IMDb > War on Everyone (2016) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
War on Everyone
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
War on Everyone More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 20 reviews in total 

30 out of 52 people found the following review useful:

I get the joke...so why wasn't I laughing?

3/10
Author: cinesocialuk from United Kingdom
8 October 2016

Despite a strong, anarchic start, which got me laughing, I felt uneasy watching this comedy.

Why did the smartly exaggerated, anti-authority gags that would inevitably follow the exploits of two corrupt, lazy cops fail to flow?

What we get is infantile, juvenile and sometimes blatantly nasty economy pot-shots at Muslims, the English aristocracy (whose addition is unaccountable), the country of Iceland, obese children and, of course, the US police who are "all fat racists". Now there's a witty and sharp observation...no one will say. Ever.

If I've lost my sense of humour, where? Probably on the train as I travelled out to see this as my home cinema wasn't screening it.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Crazy Wonderful!!

Author: yossarian100 from usa
8 January 2017

Two Wild and Crazy Guys who pull out all the stops is what John Michael McDonagh had in mind when he created this totally outrageous over the top masterpiece.

I loved the chemistry between Alexander Skarsgard and Michael Pena, I think more than any buddy movie I've ever seen, except for maybe "Freebie and the Bean," with Alan Arkin and James Caan. They were just great together, and together they hit this one right over the center field wall.

I'll own this because I definitely plan on watching it again and again. If you like black comedies where they've thrown out the rule book, you're going to love this.

My highest recommendation for pure unadulterated entertainment.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Love These Guys!!

8/10
Author: bpwaite from Canada
10 January 2017

You have to be over 40 to understand this movie....I could have watched it another 10 times to get some of the foreshadowing that I missed.

It's not too over the edge...but just enough.

The movie moves at a good pace too keep you wanting more.

And you may hate these guys at first....but you will like them in the end.

I don't usually write reviews....but I thought this was worth it.

The acting was good....and action was perfect.

Can't wait for #2!!

PS... Have a beer and a puff....will make it even better!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

How are people rating this so highly?

2/10
Author: moive_dood from United States
9 January 2017

This was an utter waste of time. It was so bad I'm angry I sat through it waiting for it to achieve the 6.1 rating it currently has.

I don't mind bad movies when they're funny or have some redeeming qualities, but this has none. Far too many names were attached to this movie for it to be so bad. At no time did you feel anything for any of these characters.

They threw every cliché storyline at it, but then resolved the entire movie in the last 7 minutes. Save your time and do some laundry. Watching your clothes spin around in the machine would be more entertaining.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 25 people found the following review useful:

Crazy friggin' movie... I loved it!

8/10
Author: Zkot Pen (zkot@lechantier.com)
5 January 2017

I agree with the review "Unstructured Mess," by Greg from Ontario.

Except I come to a much different conclusion: This is simply cinema showing us the utter meaninglessness of it all -- not necessarily a point I agree or disagree with. So we must endure it all, strange, bizarre, baffling, stupid, ridiculous, and so on, all in the midst of an utter wasteland. As such, we can only live in the present moment, the best we can.

The soundtrack is over the top, with its Latino/Rock/Glen Campbell mix. The music makes the meaninglessness bearable!

So as Greg from Ontario writes, it's pure, unstructured mess.

In my opinion, that gives you two choices:

Take it or leave it!

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 27 people found the following review useful:

War on Everyone...including the audience

2/10
Author: happy_hangman from United Kingdom
17 October 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

John Michael McDonagh's 'War On Everyone' is great disappointment after 'The Guard' and 'Calvary'.

There's a line early in the script, as two toked-up minor villains peruse a porno, where they complain that the medium has eschewed action for plot: "Without a good script, you ain't got nothing!' This film HAS a good script...or a least the makings of one, and the occasional sizzling one-liner...but it's nowhere near as smart or sassy as it clearly thinks it is.

It's let down woefully by leaden plotting, unlikable characters and very little chemistry between the leading players. Michael Peña's coarsely erudite character is excellent with his screen spouse, Stephanie Sigman - and the film wold have benefited greatly by more of their repartee - but there's no such spark between him and Alexander Skarsgård.

Serial mumbler Caleb Landry Jones minces his way through what COULD have been a memorable role as the main villain's camp henchman - the script seemingly required to mention that his character is American at every opportunity: just as well, you'd never have known, otherwise.

Also, sadly, when the thin plot becomes just too threadbare, the easy Boom-Boom, Bang-Bang option is deployed, too easily and too frequently - in fulfilment of the earlier Porno Prophesy, it seems. Tessa Thompson is beguiling and tries very hard to make the best of a bad job, and is the only redeeming feature of this tired mess.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 33 people found the following review useful:

The worst film I've seen

1/10
Author: grant-wray from United Kingdom
8 October 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I don't know where to begin. And neither did the director of this film. Perhaps the least specific criticism of this film is that it is described as "comedy". It failed to raise even a smile for me. I heard the rest of the audience of 6 chuckle a total of 6 times throughout the film. Was it intended to be a comedy? I'm not sure - I don't think child pornography has any place in a comedy whatsoever and calling random things "racist" every five minutes just isn't a joke. The goes double when the film then goes on to be exceedingly racist itself. Then there is the flow of the film itself. It starts with a scene that simply fails to engage the audience with any kind of empathy with the lead characters. It utterly fails to explain their motivations. Then the rest of the scenes jump around like a loosely themed collection of sketches, jump cutting from one to another with no logical story development. The soundtrack was misbalanced and brash, the segue between tracks was non-existent - jumping from thrash metal to country and back again with no regard for pace or sympathy. To pour petrol on the flames, the film even had a BFI stamp on it. Just W T F? That's usually a seal of quality. This film has zero redeeming qualities. Absolutely none. Although some sympathy with the leads does develop, it's only in the closing 10 minutes, and even then it's only very shallow.

My recommendation would be to avoid this film at all costs.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 26 people found the following review useful:

Very funny and entertaining - for some people.

10/10
Author: benbar777 from Massachusetts
5 January 2017

This was a great movie! Why? Because I'm a misanthrope, and this movie was made for me. The people who have been giving this film bad reviews miss the whole point of comedies such as this, and others, that target a specific type of person with a specific type of humor. Some comedies are universally funny to most everyone, and that's okay, too. But this movie is not one of those. Personally, I've never understood why a male who was offended or disappointed by a film that was clearly made to entertain a female audience, takes the time to review the film and trash it. Hey guy! The movie was not for you, so stop hating on it. Me, I loved this film. But again, I have a misanthropic sense of humor. If you don't, then don't watch the movie. If you do, have fun :)

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 28 people found the following review useful:

Awful and the worst film I've seen for years

1/10
Author: agfield from UK
14 October 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I saw the trailer for this a couple of weeks before its release, and it looked as if it had a little more substance than it ultimately provided. A scene very early on - I mean within the first 3 minutes - where the police lieutenant declared that 'he was married to a chink' sowed the seeds for the racist, homophobic, misogynistic and shameful drivel that was to follow.

This was definitely a case of a director thinking he's smarter than everyone else, and deciding that he will appeal to the nastiest and most twisted nature of his viewers - whilst a very small handful might have giggled, I suspect most would have been appalled. The acting was nothing short of terrible, and I find it hard to comprehend the swooning that takes place around Alexander Skarsgard - he is a pitiful actor, as demonstrated clearly in Tarzan, and whilst he clearly 'works out' he has a head the size of a pea on the top of his very muscular body.

There have been many 'buddy cop' movies, but I really cannot remember one quite as tasteless as this. I was really tempted to walk out of the theatre, but felt I had to watch to the bitter end just in case the movies declared a modicum of decency towards the end - it didn't, and I can only recommend that people save their hard earned cash

Was the above review useful to you?

22 out of 44 people found the following review useful:

Unstructured Mess

3/10
Author: Greg (gregmoroberts@yahoo.com) from Oakville, Ontario
15 October 2016

Before we even get to our review of War on Everyone, we urge those who have yet to see writer/director John Michael McDonagh's previous works – Calvary, The Guard – to take the time to seek, relish and savor two of the best hidden gems of films that have sneaked in and out of our playlists for the past few years.

McDonagh's latest, War on Everyone, is a cop/buddy comedy that pairs actors Alexander Skarsgård (True Blood) and Michael Peña (End of Watch, The Martian) in a story about two corrupt officers who eventually meet their evil match in present day New Mexico.

Terry (Skarsgård) and Bobby (Peña) seem to have come from the Alonzo Harris School of Policing. That is if Alonzo Harris worked for Police Squad! Terry and Bobby run rampant through the city they are sworn to protect with reckless abandon. They drink and drive, do drugs, threaten criminals and generally just break all the rules in the police handbook between reprimands from their commanding officer played by Paul Rieser (Aliens).

Terry is the heavy drinking womanizer that has the intellect of a Joey Barone. Bobby is the (supposed) smart one who has a family consisting of a wife and two boys that he throws verbal barbs at like he was auditioning for Bad Santa 2. But while on the job, the two are more alike than different in that their goal is to survive each day with civilian disregard.

So the two sniff, drink, shoot, smash, punch, kick and speed through daily challenges all of which seem stitched together without any true cohesive narrative. Whereas this year's The Nice Guys had a dense story coupling two unlikely characters in a plot that develops and builds on each new character introduction, War on Everyone instead treats each new scene and character like a disposable Saturday Night Live skit. Even the two leads don't look like they are having much fun as they plod through the shallow script pages. Only Malcolm Barrett, who plays informant Reggie, shines with scenes that have any appreciative value.

The film ends up being a convoluted mess. John Michael McDonagh can write. His previous efforts confirm that statement. And War on Everyone should have been something that would fit his style. We had hoped to see how a foreigner would write a movie about American violence and policing. Instead, we got War on Everyone, a movie that is so awkward and contains so many scenes that seem so distant from the one just before that it takes McDonagh down a long snake in the Snakes and Ladders Hollywood game.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history