IMDb Polls

Poll: Most Deserving of the Special Achievement Award

The Special Achievement Award is a special Academy Award that is not an annual category. It is presented to those who have provided exceptional contribution to their motion picture. Of the seventeen winners, which do you think deserved the award the most? Discuss here.

Make Your Choice

  1. Vote!

    The Poseidon Adventure (1972)

    To L.B. Abbott and A.D. Flowers for visual effects
  2. Vote!

    Earthquake (1974)

    To Frank Brendel and Glen Robinson for visual effects
  3. Vote!

    The Hindenburg (1975)

    To Peter Berkos for sound effects
  4. Vote!

    King Kong (1976)

    To Carlo Rambaldi, Glen Robinson, and Frank Van der Veer for visual effects
  5. Vote!

    Logan's Run (1976)

    To L.B. Abbott, Glen Robinson, and Matthew Yuricich for visual effects
  6. Vote!

    Star Wars: Episode IV - A New Hope (1977)

    To Ben Burtt for alien, creature and robot voices
  7. Vote!

    Close Encounters of the Third Kind (1977)

    To Frank E. Warner for sound effects editing
  8. Vote!

    Superman (1978)

    To Les Bowie, Colin Chilvers, Denys Coop, Roy Field, Derek Meddings, and Zoran Perisic for visual effects
  9. Vote!

    The Black Stallion (1979)

    To Alan Splet for sound editing
  10. Vote!

    Star Wars: Episode V - The Empire Strikes Back (1980)

    To Brian Johnson, Richard Edlund, Dennis Muren, and Bruce Nicholson for visual effects
  11. Vote!

    Raiders of the Lost Ark (1981)

    To Ben Burtt and Richard L. Anderson for sound effects editing
  12. Vote!

    Star Wars: Episode VI - Return of the Jedi (1983)

    To Richard Edlund, Dennis Muren, Ken Ralston, and Phil Tippett for visual effects
  13. Vote!

    The River (1984)

    To Kay Rose for sound effects editing
  14. Vote!

    RoboCop (1987)

    To Stephen Flick and John Pospisil for sound effects editing
  15. Vote!

    Who Framed Roger Rabbit (1988)

    To Richard Williams for animation direction
  16. Vote!

    Total Recall (1990)

    To Eric Brevig, Rob Bottin, Tim McGovern, and Alex Funke for visual effects
  17. Vote!

    Toy Story (1995)

    To John Lasseter for first feature-length computer-animated film

Recently Viewed