Password All-Stars (TV Series 1961–1975) Poster

(1961–1975)

User Reviews

Review this title
7 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
Maybe the *best* game show ever...
rjjroy2 November 2000
"Password" was one of those rare game shows in which contestants had to rely on mental abilities *other* than memory. Contestants on games such as "Jeopardy" and "Who wants to be a Millionaire?" rely on their memories, or those of others, to come up with answers.

Unfortunately, the game placed people who do not have a great command of the English language at a disadvantage. People who have English as a second language may not have done too well in this game.

Nevertheless, "Password" demanded that the contestant make an intellectual effort to take a word (idea) and convey it someone else. That kind of effort takes imagination and insight in the nuances of language to do well. It's a cerebral game; maybe that's why Allen Ludden said: "Some time, somewhere, some day there will be another game show, but never one with the class of this one."
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
What a fun game!
Danorgan29 February 2000
Every saturday, I watch the reruns of Password on Game Show Network. I think this is a fun game to play and I like to make up my own games and play it with my family. Allen Ludden (God rest his soul) was a very good host too.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Remember the record?
bobbooker20 November 2008
Alan Ludden was truly a class act. One of a very few of the great game show hosts like Bill Cullen and Tom Kennedy. Password was a show that required the contestants to at least have a vocabulary--something that's sadly missing in today's game show world.

I remember the last episode of Mr. Ludden's tenure--they drank champagne on air.

Can anybody help me on this?: I was very young, but I seem to remember one of those 5 word bonus rounds they played with George Peppard--8 seconds! Am I right? Was this the record? Can't find any internet or you tube references. Anyone? Bueller?
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A True Game Show Classic
hfan7727 September 2006
Password was definitely a true classic as a well as a pioneer in the game show genre. It had all the elements for success. A simple format, home audience participation (if you didn't look at the word on the screen) and an outstanding host in Allen Ludden. He was the best game show host of all-time since he kept the game moving, treated both the celebrities and contestants very well and showed a lot of class. He was also one of the best dressed emcees and one of the first to wear open shirts.

As a game show pioneer, Password was the first to pair contestants with celebrities and the first to use a bonus round, Without Password, there would have been no Pyramid. Both games were created by Bob Stewart.

The original version would have lasted longer if CBS wouldn't have preempted the show on the same day The Newlywed Game debuted for a Vietnam War news conference. The Chuck Barris show cut into Password's dominance. Also, Fred Silverman, who headed CBS Daytime Programming was not a fan of game shows and he killed off classics such as I've Got a Secret, What's My Line and Password. But fear not, the game was the first to air reruns and that led to the 70s revival on ABC.

As for the 70s version, it was also ground breaking. It was the first network game show to be revived, though Goodson-Todman survived through a network game show drought with syndicated versions of What's My Line, To Tell the Truth and Beat the Clock and it was also the company's first show to be produced in Hollywood.

When Password returned in 1971, the main game and Lightning Round remained the same. The only change was the addition of the Betting Word, where a contestant can double their winnings by guessing another password in 15 seconds. There was also an updated set and new theme music and of course, Allen Ludden as host.

This version was a success for three years before the format became old and tired. Instead of cancelling the show, the producers changed the format and title to Password All Stars. An outstanding game was ruined by more complicated rules and the fact that game show fans like to see real people win money instead of celebrities playing for charities. Even Allen Ludden was uncomfortable with the new format. Eventually, the show went back to using civilian contestants but the game was still too complicated and was cancelled in June 1975.

I'll always remember Allen Ludden closing each show with "The password for today is..."
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Fun game show
Catherine_Grace_Zeh17 July 2006
First off, I must say that this is a fun game show. Also, since I'm 24, I haven't seen every episode. However, I do know the show very well. Every time I've watched it, I've had a lot of fun playing along and watching. Despite the fact that it's finished its run, this makes me long to be a contestant. The thing I like most about it are the questions. Despite the fact that I don't know that many answers, I still have fun playing along. I hope the Game Show Network keeps it on so I can play along and watch again. If that happens, I will be really happy. Before I wrap this up, I'd like to say that I'll always remember this show in my memory forever. Now, in conclusion, I hope that you catch it one day before it goes off the air for good.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Making Sure They Got VCR'd
Mark8196117 June 2006
When I first discovered that "Password" reruns were airing on GSN a few years ago, I made it a point to get as many episodes on VHS as I could since there's no telling when the entire series will go into DVD. It's a pity that a lot of the game shows run on GSN don't have the class and continuity that "Password" did. Allen Ludden was always a great host - perfect for a game show like this. And like a lot of the game shows in the sixties and seventies, they made you think. I can also thank whoever made the decision at CBS to hang on to some of these great programs of that era such as "Password" for people to enjoy over again. I don't think the contestants were ever overawed by their celebrity partners and naturally we all found out how human they can be trying to think of a word to say in a few seconds from one-word clues. AND DON'T EVER SAY THE PASSWORD AS A CLUE...OOPS!!!!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
My TV show review: "Password Plus" and "Super Password..."
sethn17213 September 2006
The excitement and fun of a retro game show can be found in "Password," the famous TV game show where two teams, "$100,000 Pyramid" style, try to win big bucks. One person reads out a clue on a folded up piece of paper while the other person tries to guess the word. There are up to five clues revealed on the board above, and one team must figure out what the actual word really is!!!!! And now, my two favorite variations that currently run on GSN:

  • "Password Plus:" It stars Allen Ludden, who looked (no offense) really awful, like he always wore a raincoat to the show or something. Anyways, it had the most colorful set, and it had "Alphabetics," which gave the contestant a chance at big bucks!!!!! I once saw a man go through it fast and correctly about a week ago and that was awesome!!!!!


  • "Super Password:" It stars Bert Convy and the set looked different, like a huge NES system; almost! Everything's the same, except that there's "Ca$hword" now. I also like how the word appears on screen and the noise that accompanies it!!!!!


C'mon, folks!!!!! These versions of "Password" meant good entertainment for everyone; this is stuff our parents (and us as little children) watched when they just got married!!!!! So watch them on GSN or else!!!!!

10 stars
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed