No photo available. Represent Osamu Dazai? Add or change photos at IMDbPro
Down 64,651 this week

Osamu Dazai (1909–1948)

Dazai was born of a rich and mighty family in North Japan in 1909. In 1930, he went to Tokyo to study French literature, but he spent most of his time writing. It was not until his third attempt at suicide in 1935 that his stories were published. His final, and this time, successful, attempt at suicide was in 1948. See full bio »


(age 38) in Mitaka, Tokyo, Japan

Hollywood Romances: Our Favorite Couples

Check out some of our favorite couples in Hollywood.

See the entire gallery

What to Watch in October

If you need a break from the spooks and scares of October, we've filled your Watchlist with titles you won't want to miss.

Watch the video

Around The Web


Provided by Taboola

User Lists

Related lists from IMDb users

a list of 619 people
created 08 Oct 2016
a list of 9 people
created 12 Apr 2018
a list of 30 people
created 28 Nov 2018

Do you have a demo reel?

Add it to your IMDbPage

How Much Have You Seen?

How much of Osamu Dazai's work have you seen?

Known For

Pandora's Box Writer
Human Lost Writer


Hide Hide Show Show Writer (19 credits)
 2021 Teatr Polskiego Radia (TV Series) (author - 2 episodes)
- Trzy widoki na Tokio (2021) ... (author)
- Zatracenie (2021) ... (author)
 2019 Human Lost (based on a novel by)
 2013 Joseito 1936 (short stories)
 2012 ... Hiro! Fujihiro! (Short)
  Dazai osamu tanpen shôsetsu shû 3 (TV Series) (based on a short story by - 2 episodes, 2010) (based on the stories by - 1 episode, 2010)
- Goodbye (2010) ... (based on a short story by)
- Kachikachi yama (2010) ... (based on a short story by)
- Kakekomi uttae (2010) ... (based on the stories by)
 2010 Kaidan Horror Classics (TV Series) (novel "Cherry Leaves and the Magic Flute" - 1 episode)
- Cherry Leaves and the Magic Flute (2010) ... (novel "Cherry Leaves and the Magic Flute")
  Bungo: Nihon bungaku shinema (TV Series) (novel - 1 episode, 2010) (based on the novel by - 1 episode, 2010)
- Guddobai (2010) ... (novel)
- Ougon fuukei (2010) ... (based on the novel by)
 2010 The Fallen Angel (based on the novel by)
 2009 Aoi Bungaku Series (TV Mini Series) (original story)
 2009 Pandora's Box (based upon the novel by)
 2009 Villon's Wife (short story)
 2009 Shayô (novel)
 1992 Hashire Melos! (creator)
 1981 Hashire Melos (TV Movie) (creator)
 1978 New: No Longer Human (novel)
 1966 Kiganjô no bôken (story "Hashire Merosu")
 1963 Mashiroki Fuji no ne (story)
 1949 Goodbye (novel)
 1944 Yottsu no kekkon (story)

Did You Know?

Star Sign:


Contribute to This Page

Recently Viewed