IMDb > Green Room (2015) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Green Room
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Green Room More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 17:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 163 reviews in total 

113 out of 198 people found the following review useful:

This Review is going to be Short and Sweet

9/10
Author: moviewizguy from United States
1 October 2015

Don't let ANYONE spoil you ANYTHING about the film.

Don't see the trailer when it comes out.

Avoid clips and any promo materials they may release in the future.

Go in knowing as little as possible.

Just know that watching Green Room is like getting a shot of adrenaline that doesn't let up until the very end.

It's fantastic, tense, and entertaining.

Take my word for it.

But also...

Don't get too caught up in the hype.

See the film when it comes out.

You'll be glad you did.

P.S. Jeremy Saulnier is definitely someone to look out for.

Was the above review useful to you?

71 out of 130 people found the following review useful:

The Green Room may not be the best movie I've seen this year (although it also may be). It is the most entertaining and thrilling one by far though, that's for certain.

9/10
Author: horrorinpureform from Canada
17 September 2015

A punk band made up of poor friends tours in a broken van, playing their songs at hole-in-the-wall places. They unknowingly are sent to play a gig at a neo-nazi commune. It goes "OK" until they accidentally enter a room where a girl has just been murdered, and are locked inside by the neo-Nazis. A mostly-enclosed game of cat- and-mouse ensues between the band members and the skinheads.

I liked so many things about this film, I will probably forget to mention half of them. The slow beginning which really lets you get a feel for the characters, the progression into an enclosed-location movie for a lot of its running time (I love one-location movies), the "opening a can of worms" moment that just makes everything descend into chaos, and the very funny one-liners which are fortunately very infrequent so they don't hinder the serious mood one bit (quality over quantity). It tried to circumvent some genre conventions and expectations, while still staying true to itself, with thrill scene after thrill scene. It was just flat out entertaining but also very well-made, with unconventional editing between scenes, very interesting sound design, and amazing acting by every cast member. They were all so likable!

I can't really complain about anything on display here, just see this film, it deserves it.

Was the above review useful to you?

35 out of 59 people found the following review useful:

White Knuckle filmmaking at its best

10/10
Author: Deimos-remus from United States
12 July 2016

First off, want to say R.I.P Anton Yelchin. Such a tragedy for someone so young and promising to pass. He was incredible in this, I felt he was really coming into his own as an actor. --- After watching Saulnier's excellent and understated Blue Ruin, the director immediately became one to watch out for. A director that knows how to direct characters with subtlety and nuance, but with intensity and brutality as well.

Green Room is perhaps the most stressed out I've ever been watching a film, and if I'm not clear, that's actually a good thing. Few films ever get such a visceral reaction out of me, but Green Room managed to do that, and then some, delivering on many fronts as a contender for my favorite film of the year. Since the beginning of the year, A24 has been unstoppable, putting out some of the most unique and incredible genre movies to be released in quite some time.

Green Room is certainly violent and grim. Its sense of dread and brutality is unending and relentless, yet never overstays its welcome or becomes cartoonish or fetishistic. It could've very easily gone into Saw, Hostel or Martyrs territory, letting the bloodshed become the most memorable aspect of the experience, but it did something much more. Not only does the brutality feel real and impactful, unlike the aforementioned films, the characters feel totally believable and genuine, completely immersed in their roles. The protagonists are naive and brash, yet fresh and relatable delinquents. The antagonists are subdued, quiet and strategic, yet animalistic and complex. From a character standpoint, it is such a welcome and ultimately more human change of pace.

For a movie so steeped in violence, it's a very humanistic movie, filled with rich and complex characters that feel like they're apart of something completely real and also very intimate and small-scale. The story is not a black and white 'good vs evil' kind of thing, all characters have their own shortcomings and sympathetic sides, making for an incredibly dynamic cast. It's a debilitatingly horrifying film, yet done with the same amount of care and understatement as Blue Ruin. It's a white knuckle thrillfest, and one that pits a lump in your stomach from the intensity witnessed on screen.

Was the above review useful to you?

57 out of 105 people found the following review useful:

Violence at its most chilling and effective!

9/10
Author: WalterSoprano from United States
1 May 2016

I have seen some crazy violent films from cannibal holocaust to a Serbian film but no other film that comes to mind executes violence as un settling as this. For me I mean this in a positive way for others the violence could be the very thing to turn them off to it and possibly ruin the movie. May this be a forewarning for some and a recommendation for those who might be interested.

To start with the usual things to look at as far as acting and writing I would say this film does an excellent job. The acting from all is believable and extremely convincing. The writing is good with some humor and plenty of good dialogue. What the film masters completely is tension. Jeremy has truly shown his talent as a director with this one. The tension and situations that spawn violence are all very believable and realistic only adding to the tension and overall tone. Speaking of tone they set it incredibly well with one of the first acts of violence which will stick with me for a long long time.

Funny thing about this movie is that it's considered a thriller. What I mean by funny is that as a thriller (which it really is) it is more chilling and horrifying than most if not all the other horror movies I've seen recently. There are jump scares but they're done properly. This isn't a scary due to monsters and ghouls though, it's scary because of how realistic and effective the violence is to where it really sticks with you.

As you probably already know this is a film best going in knowing little to nothing to get the full experience, personally I went in knowing more than I should have, however, it didn't matter. I was on the edge of my seat with sweaty palms due to how tense and unpredictable it is. There is a lot to talk about with this film but a lot of it cant be discussed without spoilers so all I can say is see it yourself. If you can't handle violence then I am strongly telling you to avoid this film. On the other hand this is among the best films I've seen this year no doubt. As a display of well executed violence and tension this film will definitely make a name for itself. I hope this is useful thanks for reading and I hope you enjoy the movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

45 out of 83 people found the following review useful:

Tension galore

9/10
Author: Mr_Ectoplasma from New York, NY
15 April 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

"Green Room" follows a vagabond punk band traveling through Oregon, where they book a show at what they come to find out is a neo-nazi skinhead punk club. The show goes well enough, but after they become witnesses to a murder, the group—along with a female regular at the club— are held hostage at the instruction of the community's head honcho.

I went into "Green Room" with little expectations, unsure of what exactly to expect; I'd heard good things about it, and the fact that it was filmed in the area I grew up in further piqued my interest. The film undoubtedly deserves the critical and public attention it's gotten, especially from horror fans, though I'm hesitant to necessarily label it a "horror" film. It's more a suspense-thriller akin to something like "Panic Room," except with a starkly different setting and a group of twenty-something punksters in place of the family home invasion prototype.

What is perhaps most jarring about the film is that its entire premise springs out of a wrong-place-at-the-wrong-time scenario that spirals entirely out of control. The script and direction lend an increasing oppressiveness that comes on like a vice grip; the audience can easily sympathize with the arbitrariness of the entire premise, and the claustrophobic sense of inescapability is well-drawn out on screen. The film is nicely shot with emphasis on darkness and its titular color, and the photography of the landscapes effectively capture the ominousness of rainy Oregon backcountry.

Solid performances from all involved further elevate the film. For a film that's plot is so constricted, the material demands solid performers, and we get that from the young cast, with Patrick Stewart effectively playing counterpoint as the aloof villain-in-charge with an army of intimidating henchmen. The film's finale is extremely effective, and, barring a few convenient plot devices, is more or less believable.

Overall, "Green Room" was one of more tense experiences I've had at the movies in quite awhile. The way writer/director Jeremy Saulnier is able to spin such an arbitrary, unfortunate situation into an oppressive, character-driven splatter thriller is remarkable. It may not be enough to turn off punks from their waking-up-in-urine-and-beer lifestyle, but it's enough to make any prospective venues in the Pacific Northwest backwoods seem at the very least questionable. A recommended nailbiter. 9/10.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Probably the best horror movie in decades

9/10
Author: WakenPayne from Valhalla
24 October 2016

When it comes to horror movies I see either 2 modes - overdone Jump-scares to the extent that they aren't even startling anymore or torture porn. Green Room is something of a completely different entity. This has to be one of the most intense experiences I ever had and it would have gotten a 10 out of 10 if it wasn't for some problems.

The plot is that a rock band is on the road and after doing an interview the guy that conducted it invites them to a hang-out place of his cousin to play their music and they agree because they're short on cash. It so happens to be a gathering place for Neo-Nazi's in the middle of nowhere and they play an anti-Nazi song which goes over slightly better than expected (in the sense they can leave with no injuries aside from one attempted glassing). However things take a turn for the absolute worst when they witness a stabbing and attempts to call the police. From there they're locked inside the Green Room and has people all over the outside wanting to get in and kill them by any means necessary while the band and one other person who happens to be in the way who's NOT a neo-Nazi tries to get out.

Pretty much the beginning and end of the movie are... Well the beginning really didn't make me think highly of what was to come. Pretty much from the point the band realizes where they are is where things get interesting but the true point wherein the movie gets good is them being trapped. It's tense, it's claustrophobic. I seriously had no reaction to a jump-scare - I was that on edge while watching it and it is very unpredictable. Wen it comes to the ending I will say from the point where they get out it loses it's edge but I guess that was only natural considering over half the movie is spent in a tight room and when they get out it's a wide-open forest.

On other levels aside from the tension is really good too. The acting for one thing is completely top notch, the cinematography is excellent and the same can be said for even sound design. It really is a case of if only what happened in the beginning and ending were slightly better because this seriously would be an absolute horror classic. If you're tired of modern horror tropes like I am then I will seriously recommend watching it.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 28 people found the following review useful:

7.5/10

7/10
Author: James De Bello from Italy
13 July 2016

A punk rock band is brought into playing at skinhead club. After their set, whilst hey are leaving the club, by mistake they end up in the wrong room and witness a murder. Tension rises between the club managers and the band who are forced into a room and trapped in there whilst Darcy (Patrick Stewart), the head of the skinhead fellowship as well as the owner of the club, tries to put together a plan before things go too south.

Written and directed by one of the most promising rising directors of this time, Jeremy Saulnier, "Green Room" is one of those perfectly packaged thrillers, with originality of premise and style, perfect pacing and tight well-knit editing and whilst it may be a little chaotic it never looses the investment in character.

One of the big surprises of 2016, after all the buzz I simply couldn't wait to check this movie out, its intriguing premise and unique cast were fascinating and I can confidently say that the film delivers on both.

Whilst we have had many thrillers in the past where people get locked into a room and have to find a way to escape, we haven't yet had one with this unique voice behind it. Saulnier manages to spin around with the premise and deliver a thriller that is stylish without being noisy or overdone. The catalyst of the whole plot works perfectly and the characters who are set up brilliantly in the first ten minutes work wonderfully in this environment.

The instant world building the director manages to convey through visuals is absorbing, it places the viewer right in the middle of the chaos and manages to never loose the geography of the setting. The cinematography of the film early on delivers some beautiful and insightful shots that perfectly serve the story and set up, but once sh*t starts hitting the fan the editing of the film comes majorly into play and does a superb job. The tense atmosphere conveyed through color and pace never leaves the screen and pervades the audience in every second of the movie until the end.

Just as deserving is definitely the make up department which has a couple of really key moments that hit the viewer like a brick and contribute in giving a sense of anxiety and fear that once again is appended to the audience for the whole duration. Ultimately it also comes down to the three central performances by Yelchin, Poots and Stewart, whom are all remarkably great, the highlight definitely being Poots for me who manages to totally disappear in the role to the point that I didn't know she was in the film until I read the cast list. I have been a big supporter of her and can't wait to see what she gives us in the future.

Where the movie slightly looses its flow is in clarity of motivations and the logistical movements where I found myself repeatedly uncertain. As I said before, you never loose the thrill nor the location and empathy for the characters, you are always behind them and want them to get the fu*k out of that hell. The problem resides in the fact that too many times I was unclear on why what was happening was happening, why were the skinheads acting the way they were and why were they going batsh*t crazy. This also takes something away from Stewart's performance which on its own stands as great, yet never really plays into the big picture because of the chaos which ensues not being ever understandable by the audience.

"Green Room" still remains a more than worthy effort, a great thriller, a fantastic lesson in editing and a magnificent does of anxiety and adrenaline.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Extremely violent, gory but wildly exhilarating from beginning to end

9/10
Author: Screen_Blitz from United States
26 September 2016

Director Jeremy Saulnier exercises high pressure suspense and astonishing realism in this white-knuckle thriller following his surprising success with the ultra-violent 'Blue Ruins'. Though it doesn't fall deep in the category of originality or even groundbreaking in any sense, the intriguing fashion in which Saulnier executes this film and the immersive cinematography by Sean Porter used to capture the harrowing intensity and gloomy visuals result in a highly effective slasher treat; and even labeling the results effective feels like an understatement. While the shocking level of bloody violence and gore more than not make this tough sit-through, especially for the weak stomach; Saulnier pervades a true sense of realism in a way in which the film never feels exploitative, but wildly authentic. So this film follows a punk rock band consisting of twenty-something year olds including lead singer Tiger (played by Callum Turner), guitarist Sam (played by Alia Shawkat), bassist Pat (played by Anton Yelchin), and drummer Reece (played by Joe Cole). When the band is offered a gig by a radio host named Tad, they find themselves performing at nowhere other than an old bar run by neo-Nazi skinheads. After a successful performance, the band and their friend Amber (played by Imogen Poots) rushes out to their green room where they witness a murder by the hands of a sadistic skinhead. In fear of being held responsible for the murders, skinhead leader Darcy Banker (played by Patrick Stewart) arrives an orders his gangs to eliminate the witnesses, leading the band to a bloody fight for survival.

Jeremy Saulnier grants this intensely violent thriller with a gift to not only leave viewers shocked and squirming in their seats, but present an atmosphere so visceral to the point of giving viewers the feeling of not watching a gruesome slasher, but a real-life event unfolding on camera; and the scariest aspect of this film how brutally realistic it turns out on screen. Saulnier does such an amazing job on capturing the brutal intensity of each moment as the characters desperately battle their way through a violent bloodbath against a gang of white supremacists that threaten their young lives, and the camera work done by Sean Porter makes for great use to capture these dreadful moments. At various moments, the film intensifies to the point where you may constantly remind have to yourself you are not trapped inside the bar with the characters. While Saulnier's execution and Sean Porter's cinematography do justice, they only make up the half of the equation. The latter half is successfully achieved by Saulnier's screenplay. Instead of relying on the usual slasher horror stereotypes like the jock, the pot smoker, or the hot chick, Saulnier populated the film with characters that feel very believable and the dialogue these characters deliver more often than not feels typical to real-life college kids, thus adding to the insane realism. While the performances the actors are decent, the biggest stand out by far is Patrick Stewart, suiting the role of the main antagonist. Stewart gives a truly haunting performance as what is a major departure from his usual typecast. Though his character is limited to do nothing but giving orders, the portrayal Stewart lands as this character truly hits hard.

Green Room is an exhilarating slasher-horror thriller with a constant sense of fright and thrills, making it one of the most spine-chilling horror films to be released in recent years. Though the extreme violent and realistic depiction of gore can may make this one a difficult sit-through, it is a must-see for all horror fans.

Was the above review useful to you?

63 out of 121 people found the following review useful:

The critics must have been paid off, but what about the IMDb users?

1/10
Author: maestro7PL from Sherman Oaks
11 May 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Let me start off by saying that I am a fan of horror films. The trouble is they are rarely good. This piece of excrement is even miscategorized. It is not a horror film at all. There is no story, there are absolutely no thrills, no scares, no characters of any interest, and the cinematography is so dark throughout that it is impossible in some scenes to make out what is happening. More than an hour of the film takes place in one room. The actors mumble their lines. The film is dull from beginning to end. Do not waste your money on this impostor of a movie. What is Patrick Stewart doing here? He is totally miscast as a Neo-Nazi. I don't think it is possible to add spoilers to any reviews of this film, because nothing happens. This was 95 minutes of my life that I'll never get back!

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

A Brilliantly compelling thriller

7/10
Author: Tom Dooley from London, United Kingdom
25 September 2016

A punk band are on tour trying to build up a following and get the 'vibe' going. It is going down like a pork pie at a bar mitzvah and then they get offered an actual paying gig; only it is out in the wilds of the Pacific North west of America. On arrival it looks a bit down market to be honest.

Then they sort of realise that they might be playing to some sort of white supremacists or something and yet decide to carry on – after all they are guaranteed a pay day. Then they stumble into a room where a crime has been committed. Now they are the only non locals to have seen it and all of a sudden they go from being guests to being in deep trouble.

Now I thought this was going to be a slasher horror type and so was a bit non plussed at the thought. However, it is a rollicking and very tense thriller. There are some superb performances here too. Macon Blair as the well meaning MC is superb – but he is always excellent and Patrick 'beam me up Scotty' Stewart (I know he doesn't use that line) is deliciously ambiguous. This is a case of ordinary people having to do extraordinary things and it all hangs together really well – so an easy one to recommend.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 17:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history