No photo available. Represent Jun'ichirô Tanizaki? Add or change photos at IMDbPro
Down 32,884 this week

Jun'ichirô Tanizaki (1886–1965)

Jun'ichirô Tanizaki was born on July 24, 1886 in Tokyo, Japan. He was a writer, known for By Rickshaw, Torawakamaru, the Koga Ninja (1957) and Hinamatsuri no yoru (1921). He was married to Matsuko Morita, Tomiko Furukawa and Chiyoko Ishikawa. He died on July 30, 1965 in Kyoto, Japan. See full bio »


(age 79) in Kyoto, Japan

Sam Heughan on Joining Vin Diesel in 'Bloodshot'

"Outlander" star Sam Heughan transforms into a supersoldier to hit the big screen with franchise-maker Vin Diesel.

Watch the video

Related News

Around The Web


Powered by ZergNet

Projects In Development

Details only on IMDbPro »

User Lists

Related lists from IMDb users

a list of 569 people
created 26 May 2018

Do you have a demo reel?

Add it to your IMDbPage

How Much Have You Seen?

How much of Jun'ichirô Tanizaki's work have you seen?

Known For


Jump to: Writer | Self
Hide Hide Show Show Writer (60 credits)
 2018 Devil (short story)
 2018 Fumiko's Legs (short story)
 2018 Heisei Sasameyuki (TV Mini-Series) (based on a novel by)
 2017 Between Men and the Gods (short story)
 2014/V The Key (novel)
 2010 Bungo: Nihon bungaku shinema (TV Series) (novel - 1 episode)
- Fumiko no ashi (2010) ... (novel)
 2009 Hakujitsumu (short story "Hakujitsumu")
 2009 Shisei: Nihohi tsuki no gotoku (based on the novel by) / (short story)
 2009 Shisei: Seou onna (short story)
 2008 Shunkinshô (based on the novel by)
 2007 Shisei: ochita jorôgumo (short story)
 2006 Manji (novel)
 2006 Shisei: The Tattooer (short story)
 1997 Kagi (novel)
 1987 Diary of a Mad Old Man (novel)
 1987 Hakujitsumu 2 (short story Hakujitsumu)
 1985 The Berlin Affair (novel "The Buddhist Cross" - as Junichiro Tanizaki)
 1983 Kagi (author - novel, "Kagi"-Tokyo 1956)
 1983 The Key (novel "Kagi")
 1983 The Makioka Sisters (novel)
 1983 Oiran (novel "Jimmen-so")
 1983 Manji (novel)
 1981 Hakujitsumu (short story)
 1980 Naomi
 1976 Shunkinsho
 1974 Kagi (novel "Kagi")
 1972 Hymn (novel)
 1970 Naked Ambition (story)
 1969 Devil's Temple (play)
 1967 Love for an Idiot (novel)
 1967 Daraku suru onna (original story)
 1966 Irezumi (novel)
 1965 The Conquest (story)
 1965 Empty Dream (short story)
 1964 Swastika (novel)
 1964 Day-Dream (short story)
 1963 The Maid Story (novel)
 1962 Diary of a Mad Old Man (novel)
 1961 Okoto to Sasuke (story)
 1960 Chijin no ai (novel)
 1959 Odd Obsession (novel "Kagi")
 1959 Sasameyuki (author-novek-sasameyuki-1948)
 1956 The Maiden Courtesan (original story)
 1954 Shunkin monogatari (novel)
 1952 Okuni to Gohei (story)
 1951 Genji monogatari (adaptation supervision)
 1951 Miss Oyu (novel "Ashikari")
 1951 The Killing of Otsuya (original story)
 1950 Sasameyuki (novel)
 1949 Chijin no ai (novel)
 1934 The Killing of Otsuya (original story)
 1924 Honmoku yawa (play)
 1922 Otsuya to Shinsuke (story)
 1921 Jasei no in
 1921 Hinamatsuri no yoru (screenplay) / (story)
 1920 Katsushika Sunako (Short)
 1920 Amachua kurabu (original story)
Show Show Self (1 credit)

Personal Details

Alternate Names:

Junichiro Tanizaki

Did You Know?

Personal Quote:

When one sees the face of a young, beautiful Western woman in a moving picture in close-up, one often gets a sublime feeling. For some reasons or another, this does not work with Japanese actresses. See more »

Star Sign:


Contribute to This Page

Recently Viewed