Fortunes of Captain Blood (1950) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
18 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
5/10
So What Happened To The Jamaica Post?
bkoganbing22 June 2007
As everyone remembers in the classic Errol Flynn version of Captain Blood, he whipped his fellow pirate Basil Rathbone in a dual on the dunes, he took Lionel Atwill's place as royal governor of Jamaica after the House of Orange threw out the House of Stuart in The Glorious Revolution and married Atwill's niece Olivia DeHavilland to live happily ever after. I think it was understood there'd be no more pirating under William and Mary.

Yet here we have Captain Blood, this time played by Louis Hayward, back at his old trade again. I guess politics must have bored him, but what happened to Olivia because Hayward's got a couple of girls panting after him in this story.

The women are the Spanish viceroy's niece Patricia Medina and an innkeeper's niece, Dona Drake. It seems as though several of Blood's crew were betrayed on a shopping trip for supplies and sold into slavery. Doing the selling was George MacReady who's been charged by the King of Spain to bring in Captain Blood dead or alive. He's also got a lustful gleam in his eye for Patrica Medina and who could blame the old reprobate.

Hayward's mission is to free his captive crew members and he has to involve himself with a whole lot of intrigue, political and romantic. In a way he really acts like a heel towards Drake and it does kind of lessen audience sympathy for him.

Harry Cohn at Columbia did not want to spend as much money as Jack Warner did on his version and it shows. Hayward is capable enough as Peter Blood, but I kind of like MacReady in this film, he really does dominate it whenever he's on screen. Alfonso Bedoya is also good as the slave overseer.

When all's said and done Fortunes of Captain Blood just doesn't measure up to what made Errol Flynn a star.
15 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Great adventure is a good follow up to the Errol Flynn movie
dbborroughs26 August 2007
Mostly landlocked follow up to the Errol Flynn movie and based on another novel in the series concerns Louis Hayward trying to rescue a number of his crew who have been captured by an evil governor and forced into slavery as pearl divers. Most of the film has Hayward disguised as a fruit merchant attempting to get information that will help him free his men...while flirting with several women and fighting off bad men.

A mindless swashbuckler this is perfect Sunday afternoon fare, far from taxing it will simply put you into a place far away from all your troubles.

7 out of 10
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Louis Hayward proves there was only one Errol Flynn...
Neil Doyle22 June 2007
FORTUNES OF CAPTAIN BLOOD never rises above being a pedestrian take on the Captain Blood legend originated by Rafael Sabatini in his immortal pirate tale, CAPTAIN BLOOD.

This is strictly secondary stuff, with LOUIS HAYWARD as the doctor turned pirate on the high seas. He's competent in the swashbuckling role rather than charismatic--and there lies the difference between him and Flynn. At times, he seems almost bored with his role.

DONA DRAKE does nicely enough as a peasant girl who flirts with Captain Blood (while he's assuming the name of Pedro), and PATRICIA MEDINA is equally at home in her role as a headstrong aristocratic lady. LOWELL GILMORE and GEORGE MACREADY are likewise competent as the rather villainous men interested only in pearls and wealth--but the story and its characters barely rise above the routine in a lifeless pirate tale.

ALFONSO BEDOYA at least furnishes a bit of sly humor as the prison overseer hoodwinked by Captain Blood (he was the man with the famous line about "We don't need no stinkin' badges" from TREASURE OF THE SIERRA MADRE).

But the saga only really comes to life during the last half-hour, and then it's standard pirate swordplay and cannon fire until the predictable happy ending finds Captain Blood and the aristocratic lady sharing a kiss before the fadeout.

Summing up: Standard pirate tale with only occasional flashes of lively swordplay. As for Hayward, he was much better as "The Man in the Iron Mask".
14 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
The Mis-"Fortune of Captain Blood"
zardoz-1323 June 2007
Warning: Spoilers
A Columbia Pictures' release, "The Fortunes of Captain Blood" (1950) neither boasts the epic scale nor the lavish quality that Warner Brothers' poured into its classic 1935 Errol Flynn original with Erich Wolfgang Korngold's exhilarating orchestral score. Essentially, this thoroughly routine black and white swashbuckler confines itself largely to intrigue on land rather than adventure on the high seas. The budgetary constraints no doubt forced veteran director Gordon Douglas to stage only two less than spectacular sea battles that take place at the outset and during the finale. These lackluster clashes occur with the opposing ships miles apart rather than hull to hull. You won't see any pirates with cutlasses clenched in their scrofulous teeth as they swing from the rigging of their ship to board the enemy vessel.

The pompous Hispanic monarch, King Charles II (Kurt Bois of "The Desert Song"),warns the Marquis de Riconete (George Macready of "Knock On Any Door")that unless he captures lawless Irish buccaneer Captain Blood (Louis Hayward of "Captain Pirate"), the king will strip him of all his wealth and position. Charles II also places a bounty of 50-thousand pieces of eight on Blood's head. Blood has has been devastating Spanish galleons in the West Indies. Blood and his ship the Avenger lie off the island of La Hacha, the most important Spanish possession in the West Indies. They are awaiting a signal from the mainland to pick up supplies and ammunition from a trusted merchant. Unfortunately, it's a trap, and the Marquis bags a boatload of Blood's men. Although we never see them once they wind up behind bars, we learn from the expository dialogue in the loquacious screenplay by Frank Burt of "Barbary Pirate," Michael Hogan of "Tall in the Saddle," and Robert Libott of "Captain Pirate," that these poor souls are forced to dive for pearls in shark-infested waters with slim chances of survival.

Captain Blood refuses to tolerate this unhappy situation. He remembers his own days as a prisoner and he ventures ashore against the advice of his second-in-command to free his men. Masquerading as a harmless fruit peddler, Senor Morales, so that he can have open access to the town, he sets out to rescue his enslaved sailors. Along the way, he encounters a hot-blooded little tomato, Pepita Maria Rosados (Dona Drake of "Road to Morocco"),who takes a shine to him. Pepita's boyfriend is the Prison Overseer, Carmilio (Alfonso Bedoya of "Treasure of the Sierra Madre," who uttered the famous line of dialogue from the Humphrey Bogart classic: "We don't need no stinkin' badges!").

"The Fortunes of Captain Blood" contains few surprises or revelations during its trim 90 running time. A clean-shaven Louis Hayward makes an adequate Captain Blood, but he sorely lacks the charisma of an Errol Flynn. Consequently, Hayward seems somewhat wooden in the role. In his defense, Hayward doesn't perform any feats of valor like Flynn did because the scenarists give him nothing in the way of grandstanding heroics. On the other hand, George Macready doesn't make your blood boil as the villainous Marquis. As the Marquis' relative Isabelita Sotomayor, beautiful Patricia Medina of "Mr. Arkadin" spends more time off-screen than on-screen. Eventually, Captain Blood gets around to wooing Isabelita, but he devotes more time to spunky Pepita so he can befriend Carmilio and orchestrate the release of his men. However, since there is no suspense, Blood has few close calls with his adversaries and rarely appears in jeopardy. The miniature ships look fine, but the back projection aboard the ships when the heroes and villains weight anchor is obvious. The sword fighting choreography is strictly second-rate with the combatants never moving far from where the fight started. The last scene before the final ship battle when Blood and his men switch ships and capture a Spanish warship anticipates the future cinematic antics of Captain Jack Sparrow against the British.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
why has no one EVER commented on this film?
TequilaMockingbird6322 March 2005
There is not even a brief outline? Maybe because it's a typical 1950 B Pirate movie. Pirate guy meets unlikable bad guy meets sexy Spanish girl. Odd British accents, weak sword fights and over the top acting abound. The only reason i even looked up this film was to find out the background of one semi-annoying typical Spanish character actor. Alfonso Bedoya who played "Carmilio" the Prison Overseer. To my surprise Bedoya was accomplished indeed. In The Treasure of the Sierra Madre (1948) Bedoya delivered the famous line about not needing any "stinking badges". He made a number of popular films in the U.S. but a drinking problem destroyed his health. He died at the age of 53. I don't need to go on about the film as no one will probably ever read this. Apparently this film is not popular at all. However! I now have a new respect for the actor i wanted to dislike. Thanks IMDb.
26 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Good family entertainment
elspet-miller23 April 2007
I was in love with Louis Hayward and there is no more ardent love than a seven year old for a Pirate. I saw every film with Louis Hayward that came to the local cinema and I imagined I was the heroine of course! We had American friends and they had a home cinema and I saw this film and thought it was wonderful.

53 years later, what would I think - I hope it would transport me back over the years when the handsome Louis Hayward would be as dashing and romantic as he was when I first saw him. Good swashbuckling adventure. Must have made an impression when I remember it after 53 years.

I know Errol Flynn was the original "Peter Blood" in talking movies but Louis Hayward was the actor whom I saw in the 1950's in glorious colour. Yes, the colours in those movies in the 1950's were wonderful breathtaking after so many black and white movies.
11 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
For the most part UnFortunate...
xerses1328 June 2007
Another low budget presentation from 'The Germ of the Ocean', Columbia. What can be deduced is that these were the adventures of Peter Blood somewhere between the time he escaped slavery and before he became Governor. Any resemblance to the WB CAPTAIN BLOOD (1935) is purely coincidental in that they both featured Peter Blood.

Louis Hayward as Peter Blood seems to want to get this over with and collect his check. His all to quick winning smile seems drawn and tired. His performance has none of the verve that he showed in THE SAINT IN NEW YORK, THE MAN IN THE IRON MASK or SON OF MONTE CRISTO. Patricia Medina also is just putting in time, with a look at me I'm pretty attitude. Only George MacCready really delivers the goods. Of course being the villain does give him extra latitude.

There is something about the 'B' films of Columbia from the mid 1930's to 1950's that is really noticeable, the flat lighting. There does not appear to be any shadows and little shading. Its like they just turned all the lights on and started filming. This does not help either the actors the sets or special visual effects. It sends this picture below 'C' level.

Addendum; Louis Hayward and Patricia Medina made CAPTAIN PIRATE (1952). Columbia added color but little else rating the same IMDb****FOUR (4).
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Memory--can we trust it?
Django692422 June 2007
The previous poster is mistaken if she remembers seeing Hayward in glorious color--this is a black and white movie---and a less glorious B&W than that supplied Warner Brothers' Captain Blood by Ernest Haller and Hal Mohr. In fact, Fortunes often looks like a TV production--and not just because of the poor model work. What isn't typical of a TV movie is the surprising amount of violence--Blood's crew is bludgeoned mercilessly when they are captured, whipped by the Marquis and his overseers, and forced to listen to Alfonso Bedoya's idiosyncratic line readings.

I remember seeing Louis Hayward in The Black Arrow when I was about 10, and thinking that movie a great swashbuckler. Yet when I read the posts about it on IMDb, I wonder if my memory is playing tricks on me as well. Watching a bit of Fortunes on TCM, I rather suspect it is--this movie is pretty tepid, with the chief excellence being Hayward's performance, even though he gets no help from the script or director.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Fortunes of Captain Blood is a Misfortune for Viewers **
edwagreen24 June 2007
The dashing Louis Hayward, who was once married to Ida Lupino, was no Errol Flynn and that's one of the many problems in this very disappointing 1950 film.

Even the so called swashbuckling scenes lack luster. Part of the problem may be attributed to the fact that this film was in black and white.

Patricia Medina's role as a selfish niece, who changes course real fast after falling for Peter Blood, comes on too quickly. In many of the scenes, Miss Medina, an excellent actress, looks like she is in pain or in deep depression. I would probably join her if I had been in this production as well.

As always, George MacReady plays a sinister character quite well.

The slaves in this film don't exactly look like they have suffered under slavery for too long.
8 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Weak but enjoyable
Flash Sheridan22 July 2006
I'm writing this in response to the plea for a review; if anyone has seen it more recently, please chime in. I saw this a decade or two ago on TV, and remember rather liking it, but being disappointed that it didn't follow Sabatini's book more closely. It wasn't quite as weak as I'd expected from a sequel, and Louis Hayward wasn't as weak as I'd expect from a replacement for Errol Flynn. All in all, a reasonably good standard-issue pirate movie; sorry I can't be more definite than that. There was also a sequel to the sequel, based on Sabatini's _Captain Blood Returns_, entitled for some reason _Captain Pirate_, which I remember as being, surprisingly, somewhat better than this one.
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
FORTUNES OF CAPTAIN BLOOD (Gordon Douglas, 1950) ***
MARIO GAUCI23 March 2014
To be perfectly honest, I was not expecting a lot from this one – I was under the impression it would be a remake of the seminal Michael Curtiz/Errol Flynn CAPTAIN BLOOD (1935), but Rafael Sabatini did actually pen a novel bearing its title – since neither the film under review, nor the sequel CAPTAIN PIRATE (1952; whose own viewing would follow presently), have much of a reputation within the genre concerned!; still, their Rafael Sabatini pedigree and the presence of swashbuckling regular Louis Hayward ensured my interest regardless. For better or worse, the fact that both are now available in virtually pristine (if non-anamorphic) editions is due to the massive box-office takings of the recent overblown "Pirates Of The Caribbean" saga!

Anyway, I had already watched Hayward's previous buccaneer venture – namely Edgar G. Ulmer's THE PIRATES OF CAPRI (1949) – and, frankly, was wary of his making a convincing Peter Blood (truth be told, even Flynn's star-making turn had been somewhat overrated!); given that he usually tends to play fops harbouring a revenge agenda, the narrative contrives to put the actor in his element by having the former doctor don a South American disguise for a sizeable part of the duration! Plot-wise, it is – admittedly – no great shakes: a handful of Blood's gang are ambushed when they go ashore and put in chains, so he determines to free them. In the course of the 90-minute duration, he is helped and hindered (often both) by a number of other characters: a bartender, a saloon-girl, a prison warden enamoured of the latter (Alfonso Bedoya), a shifty nobleman, his girlfriend (leading lady Patricia Medina – clumsily named Isabelita!), and the obligatory chief villain (played by the ubiquitous George Macready). Blood's brawny crew, then, typically encompasses all sorts – from Scots to Swedes…and, perhaps mercifully, I only counted two negligible instances of comic relief on their part throughout!

While it may appear half-hearted in black-and-white (especially in comparison with the glowing Technicolor afforded the sequel), director Douglas was practiced enough at this sort of thing (for the record, he had already guided both Hayward and Macready through the monochromatic paces of the R.L. Stevenson adaptation THE BLACK ARROW {1948} and, involving Macready yet again, would follow this with the colourful ROGUES OF SHERWOOD FOREST {1950}) to render the essence of the material via the modest means at his disposal. With this in mind, amid the sheer amount of fun to be had, it was possible to include such striking images as a hanging body casting a sinister shadow over a wall, a guard being set ablaze during the mass prison escape and, in the exciting seafaring climax, a bloodied Macready at the helm of the hero's own vessel "Avenger"(!); interestingly enough, Hayward will be forced to blow up his ship again in the sequel! By the way, I had been led to believe this involved the English King Charles II, but the royal by that name here (appearing in the guise of Curt Bois at the start of the film) actually presides over the French court!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Getting Stone from a Blood
wes-connors26 June 2014
In the 17th Century, daring buccaneer Louis Hayward (as Peter Blood) preys on Spanish ships sailing from the West Indies. The lawless captain sends some of his men ashore for supplies, but they are ambushed and enslaved. Meanwhile, King Charles II hires dastardly George Macready (as the Marquis de Riconete) to track down Mr. Hayward. Although it is considered foolish and dangerous, Hayward decides to rescue his men while disguised as a common fruit seller named "Pedro". The most excitement on land is generated by sexy Dona Drake (as Pepita), who delightfully fills her costume. Higher-billed Patricia Medina (as Isabelita Sotomayor) also wears it well. Producer Harry Joe Brown gives the popular character ingredients for a fun lower budget adventure, but director Gordon Douglas and his team can't quite keep it afloat. Hayward has little spring in his step and the "Fortunes of Captain Blood" trudges through its running time.

**** Fortunes of Captain Blood (5/19/50) Gordon Douglas ~ Louis Hayward, George Macready, Dona Drake, Patricia Medina
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Old hat
dbdumonteil31 January 2012
Gordon Douglas at the time was redoing Erroll Flynn's adventures movies :for instance "rogues of Sherwood" showed Robin Hood's son (!)battling against his wicked uncle ;Hayward was sluggish but Mc Ready was delightful as the villain.

Another character portrayed by Flynn (gloriously) :another Hayward /McReady pairing and another battle.Six men from captain Blood's crew have been sold as slaves and they have got to dive for pearls in waters infested with sharks (too bad,those scenes are not shown;it would have added some suspense to a story which is terribly in need of it) The story is barely entertaining ,compared to the great Blood of Flynn and De Havilland (replaced by Patricia Medina who tries her best but who is not Olivia )
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Drop That Pelican Hook!
Robert J. Maxwell1 December 2011
Warning: Spoilers
Not much is left of the zesty 1935 original in this sequel to "Captain Blood." Instead of Errol Flynn as the handsome, graceful, and athletic doctor-turned-pirate, we have chubby, slope-shouldered, and slow Louis Hayward in an unbecoming wig.

I missed Flynn. I missed his dash, his devil-may-care spirit, his wry wisecracks, his carefree grin, his willingness to do anything for a buck. Louis Hayward has a more impressive voice than Flynn, and his ability to act may be about at the same level, but it takes more than that to be an effective protagonist in a swashbuckler. Pirates leap from ship to ship, and they swing on lines. They don't just mope around reciting their lines.

Hayward is still Peter Blood, bachelor of medicine and master of swordplay, as we are told by one of the heavies at the beginning. But just as the history is about to involve the lovely Olivia De Havilland, the ruler of La Hotcha or whatever the island is called, interrupts and Arabella Bishop disappears from the narrative.

There are some familiar elements -- the ship's crew imprisoned, Captain Blood disguised as a fruit peddler -- but this isn't a remake or even, really, a sequel. In the original, Peter Blood's being a doctor made a difference in the plot. Not here.

It's a tired script, directed by Gordon Douglas, an unpretentious hack. It's studio bound and there is some swordplay -- not very energetic -- and nice support from George Macready, always a serviceable villain, and from Patricia Medina, she of the anthracite irises.

