The Caddy (1953) Poster

(1953)

User Reviews

Review this title
19 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
"When the Moon Hit's Your Eye, Like a Big Pizza Pie, That's Amore."
bkoganbing22 February 2006
When Dean Martin and Jerry Lewis split up in 1956, the consensus was that Jerry's comic talents would sustain his career, but that Dino would have a rough going. Well the consensus only had that half right. Most critics did focus on Jerry's talents, Dean was the straight man who sang a nice song occasionally.

But of all their joint films, The Caddy is best remembered for Dean's singing of That's Amore. The Harry Warren-Jack Brooks song sold a lot of records for Dean, putting him on something of an equal footing with his partner. It was nominated for an Oscar that year and until ten years or so later when Dino revived a song called Everybody Loves Somebody and made it his theme, That's Amore became the song most identified with the man from Steubenville, Ohio.

Of course Jerry has his moments in The Caddy, clowning with the various golfers who made cameo appearances here, doing a comic obligato after Dean sings That's Amore and a number called The Gay Continental. But That's Amore made this of all their films, Dean's triumph.

In fact Dino had another great reason to enjoy this film. Though not as publicized in fact he was as passionate about the game of golf as that other noted singer on the Paramount payroll, Bing Crosby. If he wasn't involved in any of the scenes on a given day, you would find Martin on the links invariably.

The plot such as it is involves Jerry Lewis as the son of a noted golf pro who also has an extreme case of stage fright. Jerry is engaged to Barbara Bates who is Dean's sister. Both come from an Italian fishing family. Father Joseph Calleia is a commercial fisherman and mother Argentina Brunetti runs a restaurant, specializing in seafood and pasta.

Jerry agrees to coach Dean and be his caddy. A lot of money can be made from professional golf although Calleia doesn't believe it. If this story sounds familiar that was the attitude of the patriarch of another San Francisco Italian fishing family named DiMaggio when three of their sons opted for careers in baseball. I guess Joe and his brothers Vince and Dom must have been flattered because they didn't sue Paramount.

Donna Reed plays the socialite sponsor of golf tournaments who falls big time for Dean. And Jerry gets to have another straight man in this film in the person of Clinton Sundberg, Reed's snooty butler. In fact Jerry gets even another substitute straight man in Fred Clark who is his and Bates's boss at the job they have at a department store. Although to be fair, Lewis rehashed some material here the Marx Brothers originally used in The Big Store.

The Caddy is one of the Martin-Lewis teams best and funniest comedies and if that don't get you, That's Amore will.
10 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Great fun, even if it doesn't demand too much of the boys.
Spikeopath7 September 2010
The Caddy is a Dean Martin & Jerry Lewis comedy film. It's directed by Norman Taurog and also stars Donna Reed & Barbara Bates. Also featured in the story are some leading professional golfers of the time.

Middle tier Martin & Lewis movie that sticks rigidly to the formula that made them so popular. Jerry causes mayhem but always endears in doing so, while Dean croons and catches the eye of the ladies. Plot is told in flashback as the popular duo, now big musical hall stars, shows how they got together courtesy of golf. Cue some goofing around on golf courses and chaos unbound as Jerry upsets the upper class toffs of society. Cue carnage in a department store and chaos on the golf course.

Dean sings the Oscar nominated "That's Amore," as well as "It's A Whistle In," "Kinda Mornin," "One Big Love" & "What Wouldcha Do Without Me?" Reed and Bates are pretty and adorable, and both play off of the boys with ease. All of which builds to a fun double-take ending to seal the deal as The Caddy reaching its par on the course of Martin & Lewis movies. 7/10
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
The best golf movie ever made!
CarpenterKen14 December 1998
How can you go wrong with Jerry Lewis, Dean Martin, Donna Reed and Ben Hogan all in the same film?! The funniest of the Martin-Lewis pairings, with real-life players Sam Snead and Julius Boros adding to the goofy golf. Oscar-nominated song "That's Amoré" has been a classic for 45 years (it should have won the Academy Award; hear it again in "Moonstruck"). If you don't crack up when Jerry tells Bantam Ben "That's a wedge shot Mr. Hogan," then take up tennis.
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Pretty good
MartinHafer19 October 2015
I have now re-watched all of the Martin & Lewis films and one thing I have noticed is how often Dean had to play characters who were complete louses. I can honestly see how this helped to break up the team as who would want to constantly play jerks in order to make their partner look more sympathetic?! This one finds Dean to be a bit of a jerk--though fortunately it's not nearly as bad in this one as in some of their other films and as a result it works a bit better.

Jerry plays Harvey, the son of a pro golfer who is ALSO a heck of a player. However, Harvey cannot go pro because he chokes up horribly when folks watch him play. But when he meets his fiancée's brother, Joe (Dean), Harvey sees that Joe could be a pro himself--and with his help, Joe enters his first tournament. But there is a problem...Joe wins the tourney and his ego becomes a bit inflated. He soon is taking his new friend for granted. Can Joe pull it together or are the two destined to go their separate ways? What do you think?!?!

One of the best things about this film is the music. Often I find the musical interludes distracting...but here Dean sings one of his greatest hits. "That's Amore" is the PERFECT tune for Dean's talents and you cannot help but love the song. Additionally, the humor is decent and Joe's not nearly so rotten as he could have been! Pleasant viewing.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
When Jerry and Dean amused the world
Petri Pelkonen10 December 2003
Harvey Miller Jr. (Jerry Lewis) and Joe Anthony (Dean Martin) are two golfers and later Harvey becomes the caddy of Joe. But after causing a chaos at the big tournament their career as golfers is over and soon they find themselves from the world of entertainment.The Caddy (1953) is a great comedy from Norman Taurog. It features the funny man and the king of comedy Jerry Lewis and the straight man Dean Martin. It also has Donna Reed as Kathy Taylor. You can remember this amazing actress from It's a Wonderful Life and other classics. Martin and Lewis were just amazing together. Dean charmed the ladies and took care of singing and Jerry's job was to be the clown and make people laugh. Those were the good times.In 1956 Lewis and Martin sadly broke up but they did just great on their own. Martin lived in the years 1917-1995. Lewis is 77 years old today. He hasn't been working so much lately but last month he did a voice for a character in The Simpsons. I've been a big fan of this comedian for five years, since they showed Lewis movies on TV in the summer of 1998. Thanks for the laughs, Jerry Lewis! But now back to this movie. The Caddy is a movie that offers you lots of laughs and also some great songs, like That's Amore. It's been 50 years since this movie was made but Jerry Lewis movies don't age. They only get better with time.
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
One of the best of the Martin & Lewis films
vincentlynch-moonoi30 June 2013
Warning: Spoilers
This has always been my favorite of the Martin & Lewis films. It just all comes together, and whether you prefer Dean (as I do) or Jerry, there's something for everyone.

The film starts at the Paramount Theater in New York, where actual footage of the crowds outside the Paramount to see Martin & Lewis is used. Here it's Anthony & Miller -- a vaudeville team, whose rise to stardom we see in flashback. The boys open with one of their best duo-numbers -- "What Would You Do Without Me". From there we see Dean as the young man who gets away from the fishing business his father runs in San Francisco. We also meet Jerry, a sad sack who loses one job after another. Dean comes home and meets Jerry, who is engaged to Dean's sister. A party ensues and Dean sings one of his signature songs -- "That's Amore". It's a delightful production number in his parent's Italian restaurant. Troubles begin when Dean enters a local golf tournament...and begins rubbing elbows with the upper class, while Jerry (as caddy) is relegated into the background. Meanwhile, at a country club affair, Dean sings one of his best movie ballads to date -- "You're The Right One" -- to his love interest -- Donna Reed (surprisingly, this film followed her performance in "From Here To Eternity"). Will Dean break training for love? Will Jerry survive a visit to a baronial estate? Will the estate survive Jerry being a waiter? And then it comes down to the big golf tournament! Will Dean win? No...but he and Jerry will begin their life in show business. It's all great fun.

Dean Martin is very comfortable here, and why not...he was Italian (as the role called for) and played golf. Jerry Lewis was what Jerry Lewis always was, but here does it pretty pleasantly. Donna Reed is fine as the love interest. Joseph Calleia as Dean's papa is fine, as are the rest of the supporting cast.

Highly recommended as one of Martin & Lewis' early films.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
I loved it!
kelli101321 April 2000
I love Jerry Lewis and Dean Martin, and this film had to be one of the funniest, aside from Sailor Beware. Martin and Lewis have a great chemistry that is so much fun to watch. I haven't seen all their movies yet, but after seeing The Caddy, I'll have to see them all! You have to see this movie.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
The Caddy was another enjoyable, though uneven, Martin & Lewis film
tavm25 August 2011
Before I review The Caddy proper, let me just say that as a big fan of It's a Wonderful Life, I like to mention whenever players of that movie are in others I review. First, there's leading lady Donna Reed who of course was Mary Hatch there. Next, there's Argentina Brunetti-Mrs. Martini there-who's Dean Martin's mother here. Then, there's Bill Edmonds-Mr. Martini there-who's another of the Italian relatives (though I have to admit I didn't recognize him here). Finally, though I also didn't recognize her here, there's Mary Treen who even IMDb couldn't identify by role. Okay, with that out of the way, I'll just say that with Dean & Jerry playing entertainers who were once golfer and caddy, respectively, there's some hilarious scenes of Lewis wrecking havoc at a department store, of impersonating an Important Rich Man, and of disrupting some famous golfers' games. And Martin has an iconic moment when he sings a song that would be permanently identified with him: "That's Amore". And not just him but Jerry and the whole family sings along to one of the most entertaining numbers on film ever. What I didn't like was the way they have Dean treating Jerry like dirt in the middle of the movie and how dramatic that becomes at the expense of the mostly funny business that came before that. But it's worth it just to see how the whole thing ends especially when a couple of surprises happen there. Oh, and it was also hilarious whenever Jerry's boss Fred Clark-best known to me for his part in "The George Burns and Gracie Allen Show"-is on screen. And the leading lady Jerry has here is played by the stunning Barbara Bates. So appealing is she here that I was stunned when I read of how tragic her life turned out. So on that note, The Caddy, despite its unevenness, gets a recommendation from me.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Too Funny!!!
ajohns125 October 2002
I've never ever liked a single black and White movie accept the Apartment but when I saw this one I was dying of laughter when I saw it. Dean Martin was sure lucky too have Jerry Lewis with him he's a Great singer but an O.K actor especially in comedies. This was the first Jerry Lewis movie i've ever seen and I'm happy I saw it cause now I want to see every single one So far i've seen The Caddy, The Bellboy, Hollywood or bust, The Nutty Professor, Family Jewels and Boeing, Boeing. The Best part I find is when Jerry gets drunk at the party to stop Dean from drinking. Good Stuff. 10/10
6 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Timeless entertainment
davidallen-841222 July 2017
Wow! What contrasting views. I must admit to having a very soft spot for this movie. As a child growing up in Auckland in the 1950's,I first saw "The Caddy" at a children's matinée,at our local cinema,in 1954. Perhaps in light of the fact that I became obsessed with the movies from the tender age of seven and was easy to please,I loved Martin and Lewis from the outset. On purchasing the DVD so many years later,I discovered that my enjoyment of the movie was genuine and not just nostalgic. The songs are great .Dean does a smooth job of 'That's Amore' and 'You're The Right One' and his duets with Jerry are among their best. I just can't be critical of Jerry Lewis when he still makes me laugh out loud,especially while being chased around the store by Fred Clark or when he hands over a tray of cocktails to an indignant guest. His 'Gay Continental' turn is priceless too. ''The Caddy" and "Living It Up" are my pick of the Martin and Lewis vehicles,probably because they contain their very best songs and feature Donna Reed and Janet Leigh.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Full of laughs for Martin and Lewis fans, also see golf legends
jacobs-greenwood16 December 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Directed by Norman Taurog, with a story by Danny Arnold, who also wrote the screenplay with Edmund Hartmann, this Jerry Lewis and Dean Martin comedy is full of laughs especially if you like Lewis's antics: his many voices and physical humor. If you're a fan of golf, you will enjoy seeing Ben Hogan and Sam Snead (among others) swinging the clubs. The cast also includes Donna Reed, Barbara Bates, Joseph Calleia, Fred Clark, Clinton Sundberg, Marjorie Gateson, and Romo Vincent (among others).

The story is pretty straightforward, and is aided by a plot device or two, to enable the headlining duo to show their stuff: Martin plays a suave character who's a natural golfer and terrific singer (in fact, this is the film in which he first sings his signature song, "That's Amore", which was nominated for an Academy Award); Lewis plays Martin's doormat and "brother-in-law to be", who always finds himself in odd, funny situations. Reed plays Martin's country club gal, Bates plays Lewis's fiancée. Calleia plays Martin's dad (Argentina Brunetti, his mom); Gateson plays Reed's mom, and Sundberg plays their butler. Clark plays the latest boss to fire Lewis's character. Vincent plays the boys' agent, who discovers their real talent doesn't lie on the links.

The film opens with Joe Anthony (Martin) and Harvey Miller Jr. (Lewis) looking out their window to their adoring fans; apparently, they're a comedy pair much like Martin & Lewis. Their story is told in flashback by their agent Eddie (Vincent): Harvey Sr. (Donald Randolph) was a professional golfer and Harvey Jr. is pretty terrific too, only he has to give it up since he can't play in front of crowds. Over the years he worked in various sport related jobs, but gets fired from his latest by Mr. Baxter (Clark), whom he's dubbed Old Skinhead, when he takes his fiancée Lisa (Bates) to see Ben Hogan play in a tournament. Harvey then inadvertently trashes the entire department store's sporting goods department and more. Joe's Papa (Calleia) is a fisherman, but Joe gets seasick so he hits the road and does various odd jobs himself until he finally returns home to find his sister Lisa is engaged to Harvey, who's just started to work as a golf tutor. Harvey discovers that Joe is a "natural" (golfer), and because Joe's father, who now owns an Italian restaurant, needs $500 to buy a boat to return to fishing, Harvey becomes Joe's caddy and the two enter a country club tournament whose prize for 1st place is (wouldn't you know?) $500.

Once they're at the club, attractive Joe is pursued by the tournament's registrar Kathy Taylor (Reed), and Harvey is sent to bunk with the other caddies. Initially Joe protests the treatment of Harvey as less than his partner, but he quickly learns the benefits of the high life and begins to treat his future brother-in-law as one of the lesser classes. After a couple of scenes during which each lead gets to exhibit their talents (Martin sings while Lewis does slapstick "gags", the latter attracting the attention of a laughing rotund Eddie), and Joe wins the tournament, he's invited to stay at Kathy's before the big $10,000 tournament while Harvey follows in a truck full of livestock with his golf clubs. Nancy Culp appears briefly (uncredited) as a drunk's wife. To escape the Taylor's watch dogs, Harvey pretends to be a guest at the Taylor's estate, and eventually gets invited, by Kathy's mother Grace (Gateson), to assist their butler Charles (Sundberg), serving the other guests. By this time, Joe has adjusted quite well to the good life, and treating Harvey as a servant. A simple misunderstanding between Joe and Kathy, she thinks Lisa is his fiancée instead of Harvey's, causes Joe to get the boot. But eventually he returns with great fanfare to the big tournament and mayhem abounds at the golf course ... after which Eddie signs the singer and his sidekick to a contract. There's a brief mistaken identity gag at the end - Kathy and Lisa mistake (the real) Martin & Lewis for Joe and Harvey.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Nice Laughs and Of Course That's Amore
Michael_Elliott18 March 2016
The Caddy (1953)

*** (out of 4)

Joe Anthony (Dean Martin) and Harvey Miller (Jerry Lewis) are big stars on the stage but it wasn't always like that. A reporter wants to know where they came from so we flashback to when Miller was about to marry the sister of Anthony. Before doing so the two men decide to try and win money playing golf since Miller at one time was great but just couldn't play in front of people. Soon they begin to take off but things take a turn when Anthony becomes interested in a woman (Donna Reed).

THE CADDY is another successful teaming between Martin and Lewis. The film is certainly one of the better ones that the duo made together as there are plenty of nice laughs, a good supporting cast and then there's the soundtrack, which includes Martin's greatest hit "That's Amore." Apparently both Martin and Lewis were very goof golfers so I'm sure both were jumping at the chance to play around on the golf course and this here leads to a lot of fun.

Some of the film's highlights include real life golfers who are used in the film and of course Lewis' crazy antics are there to mess everything up. One of the funniest sequences happen inside the locker room where Lewis gets soap in his eye because he doesn't know how to operate the water. Another funny sequence takes place early on in a department store where Lewis causes chaos. It's not all Lewis here as Martin gets a nice role as well but once again he gets the "mean guy" role. He's certainly good in the part and there's no question that "That's Amore" turned out to be one of the greatest moments of his career. Reed and the supporting cast are fun as well.

THE CADDY certainly isn't a flawless movie but there's enough charm and laughs to make it worth watching.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Golfing Along
JohnHowardReid10 March 2016
Warning: Spoilers
I am not a Martin and Lewis fan, but to my surprise I enjoyed watching the Paramount DVD of this entry. One of the fascinating things I noticed is that you can actually see why Martin decided to split up the super-successful partnership. Jerry does his best to upstage Dean not only at every opportunity, but you get the impression that he is actually making some of these opportunities himself, and knowing director Norman Taurog as well as I do, I would definitely say that Taurog would have certainly encouraged Lewis in this endeavor so long as it didn't delay production! And even if you don't agree with this assertion, it's quite obvious that Norman did nothing to discourage Jerry's antics. No wonder Dean decided that a little Jerry goes more than a long way. All the same, Dean has not much to actually complain about. He has plenty of scenes without Jerry, but he still acts as if he had a chip on his shoulder. It's the lovely Donna Reed who receives the short end of the stick, and as for the equally lovely Barbara Bates, blink and you'll miss her! Of course, if you're a golf fan you'll enjoy seeing some of the greats on the screen. So, all told, the movie is definitely a mixed blessing, but it has dated rather well.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Crazy, Man, Crazy!
zamami933 October 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I'd like to tell you all about the best and funniest picture for Paramount. Of course, I mean The Caddy. You'll love Jerry and Dean in The Caddy. Take my word for it, The Caddy is the most hilarious picture they've ever made. Come on and join the fun, see Paramount's The Caddy. The Caddy is filled with ninety hilarious minutes of howls, gags, fun, and heartwarming entertainment that the entire family will enjoy. Crazy man crazy. No doubt about it, this is the funniest picture they've ever made. No kidding, folks, they're sensational! Take my word for it. Come on and join the fun see Paramount's The Caddy. Yeah. It'll make you ...well, it will!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
yawn
Jethro_Clampett23 October 2003
this was the first film of the famed martin and lewis team that i've seen. in fact so far it's the only one i've seen. and right now i'm wondering how in the hell did thse two guys build a franchise with this junk? i love the marx bros, the honeymooners, chaplin, keaton, abbott and costello even the stooges, so it's not like i don't like screball antics it's just that 'the caddy' is a really bad film thats even more poorly directed and produced. i hope the next film of theirs i see makes me want to watch a third but right now these two have swung and missed.
6 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Go Golf Young Man! **
edwagreen4 February 2006
A Martin-Lewis silly farce about two losers who are great at golf. Trouble is that one (Lewis) can't shoot well in front of crowds so he becomes Martin's caddy and suffers many indignities along the way.

Jerry Lewis does his usual shtick with great competence. His scene of destroying a department store is so similar to that of a Marx Brothers film.

Donna Reed, an Oscar winner the same year for "From Here to Eternity," is along for the ride as Martin's newly-found girl friend. She was far better off in dramatic performances.

Martin's sister is played by Barbara Bates. You remember her as that girl from Erasmus Hall High School who hides out in Anne Baxter's apartment at the end of "All About Eve." After being in this silly nonsense, Bates should have taken the closest plane back to Flatbush and Church Ave. and resume Erasmus attendance.

Martin nicely sings "That's Amore," which was nominated as best song. Argentina Brunetti, who died in Dec. 2005 at 98, plays his mother.

Fred Clark, who always tried to be serious but would come off funny, is victimized in this flick as the Department Store head knocked for a loop by Lewis.

No hole in one for this flick. Maybe, a hole in the head for making it.
3 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Yep. "The Caddy" Was Even Worse Than I Could've Imagined
Dalbert Pringle6 December 2013
Nope. Jerry Lewis's recyclable schtick (this time as Harvey Miller) as a 20-something virgin and all-round annoyance (with a pigeon-toed run and a decidedly gay streak, to boot) was not my idea of a funny character.

I cannot understand how Lewis (and his totally grate-on-the-nerves screen-persona) became such a phenomenally popular comedian of movies, TV and stage for well over 20 years (from the 1950s through to the 1970s).

To me, Jerry Lewis was just plain dumb and totally unfunny.

And, in The Caddy, if Lewis's asininity wasn't irritating enough all on its own, his co-star, Dean Martin, was one of the blandest, most boring, most talentless actors/singers to ever emerge out of Tinseltown's woodwork.

I am stunned beyond belief that this less-than-dynamic-duo of Lewis & Martin were a mega-popular comedy pair, going strong for close to a solid decade in movies together.

To me, when it comes to comedy, Lewis & Martin were the absolute bottom of the barrel for laughs. Even the dimwit antics of Abbott & Costello faired a helluva lot better than anything that these 2 did.

Anyways - The Caddy's story (what there is of one) is so simple-minded that it can only be described as being nothing but pure brain-dead nonsense.

Lewis plays Harvey Miller, a total golf-nut with serious performance anxiety. This, of course, prevents Harvey from competing on the professional golf circuit and so he teaches his bosom buddy, Joe Anthony, everything he knows about the game and together (with Harvey being Joe's caddy) they go and beat the pants off of every other golfer entered at the all-important Monterey Golf Tournament. (natch)

With absolute lame junk as The Caddy, I wonder how the hell these 2 morons (Lewis & Martin) ever built such a lucrative franchise out of their teamwork that endured for as long as it did.

I found that, on top of the terrible jokes and the preposterous situations that prevailed, there was absolutely no team chemistry, whatsoever, happening between Lewis & Martin. It certainly appeared to me that all they seemed to be doing whenever they appeared on screen together was to try to up-stage each other in any way that they possibly could.
3 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
The original snobs vs the slobs?
lomaran-13 June 2015
Warning: Spoilers
In some Martin/Lewis movies, Jerry is the one that is hard to take but in this one - it is Dean. Dean Martin is a total schmuck through MOST of it. *Spoiler* Jerry is his future brother-in-law and friend, acting as caddy. He is the son of a famous golfer and knows the game but can't play in front of people. He is supposed to help Dean win and then the winnings, when they appear, will benefit the whole family (Jerry then being a part) but Dean meets Donna Reed (AKA money). He appears smitten by the 'good life' and doesn't want to admit to her that he isn't rich, like most of the golfer set, and admit to her too that Jerry is his friend. Jerry, the caddy, is then treated horribly by EVERYONE (even fellow caddies). Dean, when he sees it, allows it and even contributes towards it. To me, this part of the movie is very hard to sit through - though all is well in the end. Donna Reed is not just 'the rich b----' but turns out to be okay. I 'still' don't understand why Dean is so upset towards the end, when he stalks off. Jerry is the one who should be angry. And oh, the reviewer who complained about Jerry's horning in on Dean's songs ... come on - do you really think he was the one to make that call? The studio did. Their movies were, after all, made to make money and Jerry's shenanigans were very popular. Jerry Lewis does have huge ego (to this very day and I am, by no means, a fan) but it really was Dean's idea to end the partnership and there are always two sides to every story.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
A Martin and Lewis Movie…but Don't Tell Jerry
LeonLouisRicci26 September 2014
It May be Hard to Believe Revisiting Dean Martin and Jerry Lewis Today, as a Musical-Comedy Team They were Once Considered the Cream of 1950's Entertainment. Immensely Popular and Rolling Along with the Highest of Salaries these Two Mediocre Talents were what Passed for Genius in the World of Light Entertainment in the Eisenhower Era.

They weren't Bad but Great is not an Adjective that comes Immediately to Mind. Popular is More Like it, and Popular They Were. They Must have had Something because the Box-Office Cash Registers Rung and the Duo were in Demand on TV, Nightclubs, and in the Movies.

This Movie is just One More of the Mediocrities that the Team Produced that was Formulaic to the Extreme and Hardly a Stretch for the Performers. Jerry can get Laughs but the Ego Never Fails to get Involved. For Example, He couldn't let Dino be the Crooner, Lewis had to Sing and Sing a lot. He even had to Weasel in on "That's Amore" with His Obnoxious Whine.

It is Possible that if Lewis could have just let Things Unfold Naturally with the Strengths of the Two, They could have been even More Respected Critically, Better Remembered, and Possibly the Act would have Stayed Together Much Longer.

But Jerry Lewis could Not Help Himself. So in this OK Movie He Warbles Songs and does Everything He can to Upstage not Only Dean but the Whole Movie. Even Donna Reed is Wasted in a Pitifully Bland Role, Fresh off an Oscar. The Fat Man Yucking it Up at Jerry in Every Turn is a Prime Example of the Self Congratulatory Lewis.
0 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews