No photo available. Represent Alistair MacLean? Add or change photos at IMDbPro
Up 11,255 this week

Alistair MacLean (1922–1987)

Alistair MacLean was born on April 28, 1922 in Daviot, Scotland as Alistair Stuart MacLean. He was a writer, known for Where Eagles Dare (1968), The Guns of Navarone (1961) and Puppet on a Chain (1971). He was married to Mary Marcelle Georgius and Gisela Heinrichsen. He died on February 2, 1987 in Munich, Germany. See full bio »


(age 64) in Munich, Germany

Vintage Looks: Stars at the Beach

Turn back the clock and hit the beach with some of our favorite classic Hollywood stars.

See the entire gallery

Related News

Around The Web


Powered by ZergNet

On Prime Video

Projects In Development

Details only on IMDbPro »

User Lists

Related lists from IMDb users

a list of 35 people
created 02 Feb 2017
a list of 60 people
created 18 May 2018
a list of 30 people
created 19 Dec 2015
a list of 1024 people
created 06 Apr 2019
a list of 96 people
created 08 Aug 2018

Do you have a demo reel?

Add it to your IMDbPage

How Much Have You Seen?

How much of Alistair MacLean's work have you seen?

User Polls

Known For

Bear Island Writer


Jump to: Writer | Self
Hide Hide Show Show Writer (18 credits)
 2013 Air Force One Is Down (TV Mini-Series) (story - 2 episodes)
- Episode #1.2 (2013) ... (story)
- Episode #1.1 (2013) ... (story)
 1995 Detonator II: Night Watch (TV Movie) (story)
 1995 The Way to Dusty Death (TV Movie) (novel)
 1989 River of Death (novel "River of Death")
 1980 The Hostage Tower (TV Movie) (novel - uncredited) / (story)
 1979 Bear Island (based on the novel by)
 1978 Force 10 from Navarone (novel)
 1977 Golden Rendezvous (novel "The Golden Rendezvous" - uncredited)
 1975 Breakheart Pass (novel) / (screenplay)
 1974 Caravan to Vaccares (novel)
 1972 Fear Is the Key (novel)
 1971 Puppet on a Chain (based on the novel by) / (novel - uncredited) / (screen play by) / (screenplay - as Alistair Maclean)
 1971 When Eight Bells Toll (novel - uncredited) / (screenplay - as Alistair Maclean)
 1968 Where Eagles Dare (screenplay) / (story)
 1968 Ice Station Zebra (novel)
 1965 The Satan Bug (novel - as Ian Stuart)
 1961 The Secret Ways (novel "The Secret Ways")
 1961 The Guns of Navarone (novel - as Alistair Maclean)
Hide Hide Show Show Self (1 credit)
 1976 The Book Programme (TV Series documentary)
- Episode #3.32 (1976) ... Self

Personal Details

Other Works:

Novel: "Santorini". See more »

Alternate Names:

Alistair Maclean | Ian Stuart

Did You Know?


After MacLean's death, author Alistair MacNeill managed to continue writing suspense novels in the MacLean tradition by keeping MacLean's name on the cover. See more »


Ian Stuart

Star Sign:


Contribute to This Page

Recently Viewed