IMDb Polls

Poll: Who shall the Simpsons' creators pay tribute next?

This season, The Simpsons paid tribute to Oscar nominated director Bill Plympton in one of their opening couch scenes. Last season, they paid tribute to retiring Oscar winning anime director Hayao Miyazaki with a hallucinatory scene ode to Spirited Away involving Homer. Recently, they created an opening credit "couch season" in tribute to French animator, Sylvain Chomet. Which of these great animators deserve a loving tribute in a future Simpsons' episode? Discuss your animated love over here!

Make Your Choice

  1. Vote!

    Stéphane Aubier

    French director of ... Ernest & Celestine (2012) A Town Called Panic (2009)
  2. Vote!

    Brad Bird

    Ratatouille (2007) The Incredibles (2004) The Iron Giant (1999)
  3. Vote!

    Adam Elliot

    Australian director of... Mary and Max (2009) Harvie Krumpet (2003)
  4. Vote!

    Norman Ferguson

    Dumbo (1941) Fantasia (1940) Pinocchio (1940) Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs (1937)
  5. Vote!

    Mike Judge

    His animation is filled with simple, earnest, hardworking red blooded Americans. Oh and that show with two dimwitted headbanging slackers. Beavis and Butt-Head" (1993) TV series; "King of the Hill" (1997) TV series; Producer of The Animation Show (2003)
  6. Vote!

    Craig McCracken

    The Powerpuff Girls (1998) "Foster's Home for Imaginary Friends" (2004)
  7. Vote!

    Satoshi Kon

    Japanese director of... Paprika (2006) "Paranoia Agent" (2004) Tokyo Godfathers (2003) Millennium Actress (2001)
  8. Vote!

    Nick Park

    Oscar winning director of... The Curse of the Were-Rabbit (2005) Chicken Run (2000) A Close Shave (1995) The Wrong Trousers (1993) Creature Comforts (1989) A Grand Day Out (1989)
  9. Vote!

    Trey Parker

    Matt Stone and Trey Parker South Park (1997)
  10. Vote!

    Katsuhiro Ôtomo

    Steamboy (2004) Metropolis (2001) Akira (1988)
  11. Vote!

    Mamoru Oshii

    Ghost in the Shell (1995); Jin-Roh: The Wolf Brigade (1999); "Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex" (2002)
  12. Vote!

    Marjane Satrapi

    Award winning graphic memoirist turned oscar nominated film director. Persepolis (2007)
  13. Vote!

    Henry Selick

    He is known for his work in claymation. Directed Coraline, Nightmare Before Christmas, and James and the Giant Peach.
  14. Vote!

    Makoto Shinkai

    He is a genius for creating works of animated science fiction where the science fiction is merely a backdrop and his most human of characters struggle with loss, long distance romance, and everyday life. Plus his animation is brilliant in its natural beauty.

    5 Centimeters Per Second (2007); The Place Promised in Our Early Days (2004); Voices of a Distant Star (2003)

  15. Vote!

    Andrew Stanton

    Andrew Stanton and Lee Unkrich

    WALL·E (2008) Finding Nemo (2003) A Bug's Life (1998)

  16. Vote!

    Jan Svankmajer

    Czech animator whose surreal stop-action animated features and shorts into shocked fits of gasps and wide eye wonderment. Greedy Guts (2000) ; Lesson Faust (1994); Meat Love (1989); Alice (1988)
  17. Vote!

    Isao Takahata

    His work touches on the silliness and everyday life of families. His animated antiwar film, Grave of the Fireflies, is one of the most moving and devastating films to watch in the history of the medium.

    My Neighbors the Yamadas (1999); Pom Poko (1994); Only Yesterday (1991); Grave of the Fireflies (1988)

  18. Vote!

    Genndy Tartakovsky

    "Star Wars: Clone Wars" (2003) "The Powerpuff Girls" (1998) "The Grim Adventures of Billy & Mandy" (2001) "Samurai Jack" (2001) "Dexter's Laboratory" (1996)
  19. Vote!

    Shin'ichirô Watanabe

    He's is known for edgy, kinetic action based TV series with a biting sense of humor and some of the best TV scoring/soundtrack in the medium.

    "Samurai Champloo" (2004) TV series; "Cowboy Bebop" (1998) ; "Escaflowne" (1996) TV series; etc....

Recently Viewed