Night of the Blood Beast (1958) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
58 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Blood and Resurrection
flapdoodle649 April 2010
Considering that the crew appear to have constructed the prop space capsule out of a septic tank, this is a decent little el cheapo scifi flick.

A film buff with the slightest knowledge of the major auteurs goes into a B/W 1958 Roger Corman scifi film with a certain set of expectations. Within such parameters, this is a surprisingly well-made film, tense, moody, interesting, and moving along a pace that corresponds well with the plausibility factor. While none of the acting is spectacular, it is all competent and sometimes impressive. The script is surprisingly intelligent, especially considering the title. The title, however corny it may be, works well in this film due the portions of the plot dealing with the death and resurrection of an astronaut.

There is a small bit of FX and monster make up in this film; you will be thankful to find out that it does not clash with the septic tank space capsule.

Overall, this is an honest, well-constructed little drive-in type scifi/horror film that does the job it was designed for and more. It makes more sense, and is more satisfying than watching all the episodes of the new version of 'V.'
17 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Funny Low-Budget Sci-Fi Produced by Roger Corman
claudio_carvalho3 September 2011
The astronaut Steve Dunlap (John Baer) dies after crashing his rocket on Earth. His body is recovered by the base rescue team and examined by Dr. Alex Wyman (Tyler McVey) and Dr. Julie Benson (Angela Greene), who is Steve's fiancée. Out of the blue, Steve resurrects and Dr. Benson discovers that his body is impregnated with Alien embryos; further, the team finds that an alien (Ross Sturlin) has arrived in Steve's spacecraft.

When Dr. Wyman is murdered by the alien, Major John Corcoran (Michael Emmet) and Dave Randall (Ed Nelson) decide to destroy the creature. But Steve is mentally connected to the alien and believes that the creature has peaceful intentions and tries to protect it. But when Steve learns that the alien is an invader, he takes an ultimate decision to protect the earthlings.

"Night of the Blood Beast" is a funny and underrated low-budget sci-fi produced by Roger Corman. This type of black and white Z-movie, with bad acting and poor special effects, is part of my childhood and maybe that is the reason why I find most of them cult. "Night of the Blood Beast" is a sort of grandfather of 1979 "Alien" or 1999 "The Astronaut's Wife" and entertains. My note is five.

Title (Brazil): Not Available
16 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Sci-fi beefcake
ace-15017 November 2007
An entertaining piece of low budget schlock. Despite the cheesy production values, it's quite well done. A zombified, hairy chested scientist, denied the opportunity to wear a shirt after his pseudodemise, is impregnated with alien sea monkeys, clearly an homage to the ads inside comic books of the era. Why is it that, when Roger Corman is involved, there's a always a shirtless, hairy chested scientist, e.g. Giant Leeches, Crab Monsters? I don't get it, but thanks a million, Roger. The plot and characters are no worse than in any other sci-fi from the fifties and all the actors are veterans of genre TV and movies. The lighting is sometimes good, the score is theremin heavy with an occasional moment of Felliniesque jauntiness. The monster is post-nuclear Sesame Street, but after all the money spent on the sea monkey x-ray scene, you can't have everything. If you pay attention to the opening title sequence, you'll note that the rocket ship separates from its booster rocket and looks amazingly like the space shuttle. Sometimes they get it right.
21 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Creepy little treat...
drmality-11 October 2008
Warning: Spoilers
When man was first venturing into space, fear of the unknown ran rampant. Think of movies like "The Creeping Unknown", "First Man Into Space" or TV episodes like "And Then the Sky Was Opened" from "The Twilight Zone" or "Cold Hands, Warm Heart" from "The Outer Limits". What exactly could be waiting for us OUT THERE??? Back then, we weren't as sure as we are now.

"Night of the Blood Beast" is another cautionary tale of man's first tentative steps into outer space and as usual, our worst fears are realized. There are not many 50's SF films I haven't seen, but this one eluded me until tonight. I was ready for something awful, but despite comments from the usual MST3K nerds, I found this movie to be very creepy and morbid in its way. With the exception of one scene (which many 50's kids will probably never forget), it's not that graphic, but some of the implications are unthinkable.

Pilot John Corcoran attempts to go into orbit, but loses control of his spaceship and is forced to crash in a remote area. Nearby are his scientific colleagues, including his fiancée Julie. This band make their way to the ship, only to find Corcoran dead and the craft a ruin. However, it is noticed that the body seems as fresh as if it died a minute ago even though Corcoran has been dead for hours. A strange kind of mud is also found clinging to the hull of the ship.

The scientists take Corcoran's body back to their isolated lab complex, where they see his blood is invaded by a bizarre parasite. The power inexplicably goes dead, cutting them off from contact with the outside world, and then Dave is attacked by something "huge like a bear" that is lurking outside. Something uncanny is going on, linked to Corcoran's crash.

And then, suddenly, Corcoran himself returns to life...

The movie is ultra-cheap, but has the claustrophobic feel of movies like "The Thing" and "Night of the Living Dead". Michael Emmet is excellent as the living dead astronaut who appears to be an incubator for extraterrestrial creatures (shades of "Alien", but 20 years earlier).The alien monster itself won't impress those used to only CGI creatures, but it's no worse than any monster on "Outer Limits" or "Dr. Who" of the period. In fact, the movie often has the feel of an "Outer Limits" episode, which is high praise.

The most startling thing about the film is how Corcoran pleads for understanding of the alien. When the alien itself finally finds its voice, it speaks in calm, reasonable tones despite its grotesque exterior. But is it really just misunderstood? Thereby hangs the tale...

Sure, it's cheap and some of the lines are goofy, but overall, this is a cool little film, well worth checking out if you like intelligent 50's SF.

And yes, Georgianna Carter is indeed a real looker as Donna Bixby...
11 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
More literary science fiction than prop filled space opera
dvdeugs5 April 2002
This movie was not deserving of being MST3K'ed. It clearly predates the American space program, and didn't have a huge budget. But what this movie had was a decent plot that didn't use random action sequences to move things forward, and several very thoughtful moments. It owes more to literary science fiction than to the ray guns of space opera, a very good thing in my book.

Okay, I'll admit there were some very hokey lines and some very ludicrous special effects. But it was still a good movie, all in all.
34 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Enjoyable 50's low-budget sci-fi/horror outing
Woodyanders20 March 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Astronaut Major John Corcoran (a solid performance by Michael Emmet) dies while returning to earth from his space mission. His body is recovered by the military. However, Corcoran comes back to life and terrorizes the military base. It turns out to be a bizarre plan from aliens to invade our planet. Director Bernard L. Kowalski, working from a compact script by Mark Varno, relates the entertainingly pulpy story at a steady pace, develops a reasonable amount of tension, and effectively creates and sustains a grimly serious tone. Moreover, this film is acted with admirable sincerity by the competent cast, with especially sturdy work by Ed Nelson as the stalwart Dave Randall, John Baer as the no-nonsense Steve Dunlap, Angela Greene as the distraught Dr. Julie Benson, Georgianna Carter as the fetching Donna Bixby, and Tyler McVey as the puzzled Dr. Alex Wyman. The primitive (not so) special effects possess a certain crude charm (the extraterrestrial monster resembles a mottled humanoid parrot!). In addition, there's a sprinkling of mild gore, the terse 62 minute running time ensures that this picture never gets dull or overstays its welcome, and the premise of Corcoran having alien parasites growing inside his body neatly prefigures "Alien." John M. Nickolaus Jr.'s stark black and white cinematography does the trick while Alexander Laszlo's robust score hits the rousing shivery spot. An immensely fun B-movie quickie.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Low budget gem
horrorfilmx1 December 2008
Most of the commenters for this film seem to be reviewing its budget rather than the film itself (hence the typical overuse of the empty headed all-purpose cliché "cheesy") but in fact this is one of the most intelligent and thoughtful science fiction films of any era. Anyone with sophistication enough to look past the obvious budget limitations will see a fairly solid study of human reactions to an unknown menace. BLOOD BEAST really has more in common with British science fiction of the time, especially the Quatermass films. Those who lump it in with other Roger Corman movies have, of course, the wrong Corman --- this was produced by brother Gene, who later went on to a successful career producing major studio films (TOBRUK, etc...). Gene Corman tended to inject a little more substance into his drive-in genre films that his more illustrious sibling. ATTACK OF THE GIANT LEECHES, in addition to the expected cheap scares, also delves into Tennessee Williams territory with its low rent Big Daddy trying to deal with his unfaithful Baby Doll wife. BLOOD BEAST likewise devotes much attention to character development, presents several intriguing plot points, and ends on an enigmatic note almost unique in this type of movie. It's ironic that a cheap 50s drive-in movie like NIGHT OF THE BLOOD BEAST should ultimately appeal only to more sophisticated viewers. MST3K fans should look elsewhere for their cheap yucks.
12 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Would`ve liked to have seen this at the drive-in
mcdamsten24 July 2004
I did however see this on TV in the late 60`s. Gemini/Apollo had already made the rocket and base seem ridiculous. Informal staff or what? I did stick with it and enjoyed the fleeting glimpses of the creature and plot weirdness. Possible shock landmarks: First movie with alien pregnancy? Near beheading? A previous review mentions a hairy chest.I recall that I too was smitten with Georgiana Carter somewhat and thought she had a contemporary beauty as compared to other 50`s sci-fi ladies. Unfortunately The Wild Ride with Jack Nicholson was all else she was in. Also thought Michael Emmet was OK in this and Attack Of The Giant Leeches. And of course Ed Nelson smokes cigarettes and adds energy to the proceedings. All in all one of my favorite 50`s schlock/sci-fi movies. Available at a nice price from Collectables. On the strength of being THE Georgianna Carter movie ** out of *****
13 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Standard 5O's NIGHT OF TERROR -minor B
danm9920 February 2003
This interesting little abomination is easily the evil twin of BEAST FROM HAUNTED CAVE, another Corman low-budgeter from this memorable late 5O's drive-in golden era. There were many major and minor film gems, but not all were so bad, they're great. Some were interesting failures (like this Putrid Preciousness) and some simply sucked (like everyones' personal favorite, "The Cape Canaveral Monsters", whose prints need to be honorably enshrined - in embalming fluid).

NIGHT OF THE BLOOD BEAST (As a kid, I just loooooved titles like that, fearfully imagining what that monster from the dark really looked like), due to its early scenes of eerie paranoia mood and subtle moments of terror, managed to humbly and very economically achieve this kid-scare trick, thus being reprieved from the embalming fluid fate. That impressivly irritating cheesey-weird organ (also used in SISTER BEAST'S HAUNTED CAVE) evoked the proper creepy atmosphere, which Corman was an efficient wiz at.

Those scary shots in the isolated woods in the Bronson Cave hilled area (interesting location with strange, silent mood as if there is some other lurking ominous presense nearby, watching) were nightmarish. That moment when something moved up right before the camera, blocking everything out was a surprising frightful moment - and those dark chilling shots of the woods, as something moves through the bushes - and that shadow of something very unworldly moving across the ground (actually the first monster 'Shadow Shot' filmed from that particular angle) - that shot of a giant shape moving outside along the window and that quick glimpse of IT! creeping down that dark claustrophobic hallway - BRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!!!!!!

At 2:OO AM, in pitch black, that can cause those under-the -cover shivers (all I need is the proper female companion to hold dearly to). Then when poor old kindly Dr. Wymann loses his head - LITERALLY - when the two male leads find his body slumped over the bunk, with a fresh supply of high volume blood spilling down with major drip-drips. UGH! That was an early decapitation scene that really freaked me out. Maybe a life of crime would be safer than being an adventuresome scientist.

