Shen Chan (1940–1984)

Down 4,997 this week
Shen Chan was born on March 11, 1940 in Taichung, Taiwan as Chan Yi-cheng. He was an actor, known for Five Fingers of Death (1972), Rivals of Kung Fu (1974) and Godfather of Canton (1982). He was married to Shirley Yu. He died on April 26, 1984. See full bio »


(age 44)

25 Most Anticipated Netflix Releases

Check out the most anticipated movies and series coming to Netflix.

See the full list

What to Watch in October

If you need a break from the spooks and scares of October, we've filled your Watchlist with titles you won't want to miss.

Watch the video

Around The Web


Provided by Taboola

On Prime Video

Do you have a demo reel?

Add it to your IMDbPage

How Much Have You Seen?

How much of Shen Chan's work have you seen?

User Polls


Known For

Five Fingers of Death Wan Hung-chieh
Godfather of Canton Death squad commanding officer
The 36th Chamber of Shaolin Director of 'Wrists Chamber'


Jump to: Actor | Self
Hide Hide Show Show Actor (169 credits)
 2007 The Dream of the Red Chamber
Taoist Priest #2
 1985 Pursuit of a Killer
Uncle Seven
 1985 Disciples of the 36th Chamber
Education officer Sha Duo'er
 1985 Crazy Shaolin Disciples
 1984 Ai nu xin zhuan
Officer Fu
 1984 Ngoh wai nei kong
Uncle Liu
 1984 Lightning Fists of Shaolin
Lu Ching-wen
 1984 Return of Bastard Swordsman
Wudang elder (uncle)
 1983 Liang shang jun zi
Burglary victim's lover
 1983 Shaolin Intruders
Head Abbot
 1983 Bastard Swordsman
Guardian of the Law at Hall of Justice
 1983 Huang di bao zhong
Brothel client
 1983 Tiger Killer
Leader of Zhang Family's Three Tigers / Old Master Zhang
 1983 Shaolin and Wu Tang
Monk Ming-dun
 1983 Holy Flame of the Martial World
Shaolin Sect Chief abbot
 1983 Feng shen jie
Prime Minister Zhao Pu
 1982 Ode to Gallantry
Brother Bai of Xueshan School
 1982 My Rebellious Son
Supporter of foreigners
 1982 Godfather of Canton
Death squad commanding officer
 1982 Bat sap yee ga fong hak
Policeman Chiang
 1982 Coolie Killer
Gor - Wa Hing boss
 1982 Passing Flickers
Fa Hai
 1982 Brave Archer and His Mate
Kao Chen-ao - Senior teacher
 1982 Shaolin Prince
 1981 What Price Honesty?
Prison Governor
 1981 The Imp
Old uncle Han
 1981 The Battle for the Republic of China
Empress Dowager's eunuch
 1981 Bloody Parrot
 1981 Notorious Eight
Blond casino supervisor
 1981 Shu jian en chou lu
Chang Chao-chung's henchman
 1981 Gambler's Delight
Madam Jin's man
 1981 Qian wang dou qian ba
Huang Jiang
 1981 Fei shi
 1981 The Sword Stained with Royal Blood
Chief of Lung Yau School
 1981 The Tiger and the Widow
Dong Jin Piao
 1980 Bat Without Wings
Ghost King (Hell Gang leader)
 1980 Lost Souls
 1980 Hex vs. Witchcraft
Brother Nine
 1980 Chuo tou wang
 1980 Rendezvous with Death
Chi Sifang
 1980 A Deadly Secret
Bo Cheung
 1980 The Flag of Iron
Mi Jiao Kao of Eagle Manor
 1980 Xing mu zai
Lion Head
 1980 Swift Sword
Leng Ruyun
 1980 Claws of the Eagle
Dagger in the Cotton
 1980 Haunted Tales
Ah Cheng (Part 2)
 1980 Shaolin Hellgate
Yin Jixiang's son
 1979 Return of the Dead
Graverobber Da-yan
 1979 The Proud Twins
Villains' Valley gangleader
 1979 A Slice of Death
Dan Tian Gang
 1979 Shaolin Daredevils
Chief of Staff
 1979 The Kung Fu Instructor
Brother faking his death
 1979 The Brothers
Boss Huang Shouren
 1979 The Deadly Breaking Sword
Fan Fei
 1979 Avenging Warriors of Shaolin
Master Chou Cheng
 1979 The Ghost Story
Soldier (uncredited)
 1979 Full Moon Scimitar
 1978 Invincible Shaolin
Grand Master Mai Qi
 1978 Heaven Sword and Dragon Sabre 2
Hero Ho of Kwun Lun
 1978 Heaven Sword and Dragon Sabre
He Tai Chong, head of Kwun Lun
 1978 Qian Long xia Yangzhou
Teacher of governor's sons
 1978 Swordsman and Enchantress
Zombie of the West
 1978 Legend of the Bat
