Seven Brides for Seven Brothers (1954) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
151 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
Wow, what a movie, fantastic score and choreography
terry-2656 November 2004
If you like musicals don't look beyond this one. MGM goofed when it slashed the movie's budget and gave it away to Brigadoon in 1953 but it doesn't matter for the simply stunning songs and choreography shine through. As good as Brigadoon was, it is outclassed by this, for me, the greatest musical of them all.

Howard Keel stars with Jane Powell but for me I cannot look beyond the awesome dancing talent of Matt Mattox as Caleb. Check out the 'polecat scene' and bookmark it on your DVD. It doesn't get any better than this. Thank you Matt, you were great!

Terry
24 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Irresistible with its vitality and freshness...
Nazi_Fighter_David28 July 2002
Warning: Spoilers
A former Broadway dancer and choreographer, Donen's initial encounter with MGM was as choreographer on a number of musicals, including 'Cover Girl,' 'Anchors Aweigh,' and 'Take Me Out to the Ball Game.'

Nominated for 5 Academy Awards, 'Seven Brides for Seven Brothers' tells the story of the seven Pontipee brothers, who are living a rough lonely existence on their farm in Oregon... It is also the story of a rugged young farmer, in 1850, who rides into town to trade for some supplies, and pick himself up a comely bride...

In town, Adam finds just what he's looking for—'Pretty and trim, but not too slim. Heavenly eyes and just the right size. Simple and sweet and sassy as can be.' Adam meets the young spirited Milly working at a local inn... He is instantly attracted by her good looks and her cooking... For her part, Milly likes her tall, and self-assured man... Also his directness, and the sound of his good house in the wilderness... After a whirlwind courtship, the two agree to wed...

Millie chirps an engaging 'Wonderful, Wonderful Day' as she welcomes what she expects will be a perfect new life... But when she arrives at the ranch, all her dreams about love and marriage and such, are shattered... She discovers that her new husband has not been entirely truthful... Instead of an idyllic honeymoon cottage just for two, she finds he really wants 'a cook, a washerwoman, a hired girl,' for his small army of six sensitive brothers living in one filthy cabin...

After the shock, Milly immediately sets out to transform the young rowdy men into the region's most eligible bachelors, with an eye to marrying them off as quickly as possible...

Milly's good cooking and stubborn nature inspire the rambunctious young men that they cannot expect to attract wives if they dress and behave the way they do... They have to learn some social graces... At the perfect opportunity, the boys put Milly's teaching to good use, meeting the town girls whose glances express an obvious interest...

Unfortunately, the women are spoken for..

Adam could hardly believe it how his little wife tamed his backwoods brothers... He suggests to the wild and grieving 'Romeos,' reduced to what he can only describe as "a bunch of mamma's boys," forget gentle methods of love, and kidnap the unwilling gals they want, following the actions of the Roman with the Sabine women...

Howard Keel is at his commanding best... He develops an unorthodox solution to his brothers loneliness, much to the chagrin of the town fathers and their romantic rivals... With a voice singularly warm and precise, he rises magnificently to the occasion, singing a firmness 'Bless Your Beautiful Hide,' while he appraises the qualities of womanhood in general...

In her probably best screen performance, Jane Powell had the required amount of grit and spunk that was needed to lay the woman who could tame seven backwoodsmen... She sets about to refine her unkempt brothers-in-law giving them the manners and habits they need to court and to win their own sweethearts... Her clear, high, spring-water voice is just right for the songs, seemingly meant to be heard in the open with the mountains and meadows to echo it...

Unquestionably, the highlight of the motion picture is justly the 'Barn-raising' sequence... It begins as a 'challenge' dance—a truly breathtaking display of acrobatic leaps and ballet steps, in which the brothers compete for the girls with the more 'refined' men of the town, and it ends inevitably in a noisy, undignified fight as the men actually try to raise the four sides of the wooden barn...

The collective presence of the six brothers is simply dynamic... All the players move rhythmically with grace and ease... Russ Tamblyn jumps both forward and backward over an ax held in his hands... Stanley Donen again displays his visual originality and creates a new style of musical, irresistible with its vitality and freshness, lovely to look at and hear...
28 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Spectacular dancing and great music..Keel and Powell never did anything better!
Neil Doyle13 April 2001
A permanent place in the history of film musicals is obviously the fate of 'Seven Brides for Seven Brothers' the minute Howard Keel begins to sing 'Bless Your Beautiful Hide'. His robust romantic presence and voice are perfectly suited to blend with Jane Powell's sweet soprano--the Nelson and Jeanette of the '50s era. Jane is as perky as can be as the girl who impulsively marries him only to find that she's expected to keep house for him and his seven handsome brothers. (Echos of 'Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs' here and a touch of political incorrectness). But all that can be forgiven, for what follows is the most outrageously entertaining musical treat from the MGM factory--singin' and dancin' like you've never seen before! The exuberant acrobatic dancing of the brothers is a special highlight--particularly during the barnraising sequence. And their wistful rendering of the carefully staged 'Lonesome Polecat' is another high point. Powell and Keel get to warble some enchanting tunes and both are totally charming and professional in their roles. Keel probably never had a better role--except perhaps 'Showboat' or 'Annie Get Your Gun', handsome, macho and utterly believable. By all means reward yourself with this gem--either in regular format or widescreen, it's certainly one of the greatest MGM musicals of the '50s. Perhaps, as others have noted, the only drawbacks are some of the obviously painted mountain backgrounds--but this never destroys the overall charm of the film. The songs are splendid and the dances are as zestful as any you're ever likely to see.
25 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Mercer's Lonesome Polecat - wow
T Y7 July 2007
Warning: Spoilers
I enjoyed this in as much as I don't get my morality from Hollywood movies, apparently as some of these P.C. reviewers indicate. The movie is very enjoyable but this review is simply about one song. I knew what were commonly held to be the high points of this movie (Barn Dance etc.) but was pleasantly surprised, moved even, to stumble across "Lonesome Polecat" as both a mournful beautiful Johnny Merecer song, AND as a slowly-orchestrated, atypical production number.

The 6 unmarried brothers are doing winter chores when their efforts become half-hearted & listless. Mercer hands them a trifle with a mournful melody, slight lyrics and haunting chorus consisting mostly of an extended "whooo-ooo-oooooo-oo." And Michael Kidd generated a 'dance' out of slow moves in which barely any work is done, and a bang is incorporated every 4 bars.

I was about to fast forward through it when even the sped-up image revealed synchronized axe movements and that the actors were using real axes. I backed up again, watched it and have been watching it for about the last hour.

Although the scene is constructed out of convention and a phony interior mountainscape, it doesn't matter. It's as beautiful a moment I've ever seen in a musical, and so rare to have slowed the tempo down as much as they do. The orchestration is quite minimal, but a horn swells at a few moments.
10 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Quality will always tell
sharkey19721 July 2005
Well, I wanted to show a musical to my critical viewing class but knew it would be difficult since the boys were the most unlikely candidates for liking musicals that I'd ever seen. I chose this because of the outstanding dance sequence and because the DVD had such an excellent "making of" which I showed first. It was wonderful to realize at the end of things that they totally got into it, even confessing that they were predisposed against it when I made my intentions known. They found the action funny, the dancing riveting and found lots to comment on in the growth of the relationship between Adam and Millie. One of my reluctant students even confessed to me that he'd found himself singing "Bless Your Beautiful Hide" in the shower one morning! This is a wonderful film for teens today and has the ability to draw them in. While they are totally aware of the sound stage sets and how "stagey" it looks, they also realize why it was filmed that way and manage to get past it. I showed this film only weeks after Howard Keel had died and was so glad that he had done the documentary, which is outstanding because all of the original cast were available to comment. It was charming to see them and how well they had aged.
44 out of 59 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Real Men Can Sing AND Dance
jriordon31 August 2005
As an experienced woodsman compounded by being a fan of great music, it is so refreshing to see a perfect musical centered around men behaving like men. So many shows have slim little dandies spinning around and leaping to and fro and the only way you can tell them from a 13 year old girl is their shorter haircuts. I truly enjoyed seeing someone masculine (gay or straight doesn't matter) move in a skilled manner, and disprove the stereotypes of "White Men Can't Dance." Seven Brides for Seven Brothers has the great Howard Keel (the John Wayne of Musicals), supported by a cast of 6 men (some actors, some dancers and some acrobats) and the outcome is nothing short of spectacular. Michael Kidd's choreography is fantastic, demonstrating grace and strength, yet remaining believable in the fact that the skills could be something done by woodsmen. Mercers music, especially "Bless Your Beautiful" and "Lonesome Polecat" is simply awesome and are in my head for days every time I watch it. The cinema-scope and vibrant colors are unbelievably crisp. I watched this with my 2 year old daughter, and aside from her dragging me up to dance with her during the big production numbers, she sat in her chair and watched the ENTIRE 2 hour movie. A two year old that watches an entire 2 hour movie with her dad, you say!?! Do I need anymore proof of the perfection of this movie!? Bless Howard Keel, as he must be smiling down on me whenever I collapse back into my seat, exhausted from dancing with my little girl...who also slept very, very well that night.
48 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
One of the truly durable musicals
Peter LaNore8 November 2004
Howard Keel died yesterday bringing a lifetime of energetic and fun films to a close. Seven Brides for Seven Brothers was one of those films. It had catchy memorable tunes with strong hooks that stay in the brain for days. It took full advantage of brilliant color, fabulous choreography, and even managed to have that one thing that too many musicals eschew... a plot... complete with character arcs. Adam Pontipee is the eldest of seven brothers who decides that living in a squalor with six other scroungy bachelors and horrible cooking has gone on long enough. When Milly agrees to marry him on the day they meet, everyone's in for a shock.

Adam finds that a wife is more than a cooking and cleaning slave and that his actions can effect others far more than he ever thought. Milly learns that expectations and dreams don't always work out the way you hope, but they can still work out. The six brothers learn that there's more to life than chopping wood, that Adam isn't always right and that you can't just take what you want. And six young women (the brides) discover that there are more choices than the ones people put in front of you.

The movie asks some hard questions and doesn't answer all of them. Initially the brides are all quite take with the brothers, until the bachelors in town chase them back into the mountains. When the bachelors decide to kidnap the brides we have to ask ourselves how such an act could work out well. Before we heap indignities on the writers, we should also ask whether the townsfolk should be allowed to chase off anyone who might contend for the affections of the girls they have their eyes on. That's one of the finest points of this movie. These aren't matters of black and white. This is a story of humanity and of men and women. But mostly, this is a fine musical and part of Howard Keel's enduring legacy.
28 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Colorful, Lively, and Well-Choreographed; a Happy Experience
silverscreen88813 June 2005
It would be difficult, I suspect not to like, "Seven Brides For Seven Brothers". This film boasts an attractive frontier setting, famously excellent dance numbers choreographed by Michael Kidd, powerful Howard Keel as the head of the Pontifee clan and Jane Powell as the lovely girl who is swept off her feet by his charms. Of course when she finds out that he has six brothers, all scruffy backwoodsmen in need of manners and wives, trouble ensues. But all turns out well, with a little help from a lesson in Roman history, hard work, and the willingness of six other local girls to be (finally) swept off their feet. Howard Petrie, Ian Wolfe and such lovelies as Ruta Lee, Julie Newmar and Virginia Gibson contribute to the fun as the girls; the brothers include Russ Tamblyn, non-dancer Jeff Richards and some of the best dancers on the planet. The movie also presents some famous songs including, "Wonderful Day", "I'm a Lonesome Polecat", "June Bride" and, "When You're in Love" as well as "Goin' Courtin'", among others. Well-remembered scenes include the hilarious barn raising, the town dance, the sleigh pursuit and avalanche and the "Spring, Spring, Spring" vocal climax. Forget the acting, which is sometimes a bit potty; the director and the music add to a clearly-defined script a rare sense of frontier life, where taking risks for happiness and facing the precariousness of things where life is less than settled become necessary. Very few films have followed the lead of "Seven Brides" as a frontier or western musical; and none has been as well received nor appreciated. What a pity, its fans say, it was not given an outdoor setting instead of backlot scenery--and an "A" budget...It has a few flaws; but for five decades it has been one of the happiest musical films ever made; and that is quite an enduring achievement.
40 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
All Singin', All Dancin', All Fighting, All Lovin' Musical
Bob-452 February 2005
How can "Seven Brides for Seven Brothers" be such a wonderful musical? While the songs are lovely, they are mostly forgettable. The characters of the six brides and five of the brothers are almost hopelessly underwritten. Credit director Stanley Donen, choreographer Michael Kidd, cinematographer George Folsey, and a perfect cast led by Howard Keel and Jane Powell for creating one of the all time great musicals and an unforgettable motion picture experience even 50 years after its release. "Brides" has never been surpassed for ensemble performance, and that includes "West Side Story". This is largely due to Michael Kidd's choreography and the Donen/Folsey scene composition. Kidd exploited the best elements of each character's dance style (one brother is a ballet star; another, an acrobat) and created the most bravura ballroom/freestyle dance number in motion picture history, the barn dance sequence which formally introduces the "brides" to the "brothers". Kidd's work would have been in vain, however, had not Donen and Folsey so skillfully composed the scene. "Brides" is the best example of scene composition of any wide screen musical I've ever seen; every frame is filled with something visually interesting. Donen frequently, but subtly uses Jane Powell's tiny stature for comic effect by surrounding her with the tall brothers in submissive poses. Powell is clearly always in control, but her size and generally cheery temperament prevent her from ever seeming a bully. Donen also carefully chose to dress the brothers in bright, distinctly colored shirts, which enables the audience to clearly distinguish the characters during key scenes.

The movie also has a subtle feminist slant. Powell is clearly younger than her husband, Howard Keel, but she is also clearly a more mature and dominant character. For the time, "Brides" was also daring in its depiction of "good" women looking forward to enjoying sex. Prior to one song/dance number, bride Julie Newmarr poses on a bed in a position clearly representing "missionary position" sex, legs up and astride an imaginary lover's back.

Though the brides don't get as much screen time or individuality as the brothers, each looks as if she would be a great partner. Both the brides and the brothers get a satisfactory showcasing as couples in the last song, "Spring, Spring, Spring".

I'll leave others to explain the plot. I would like to mention that Donen had an uphill battle with the studio while making "Seven Brides for Seven Brothers". The studio had so little faith, they continually cut "Brides" budget to put more money into the lumbering "Brigadoon." Sets and even cast members were loaned out to other movies. Brothers Russ Tamblyn an Jeff Richards, as well as part of the set can be seen in "Many Rivers to Cross." Instead of Technicolor, the studio used Ansco color. Thus, "Brides" looks about as good as "Wizard of Oz," but no where near as good as "Harvey Girls" or "Meet Me in St. Louis." That's quite an achievement being the best photographed, best choreographed and best ensemble acted musical of the last 50 years. I think it's also the most entertaining. I give "Seven Brides for Seven Brothers" a "10."
57 out of 81 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Suspend disbelief 21st century folk!!!!!
beresfordjd11 November 2004
Almost at the top of my favourite movies of all time. My second favourite musical after West Side Story. No I am not gay but I have watched this movie hundreds of times since I first saw it at the age of 7 (thanks Mavis for taking me). This was the film which made dancing acceptable as a male pursuit!! Macho routines choreographed by Michael Kidd. Should have won boatloads of Oscars for a groundbreaking musical. All the people who slate it for its outdated values should get a life and take it for what it is - a movie, not a political tract!! Howard Keel (RIP) will live forever through this fantastic showcase for his talents, as will the rest of the cast. I am about to buy the DVD so I can wallow whenever I like. Try it if you haven't seen it-you will not be sorry -if you have any taste!!
11 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
i only wish that it could have continued on forever
turbo_issa11 February 2005
i love this musical, i have ever since i was 16 yrs old and now i'm 22 going onto 23. i would have loved this musical to continue on forever. its lovely. i love the brothers i love the brides. i think Jane Powell, Howard keel, Russ & tommy were great. its all singing, all comedy fun musical to watch over and over again. but one must face facts, its only one film and not a trilogy. i wish you all to enjoy it.

here is a toast to the cast: Jane, Howard, Jeff, Matt, Marc, Jacques, tommy, Russ, Julie, Miss R. Lee (yes i know your name, but the Internet Movie Database is picking it up as a mistake), Norma, Virgina, Betty and Nancy. and to Micheal Kidd for his wonderful work and for Stanley for fighting to have this musical done. i'm glad this movie got better reviews than the silly Brigadoon, which was supposed to be the hit of that year. if i was you i would have said "in your face" to MGM for not having any faith in you, but hey your not me and you seem to be a good sport. this movie is a classic so thank you for giving it to your generation, my mothers generation, my generation and in future my children's generation. to the cast, i'm sad that i never saw the majority of you in other films, i hope that where ever you are that you are well and are happy. to Jane Powell, i adore your films and to Howard may you rest in peace (hopefully). to Russ i loved you in west side story. tommy - you cracked me up in the movie and made me laugh so hard, and i've seen you in merry Andrew which was a great film too. Jacques, your were the most good-looking of the brothers (along with Tommy), if i was bold enough i would have asked if you had a son (kidding!) and the rest of the brothers who were excellent, Jeff who was great in the bedroom where all the brothers are, Matt and Marc for there dancing as well. to the beautiful brides, i love the song June bride and i think all of you were great.

great job to you all
13 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
It still holds up today!
MovieAddict20163 November 2005
Adam Pontipee (Howard Keel) lives with his six brothers in a cabin in a remote area of the woods. He goes to town one day and convinces a girl named Milly (Jane Powell) to marry him. They return to the cabin, where she suddenly realizes he has six brothers.

Milly tries to teach them some manners after her initial shock, but they are not entirely keen to change their ways. They are, however, anxious to get wives of their own.

After Adam reads about Roman capturing of Sabine women, he hatches a plan for his brothers - kidnap whoever they want to marry and bring them back to the cabin.

"Seven Bridges for Seven Brothers" is, today, somewhat of a classic; Stanley Donen adapts the screenplay by Albert Hackett, Frances Goodrich and Dorothy Kingsley; their combined efforts are superb.

I have grown up on this film and was surprised at the fact that, after having seen it very recently, it continues to hold up as well as it did when I was younger. I recommend it to everyone of all ages - it's funny, charming, sweet-natured and very enjoyable.
20 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
An all-time classic, no matter how many times you see it!
carver-523 March 2000
I've seen this movie about ten times over the years, and it is such a joy to watch! This movie was nominated for Best Picture, and rightly so. The snappy, well written, melodic songs, coupled with the first rate dancing is a match made in Hollywood musical heaven. By the way, did you know that the guy playing "Frank" was borrowed from the New York Ballet?

This film will put a warm fuzzy feeling in you throughout the entire two hours. This movie stands up against "Singin in the Rain", and "On the Town" any day!

See it in the wide-screen version for the full effect!
17 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Seems to be rather timeless.
triple85 April 2004
Ok-will admit I'm to young to have seen this movie when it first came out-wasn't even born yet! But a friend of mine(who has GREAT taste) pursueded me to watch it one night. She thought, knowing I'm a big fan of musicals that I would like this.

I must confess I fought her on it-mainly because I, being the generation xer I am, prefer, generally more modern musicals. But I gave in and did watch it and am glad I did. This musical was very enjoyable! Despite the somewhat traditional feel to it, there's a quality that's very appealing and you really get into it. I liked it more then I thought I would.

Now, that still doesn't mean that this is my favorite musical but it is a pretty darn good one and appears to have a somewhat timeless quality to-the characters are sometimes zany and full of fun, the story is a clever one and it is the rare moment when your bored. That was good enough for me and I wouldn't be adverse to a second viewing.

I think this musical transcends the age factor and can appeal to people of all ages and that's a plus. I did enjoy this though my faves still run along the line of "Chicago" but this is a wonderfully inviting musical that anyone(as long as they like musicals) can enjoy.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
What a great movie!
CUWSTUDENT29 October 2003
My mother and grandmother enjoyed musicals together when they were younger, and they passed on that tradition to me. 7 Brides for 7 Brothers is one of those musicals that I know I will love for the rest of my life. I borrow the tape from my grandmother all the time and love watching it over and over again. I have watched it so many times, that I can recite the lines at the exact moment and sing the songs without even looking at the screne. The dancing in the barn raising scene is so cool to. I think it is really great how the Pontipie brothers outdo the city boys. I always hate how the brothers get beat up on when they weren't doing anything to the other men. But no matter what this will always be one of my favorite movies! :-)
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Brilliant!
laffinsal11 October 2000
This is most certainly a candidate for the best movie musical of all time. The story is simple enough to follow, but the musical sequences intertwine between the dramatic scenes with such fluidity that they help to further the story, rather then bog it down. The actors and dancers are all in top form, but special mention should go to Tommy Rall and Russ Tamblyn for their impressive acrobatic stunts which add an extra degree of vibrancy to the whole production. Howard Keel and Jane Powell work well together and make a realistic, and pleasant pair. Among the highlights to be seen are Keel's lively rendition of "Bless Yore Beautiful Hide", Powell's "Goin' Cotin'" sung with the men, and of course the famous barn raising dance sequence, which is truly a sight to behold; a visual feast for the eyes. Also worth noting, and often overlooked, is the "Lament" ("Lonesome Polecat") number which is done entirely in one take. It is charming, graceful, and extremely well executed.

It should also be noted that this silm was shot twice at the same time, once in CinemaScope and once "flat". The scope version is the one generally shown on TV and video. If you see this version, see it "letterboxed". However, the "flat" version is quite unique in its own right, with many of the scenes and dances reframed and in some instances, offering a better, more full view of the proceedings. Definitely a not-to-be-missed film, especially for fans of the musical genre.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
One of the Best Musicals Ever
dougandwin15 November 2004
I am not a great lover of Musicals, but "Seven Brides for Seven Brothers' is a major exception - it is a joy from the opening scene to the very end, with great songs, and the highlight of magnificent dance sequences, with the "building" of the barn a real showstopper. As Adam, Howard Keel has his best ever role with songs like "Bless Your Beautiful Hide", and "Sobbin' Women" just great standouts. Jane Powell was excellent, and the supporting cast of the very talented group who played the brothers helped make it such wonderful entertainment. I particularly like Tommy Rall and Russ Tamblyn. The settings were great, and everyone seemed to be having a great time. I have seen this film at least 8 times, so if you get a chance to see it again on TV, do not miss it!
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Great Music, great dancing, good-looking people
rayemarsstarpower200317 March 2004
I have been a big fan of musicals since i can remember. This is not like any other i've seen. It is great. If you've seen a musical this is one even for the boys. The men are rough, tough mountain men. They are fights and yes love. It's a very great thing to watch. Their isn't any other like Seven Brides for Seven Brothers. You probably say well that isn't me but you have to try it. I didn't describe the girls. They are beautiful, smart, and sassy. They don't take any crap from no one. When the brothers kidnap them they make the boys sleep in the barn. That's the only thing i am giving away. You have gotta see it. The story line goes with the music. You never get bored. You will enjoy it. It not anly a chick flick. It's a family film. The whole family will enjoy it. My two little ones love it. Their ages are 6 (my boy) and 8 (my girl). These two really enjoyed it. You go rent it, like it, buy it.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Comments rather than a full review - but one of my personal Top 5 Musicals ...
fiona-webstuff20 December 2005
Despite not having the budgets of the Freed unit - Donen and the whole crew pull off this amazing delight - if you ever ever get a chance to see it at the cinema - go go go!! You will want to see the Barn Raising/Barn dance scene in widescreen on the big screen ... Although the dancer playing Ephraim (Jacques D'Amboise) is from the New York City Ballet, weirdly the one brother who gets a balletic style solo in the snow is Caleb, Matt Mattox (... but there ya go ...) (and that solo is great!!) Frank is played by the talented Tommy Rall - who you can also see in Kiss Me Kate! as Bill (having the great luck to dance with Anne Miller - one of the Big Four, i.e. Eleanor Powell, Cyd Charisse, Anne Miller and Vera Ellen). Russ Tamblyn plays Gideon (you can see him as Riff in West Side Story) was an acrobat as well as a dancer - and boy does it show!! The best thing about this movie is that all the dancers are so good and they all get a chance to shine. The costumes are beautiful without being distracting ... and feel really appropriate, and the dancing sparks with life and energy (One could compare with Oklahoma - where although the dancing is built into the plot and characterisation - it feels much more strait-laced and stiff ... unlike the lightness and elasticity of Seven Brides) I went to see it in Glasgow when I was a student - and the film got a spontaneous round of applause at the end ... (they issued us all with song sheets too ...)
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Delightfully Funny and Entertaining
Claudio Carvalho15 May 2011
In 1850, in the Oregon Territory, the provincial farmer Adam Pontipee (Howard Keel) comes to the town to trade supplies and find a wife. When he meets the strong hard worker Milly (Jane Powell) working in a bar, he proposes her. Milly has a crush on Adam and marries him, expecting to have her own place with her husband. However, when they arrive in the distant farm, she leans that Adam is the eldest of seven unsophisticated and rude brothers. Milly educates the brothers, teaching them hygiene, good manners and how to win somebody's heart.