Then the "ALIEN" scene, with the mysteriously revived "deceased" astronaut standing behind one of those 5O's Whateverscopes, revealing utterly revolting animated parasites being bred in his body. (Are there any other kinds?) The alien blood beast is sure having its night: It impregnated the trespassing, intrepid astronaut - and made him bear its delightfully disgusting offsprings. Planned Parenthood miserably backfired with the worst grim forms of total dysfunction. What do you think of that? Any "hmmmmmmmm's" out there - or just prowling alien blood beast rapists. (AHHHH!!! NOOOOOW I GET THE TITLE! - DUH!!!). This is true science-fiction horror on its own gruesome little B-minus terms.

Well, I won't go on. You'll just have to see for yourself as to the mysterious fate of our scientific ground crew - and that enormously rude and overbearing blood beast. It's an old cheap B&W minus-B, but interesting if you happen to be in that certain 2:OO AM monster mood. LONG SHOCK THE BEAST BROTHERS!

P.S. That college age lady scientist was quite personally appealing to me at that formative late show age. The blood beast attacks her in the woods - maybe IT got infected by all that human contact - OR maybe it really does possess superior intelligence! Perhaps that's why this was her one and only film appearance. That's BEAST BIZ BABY! It's back to that bloody haunted night cave. GIVE BEAST A CHANCE!
14 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Gulity Pleasure from B movie Hell
dfswatter17 July 2006
If you analyzed all of the elements and faults of this picture it would seem that there would be absolutely no reason for enjoying it but still I go back to it as late night comfort food again and again.It just has a bottom of the barrel we got no money but screw it sincerity to it that I have to admire and if you took away all the stale acting,looney dialogue and dire effects you can find a pretty good and original concept or two for a teen flick of it's time one of it's notions would crop up twenty some years or more for ALIEN.Pretty cool.If this movie had a script by Charles Griffith,Beverly Garland as one of the Femmes and had a much better critter than the left over Monster from Teen Age Cave Man than this would be more of a minor Corman classic like Not Of This Earth .Roger Corman executive produces for the company that his brother Gene briefly tried to maintain.Bernard Kowalski keeps it grim and moving faster than he did in Attack Of THe Giant Leeches. Give it a break. I bet the people slamming it even enjoyed it a little.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Even Baby Boomers Must Be Amazed
popgun929 September 2002
Typical of the "Z" sci-fi films of the fifties, the viewing of Night of the Blood Beast takes significant time-warp calibration in order to appreciate it. Even Baby Boomers must be amazed at how much progress the world has seen in four decades. Night of the Blood Beast sure served its purpose at the time, but by today's standards is a clunky relic. One major redeemable factor, though, is the unrelenting grimness of the movie. Kowalski brought the same dark tone to Attack of the Giant Leeches, a less talky and cohesive film. One curious observation is the extensive footage of the shirtless and hairy-chested astronaut. Hollywood almost always insisted on bare-chested men being shaved -- weird as it may seem. There are other envelope-pushing facets in Blood Beast (and Giant Leeches) if you look close enough. Kowalski probably knew what he was doing.
9 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
It's a Roger Corman film...so it's got to be worth seeing.
MartinHafer9 August 2011
Warning: Spoilers
Roger Corman was the executive producer for this film and this alone was reason for me to see the film. Now I am not saying all of his films were brilliant, but as a director and producer, he was able to get the absolute most out of minuscule budgets. In fact, many of his budgets were nearly as low as those of Ed Wood--yet Corman only had one film that failed to earn back its production costs (and I LIKED that film a lot). In the case of "Night of the Blood Beast", the film only cost $68,000 to make--so naturally it couldn't help but do well at the box office!

The film begins with an astronaut returning to Earth when he loses control of his rocket and crashes. A couple happen upon the wreck and try their best, but the astronaut is dead. However, when the rest of the rescue party arrives, they notice that the corpse is strange. It is not rigid and the body temperature is normal...even hours after death! Then, when they look at his cells under a microscope, they see that there is a LIVE sort of foreign cell that is taking over the body! Yikes. Then, really bad things start to happen...which isn't surprising since it's called "Night of the Blood Beast"!

Once again, I should point out that the film cost next to nothing to make by Hollywood standards of the time. Yet, even with no-name actors, the film manages to work pretty well. Had the budget been higher, the monster wouldn't have been so laughable. It seriously looked like a combination of a sea monster, swiss cheese and a child playing dress-up! It's a shame, as the film was very good otherwise and is still worth seeing--and with a very unique ending.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Aliens breeding within and on the rampage
chris_gaskin12317 October 2005
Warning: Spoilers
I recently picked up an American import of Night of the Blood Beast from a market stall for £2.00 and was certainly pleased I did. This is one of Roger Corman's better efforts.

An Astronaut returns from outer space presumed dead, but when a small group of people take him back to their remote lab, they find signs of life in him when examining his body. Afterwards, a strange looking clawed and beaked alien creature is on the rampage and kills one of the doctors. The astronaut then comes back to life and we learn that the sings of life in him earlier are actually aliens breeding within him. The doctors then head for a cave where they think the creature is and kill it by setting it on fire and the astronaut is killed too.

The filming locations for this movie may look familiar as it was filmed at Bronson Caverns, where many of these movies were shot including It Conquered the World and Robot Monster.

The cast is mainly made up of unknowns, the only star I've heard of is Ed Nelson (Attack of the Crab Monsters, The Brain Eaters).

This is worth catching if you get the chance. Enjoyable.

Rating: 3 stars out of 5.
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Makes a tad more sense than a lot of Corman's Sci-Fi Flicks
vigilante407-124 December 2006
For a Roger Corman movie, Night of the Blood Beast had somewhat higher production values than most. Maybe that was because Corman was just Executive Producer on this one. The special effects were actually pretty good, and the monster costume wasn't all that bad. The story also seemed a bit more believable than a lot of his oeuvre. The acting was fairly good for a genre pic, and the cast was very believable.

The only thing that really annoyed me about the movie was a number of scenes in which the characters were able to get a blood pressure reading off of a presumed-dead body (with no heartbeat) ... those elicited a definite groan from me.

This was one of about ten sci-fi movies from the fifties that I hadn't seen until it showed up in the "Tales of Terror" boxed set from Mill Creek Entertainment.

If you're a fan of the genre, definitely give it a look if you get the chance ... its no Quatermass, but its also no UFO: Target Earth, either.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Lesser Corman Effort is Still Fairly Good
mrb198010 December 2005
Warning: Spoilers
While not on par with producer Roger Corman's other "classics" like "Not of This Earth" and "Little Shop of Horrors", this film is pretty good on its own terms. Semi-remake of "The Thing" has astronaut Emmet returning to earth apparently dead. A scientific crew at a remote base recovers his body, only to find that something has forced objects into the body. Shortly thereafter, Emmet comes back to life and is found to have alien embryos living in his body. But where is the alien?

Sure enough, the alien shows up and kills a few members of the crew, who can't call for help because their radio is dead. It turns out that the alien is using Emmet's body as its first step in colonizing earth. After a few more unpleasant encounters and an impassioned speech by the alien seeking understanding, Emmet commits suicide rather than act as "mother" to the embryos and the remaining crew members burn the alien to death with Molotov cocktails.

Ed Nelson, as usual, is very good and Emmet is fine in a very unusual role. However, the alien is downright laughable; it looks something like half-bear, half-giant bird. The film's not really noteworthy, but is worth catching.
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A fun viewing for schlock devotees.
Hey_Sweden5 November 2016
From those ever reliable Corman brothers - executive producer Roger and producer / story author Gene - and director Bernard L. Kowalski ("Sssssss") comes this enjoyable B flick. Michael Emmet stars as Major John Corcoran, an astronaut whose space mission turns disastrous, and he crashes back to Earth. He seems to perish in the crash, but later inexplicably lives again. But he's not the man he used to be. He's now infested with alien embryos: he's a pregnant man! A hulking, bipedal, somewhat birdlike alien (Ross Sturlin) also shows up, and Johns' associates want to destroy it, but John is convinced that it means no harm.

Admittedly, this variety of entertainment isn't for everybody. People could easily argue that it works better in concept than it does in execution, and that the obviously low, low budget can't help but hurt it. But if you're like this viewer and have a big, soft spot in your heart for sci-fi / horror programmers like this one, it *does* deliver some fun. Director Kowalski does manage to generate some reasonable suspense and stark atmosphere, not to mention some decent action scenes. (The monster has an aversion to fire.) The monster itself doesn't actually look too bad, and the performances are sincere from a capable no name cast: Mr. Emmet, Angela Greene as his scientist fiancée, John Baer, Ed Nelson, Tyler McVey, gorgeous Georgianna Carter. Gene Corman and screenwriter Martin Varno, the latter going on to a career as a makeup artist, deserve credit for their far out idea, further exploited with advanced technology 21 years later in "Alien".

Solid entertainment, worth a look for any lover of 1950s science-fiction.

Seven out of 10.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Enjoyable B flick for the schlock fans.
Nightman853 February 2006
Astronute crashes to Earth, seemingly dead, but soon awakens to discover that he is filled with alien embryos and the parent is lurking some where near by!

An admittedly interesting story helps to uplift this B thriller from the great Roger Korman. Although the budget of this film shows, like the fact that there a so few people at this 'space station' and the films nicely hokey-looking alien monster, that only makes this film all the more entertaining to those who dig these sort of low-budget gems.

The cast isn't half bad either, especially considering just what kind of B flick this is!

B fans will find this number worth a turn.

** 1/2 out of ****
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Dear Roger. I could have made this faster/better/cheaper.
Bob-4517 September 2004
Warning: Spoilers
WARNING: SPOILERS Dear Roger,

During your distinguished career, you've made a wide range of entertainment, some good, some notsogood. "Night of the Blood Beast" falls in the latter category. It's not as unredeemingly awful as say, "The Phantom From 10,000 Leagues" or, maybe, "The Dunwich Horror." Nonetheless, one of my greatest criticisms of this movie is that I could have made it for you faster, better and cheaper.

Let's start with the foreward and titles. Roger, the rocket sequences look like something from Disney's "Man Into Space," not as good, of course. The futuristic rocketship looks like nothing in contemporary 1958. Why didn't you just use a Vanguard, Atlas, or even a Viking launch? Better still, why not dispense entirely with the launch and start with a shot of space and the capsule floating in it? That's what I would have done for you, Roger. Second, why have the spaceship crash upon reentry? Even a middle school physics student could have told you, your astronaut would have arrived on earth extra crispy and largely deboned. I would have shown your astronaut becoming "possessed" by the monster (maybe by using that great "negative/positive" stuff you used in "War of the Satellites"), losing contact with earth and landing in the wilderness. That would also explain how you "blood beast" could impregnate your astronaut during the tremendous heat of reentry, but still be destroyed by fire. Even with these stupidities. The first half of your movie is pretty good. Had you spent some money on decent music, it would have been as good as a mediocre episode of "Outer Limits." But, once again, your writer describes Ed Nelson as the designer of the landing system, then gives him some stupid dialogue regarding magnetism. The biggest problem with the second half of "Night of the Blood Beast" is Michael Emmet. He's terrible as the doomed astronaut. You should have fired him on the spot and replaced him with Ed Nelson. You could have combined Nelson's responsibilities with those of John Dunlap and saved yourself the cost of one actor. I don't know if you actually PAID any of these people; but, at least you would saved the cost of catering three meals a day. I'd had also ditched the "scorched parrot" costume and spent the extra money using makeup to have the astronaut turn into the "blood beast". Maybe that was a little too close to "The Creeping Unknown" for you, but it would have helped the pace of the second half immensely. if you are going to have a "blood beast," wouldn't it be a good idea to show a little blood? Yeah, I know the title comes from the embryos in the astronaut's blood, but Kowalski could've done a LOT better job for you if he poured a little chocolate syrup around. After all, it LOOKS like blood in black and white. What've that cost you, maybe two bucks? I'd have also used some closeups. For some reason insipid dialogue and bad acting don't seem quite so bad in closeups. Look at almost 70s TV series and you'll see what I mean. Oh, in closing, Roger, a note to your writer. You can't use a fluoroscope to show some poor schmuck full of alien embryos when you DON'T HAVE ANY ELECTRICITY. Remember, you fried the generator in the first reel? Oh,and I almost forgot. Roger, couldn't you afford a fake knife? You know, the kind where the blade goes into the handle. I had one of those when I was 9, which also happens to be the year "Night of the Blood Beast" was made.It cost, maybe, another two bucks. I think I knew enough then to make you a better movie. I KNOW I know enough now to do so. So, Roger, if you decide to remake "Night of the Blood Beast," or if you are looking for a writer/director to work with you on SOME OTHER PROJECT, I'm your man. I'll work cheap, 'cause I'd really like to make a movie for you, Roger.

I give "Night of the Blood Beast" a "3". SPECIAL NOTE: If you like to watch kitschy movies like "Night of the Blood Beast," the DVD I bought for $3.99 was very good quality. You can also get "Night of the Blood Beast" along with a lot of other terrible horror/scifi movies at places like Bestbuy for about $6.
5 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
C-O-R-M-A-N spells quality pictures
InzyWimzy26 March 2004
Night of the Blood Beast is an example of Roger's frugal style. The first time viewing this, I was angry, hurt, confused, and bored all at the same time and really thought there was a toxic suit included for safety precaution for this wretched drek . This movie is inept, stark, and devoid of acting, yet highly entertaining. Don't worry about any names except Steve where the pioneers of NASA (HA HA HA!!!) are all Steves. Fear, paranoia, and rage run rampant and I'm not even talking about the actors trying for figure out how they're going to get paid! On scene is that famous cave: common staple in other fine films such as Robot Monster, King Dinosaur, and Teenage Caveman. The microscope results are a riot as well as the X-ray. Oh, let's not forget a character who I shall name Polly. It steals any scene it appears in and wait till it talks. "Do not be afraid." I almost choked on that one. Then, the confused human has this weird conflict in playing peacekeeper between man/aliens or ushering in a whole new world order of giant parakeets. Regardless, this is where the makers of "Junior" stole their idea and the movie starts off and drags at a Cormanish pace, but gets so much better and better further on.
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
"I've Never Seen Anything Quite Like It!"... "Something Foreign Is Inside Me... Alive!"...
azathothpwiggins26 July 2018
A space flight goes horribly awry! The ship crashes to the Earth! The lone astronaut is killed! Or, is he? Pulled from the wreckage, and taken back to the base, Major John Corcoran (Michael Emmett- ATTACK OF THE GIANT LEECHES) shows strange signs of life! Plus, he may not have returned... alone! Soon, things get even weirder, an unseen entity makes its presence known, and the deaths begin. Annnnd, something is found in Corcoran's body that changes everything! NIGHT OF THE BLOOD BEAST is another hunk of low-low-budget, 50's sci-fi cheeeze, made a classic through the influence of Roger Corman and his team. The monster costume, while obviously bargain basement, is endearing in a parrot / bear hybrid sort of way. Co-starring Ed Nelson (A BUCKET OF BLOOD), NOTBB is perfect for late-late night viewing...
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
The Birth of an Alien
wes-connors1 March 2009
"An astronaut (Michael Emmet) dies while returning from a mission and his body is recovered by the military. The base where the dead astronaut is taken to becomes the scene of a bizarre invasion plan from outer space. Alien embryos inside the dead astronaut resurrect the corpse and begin a terrifying assault on the military staff in the hopes of conquering the world," according to the DVD sleeve's synopsis.

A Roger Corman "American International" production. The man who fell to Earth impregnated, Mr. Emmet (as John Corcoran), does all right. Angela Greene is his pretty conflicted fiancée. And, Ed Nelson (as Dave Randall) is featured as prominently. With a bigger budget, better opening, and a re-write for crisper characterizations, this could have been something approaching classic 1950s science fiction.

*** Night of the Blood Beast (1958) Bernard L. Kowalski, Roger Corman ~ Michael Emmet, Angela Greene, Ed Nelson
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Fair
Michael_Elliott11 March 2008
Night of the Blood Beast (1958)

** (out of 4)

An astronaut crash lands on Earth, killing him instantly. Hours later he comes back to life with baby aliens growing inside of him. There's also an overgrown parrot looking alien killing people. Roger Corman served as Executive Producer so with that in mind you should know what to expect. The film has a really low budget but this adds to some of the charm. The performances are pretty bad but again, this adds some brief laughs. The direction is rather nice, which makes up for the low budget but the monster is quite funny looking. Roger's brother, Gene, wrote the story and screenplay.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
what a look back at a good flick
alventi15 March 2004
I just recently found out this movie came out and I at once had to have it. As much as it is outdated and funny to look at after not seeing it in 40 years. I would say this is a classic despite the reality. I was also then as a child infatuated with Georgianna Carter and wow she looked good then and now if you see this Ms Carter I love you. It was great to see this and her again. PS: Funny how after 40 years you seen something again and how different it looks - and note any Corman flick is a gem. I would like to see this movie remastered, the copy I have is fine but a remaster would be great.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
An amusing title alien can't quite save this one
Red-Barracuda9 December 2009
This slightly ponderous late 50's sci-fi-horror schlock isn't entirely a loser. It's about a manned space rocket that crash lands in a remote area. A bunch of scientists go to investigate and discover that the astronaut is in some kind of coma; he's being kept alive by alien embryos that have been mysteriously implanted in him. Anyway, the title alien monster soon raises it's head causing general havoc, including partial head removal.

The main problem with the film is it's pacing. It takes quite a while for the Blood Beast to appear, and he really only comes into his own in the last 20 minutes or so. He is undoubtedly a completely ridiculous creation but that's really not a problem as he provides a fair amount of comic relief. At the end of the movie where we have the final stand-off and this ludicrous creature starts talking with the voice of the doctor he killed earlier, you will be doing well not to have a giggle. So too in the brilliant x-ray scene where we see the alien embryos floating about in the astronaut's body - it's just too funny for words.

But unfortunately, the fun moments in Night of the Blood Beast come too few and far between. If you're a 50's sci-fi nut though then it's well worth checking this one out. Just don't expect too much.
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Really Bad Sci-Fi Film, Should Not Get Much Credit
gavin694231 December 2008
After an astronaut dies in space, he is brought back to a military base. Inside the man are discovered alien embryos -- he is the host for what could be a terrible alien invasion!

This film comes to us from director Bernard L. Kowalski, who also directed "Attack of the Giant Leeches" (see separate review) but may be better known for his work on "Columbo". Executive producer was Roger Corman, known as the creator of much better films than this one... particularly in the 1960s. And the writer-producer? Roger's brother Gene.

This movie is cheesy and poorly constructed. What comes across as interesting is the poor effects, not the actual film itself. One scene shows a close-up of the alien embryos and it is an embarrassing cartoon representation... even for 1958. And then when a full-grown alien appears... you might wonder why he is wearing shoes. Or if you are really perceptive, you might wonder why you have seen the alien suit in other movies. (Although, why are you watching those movies?)

By no means is this the worst science fiction film you will ever see. And you almost have to give it some credit -- the alien host overtaking a military base idea predates both "The Thing" and "Alien" by a number of years. I do not know if these films were inspired in any way (I have to doubt it), but at least it was ahead of its time. Beyond that, though, the film flops and is only great for heckling when drinking.

I have seen this film both normally (it is easily found in the public domain) and also the "Mystery Science Theater" version, and this sure is one film worthy of their insults -- who else knows how to tear apart an alien parrot better than Crow and Tom Servo?
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed