IMDb > Soaked in Bleach (2015) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Soaked in Bleach
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Soaked in Bleach More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 12:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 111 reviews in total 

180 out of 209 people found the following review useful:

Excellent!

10/10
Author: Caroline Rohling
1 June 2015

Look at the stats and you'll see that people are giving bad reviews (1 stars) on this film 100 at a time. Sounds like an automated campaign to me. This started before the film was even released on 6/11. Courtney Love is also trying to intimidate cinemas from showing this film by having her attorneys send threatening letters. Most are ignoring her threats. There is so much information in this documentary you'll need to watch it more than once to catch it all. I've watched this film several times and I constantly pick up new info. Based on Tom Grant's actual recordings, case files, and observations during the days leading up to Cobain's death, this film takes painstaking steps to ensure accuracy. Thorough the use of actual recordings, you will hear Courtney Love explain how she easily lies to manipulate the press. Although she hires Tom on April 3rd (Easter Sunday) to try to find her missing husband, she conveniently leaves out critical information (he was seen by their nanny at his own house on April 2nd). She has Grant search everywhere except their house until April 6th. Love is clearly obstructing the investigation, keeping Grant away from the house until she is ready for him to look there. Why? Includes police reports and interviews with expert forensic scientists and medical examiners across the country. The physical evidence suggests another person in the room as Cobain could not have pulled the trigger with the level of heroin in his system. The shotgun shell isn't where it should be. And, Love and Cobain were in the midst of a divorce. The film also includes comments from the former Seattle Chief of Police, Norm Stamper, who says, "If I were the Chief today, I would reopen this investigation." Watch this film and make your own decision. What really happened to Kurt Cobain in April, 1994?

Was the above review useful to you?

157 out of 184 people found the following review useful:

Based on FACTS

10/10
Author: Morgan Raimondi
10 June 2015

IMPORTANT NOTICE: Someone has people deliberately sabotaging the rating of this film. If you take a look at the ratings scale, you will notice people voted primarily 1 or 10, not much in between, which indicates "tampering." Courtney Love has her attorneys sending "Cease & Desist" letters to theaters showing this film, which is based on FACTS. Tom Grant's audio recordings of his phone conversations with her, in addition to forensic science prove that Kurt Cobain could not have shot himself, which means he was murdered. Courtney had a motive for wanting Kurt dead. The #1 reason being that Kurt wanted a divorce & asked to have Courtney's name removed from his will. Four days after Kurt's body was found, Hole's ironically entitled album "Live Through This" was released (April 12,1994).

NOTE TO THEATERS: If Courtney Love hasn't sued Tom Grant in 21 years, what makes you think that she can sue you?? SHE CAN'T. It is a scare tactic! SHOW THE FILM, and let the public decide!!!

Here are some quotes from Courtney. She practically shoves it in our faces that she got away with murder. How's that for a spin?

"In rock stardom there's an absolute economic upside to self-destruction. What makes the most money for this business? Dead rock stars." Courtney Love (SPIN magazine, Oct. 2005)

"I married a guy, he killed himself, I inherited everything. That's the way it goes." Courtney Love (SPIN magazine. Feb. 2010)

I find it pathetic that people are down-rating this film before it's been released. I wonder who could possibly be behind this? Forensic science doesn't lie. If people would take the time to examine the evidence that is publicly available, such as the Seattle Police Department's reports on Kurt's death, they would see that it was not investigated at all. The first responding officers arrive at 8:56am on April 8, 1994. By 9:50am, less than an hour later, Kurt's death is officially ruled a suicide. How is this even possible? How could they determine the manner of death PRIOR to an autopsy and a toxicology report? Which leads to another problem. Courtney Love was personal friends with the medical examiner who performed Kurt's autopsy. This is a complete conflict of interest. Given the massive amount of heroin that Kurt Cobain was injected with, a triple lethal dose for the most severe addict, a 75X lethal dose for a non-addict, medical experts say that it would have been impossible for Kurt to shoot himself. He would've either been immediately incapacitated or dead. Yet, his shirt sleeves were rolled down & the caps had been placed back on the syringes. The shotgun had been loaded with 3 shells. Why? In case he missed? The expended shell casing was found on the opposite side of the ejection port, to Kurt's left. It should have landed to his right. No legible fingerprints were found on any of the items from the scene including the shotgun, expended shotgun shell casing, nor the two shotgun shells (live). I look forward to the world finally knowing the truth behind Kurt Cobain's death.

Review of "Soaked In Bleach" after viewing:

I've been waiting for over a year to see "Soaked In Bleach," and I can tell you right now, it was worth the torturous wait. It was way better than I actually expected. In fact, it was phenomenal. It was primarily documentary assisted by reenactments with actors, but even those were fantastic. The actual audio recordings that Tom Grant made were used in these scenes and were either dubbed over or blended with the actors' voices. Sarah Scott nailed Courtney Love. She was totally spot on. August Emerson, who played Dylan Carlson, Kurt Cobain's best friend was so good that I could not tell the difference between his voice & Dylan Carlson's. These reenactments were impeccable! But my biggest surprise was seeing certain experts that I had no idea would be in the film. I don't want to give anything away, but I have never been so impressed with a documentary / film in my life. It was absolutely spectacular, & Benjamin Statler obviously made sure that every detail, down to the lighting & the music went with the mood of what actually occurred to make this film as accurate and authentic as possible. I give it 20 stars out of 10!!

The investigation (since there was never one to begin with) into Kurt Cobain's death needs to be reopened immediately by an authority other than the Seattle Police Department. With Det. Mike Ciesynski still on their force, they are incapable of being unbiased & all remaining evidence should be immediately handed over to the FBI. PERIOD.

Was the above review useful to you?

129 out of 147 people found the following review useful:

Based on the evidence

10/10
Author: herecomesthesun-24202 from USA
9 June 2015

Judging from the work Tom Grant has done, which will be showcased in this film, it deserves much acclaim. Courtney Love can buy as many 1 star reviews for this film as she wants ( there's companies that specialize is altering online "reputations"), just look at all the bogus hacking on YouTube, giving people tons of views their content never actually received. You can even pay for followers on Instagram. We live in a very fake time, so either way, this will bring hordes of movie goers and all people around the world to watch it. This is where Tom Grant and Kurt Cobain , wins, in my view. Nice try Courtney, the world is on Kurt's side this time.

Was the above review useful to you?

94 out of 103 people found the following review useful:

Just the Facts!

10/10
Author: crocelover from New Jersey, USA
10 June 2015

I recently completed my Masters thesis on the topic of Kurt Cobain's death. I was simply prepared to write mostly about how Cobain's death impacted the musical landscape. That was until I visited the website of Tom Grant cobaincase dot com. It had confirmed the lingering doubts I had for many years regarding the cause of Kurt's death.

Grant who was hired by Cobain's wife, Courtney Love days before Kurt died, had a front row perspective as to the happenings surrounding the time and cause of Kurt's passing. He has generously shared decades of his tireless work here in this film in order to dispel all the rumors, gossip and statements made by people with something to gain, or protect.

Grant (and film director, Benjamin Statler) are only interested in bringing to light the facts of this case. Anyone who takes the time to watch Soaked in Bleach will not be able to ignore the obvious conclusion that Kurt Cobain was murdered and now deserves justice.

Was the above review useful to you?

96 out of 111 people found the following review useful:

Finally! I have been waiting for a documentary like this for a long time.

10/10
Author: shazzadee88 from Australia
9 June 2015

From what I have seen so far, this documentary was made with a lot of blood, sweat and tears. I think that Benjamin Statler has done a wonderful job and should be commended for taking significant risk in investing his own time and money into something this controversial, and I hope that his work gets the recognition that it deserves come June 11th. I also hope that it will become to Australia very soon, but if not, I will find a way to give you my money. I recommend that people do not give this movie a one star because they don't want other people to see it; that is the most childish form of censorship. I think it is ridiculous that IMDb allows you to rate something that isn't released yet. Please give this movie a chance. Unlike Montage of Heck, Soaked In Bleach intends to present an accurate picture of Kurt's last months. Watch it, ask questions and verify the facts in this documentary. No one expects you to take this documentary at face value.

Was the above review useful to you?

85 out of 95 people found the following review useful:

Factual, Backed Up By SPD Reports, Taped Calls & Expert Testimony. This Is Not Fluff!

10/10
Author: Mandy M from United Kingdom
11 June 2015

Soaked In Bleach is a solid 10. Please ignore the very many 1* reviews from blatant supporters aka minions of Courtney Love, this is now their desperate and pathetic attempt to sabotage this release. The expert testimony was AWESOME, lead by Dr Cyril Wecht (world leading forensic pathologist) who proved that it was scientifically IMPOSSIBLE for Cobain to have shot himself. Furthermore, the explanation of the grip on the shotgun was new to me, and proved impossible for Kurt to have shot himself. These two facts are strong enough alone to convince the most uninformed. Anyone attempting to outwit these individuals are frankly morons. To top it off, Norm Stamper cemented it all. Soaked In Bleach covered all the bases, and i am confident people will be encouraged to read The Cobain Case manual and/or Love & Death for further details. Credit must be given to Statler and team for the great cinematography, and cleverly weaving the taped calls in to the dialogue. I look forward to seeing how this case unravels; here is hoping someone with the right conscience and power to step forward and set the ball rolling for an independent reinvestigation. It's the very small justice Kurt Cobain deserves.