But, overall -- ho hum.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Love 'em and leave 'em
weezeralfalfa15 April 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Despite the ending of the prior(1936) Warner film "Captain Blood", we find the Captain(Louis Hayward) has resumed his piratical ways, except that now he only attacks Spanish ships, leaving British ships alone. Most of the action supposedly occurs on or around the important island of La Hacha, governed by the Marquis de Roconte(George Macready). He keeps a gang of slaves busy diving for pearls, which the island is famous for. Coming upon this island, Blood sends a party ashore to get provisions. But they are surprised by a gang lead by the slave trader George Fairfax,(Lowell Gilmore) and sold to the Marquis. But the Marquis also wants to capture Blood, to win the 50,000 pieces of eight offered by King Charles II of Spain)Curt Bois).......Blood devises a plan of disguise as a fruit peddler, in the main town, across the island ,to hopefully find his way into the dungeon where his men are kept. He makes the acquaintance of the Marquis's ethereal niece, Isabolita(Patricia Medina), who is plotting with George Fairfax to leave the island for Spain, as she fins the island too boring. Blood also meets the cute, very flirtaceous, tavern wench: Pepita(Diana Drake). Fortunately, he encounters her various times during the film. For me, she is the best thing about this film! She also is the girlfriend of Carmilla: overseer of the slaves. In this capacity, she is useful to Blood toward freeing his men, which happens in an unlikely swordfight with the dungeon guards......Blood eventually returns to his ship with his freed crew. But his ship is soon fired upon by the Marquis's bigger warship, and rendered helpless. By some unbelievable sneaky maneuvering Blood and his crew abandon their ship, go to shore briefly, then head for the Marquis's ship, after the Marquis and some crew leave his ship for the crippled ship, believing Blood is still there.(This should have taken place at night, to make it more believable). Blood then finishes off his ship with some cannot fire, the Marquis escaping injury. The Marquis is allowed to come aboard his ship with a few men. He agrees to release the other slaves in exchange for his life. Later, the wench Pepita and the lady Isabelita come aboard separately, to kiss Blood goodbye, as he is about to sail for other parts of the Caribbean, with his new superior ship.......Note that , historically, La Hacha wasn't an island, but rather a port city on the Columbian coast. Like the fictional island, it was famous for its many high quality pearls.......See this B&W film at YouTube.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
"The Marquis' niece in Billy Braggs's place? Ha-ha! That's a rich one"
hwg1957-102-2657042 April 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Captain Blood loses some of his pirate crew when they are ambushed landing on the Caribbean island of La Hacha seeking supplies. Against the advice of his second in command he eventually goes ashore and disguising himself as a fruit seller (called Pedro Morales) engineers the rescue of his enslaved comrades. Which is the main problem with the film as it is set mostly ashore as Blood intrigues to release his men. This takes in the Marquis de Riconete who has been tasked to catch him, Isabelita Sotomayor who wants to leave the island with her beau George Fairfax and a helpful girl at an inn named Pepita Maria Rosados. It is slow going until the last half hour when it comes to life with action in the main town and a battle at sea.

Louis Hayward is adequate as Captain Blood, as is Patricia Medina as Isabelita and Lowell Gilmore as Fairfax.George Macready is unfortunately a bit subdued as the Marquis. He has done villainy much better in other films. Billy Bevan plays Billy Bragg. Much needed liveliness is injected into the film by the lovely Dona Drake as spitfire Pepita.

Based on a novel by Rafael Sabatini the last third of the film almost makes up for the duller early two-thirds of the movie.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Enjoyable
SipteaHighTea23 June 2007
Warning: Spoilers
I enjoy movie. I thought Louis Hayward was very charming with his witty humor and tongue to get himself in and out of trouble and to speak with a Hispanic accent. In this movie, Louis Hayward and his first mate remember very easy about their horrible times as slaves (they were sold into slavery by the English) which is why Hayward had to go back to and release his men even though it might cost him his life. It also seems that Louis raid the Spanish colonies while in the Errol Flynn raided both the English and Spanish colonies. George Macready did play an excellent role in the movie. I recognize his voice, but not his name. The women were also very funny as well as full of pride.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Good, not great, pirate film.
vitaleralphlouis11 August 2008
Louis Hayward stars in this tale of Captain Blood, not a remake of the Errol Flynn movie, but an altogether separate story with the same fictional hero. This involves an episode where Blood has to free six of his men who were captured and enslaved as pearl fishermen -- a lethal line of work considering the sharks. Under the able direction of Gordon Douglas this movie was far better than you'd expect -- actually much better than the cocaine-inspired junk they make in 2008. Now in DVD.

In 1950, good adventure movies were commonplace, so this movie was given some extra hype by Columbia Pictures pairing it double feature with "Beauty on Parade" a semi-sexy saga about beauty contests and how the girls get abused. Odd that I'd remember this second feature after 58 years; not on DVD, cable, or anywhere.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews