Zane Grey Theater Poster


Episode List



3 Jan. 1958
Man Unforgiving
Sheriff Adam Prescott begins to suspect that the drifter who he has taken into his house may be the Army doctor whom he blames for the loss of his leg in the Civil War. He thus tries to keep the man from leaving town, hoping to goad him into a showdown.
10 Jan. 1958
Trial by Fear
Local fast gun Tod Owen guns down a man who was trying to shoot him from a rooftop. Everyone in town hates the trouble-making Owen and would like to convict and hang him quickly, except for Cob Oakley, who wants to make sure he gets a fair trial, even after Owen breaks jail.
17 Jan. 1958
The Freighter
Belle Garrison is determined not to let the ruthless Murdock clan put her grandfather's freight line out of business, even after they start attacking and burning her wagons and killing her drivers.
24 Jan. 1958
This Man Must Die
Kirk Joiner escapes from custody on the day before he was scheduled to be hanged, for a murder he swears he did not commit. But he plans to kill the man who testified against him.
31 Jan. 1958
Sam Fraser is determined not to be forced off of his farm as his neighbors have, so he buys barbed wire to keep McHugh cattle off his land, which only aggravates rancher Abel McHugh more.
7 Feb. 1958
License to Kill
Sheriff Tom Baker is temporarily unable to use his right arm, which puts him at a disadvantage dealing with some wild cowboys. A young man named Lane helps Baker out---by killing one of the cowboys. The mayor hires Lane as Baker's temporary deputy. But Baker is not pleased, as Lane is his younger brother who he feels is way too anxious to use his gun to kill.
14 Feb. 1958
Sundown at Bitter Creek
A man arrives in the town of Bitter Creek, and affects several people by his presence. An old singing cowboy assumes him to be gunman Dan Case. The man anxiously watches the clock and wonders who may be out to draw against him. A saloon hostess is attracted to him, but he is attracted to the beautiful sister of a young tough who hopes to challenge him to avenge his humiliation.
28 Feb. 1958
The Stranger
Man stumbles onto shooting and is condemned by circumstantial evidence.
7 Mar. 1958
The Sharpshooter
This is the pilot for the series "The Rifleman". Lucas and Mark McCain enter the town of North Fork, hoping to buy a small ranch, but they encounter trouble from a shady businessman and a young punk gunfighter.
14 Mar. 1958
Man of Fear
Doc Holliday visits an old friend and his wife. He finds that his friend, now crippled, is being shaken down for money by the corrupt local sheriff, along with everyone else in town, and he plans to put a stop to it.
21 Mar. 1958
The Doctor Keeps a Promise
The cattleman who runs the town doesn't like Dr. Alan McMurdo because he spends too much time treating homesteaders, and doesn't want him to take over as the town's main doctor when the old one retires. McMurdo faces another challenge when he is called to treat a young man who was shot while attempting to rob the cattleman's money.
4 Apr. 1958
Three Days to Death
An Easterner comes west to bring the killer of his brother to justice.
11 Apr. 1958
Shadow of a Dead Man
Logan Wheeler tries to bring Raney Benson in for a bank robbery in which Wheeler's father lost all his savings. But the tables are turned, in more ways than one, when Logan is bitten by a rattlesnake and Benson brings him in to his father and sister's house.
18 Apr. 1958
Debt of Gratitude
When Marshal Tolby learns that Ben Kincaid is wanted for murder, he feels he must arrest him and take him to Prescott for trial, even though Kincaid is regarded as a hero by the townsfolk and beg Tolby to let him go free.
2 May 1958
Handful of Ashes
The sheriff needs a deputy, but the only one volunteering for the job is Ben Cary, whom everyone thinks is too old for the job. When an outlaw, ill due to a snakebite, arrives at his farm, Ben sees a chance to prove he's still up to the job.
23 May 1958
A Threat of Violence
Lawyer Clay Culhane doesn't get the job with the mining company that he was first promised, after they learn he was once a famous gunfighter. But he soon finds a new client, a Mexican rancher friend who is accused of killing the man who he believes stole his land from him. This is the pilot for the series "Black Saddle" which premiered a year later, with Peter Breck in the role of Culhane.
6 Jun. 1958
Utopia, Wyoming
Two government surveyors find an old ghost town inhabited by a group of former Confederates. The residents do not want their presence in the town known to outsiders, and so they refuse to let the surveyors leave, even though they recognize one as a Confederate hero.
2 Oct. 1958
Trail to Nowhere
There is drought in the land and only one rancher has water and he will not share. He is killed and the prime suspect heads for Mexico. The sheriff won't follow but the man's wife will.
9 Oct. 1958
The Scaffold
A leading citizen is gunned down in broad daylight. The town and the man's girlfriend want quick justice. They begin to build a scaffold so it will look legal. The sheriff is determined to make sure the law is followed.
23 Oct. 1958
A man down on his luck robs a bank. His wife convinces him to give it back, but two outlaws have other plans for the money.
30 Oct. 1958
The Accuser
A man is found dead by his neighbor. A deputy with a grudge against the neighbor is determined to see the murder is pinned on him.
6 Nov. 1958
Legacy of a Legend
A man comes to town claiming to be a legendary gunfighter - Frank McKinnon - only Frank McKinnon has been dead for 20 years. He learns there has been a robbery and murder and is soon blamed.
13 Nov. 1958
To Sit in Judgment
A lawman carries out a hanging sentence on a man found guilty of murder. The man's sons promise revenge. The lawman's wife and deputy think he is too hard of a man. How will he treat the boys bent on killing him?
20 Nov. 1958
The Tall Shadow
Linc Hardaway would like to do something just once, better than his father, the town's most successful man. Then Hardaway Sr. is murdered and Linc is the prime suspect.
27 Nov. 1958
The Vaunted
Jess Matson is a wanted man who wants to visit his wife and son. But the law is on his trail and meeting his wife and son won't be easy.
4 Dec. 1958
Pressure Point
A thief comes to town to exact revenge for the death of his brother and is not deterred when he finds the sheriff who killed his brother is now blind.
11 Dec. 1958
Bury Him Dead
A man and his wife find two injured people on their land - an outlaw and a sheriff. The outlaw comes to and demands the sheriff be killed. The man convinces the outlaw he can deceive the sheriff into believing the outlaw is dead.
18 Dec. 1958
Let the Man Die
A doctor learns that his step son is admiring a gunfighter. When the gunfighter is wounded, a series of dilemmas are faced by the doctor.
25 Dec. 1958
Medal for Valor
A man agrees to serve in the military in place of a wealthy man's son. He threatens to expose the deal when he is not given everything he was promised.

« 1957 |  1958  1959  »

See also

TV Schedule

Contribute to This Page