the basic editing.

All things considered, this film had some intelligent thought behind it. For example, it begins with a Mars robotic rover, dropped on mars. It functions for six minutes before it is destroyed. Dr Fielding who designed the robot, and his assistant Dr Spencer are played by Kent Tayler and William Mims. Dr Spencer has taken a weekend off, to visit his wife Clair, played by Marie Windsor, and his daughter Judi played by Betty Beal, and his son Rocky played by Gregg Shank. All is not well at the home-front. It is not just the Doctors neglect of his wife and kids, He is trying to make amends, What is spooky, is that all of the members of the family experience seeing doubles of themselves. These doubles turn out to be quite real, they are energy manifestations of the intelligent life forms that survive on Mars. Even back in the sixties, we realized how hostile an environment Mars could be. The Martians are on earth, to stop the invasion of their world. Although they seem reasonable, their solution to our messing around on their planet, is to kill us off. The doctor learns of this first hand from his doppelganger. All the members of his family have been replicated, and much like the pod creatures in the Invasion of the Body Snatchers (1956) their ultimate intent is to take over Earth. This movie has much in common with the Body Snatchers, a much superior film. We only learn of the Martians desire to do away with us, in the somewhat shocking last few minutes.

The film is effective because of how it is underplayed. The Musical score by Richard LaSalle is also old school, and very effective in creating the feeling of unease that this film achieves on such a limited budget. I liked this film, the Scientists acted with intelligence to understand the threat to their planet, but never truly understood the brutality of the invaders. The ending leads us to believe there is not much hope for the people of Earth. Well done, Slow moving by today's standard, it never the less builds to a satisfyingly disturbing conclusion. Eight out of Ten "Obscure but Good" Stars.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
More like "The Day Mars Invaded the Fielding Resort"...
Chromium_517 August 2005
Uuuggghhh... don't listen to the other reviews on this page; this movie is not that good. It has a monumental cast of six (OK, ten including the paramedics, the cab driver and the policeman) and there's not one good special effect in the entire movie. I'm not even sure that blurry images count as "special" effects, they're more like plain old effects. Of course, you can make a good movie without special effects, but this movie's plot is TAKEN (not a takeoff) from "Invasion of the Body Snatchers."

It concerns a scientist, who has just landed a probe on Mars, taking a vacation with his family. Suddenly he and his wife start seeing doubles of each other, and his daughter's boyfriend dies in a mysterious car accident (which causes them unbearable grief for about ten seconds). The scientist comes to the logical conclusion that these events must have something to with his Mars probe, so he calls up his friend Weber, who looks like Professor Fate's nerdy twin brother, to come investigate. They find out that Martians are indeed behind all this, and they (the Martians) are energy beings who can take the form of anything they want (the idea of beings consisting of pure intellectual force and no emotion has definite potential, but it could have been done so much better than this). He and Weber decide to "dissipate" the Martians without any explanation as to how they're going to do that, but first they have to get the damn driveway gate open, which has gotten stuck. So for the last ten minutes of the movie the wife is calling the maintenance department to come fix the gate while Weber tries to pry it open with a crowbar. By now the goofy meter is totally off the scale, because Weber is just working away at this gate with epic suspense music playing in the background (and no Martians in sight). It's like watching "Home Improvement" set to a horror movie soundtrack. I won't give away the ending, but I can assure you Weber does indeed get the gate open, which is pretty much the most climactic moment in the entire movie.

The movie does have some interesting, shadowy atmospherics, and the scene where the wife is being chased through the garden is well done and scary. On the whole, however, it is long, boring, lackluster, and illogical. The aliens' motivation for attacking the humans is shady (it's not like the probe was harming them or anything), and the "energy being" thing, while it could be a good device in another movie, just drives home this movie's Z-grade budget. I can't believe I watched this from start to finish. I could have spent that time mowing the lawn or something. Jeez.
5 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Great "Bad" Movie
jwgmm17 August 2005
Warning: Spoilers
Mandatory spoiler alert!!! This is a great example of one of those low-budget SciFi flicks that is so bad it's fun to watch. How did the MSTies miss it? It's an object lesson in low budget film-making. Only 70 minutes - about half of that walking, walking, walking and smoking, driving, more walking, etc. Borrow a big estate for a day and shoot people walking all over it. Write a script that needs only 5 actors (not counting the cab driver and the cop). Say the characters are staying in the guest house so you don't have to build elaborate interior sets. Borrow music from other films. Make the Martians invisible. Hire a pair of twins to play the teenage daughter, and cheat the other doppelganger scenes. I think there were just a couple actual FX shots, and not very expensive ones at that. Most expensive prop was the clapped out MG they had to turn on its side.

All in all, I found it vastly entertaining from the POV of the film-making process. And when all is said and done, the story itself is not awful.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
This film improved with aging - well, my aging anyway.
jvance-566-204036 June 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I was about 9 when this came out at the local theatre. I loved SyFy and horror movies and was expecting a good time. I was very disappointed. No monstrous aliens, no spaceships, no planetary surfaces, not even a clearly evil villain to be rattled by. Other than being fascinated by the ostentatious Greystone Mansion and its immaculate landscaping I was totally bored. I don't really think I understood what was going on at all.

Decades later it was showing on some late night TV feature so I stuck in a VHS tape and went to bed. At 50+ years of age I found myself much more appreciative of the quality of this production. Though obviously low-budget with non-existent special effects I recognized that the director had created a superb atmosphere of mystery and fear. As a child I wasn't able to get it, but as an adult I most definitely did. (Interestingly, I was still enthralled by the Greystone Mansion. I have a peculiar romantic taste for such construction.)

Though it will never be high on anyone's list of best science fiction movies it deserves far better than the short shrift rendered by my 4th grade analysis. I understand that it is now available on DVD and will definitely give it some consideration.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
"It's unearthly."
classicsoncall27 November 2016
Warning: Spoilers
If you're expecting something on the order of "Invasion of the Body Snatchers", forget it. There are no glowing alien pods or menacing outer space monsters in this flick; they've been replaced by a 'manifestation of intelligence' that takes shape as an energy form. That was actually a pretty good bit of pseudo-scientific gobbledygook to make sense of the invasion force replicating the Fielding Family and eventually getting them out of the way.

You know what was really creepy though? Before Judi's (Betty Beale) boyfriend Frank (Lowell Brown) had that unfortunate accident, the couple was going to spend a lively evening at a seminar dealing with enzyme induction in e. coli! I can't think of a more exciting date night, can you? Too bad about the car crash though, he probably should have taken a defensive driving course.

So this whole thing started when a Martian space probe robot inadvertently beamed down the essence of a Martian intelligence that was determined to put a stop to America's tinkering in outer space. Unlike the warning that came at the finale of "The Day the Earth Stood Still", these Martians weren't about to take any chances, and simply turned the Fieldings and family friend Web Spencer (William Mims) into crispy critters. The one that took Dr. Fielding's (Kent Taylor) form made no bones about it, they were taking America out of the space race first and dealing with any other countries that came along after.

The whole time I'm watching the picture, I couldn't get over Taylor's resemblance to Vincent Price, making me wonder whether Price might have been considered for the picture. He would have been a natural, having played a handful of mad scientists in his day. The only other thing I was left wondering about after that wonderful tour of the Wainwright estate was - how the heck deep was that swimming pool?
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
A pretty good B scifi/horror film
calvinnme8 August 2016
The plot, very briefly, involves men from Mars who want to stop Earth from exploring their planet. The Martians travel through the galaxy to inhabit the bodies of a scientist and his family - that is, there is the "real" scientist and his family, and then there are their "body doubles" (the Martians, carrying out their mission). On top of this grave threat to humankind, there is a subplot as we view a crumbling marriage between the two leads. But I wondered if anyone who saw it really cared about them since it was definitely a B-picture. (Kent Taylor and Marie Windsor star as the scientist and his wife).

There were some truly creepy moments in the movie, though. Claire Fielding (Marie Windsor) learns from her son that there is an open door on the estate property where the family is residing. She goes to lock it, then hears movement around her. She becomes scared and hurries on. Suddenly her husband is standing there, with a look that is malevolent. "Where are you going, Claire!" he asks in an a threatening voice. We the audience know that it's really a Martian, but we watch from the point of view of Claire, who's never seen her "husband" this way, and the effect is unsettling. Another weird scene involves the daughter and her doppelganger - the doppelganger looks at her with evil intent. Not to mention what the daughter's doppelganger does to the young love interest of the daughter. As for the rest, watch and find out.

This film is better than its low rating, and I'd say if you like those low budget scifi's from the 50's and 60's this one is definitely worth your time.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
So This is Earth!
Robert J. Maxwell18 August 2005
Warning: Spoilers
I missed the first twenty minutes or so but don't feel in any way empty because of it.

Kent Taylor of the gelled wavy hair and the would-be movie-star mustache looks and acts like an actor with gelled wavy hair and a would-be move-star mustache. Nothing personal. He probably loved his dog and everything but I've seen performances at least equally good in community college plays in St. George, Utah.

The other family members and the doctor who is a family friend almost reach Taylor's level of competence. The exception is Marie Windsor. She may not be as succulent as she had been ten years earlier playing various sluttish types in B movies but her performance is the standout. Plus she has this goofy beauty -- tall, slender, big-eyed and sexy -- reminding one of Ileana Douglas today. It isn't that she gives a brilliant performance here. I don't want to give that impression. The movie doesn't really leave her much wiggle room in the role of the worried wife. It's just that, watching her on screen, it's possible to forget that you are watching actors getting paid for making believe they're someone they're not.

Speaking of being someone you're not -- what a plot! I have no idea where the story came from, whether someone thought it might be time to roll "The Invasion of the Body Snatchers" back out again, or had recently been impressed by a popular SF TV series like "The Twilight Zone" or "Outer Limits," but it's all pretty familiar in one way or another.

What happens is that these -- well, these "forces" ride an intense radio beam from a recently landed explorer back down to Earth. I think. Actually the science behind the explanation was pretty thoroughly under my head, or maybe there was some exposition in the first few minutes that I missed. Anyway, these half dozen bundles of photons or whatever they are come to earth, turn the bodies of half a dozen earthlings into ashes, and take their places. Now, as I say, I found this a little hard to follow. Sometimes, as in the case of Kent Taylor, the forces seem able to duplicate their targets and actually walk around with them, holding conversations. At other times the victims must be turned into ashes in order for the force of energy to assume the -- are you following this? If not, don't worry about it. Rent "The Invasion of the Body Snatchers" or even "The Body Snatchers." Sei gesund.
4 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
A flat film
oscar-358 December 2012
Warning: Spoilers
*Spoiler/plot- The Day Mars invaded Earth, 1963, Earth scientist send a robot probe to Mars and it arrives but is destroyed by a Martian intelligence. The Martains invade Earth as a response to the robot probe but duplicating the major scientist and his immediate family.

*Special Stars- Kent Taylor, Marie Windsor, William Mims, Betty Beall, Gregg Shank *Theme- Planets always defend themselves.

*Trivia/location/goofs- This film was shot in Beverly Hills, Greystone Mansion. The owner was an oil billionaire, now a public park and the house is open for tours as a county park. Look for the jokey robot probe on Mars in the opening scenes.

*Emotion- Very little intricate plot points are in this film and the film's downbeat ending is expected, premature and boring. The only plot twist scene that was memorable was the family's body ashes are seen in the pool and that washes away when the pool is filled by the Martian impostors. A thoroughly un-entertaining film in all aspects. Does not have even a 50's B-movie corny dose of a campy fun for the viewer. A flat film with little to call memorable.
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews