IMDb > Outlaws and Angels (2016) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Outlaws and Angels
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Outlaws and Angels More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 28 reviews in total 

27 out of 44 people found the following review useful:

Let it Stand Alone

8/10
Author: brockleyavenue from Australia
15 July 2016

Personally, I was enthralled with this Western from the start and stayed that way. It delivers twists and turns that keep you planted to your chair, and after reading some of the reviews of others, I was surprised at the 'nic picking' that went on while comparing it with the 'Hateful Eight". This movie stands on its own, and if H8 hadn't of been out, then I feel the reviews would have been more favourable. I thought it was great...it certainly turned corners and ventured into areas that would/or may offend others, yet being a lover of good movies, this 'epic' kept me glued to the screen. It is certainly well worth the watch, so you can determine for yourself.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 27 people found the following review useful:

Good western

8/10
Author: Gary from England
29 July 2016

An excellent low budget western, shot in the style of your favourite 70's westerns. I can't believe some of the negative reviews. It is well acted, well shot with some great thoughtful moments and has a nice flowing style with a few twists and turns. I really enjoyed this film leading up to a great last half hour.

It helps being a huge fan of westerns but I think some reviewers think the western starts and finishes with the Hateful Eight.

This film deserves more than 5.4. If you are a fan of westerns check it out. If you are 16 years of age move on,,

Can't wait to see more from this writer director.

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 29 people found the following review useful:

An ultra violent, psycho-sexual art house flick. Totally unique

10/10
Author: John Finej
6 August 2016

I think the main problem when it comes to the bad reviews here is that many folks watched this expecting a western and it's only a western because of the time period. The story isn't for fans of westerns, clearly, and people expecting the same old satisfying formula plot points in a normal western are going to be sorely disappointed. This is a wild ride. Fans of Bad Lands, Killer Joe, Natural Born Killers and Goodfellas will have more in common with this than anyone else. Acting is incredible. Story is totally surprising and unique. And that gorgeous and grainy 35mm film is absolutely stunning. Not for the faint of heart, but a damn good ride.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Cliché

1/10
Author: Watcher 42 from Sweden
31 December 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Full of SPOILERS!!

Just another bad "rape and revenge" move with the classical characters, the ugly, the dumb and the sexy bad boy leader. The bad boy who has no second thoughts about killing anyone man that gets in his way, but wont harm any women. No surprises here (except that the sheriff goes posse with his finest shirt on and there are female stretch pants in the late 1800). The bad boy (who always are weak to a female touch) runs in good girl who tames bad boy and and shows that even a out beauty can hide awful cruelness. Has revenge on her wrongdoers with a bloody touch. And as in every r&r move there is a "counter rape", excessive blood splatter on revenging victim, dick shot. Utterly predicting boring. Bad scrip, bad music, bad move.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Fetishist's Gorefest and waste of a few hours.

1/10
Author: Rob Love from Canada
28 November 2016

This movie was awful enough to inspire me to do a public service and warn others away. First let me say the acting is decent as are the shots but this movie quickly devolves from exciting to excessively drawn out soft core porn with a gore furled orgy of an end except that it's not the end, it just keeps going and going with it's awkward out of place music as it tries to be artsy. I guess it worked based on the surprisingly positive reviews.

Don't worry no spoilers if this is your thing, if you like this style of movie then enjoy. The bandits themselves are entertaining at times so at least it had that going for it but the bounty hunters trailing them will undoubtedly leave you wondering what the hell happened on the journey.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Garbage in the Absolute - Strictly for Troubled Minds

1/10
Author: vitaleralphlouis from United States
19 November 2016

We love westerns, but lately the low-budget filmmakers have substituted brutality, cruelty and depravity for the previous heroism and brotherhood we've enjoyed for decades. May I tell you about this one>? (Spoilers!) While robbing a small bank, the robbers unknowingly murdered a teenage girl. After hightailing it out of town they meet an elderly couple they previously know. They shoot the man in the head, then as the woman runs away, they shoot her in the back, twice. (Sweet!) This was so they wouldn't "talk" although if they'd have talked they had no information to give the sheriff anyway.

From there they invade the home of a very poor preacher and his family. Make no mistake, the filmmakers really "get off" on the humiliation of these people, which anyone liking this film will appreciate. Here you'll see feminism 2016 western style: the rape of a 15 year old as her parents hopelessly watch. (Charming!) From there we have a teenage girl shooting her kid sister in the head. (delightful!) The promised unusual sex scenes include man-on-man rape as well as finger-rape (possibly a screen breakthrough worthy of an Oscar!).

At about this point, we left the depravity to others.

I noted that the movie had 14 Executive Producers (seriously). They must have emptied the nuthouse. I kept wishing Marshal Dillon would come along and shoot the whole bunch; along with those who rated this movie with high marks.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 21 people found the following review useful:

Fantastic homage to classic westerns

8/10
Author: singleyem from United States
31 July 2016

I absolutely loved this movie. Initially I wasn't so sure about it because the way it's filmed at first glance makes it look low budget but as it progresses it's apparent that they were attempting to make it look older like a classic western. The movie is funny, thrilling, shocking, gritty, and gory, all things I love. The script and acting were brilliant. I loved most all of the characters even the ones you are supposed to hate just because they were so well portrayed. The scenery is really beautiful as well. This movie reminds me of the old westerns I used to watch with my dad but at the same time feels up to date with the advances in acting, plot, and originality.

I saw someone else comparing this to The Hateful Eight. I have to completely disagree with them. This is so much better than that movie. The Hateful Eight was highly disappointing: too long and drawn out, mostly boring, and not really funny. This movie is not in any way boring, it is clever, funny, and entertainingly shocking.

The two issues I did have with this movie are:

1. Luke Wilson--he sucks as an actor and I was annoyed when they switched to the scenes with him. Luckily he isn't a major player in the picture. 2. While the turn of events at the end did have some entertainment value, part of me feels it would have better had they ended it just before the last bit. It just seemed like maybe they were trying a bit too hard. Plus taking that part out seems to fit more with the traditional ending to a western. But still it's good as is.

8 out of 10. Would have easily given it a 9 without Luke Wilson.

Was the above review useful to you?

Classic homage to Peckinpah with real issues

10/10
Author: Joel Dodd from new zealand
5 January 2017

If you are oblivious of the heritage of westerns as a genre, then many aspects of this movie may not be relevant. If you try to avoid real issues around domestic violence and "Christian" role models molesting their daughters, then you will find this movie confrontational. That said, the plot is well-crafted, the acting is excellent and the themes that the movie deals with, while unpalatable to some, are very real in our communities, and always have been - just not talked about openly. Family secrets, closets of skeletons. This story is about a young woman who sees a chance to escape from her less than ideal family life, and exploits the opportunity. Yes, the movie does have a few weak points, but they do not detract from the strengths of the cast and direction. Scenes of violence are reproductions of the classic Peckinpah style, and remain in context of a thread of dark humour running through the movie that surfaces most frequently in the development of the outlaws' personalities. I rate it 10 not as a perfect movie, but one that is well crafted and holds a mirror to the false morality of families who mask their abusive relationships with a veneer of respectability. If you give credence to those who rated it less than 3, you should see more classic westerns (sixties to eighties), research rates of incest and domestic violence, and read "Tess of the D'urbervilles" - not a western, but a classic of social mores and what a woman can do to escape social judgment. As a comparison, Francesca Eastwood made a better western than her brother Scott. She has truly earned her Eastwood stripes.

Was the above review useful to you?

Porno Unchained

2/10
Author: mike3386 from United States
2 January 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

As an aging Western fan, just consider me a lone sentinel standing watch against this current spate of other movie genres masquerading as Westerns. THIS MOVIE IS NOT A WESTERN.

This movie contains a purely pornographic plot and script, even if the visuals might somehow escape an XXX-rating . . . its R-rating makes a joke of the MPAA film rating system.

It is almost impossible to find a shred of redeeming value in this movie . . . perhaps it was the oddity of finding the beautiful daughter of Clint Eastwood, Francesca Eastwood, appearing on screen with her mother in a cameo role, Frances Fisher – "Unforgiven" (1992). Well, the dialog was so mumbled, so garbled, so poorly delivered and edited that much of it was unintelligible . . . and that is a good thing.

This movie works diligently to destroy everything we Americans regard as sacred, e.g., parenthood, Christianity, family, home, and childhood. Retribution? There is none.

Director J. T. Mollner's first full-length movie, and maybe his last?

Was the above review useful to you?

Most people cannot handle the truth!

9/10
Author: urena-2 from Michigan, USA
26 December 2016

The problem here is that, like the saying goes: "Most people cannot handle the truth!" But this movie shows an inner evil common to most humans, yet, suppressed, that results uncomfortable, heck, even unbearable to most.

Great plot, unpredictability, superb acting and the truth about sinful humanity... the humanity that has driven dictators, politicians, leaders of all kinds, religious leaders, tribal lords, settlers... But like I said before, it is hard to swallow, because this movie shows us to ourselves like a mirror... People, get ready for a movie rarely seen, that will get better ratings with time, because it is "the naked truth! about sinful mankind"

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history