IMDb > London Has Fallen (2016) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
London Has Fallen
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
London Has Fallen More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 40:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 391 reviews in total 

366 out of 581 people found the following review useful:

Cringe-worthy, cliché-ridden, blatant propagandist cash-grab.

1/10
Author: I Watch from Portugal
3 March 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

SPOILER FREE ZONE

Do not watch.

Seriously, I warned you. This movie is so bad I felt the need to create an account on this site to tell people the truth about it.

If you're a citizen of the USA who is overly nationalistic, if you buy into the hype of famous actors who end up having less-than-average performances, if you just started watching movies last year and aren't yet familiar with all the clichés you will find in this movie, if you think a blurry, confused action scene is a good action scene, and if you don't mind the poorly done CGI explosions and the plot-holes, then this movie is for you.

If not, and if you're really curious about it, just watch the trailer. The entire movie is there anyway.

SPOILER ZONE

Here is how it goes: Main character is a typical American-marine-special-agent kind of dude. He is a reckless, aggressive, dominant alpha male that can't go one minute without saying a cheesy one-liner. In fact, almost all his dialogue are cheesy one-liners. He has a pregnant wife, which is the typical stay-at-home American mom who cares for his husband.

Then there's the typical strong, maternal black women who dies courageously, the typical hot white girl female fatal which you "do not f*** with", the strangely naive USA president who is afraid to pick up a gun and shocked that so many civilians have died because of him (yeah, right), the typical eastern villain that hates America, the faceless enemies with storm-trooper syndrome, the traitor that thinks the system is flawed and accepted a bribe, and Morgan Freeman, who is presented as a major character but ends up playing a very minor role that could be done by any novice actor. Yes, from now on, beware of films with Morgan Freeman. It's not the first time (I'm remembering Oblivion, with Tom Cruise) that his face is plastered all around just to make the movie sell, but ends up being an insignificant part of it. He may have played great roles in the past, but now it's clear he is riding his own fame.

Even then, Morgan Freeman is probably the best actor there. Others are just not competent. Part of the blame is on the dialogue. It's too cliché and far-fetched. As told before, Gerard Butler does nothing but throw down one-liners. He has one or two facial expressions: The angry look and the tender, loving father look. Which makes him an one-dimensional character that you won't be able to build an emotional connection with. He is also an insufferable Mary Sue. The USA president, on the other hand, is pathetic. They try to make him a determined, strong American leader, but the contrast with his best man is just too big. It makes him look tiny, fragile and incompetent. There is not much to say about other actors. All of them play minor roles and are easily forgettable. And all of them play stereotypical, far-fetched roles.

Then there is the plot. Oh, god, the plot.

It's bad. The pacing is horrible. Action scene, chase, small break, action scene, chase, small break, repeat. Not much happens in between. In part because there is no decent plot. It goes like this: the most heavily guarded funeral in history ends up having some serious security flaws. And all because one dude in the USA security agency betrayed them. That one dude is apparently so powerful, or the security agencies (American and English) are so pathetic, that his simple betrayal goes undetected and cause the entire defense operation to fail. How did he do such a feat? How could half the guards in that day be enemies in disguise and that go under the radar? How could the prime-minister of England "die in his sleep" and then no autopsy having been made in time to clear any suspicions of poisoning? Why is Gerard Butler the only one who "feels" that "something" is about to happen? Why is it that the most important target (USA President) is the ONLY ONE that stays alive, and the LAST ONE that the enemy tries to shoot at? Every single point of this movie is far-fetched.

Okay, I'm aware that this is a mindless action movie, and plot and actor performance shouldn't be taken too seriously. BUT THE ACTION SCENES AREN'T GOOD EITHER! All of them are ridden with that annoying, off-putting blur and camera-shake effect. And they aren't original either. Oh, a last-second save. Oh, a car chase. Oh, the helicopter crashes and they are all alive and without a scratch. Except the black girl, of course. Oh, the enemies just send themselves at the hero at the most stupid fashion and end up dead, every single time. It's tedious, predictable and shows that they are lazy and didn't really spend any time to think on good ideas.

So if the point of the movie is bad, and everything else is bad to, what's good? Well, I find the stereotypical representations of the other heads-of-state to be somewhat enjoyable. There's the female German Chancellor that is clearly Angela Merkel, the womanizer Italian prime-minister that is clearly Berlusconi, etc. But all it shows is that this movie could have been a parody. It is certainly a parody, with all the exaggerated nationalistic lines and the plot and action scene clichés, but it's a parody of itself. Its crucial sin is that it takes itself seriously. But it certainly doesn't deserve more than to be a punchline of a joke. A bad, boring, predictable joke.

Was the above review useful to you?

219 out of 338 people found the following review useful:

A D grade movie that deserves to go straight to DVD and the bin after that.

1/10
Author: phil-sydney from Australia
15 April 2016

If like me, you liked the original, this will leave you greatly disappointed. No breakdown needed. Just mindless cheese through and through. Whilst the original shocked (in particular the opening scenes) with a grandiose, beyond belief terrorist attack, London has fallen shocks with its stupidity, predictability, poor CGI, complete neglect for any realism (not a even a tad!) and tediously boring action scenes that would be more fitting for a new van dame movie.

There's no need to break down this movie and pick it apart. Because the whole thing is just one big, boring mess of mindless BS.

How this movie got over 6.0 is beyond me ! It almost falls into the 'so bad, it's good category', but not quite, so it's just horribly bad and you won't be laughing either.

3.6 Material.

Was the above review useful to you?

209 out of 324 people found the following review useful:

Good Lord, this was bad...

1/10
Author: Mister Co. from United Kingdom
17 April 2016

I love a good, silly, dumb action movie. Truly, I do. But this one was just insulting... I felt like it was written by a bunch of 13 year old boys, cranked up on too much Red Bull.

Totally avoid of any characterisation other than in the broadest possible terms... the dialogue was just horrendous... the plot makes very little sense to anyone with the slightest scrap of brain in their head (what, most of the London police force were taken over by terrorists and NOBODY noticed?)and as for the SFX... you'd be embarrassed if you saw them in an X-box game! I'll admit, there was one good action sequence when Mr Butler and the SAS were advancing on the terrorists lair amidst a hail of gunfire, that was quite nicely done... but five minutes of decent enough action isn't enough to make me think that this film is anything other than an utter turkey...

Give it a swerve, IMO.

Was the above review useful to you?

229 out of 378 people found the following review useful:

Incredibly stupid, typical American crap.

1/10
Author: brian_reid-977-387153 from N Ireland
16 April 2016

Possibly the dumbest movie ever, idiotic plot, American chest- beating, USA chanting nonsense.

There is absolutely nothing in this film remotely believable, and after the nonsense in the first one, you have to hope that this is the end of the franchise. What shocks me most is the appearance of Morgan Freeman in this movie. Is he so hard up that he needs to lower himself to this standard of film?

Do Americans understand anything that happens outside their country?

Save your time, save your money and avoid this crap. And please no more "has fallen" films. Let Butler retire.

Was the above review useful to you?

136 out of 199 people found the following review useful:

Bland, Obtuse and Arrogrant.

1/10
Author: thehorsetowater from United Kingdom
14 April 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Having watched and mostly enjoyed (with the inevitable suspension of disbelief) the sister film 'Olympus has Fallen' I had the chance to watch this over in the states. Assuming another dose of suspension of disbelief, I settled down to watch it.

This film, despite its good lead cast appears to have left the brains of plot and due process behind as it made the leap across the pond.

Set in London which is gleefully smashed up within the first 30mins of the movie along with most of the global heads of state it puts action scenes over plot devices (not that I was expected anything else) but there are some concerning portrayals of real life characters which undermine any amount of nice explosions and gun-play.

The heads of state are all archaic stereotypes of what we assume to be the culture of each country rolled into one person.

For instance, the Italian PM has a young 30-year-old-love who he meets in secrete atop Westminster Abbey. The Canadian President has the perfect family. The French President is conducting some kind of important state business in a kind of renaissance launcher boat on the Thames replete with Champagne (did he really use it to get from Paris to London?) and the Japenese PM is stoically quiet, patient and reserved until the moment when the Thames Bridge is blown up around him. Of course the US President is portrayed as a hip, fashionable humane and judicious man with none of these stereotypes (negative or otherwise).

This marks the first concern - outside of their own nation, Hollywood really does not care how these cosmopolitan characters are portrayed - indeed - entire nations are mercilessly the subject of stereotypical derision as the hapless heads of state are killed in creative manners. Not that I mind red London buses being the unprinted cue for 'this film is set in London'.

What happens next is even more incredible. Since the 'assassination' of the British PM, with the exception of some kind of funeral planning meeting early on, there does not seem to be any kind of UK government / leadership / disaster management faculty left. Rather than employ characters from real life counterparts like 'deputy PM' or 'Defense Secretary' or 'COBRA' or indeed our intelligence services like MI5 the film leads us to believe the the job of bringing order to this chaos falls to a Chief Inspector who thinks that yanks is still an acceptable term for our American cousins. (He is not even a Chief Constable though confusingly he does have chief constable epaulet rank badges) of London's Scotland Yard. Really - the entire intelligence and counter-terrorism effort. (This would be akin to a police captain in the WDCPD mopping up after a similar event took out the President of the US, though we know of course in Hollywood this could never happen).

We have Morgan Freeman as Vice President giving strong suggestions (read: orders?) over some kind of skype thing to this Chief Inspecter who enacts his word like some kind of servile unthinking amoeba.

Even our army is portrayed by a portly old man wearing something from the dad's army set who dares to suggest a military response but is denied this by Morgan Freeman and sheepishly accepts this reprimand.

At some point the President asks to be shot by Banning should he fall into the hands of the terrorists. Of course as soon as this is heard we know that the president is going to fall into the hands of the terrorists and is undoubtedly going to be rescued again. This removes any anticipation of plot from the film and leaves the rest of it as mere action-porn than anything else.

Other issues such as the NSA revealing that they have been spying on a London address for ages and the mindless insertion of armed foreign nationals on the streets of London are too numerous to mention.

Should Aaron be re-elected for a third term in something like 'Paris has Fallen' then I think I might have to go back to watching nature documentaries on UK Gold to sate my action thirst. Beast hunting beast in the great oceans would have more twists and turns than this film.

A bland, obtuse and frankly disturbing revelation of how Hollywood regards the rest of the world should be portrayed against the might and absolute 'good' of the USA. How arrogant, patronising and disgusting.

Was the above review useful to you?

116 out of 180 people found the following review useful:

Really bad

1/10
Author: chrisst4 from United Kingdom
17 April 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

In a nutshell: Supposed best of the 'land of free' (the sunny place where everyone is happy and waves their spangley flag) come over to the London (where is constantly rains and everyone is incompetent and rather sad). London is blown-up but that's OK because they end- up single-handedly saving the most important person in the world (the US President of course) - so everything is fine! They do this by using a lot of fairly bad CGI and applying a script of continuous, cheesy one liners.

The script is predictable and from the start full of hypocrisy. Where did the big, bad arms dealer get his weapons in the first place? Emmm... tough one that! You are constantly left wondering who is the real baddie in this movie especially when Gerald and co. rattle-off their crass one-liners!

Summary: Avoid at all costs.

Was the above review useful to you?

106 out of 163 people found the following review useful:

This movie gets worse by the minute

1/10
Author: James m from United States
14 April 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

How can decent actors accept to be in such a horrible movie? Morgan Freeman must have lost a bet to play a role in this movie. So much crap happens in this movie that basically needs the viewer to remove 99% of any kind of logical thinking. So the UK police, special forces, and military can easily be compromised according to this movie, and in front of real officers who are standing right next to them without wondering, hey who the heck are these guys? Bombs can be placed in every famous building without anyone noticing. Hundreds of bad guys can take over a city and have no army come in to confront them. The solution they found to deal with weading out the imposter forces, recall all the known good forces to sit inside while the bad ones can go about doing their terrorizing. WTF, directors, writers, who did they poll this movie in front of and had a response of "yeah this all makes sense". To be left with a feeling of not just wasting time watching the movie (even with forwarding scenes), and then being left with a feeling of how can smart people make such crap, is enough to leave the brain broken. I thought an IMDb rating of 6+ would be a watchable B movie, but this is not even close to watchable, how did this movie not get an avg rating of 3?!!! If you've seen it and liked it, think about this movie with a bit of logic, if you haven't seen it, don't, just don't, unless you enjoy feeling frustrated by stupid things that happen in movies.

Was the above review useful to you?

182 out of 324 people found the following review useful:

London has fallen and your critical thinking might too

1/10
Author: michael faraday from United States
14 April 2016

Hello everybody,

I've just created my account on this website because of this one. I felt it was important for me to write a couple of lines about this movie.

Unfortunately, while the title may seem interesting, I can't say the same about the film. Indeed, it's not a real movie in the proper sense of the term, it's a propaganda campaign.

a patriot secret service agent, Gerard butler, saving the life of his beloved president while fighting the bad guys with a beard and some black skin they call terrorists.

Just take a look at it, it won't take long before you understand exactly what I mean. I never thought they would release something like that, but they did.

this should be studied at school as a tool used to brainwash people. but if you are a patriot and think that America is heaven, ready to give your life for your president, if you like closing your eyes while you're screwed by some politicians and if you think that everybody else who doesn't accept your opinion should die, then it might be the "movie" you 've been looking for.

Was the above review useful to you?

131 out of 245 people found the following review useful:

What is this?a trailer movies?

1/10
Author: Jim McBakery from Australia
11 April 2016

First of all this movie far..far away from realism. I meant, one person, the U.S Secret Service against hundred's people with AK-47, RPG, machine guns?that's made me laugh.

So they killed the Queen of England, their armies betrayed the countries, and where is the England Army?not showed up in the movie at all.

This movie I think wants to send message to all people in the world "The United State Is A Super Power Country.." blah..blah..blah..

RAMBO still better than this movie. Well when I watched this movie, I was understand straight to the point. One man, One hero, live happily after, and rich. Lol.

England Has Fallen and U.S saved it only by one person, and England can't do anything for their countries.

This movie really a propaganda, and underestimated other countries, England, Japan, France, Italy. The producer, the script writer and others involved in this movie should careful with what they made.

As we saw the movie, Italy Prime Minister enjoyed the view with a girl, younger woman, and EEkkk..died, the France "Just hold for ten minutes, and EEkk..The Japanese PM stuck-ed in traffic and Eeekk. The Italy PM likes woman, The France a lazy person, and Japanese whose produces nice car but got jammed in traffic. Oh man, this movie insulted other nation. I'm not saying it, the movies tell us.

This is bad movies.

Was the above review useful to you?

67 out of 119 people found the following review useful:

Don't bother watching !!

1/10
Author: UmarMuzammil from Pakistan
13 April 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I don't know what kind of movie it was but I can tell you that it was worse and a waste of my precious time. Besides the worst plot, horrible CG FX, and poor story, this movie seemed more like a agenda and kind of racist. A typical American guard who would alone kill an army of 300 terrorist, Survive Helicopter crash, survive heavy vehicle crash, (Hang on, it doesn't end here) and Terrorist are walking down on the streets of London, doing a lot bomb blasts and all of them are south Asians specially (why).

Even In 2016 they are making movies like this without even thinking.I have watched hundreds of movies and even If I was going to make this poor movie, I would have made much better. With this nonsense story line, they could have tried to make it close real life and they failed to do that as well. Damnit.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 40:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history