IMDb > "The Grand Tour" (2016) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"The Grand Tour"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsmessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"The Grand Tour" More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 14:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 131 reviews in total 

134 out of 174 people found the following review useful:

Classic

10/10
Author: borislav-us from United Kingdom
17 November 2016

The brand was not so much the name of the previous show... The brand is this lot here making the best motoring show ever. Well done for Amazon who quickly managed to get them on board.

Without any spoilers: It is exciting, it feels familiar - yet new. Thrilling might be right word, but again - even if you sit these three around a table and let them talk about cats for an hour - they'll surely deliver.

I think what most viewers would be hoping for is a fair dose of craziness, but also exploring new heights.

I am not being objective, but yet again, who is? If you loved TG then you'll love GT....

Looking forward to seeing the trio do excitingly new challenges!

Was the above review useful to you?

125 out of 163 people found the following review useful:

Grand Tour has delivered the goods!

10/10
Author: Steve Garrington from Cardiff, Wales
18 November 2016

So there was nothing to worry about after all! After the kerfuffle surrounding the end of the three presenting TG at the Beeb, I honestly thought that wherever they went nothing would be the same again in the motor show universe.

Well I am happy to report here that I was wrong, sorry let me write that again properly. I was WRONG! Yep it needed the capitals.

Amazon threw a lot of money at GT, probably 10 times the budget that TG enjoyed and today there must be some very happy execs in that organisation. The show is at once familiar and different, Richard Hammond's boyish charm (my wife is happy), James May's nerdy appeal and Jezza's sardonic take on everything - all is as it was, but there is also an excitement to GT that TG lacked, a production value that exceeds anything that has gone before as far as a magazine show is concerned.

I'm not going to go into any details, no spoilers here, but the whole show is spectacular, great cars, great music, great scenery and most importantly of all - great presenters. If you liked TG you are going to love GT!

Was the above review useful to you?

121 out of 159 people found the following review useful:

It's like MEGA BUDGET Top Gear.

10/10
Author: Mr_Piggles from United Kingdom
18 November 2016

Imagine what would happen if the famous three were told by Amazon to do what they want and spend as much as you like - because clearly that's what happened here and the end result is AWESOME!

Everything is Hollywood in scale and execution. From the writing to the action set pieces, it almost has a slight Michael Bay feel to it.

All three presenters are on top form but Clarkson is clearly still the star.

'So is it basically just like Top Gear?'I hear you say. And the answer is 'yes', but imagine Top Gear better than it's ever been. The only negative is no Stig. There is Stig-like replacement but it's just not the same.

Otherwise, this show is off to an AMAZING start. Highly recommended.

Was the above review useful to you?

90 out of 124 people found the following review useful:

The boys are back!

10/10
Author: adamw25 from UK
18 November 2016

At last - Clarkson, Hammond and May are back on our screens, and they're better than ever. Considering Amazon's budget dwarfs that of the BBC, you can imagine just how impressive the show is.

They have managed to retain everything that was good about the old Top Gear, especially the humour and the chemistry between the three which made the old show the success it was. My biggest fear was that the new show would lose this and become too 'Americanised'. Fortunately, this hasn't happened.

The camera work is phenomenal and the opening sequence was like something out of a movie. I also think the idea to take the show on the road is a nice touch. An incredible start - I already can't wait for next week's episode.

Was the above review useful to you?

81 out of 126 people found the following review useful:

(If you really are open to other views…) The chemistry has been forced to death.

5/10
Author: evimchine from Germany
25 November 2016

If you really are open to other views: I watched Top Gear since the 2002 reboot, and the two most fun elements were the specials and the chemistry between the believable characters.

But when they realized this, they gradually tried to force it, resulting in it becoming more and more over the top. And in the end it just stopped being believable. Which means it stopped being fun.

In The Grand Tour, they desperately tried to re-ignite that chemistry. (Jeremy says so himself.) But by now it has completely stopped being natural and believable, and is more like someone badly copying a caricature of a nostalgic memory. And all that's left is them looking like they're trying too hard. That's just not fun anymore. And that makes me disappointed and sad.

The other problem that I have is that, given their apparently much bigger budget, having each episode be a special and then some would have been possible. But they just went on doing basically the old format. Which is rather wasteful, financially.

Well, at least their mini-specials each episodes give a bit of joy. I still have hope. I'm just rather disappointed.

Was the above review useful to you?

49 out of 67 people found the following review useful:

what a disappointment

2/10
Author: IgnatiusWacholder
29 November 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Where to start. Well, i had big hopes for the show with the 3 beloved idiots. Now, after 2 episodes, my hopes were shattered. Why? Lets have a look inside, i will briefly point out the differences to the original show, or what the grand tour delivers (or not).

- It is awfully scripted (so was Top Gear, but not that obvious)

- The jokes mostly didn't work

- Its less about cars and challenges

- It doesn't have a tiny bit of the charm of the original series

- The Grand Tour doesn't have the structure, it feels all over the place

- None of the segments really stand out to make it a remotely good show (except for the holy trinity in episode 1)

- It became so childish, even my immature mind cant comprehend such stupidity

In fact, i feel robbed for going premium for this. Actually, all those 10/10 reviews show what is wrong with our society these days. Lets all jump on a random hype train and be blinded by a shiny pile of crap.

I give it 2 out of 10, just for the cars and sometimes the cinematography. Sorry, i wanted it to be more.

Ps.: Shouldn't Jeremy be named Jennifer by now?!

Was the above review useful to you?

58 out of 88 people found the following review useful:

The Grand Tour Is More Than What You Wanted!

10/10
Author: saxbytim from United Kingdom
18 November 2016

From the first trailer we knew this was going to be something worth watching. And it sure was. Clarkson, Hammond and May come back with this refreshing look and take on a car show. The backdrops to each episode look stunning and the guys are on a better form then they ever have been. I'm glad they left the BBC because it gave them time to create something new that was not going to dry out and become dull and also gave us time to get ready for something that will change the way TV is made. Thank you Grand Tour.Is this the same as Top Gear? No and yes. The shows format is altered but their is still a track and a racing driver, The American, who takes over from The Stig and The News is now Conversation Street. If you are hesitant about buying Amazon, you won't be disappointed.

Was the above review useful to you?

60 out of 92 people found the following review useful:

Dreadful episode two

1/10
Author: peteranddaphneforrest from London
26 November 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

After the excellent start made in episode one in the USA the trio came crashing to earth in episode two in South Africa. It was simply pathetic: motoring content was minor and almost coincidental, confined to one Clarkson review of the Aston Martin, the item on smoking tires was more relevant to a program on township culture (sic) and the 50% of the show on the SAS spoof in Jordan was far too long and self-indulgent. The opening banter was good and the jokes about Jacob Zuma very topical and clearly enjoyed by the South African audience. Who is the curmudgeonly version of Stig? He's very unfunny. There is also something significantly wrong with the test track which seems far too narrow and twisty to give the TV audience any impression of true speed. The trio really wasted the opportunity in South Africa: reviewing the huge range of vehicles in the game parks, racing the Blue Train in a hummer to avoid elephants etc. They made no real use of the location. If the next two episodes are as bad I'll be canceling my Prime subscription.

Was the above review useful to you?

50 out of 74 people found the following review useful:

They're Back!

10/10
Author: Brandon Zarzyczny from Williamsport, PA
19 November 2016

It's amazing how well the trio slips right back into top form in the first episode of the Grand Tour. I loved the first episode, and I wish I could watch the rest of the season right now. This show is funnier than most of the comedies on TV, and it has to be one of the most gorgeous shows on TV, as they really spared no expense on the production values. They even have some excellent CGI showing how each hybrid engine works.

The only things missing from Top Gear are the Stig, and the celebrity interviews. While this eliminates some of the excellent Stig jokes, they've replaced him with a named racer to perform time trials on their crazy new track. For the celebrities, they had a funny series of jokes about it, but honestly there's not much to miss.

So overall, I'd recommend this show to everyone, but especially fans of humor, cars, and travel. I think I might have a new favorite TV show with The Grand Tour, and I can't wait to see the rest of the season.

Was the above review useful to you?

57 out of 89 people found the following review useful:

Wow! Sublime! Perfect! Provocative!

10/10
Author: somersetboy from United Kingdom
19 November 2016

I just watched an impressive, thoughtful, provocative, memorable, perfect first episode of the first season.

I was not sure what to expect with the trio's new take on what they love to do the most. Actually it was imaginative and provocative enough to show that these three can come come up with the most watchable car programme on earth.

The cinematography was better than anything I have seen before. Even better than the show they left behind at the 'Baa Baa See'! :)

The picture quality was astounding. Whatever cameras and jigs they have used to film the show are probably the best equipment available. The overall visuals look spectacular and 'grand'. Smooth Amazon Prime streaming in proper HD gets credit for that too. Vibrant colours, smooth camera work and not the shaky vibrating car mounted cameras of yore. - Even in this department, it appears as though BBC has been beaten! Even the sound recording felt better. Now, sound recording is something BBC (Baa Baa See) used to excel in. Now, with an iPlayer that does not appear to play full HD and with a sound that feels compressed, Baa Baa See has unwittingly given these three guys an edge over their own sorry show. The audio playback was really superlative in Amazon Prime for what I was expecting for a streaming playback.

Something dreary like a motoring show becomes so exciting with these three. I was completely expecting a few laugh out loud moments. What was actually there exceeded all expectations. I would expect more fun and more laugh out loud moments. I am totally spoilt. Would imagine that eventually, there will be scenes and episodes that sets new heights and standards. Is this a stunt show? Is this a motoring show? Is this a sitcom? Who knows. It is superlative fun: - That is what it is . I cannot wait to watch the rest of the season, as it looks like each episode may have its own unique flavour, because of the changing locations. Wow! Brilliant!

****Just this one show alone makes my Amazon Prime membership worth it****

I have watched more episodes since this review and wanted to report back. Yes, this show is definitely mega fun and it looks like it has been a game changer for Amazon. I would now expect Amazon to throw even more money at not just Grand Tour, but to other potential programming. One the whole I am extremely pleased with Amazon streaming quality. After this, BBC's old version of Top Gear is probably dead. I still like BBC drama as they are more quintessentially British compared to current content on Amazon. I also think that Amazon should try stuff like Jools Holland doing takes on Songs, as an example. I do hope Amazon makes more strong stuff like this! :) Thanks for reading.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 14:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings External reviews Official site
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history