Was the above review useful to you?

67 out of 77 people found the following review useful:

Ambitious docudrama about the death of Kurt Cobain

Author: N. Schroeder from Germany
10 June 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Obviously there are some trolls here, giving this movie the worst rating without even seeing it yet. The movie Soaked in Bleach was released in Germany yesterday on BluRay and DVD. Therefore i had the opportunity to watch it and here is my review:

Kurt Cobain - Tod einer Ikone (Original title: Soaked in Bleach) is the movie Courtney doesn't want you to see. Therefore Courtney and consorts created the propaganda movie Montage of Heck to distract the attention from Soaked in Bleach. If there is a conspiracy movie, it's definitely the fantasy saga Montage of Heck, filled with lies and stuff completely taken out of context just to present Courney's „official" story once again and to misrepresent Kurt Cobain in the worst way.

The only context between these two movies is that Soaked in Bleach starts at the point, that was left out completely in Montage of Heck. The death of Kurt Cobain.

Soaked in Bleach details the events leading up to the death of Kurt Cobain, as seen through the perspective of Tom Grant, the private detective who was hired by Courtney Love to find Cobain, her husband, shortly before his death in 1994.

Benjamin Statler's movie is directed like a crime thriller and combines official case files, tape recordings with current interviews and reenactments. The thrilling movie is focused on Tom Grant's investigation from the days between April 1 and April 8. All the inconsistencies about the official suicide theory are analyzed in the minutest details.

Interviews with Tom Grant, Norm Stamper (ex-chief of the Seattle Police Department), Cyril Wecht (president of the American Academy of Forensic Science) and others like friends of Kurt and many experts involved in the investigation are giving the audience an entire picture about the impossibility, that Kurt could have killed himself.

All important arguments and reports taken by the Seattle Police Department and the medical examiner, who declared Kurt's death as a suicide, are analyzed and disproved in this master piece.

This movie will open your eyes and you will realize that you were fooled by Courtney and the media since 21 years. It is not for „conspiracy theorists", it's for people who have a sense of justice and was made also to clarify all the details in an understandable way for the mainstream audience.

Was the above review useful to you?

61 out of 71 people found the following review useful:

Great Documentary - Good Argument

10/10
Author: spygirlkd
11 June 2015

As someone who has been following this case for only about a year, I've obviously had my doubts, but not after watching this movie. What you'll be presented with are actual audio recordings, re-enactments of some events (as those were not video-recorded), interviews with forensic professionals (pathologists, the former chief of the Seattle Police Department), etc. I learned things I didn't know that only further prove, to me, the truth, that Kurt did not choose (nor want) to end his life.

The information was presented in both an easy to understand, as well as an interesting to watch, way. I would recommend this to ANYONE, no matter how you believe he died. You might be surprised with what you learned.

I am very satisfied with this movie, I think it was excellent, well worth the wait, and the money I paid for it. I hope you'll enjoy it as much as I did.

Was the above review useful to you?

72 out of 93 people found the following review useful:

This should be amazing

10/10
Author: alihansendesign from London
10 June 2015

This documentary should blow the lid off the previous consensus that Kurt Cobain committed suicide. The trailer looks incredible, well done, and a must see for any Cobain or Nirvana fan. This looks a truly haunting documentary.

Detective Tom Grant has worked tirelessly for the last 20 years to give Kurt back his dignity and to show to the world that he did not take his own life. This documentary is the fruit of his labors.

Increasingly, the evidence does not seem to stack up, and the case needs to be re-opened. Please watch this stunning documentary and make up your own made, you will be shocked at the overwhelming evidence it brings to light. It would be an absolute miracle if this documentary contributed to the re-opening of the Cobain case..... Justice for Kurt has never been closer.....

Was the above review useful to you?

55 out of 61 people found the following review useful:

A well made film

10/10
Author: mdoraninaz
11 June 2015

I just watched this film late last night and was impressed with the quality. The facts compared to the things the public was told back in 1994 are quite different. My wife and I learned what we thought was the truth from MTV back then.

The film makers did a very nice job of presenting many facts that were hidden from the public. It is unfortunate that the Seattle police never did their job properly by investigating his death before declaring it a suicide.

I would recommend watching this to anyone that is even remotely interested.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 12:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history