 1978 Shaolin Handlock
Fang Yun-piao
 1978 The Brave Archer Part II
Spiritual Wisdom, buddhist monk
 1978 Soul of the Sword
Challenger in street
 1978 The Proud Youth
Priest Zhishan of Taishan Clan
 1978 Clan of Amazons
Lu Wenhu, Mr. Serpent's South City friend
 1978 The 36th Chamber of Shaolin
Director of 'Wrists Chamber'
 1977 Fo tiao qiang
Mr. Qian
 1977 Pursuit of Vengeance
Gong Sun Duan
 1977 Dreams of Eroticism
Chia Chen
 1977 He Has Nothing But Kung Fu
Chou Pao-An
 1977 Ying zhao ming che
Japanese john
 1977 Judgement of an Assassin
Yen Chun
 1977 The Brave Archer
Spiritual Wisdom Priest Ling Tze
 1977 Jue bu di tou
Tin Pa
 1977 Death Duel
Leader of Black Society
 1977 Assault: The Criminals, Part IV
Tsai (segment "Queen of Temple Street")
 1977 Qian Long xia jiangnan
Tax collector
 1977 Jade Tiger
Liu San-keng
 1977 Clans of Intrigue
Inn Gusty owner
 1977 Feng hua xue yue
Lao San
 1976 The Drug Connection
Lung Tou
 1976 Du wang da pian ju
Li Qi
 1976 The Web of Death
Centipede unit chief
 1976 The Magic Blade
Kung Sun-shao
 1976 Love Swindler
David (segment "Counterfeit")
 1976 Homicides: The Criminals Part II
Loan shark Fa (pt 3)
 1976 Jiang hu zi di
Fan Nan
 1976 Crazy Sex
Opium smuggler (Ling Ling's boyfriend)
 1976 Emperor Chien Lung
Priest / River God imposter
 1976 Si qiu
 1976 Wedding Nights
 1976 Killer Clans
Roc Society chief's right hand man
 1976 The Last Tempest
Chief guard
 1976 The Criminals
Brother Sen (Part 3)
 1975 Cuties Parade
 1975 Jin mao shi wang
Brother Eight
 1975 The Spiritual Boxer
Master Lin
 1975 Tao wang
 1975 Xin ti xiao yin yuan
Adjudant Ting
 1975 Da cu xian
 1975 Da jie an
Police officer Qing
 1975 Qing suo
 1975 Qi mian ren
3rd leg
 1975 Cleopatra Jones and the Casino of Gold
Soo Da Chen (as Chan Shen)
 1975 Evil Seducers
Iron Hat Priest
 1975 Nu bu kuai
Officer Yan Bixian
 1975 Night of the Devil's Bride
Liang Ta
 1975 Forbidden Tales of Two Cities
Old Number Three Wang "Ghost Usher"
 1974 Blood Money
Warlord's Commanding Officer (uncredited)
 1974 The Rat Catcher
Drug dealer in plane
 1974 Sing gei cha low
Sheng Fan-ming
 1974 Sheng si quan ma
Big Black Bear
 1974 Sorrow of the Gentry
Captain Wang
 1974 The Legend of the 7 Golden Vampires
Kah (as Chan Shen)
 1974 Rivals of Kung Fu
Ah Kwun
 1974 Duo ju jie
Gangster with scar
 1974 Heung gong chat sup sam
 1974 Wu yi
Enemy leader in trenchcoat
 1974 Tai ji quan
Master Yuan
 1974 The Golden Lotus
Lu Hua
 1974 E hu cun
Master Jin
 1973 The Bamboo House of Dolls
 1973 Heroes of Sung
Chung Pa
 1973 Yi le ye
Tall rickshaw puller
 1973 The House of 72 Tenants
Brother Shum
 1973 The Master of Kung Fu
Mai Ken
 1973 Xie zheng
Hsieh Tai-cheng
 1973 The Kiss of Death
Atom the Bald Attacker
 1973 Facets of Love
Brothel client
 1973 The Villains
 1973 The Bastard
Ji Wentai (Junior)
 1973 Call to Arms
Prince of Wei
 1973 Ambush
Han Chung
 1972 Stranger in Hong Kong
Ching Ta-chuan
 1972 Wang ming tu
Lau Lo Sham
 1972 The 14 Amazons
Xia Guard of rice depot shooting arrow signal (as Chan Shen)
 1972 Hu lu shen xian
Minister Mi-Chia
 1972 Fists of Vengeance
 1972 The Devil's Mirror
Pai bodyguard #2
 1972 Five Fingers of Death
Wan Hung-chieh
 1972 Xiao du long
Mad Monk
 1971 The Oath of Death
Ma Qing Ting with face covered in blood
 1971 Xie jiu tian lao
Pa Tsan-kuei
 1971 Lei ru fung
Brothel Madam's husband
 1971 The Lady Professional
Shi Yun-pu
 1971 Jin yin chou
Wu Tianting (as Chan Cheng)
 1971 Six Assassins
Yu Li-te - Duke Li's bodyguard
 1969 Ting yin jian (as You Chan)
 1967 An Army of Hundred Thousand Men
Japanese soldier
Show Show Self (1 credit)

Related Videos


Personal Details

Alternate Names:

You Chan | Chan Cheng | Chan Shen


Shirley Yu  (divorced)

Did You Know?

Star Sign:


Contribute to This Page

Recently Viewed