Karlovy Vary International Film Festival

Karlovy Vary, Czech Republic


  • The festival takes place since 1946. Its first two years were non-competitive showcases. The competition was started in 1948 and with the exceptions of 1953 and 1955 the festival was held annually until 1958. From 1960 on to 1992 it was alternating with the Moscow Film Festival, being celebrated annually again since 1994.


Another View

Audience Award

Award of Ecumenical Jury

Award of Ecumenical Jury - Special Mention

Award of Honour

Best Actor

Best Actress

Best Collection of Student Films

Best Director

Best Documentary

Best Documentary - Special Mention

Best Documentary in Color

Best Film

Best Film in Color

Best Student Film

C.I.D.A.L.C. Award

Crystal Globe

Don Quijote Award

Don Quijote Award - Special Mention

East of West Award

East of West Award - Special Mention

East of the West

Emil Radok Award

Eurotel Audience Award


FEDEORA Award - Special Mention


FIPRESCI Prize - Special Mention

Festival President's Award

Forum of Independents

Freedom Award

Future Frames: Ten New Filmmakers to Follow

Honorable Recognition - The Screenplay

Independent Camera

Jury Prize

Label Europa Cinemas
  • The "Label Europa Cinemas" is an intiative of the Association "Europa Cinemas" which supports European films, their distribution in Europe and raises awareness about them amongst the public and in the media.

Life Achievement Award

Main Prize


Netpac Award

Netpac Award - Special Mention

Philip Morris Award
  • The award is presented in the East of the West section of the festival.

President's Award

Region of Karlovy Vary Award

Special Mention

Special Mention (Student Film)

Special Prize

Special Prize for Outstanding Contribution to World Cinema

Special Prize of the Jury

The Best Film Poster

The Best of the Prague Short Film Festival

Town of Karlovy Vary Award

Variety Critic's Choice

Young Czech Critics Jury Award

Historical Timeline

  • For the first time awards are judged by an international jury.

  • For the 35th years jubilee of the festival a new Crystal Globe statuette is introduced based on the concept of the festival's creative team (Ales Najbrt, Tono Stano, Simon Caban, Michal Caban) and which has been designed by Tono Stano.

  • The audiences vote via SMS messages from their cell phones.
  • The FIPRESCI jury wishes to express its interest in the major themes of racism, intolerance and the situation of the minorities that appeared in competition films, such as Smradi (2002) by Zdenek Tyc and Focus (2001) by Neal Slavin.

Contribute to This Page

Recently Viewed