In the annual town picnic, Milly, Adam and his six brothers go to the party and each of his brothers fall in love for a girl. However, they have to return to the loneliness of their farm. In the winter, Adam reads Plutarch and tells his brothers about "The Rape of the Sabine Women", when the Roman men had abducted wives for themselves from the Sabine families. He travels with his brothers to the town and they kidnap their beloved girls. When they cross a gorge, they provoke a snow avalanche and block the narrow passage. However, Milly keeps the girls in the house and sends Adam and his brothers to the barn. But until the spring, when the passage will be open again, many things happen in the farm with Milly, Adam, his brothers and their "brides".

"Seven Brides for Seven Brothers" is a delightfully funny and entertaining musical, with a pleasant feel-good story, wonderful performances and awesome choreographies. Stanley Donen directs this unforgettable and awarded family entertaining with the remarkable support of the choreographer Michael Kidd, and the cinematographer George Folsey and a wonderful cast highlighting Jane Powell with a magnificent performance in the role of a strong young woman. All the six brothers are talented dancer and Jacques d'Amboise was the principal dancer of the New York City Ballet. Just as a curiosity, the catwoman Julie Newmar is the bride Dorcas Gailen. My vote is eight.

Title (Brazil): "Sete Noivas para Sete Irmãos" ("Seven Brides for Seven Brothers")
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Fantastic Song & Dance
willrams14 November 2002
This is one of the finest directed by Stanley Donen with great stars like Howard Keel, Jane Powell with wonderful dances. The ensemble dancing takes the show, and I remember Russ Tamblyn so well because that redheaded star shown bright with his athletic tumbling and dance routines, notably the log tumbling. The girls did a great ballet, too! After all these years it's a pleasure to view this once more. I give it 9/10.
13 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Happy 50th Anniversary, SB4SB
juliafwilliams11 February 2004
After 50 years, this movie musical still warms the heart and the senses.

It has been alluded to, revived somehow, often imitated but never duplicated.

The songs, the scenery, the dances are the frosting on the cake.

Although by today's standards SB4SB is dated, it nevertheless remains an industry and studio standard.

A great way to chart the early appearances of Ruta Lee and Julie Newmar, who at the time were using their original respective surnames of Kilmonis and Newmeyer. Don't blink or you'll miss Sheila James, who later went on to appear in The Trouble With Father and, of course, Dobie Gillis. Last, but not least, there's Amber Tamblyn's father, Russ, in his famous hatchet dance (Don't try this at home).

Again, happy 50th anniversary to a cool classic.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
This movie brings you into the story
damiwe3 February 2004
For a long time I tried to figure out the draw of this movie. I think it works for several reasons. First, it presents a story that asks you to just step in and go along without too many questions. The subtle interplay, or chemistry, between the characters seems to work as does the little brother looking up to the big brothers. We watch the stereo type of men living without a woman's influence yet never think to ask how the socially inept backwoodsmen could pull off the complex dance numbers. We are pulled into the movie too much to ask such questions and, like children hearing "Once upon a time", we know it is only a story and not a life style guide.

Best of all, we can watch one of the best movies around.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
classic musical
adam-10611 April 1999
A landmark American Musical from the studio who defined them in Hollywoods Golden age.Metro Goldwyn Mayer utilized the new cinemascope process to create a spectacular film. From Stanley Donens direction to Michael Kidds brillant choreography a flawless production, topped off by Johnny Mercer lyrics and music by Gene dePaul They just don't make them like this anymore !!!!!!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
A lift your spirits must see
Wilson-225 October 1998
This movie is one of those movies that you plug into the VCR when you need a lift.

I have seen this movie more times than I remember, yet every time I watch it again I see some other wonderful scene,song or dance that takes my breath away.

This is a movie for every member of the family to see. I have kids who know not only ever characters name, but every song and every dance scene. This movie helped them realize that there is more to movies then explosions and gun fights. There is acting, there is real enjoyable characters.

Cuddle up with those you love and put this one one, you will not regret it.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews