IMDb > Monster Trucks (2016) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Monster Trucks
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Monster Trucks More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 30 reviews in total 

30 out of 48 people found the following review useful:

What the world needed

10/10
Author: MonsterTrucker
31 December 2016

Monster Truck is one of the greatest movies ever made, move over godfather, Monster Trucks is king. With a very deep narrative, beautiful animation (Seriously sometimes I can't even tell if something is cgi or not) and comedy that rivals the greats such as Jerry Seinfeld, Kevin Hart and the greatest of them all, Adam Sandler, Monster Trucks will leave you on your knees begging for more.

I'm afraid that people are not ready for monster trucks. It has some fierce competition this January with movies like xXx and Resident Evil. Monster Trucks really should have been a summer movie or a Christmas movie, But unfortunately is has to compete with Heck Yeah! Its January! Where companies put out their better (but more experimental) films (Which I think is an insult to Monster Trucks because that movie is way out of those other movies leagues)

Monster Trucks will save us, but it needs your help. If you want Monster Trucks to save us from Trump, Kathleen Wynne, War, World Hunger and will even be there for you to save you, buy your tickets for Monster Trucks, because when Monster Truck succeeds, everyone does.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Great film to watch with your sons.

8/10
Author: regencyroofing-94-767993 from United Kingdom
8 January 2017

Watched Monster trucks today with my five year old son and we both loved it. He was pretty much glued to the screen the entire time and he got a bit teary at the end! The film centres on a lad who spends all his spare time building a truck at a junkyard he helps out around, three undiscovered squid like creatures escape from a nearby oil drilling project. One of these finds his way into the truck and ends up powering it and of course the usual bad guys want it back story line evolves. Nothing new in terms of originality or plot, in fact it had so many plot holes it was ridiculous but it's a kids film. Actors did a good job and the monsters were likable. Quite a lot of action and humour too, it's never dull. Definitely a boys/male film I think in my opinion. a kind of a cross between "the legend of the waterhorse", "ET" and "Herbie" Recommended.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Good fun.

7/10
Author: Greenzombidog from United Kingdom
8 January 2017

A young loner discovers a monster in a junkyard and finds he can use it to power his car. Soon he befriends the monster and sets out to help it find it's way home.

Great special effects and some good performances from some likable lead actors makes this an enjoyable movie to watch. Don't expect the plot to hold up to well under strict scrutiny but it is a kids film after all. There are some good positive messages about family and friends with a little bit of a green message too but nothing heavy handed.

The monster is very likable and the film has some funny moments too. Definitely recommended. I know I would have loved this as a kid and would have certainly enjoyed the action scenes in the second half of the movie. I can imagine younger kids of today having fond memories of this movie in the future. I just hope people give the movie a chance.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Great fun for kids

10/10
Author: ross-988-436610 from England
3 January 2017

I took my youngest child, six years old (nearly seven), to see this yesterday. He bounced around like Tigger the whole way through, and only paused to turn around once in a while to tell me "This is the best movie ever!" This coming from a boy who loves everything from Harry Potter, Star Wars, Top Gear (and Grand Tour), to Tractor Ted and Octonauts.

As an adult, it was a perfectly acceptable way to spend a couple of hours enjoying the company of my child. There's not a lot to the story, so if you've seen the trailer you won't be surprised. The monsters straddle the line well between being "monstrous" and cute (my boy acted suitably scared until it became clear that the monsters were on the good side, after which he loved them).

He came out of the cinema asking when it would be available on DVD, so on balance a glowing recommendation from a 6 year old and a warm fuzzy one from me.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

★★★ - simple and daft, but still pretty fun

5/10
Author: Elliot D. George from United Kingdom
31 December 2016

Teenage scrapheap worker Tripp one day discovers a mysterious creature hiding in his truck. Turns out it escaped from an oil well that drilled too deep, and now the hired professionals of Terravex want to capture the non-threatening creature and keep their unlawful drilling a secret.

Having seen the trailers several times, I was expecting the worst. Like Transformers but lower budget and quality. To be fair, it probably is, except it's much more fun than Transformers, taking itself far from seriously. Of course the animation looks fairly cheap and shiny but something about it feels incredibly light-hearted and enjoyable. Chris Wedge is obviously better suited to animated movies, and maybe Monster Trucks should have been one, but at least the tone was right, even if the story was pretty simple and formulaic.

The characters, one the other hand, are far less interesting. Lucas Till seems to have taken his hair from the '80s, his chin from the '60s and charisma from Keanu Reeves, hamming it up at any opportunity. Levy is fine, but never really has much to do, but veterans like Lowe, Pepper and Glover need talking to. The main problem is that it doesn't really feel like a proper cinematic movie, it's just a bit of nonsense fun that should be on a kids TV channel at some point.

Simple, familiar story and dull characters, Monster Trucks isn't one you should race to see. That said, it's light and fun enough to pass the time, and most under 10s will enjoy it.

3/5

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

ET meets Transformers meets the Disney Channel

8/10
Author: Paul Wilcock from United Kingdom
30 December 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

A post Christmas treat with my 8 year old daughter. We'd seen a trailer of this when watching Moana and my little one was eager to see this at the cinema on a Daddy/Daughter day.

The films ancient creature effects were generally very good, and convincing enough for the young target audience. A mix of ET and an octopus!

The acting, from a few old hands and some youngsters, was well targeted, nothing too deep or hard to follow.

The plot was easy to follow, with clear differences between the good and bad characters, and strong family values. Both human and not.

The driving stunts were good. Allowing the target audience comfort that their favourite characters would be safe.

While the film is likely aimed at a male grouping, it has enough content for each gender.

I'm scoring this 8/10. It was a brilliant film for its youthful audience.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

Quirky but brilliant family film

8/10
Author: gerry barnaby Film Reviewer from United Kingdom
26 December 2016

From the creator of ice age bring you a great little quirk film Monster trucks that will touch you heart & bring you to tears & laughter , this film truly is one of the guilty pleasure film that a across ET meet Herbie that you sure will love.

I went in to this film not knowing what to expect other than what was shown in the trailer, i was presently surprised on how good this film is for what it was , i loved the concept of this film as it not just one of the creatures from out of space type of film which is refreshing.

It's some much different which gives this film is edge , you really can help but fall in love with this creature he called screech , as it got this lovable adorable funny sense of humor for a creature that give it a personality which is great for the film.

Lucas Till is brilliant giving us the type of person that from a broken family , the step dads a bit of a jerk but he's brilliant playing this role who befriends screech together they make this film's adventure just that special brilliant chemistry between the characters as well really sell the film.

Jane Levy co-star playing the young girl who has a crush on Tripp playing the quirk girl reminds me of Lindsey Lohan character from Herbie in a way just as a side character as she unwittingly gets involved in trying to get screech home.

The the visual effect on the C.G.I is brilliant done , special when the design of the creature is brilliant done. One thing that stop this film from being one of those boring flopped film's IMO is the melt your heart moment in the film seriously touches you heart put a tear in your eye's.

It's beautifully done moments along with the action make this a worth while film to watch with your family , special ending the film was a beautiful way to end this type of film which i think a sequel could be done.

Dislikes : There is one moment in the film that a little unrealistic but this is a PG so you cant really have to much violence in this film.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Good, fun flick for all ages

9/10
Author: davepond from United States
16 January 2017

Not sure why so many are hating on this one, or basing reviews on what happened before it got to screen.

Took my 4-, 8-, 12-year-olds to see it on Saturday. All three of them enjoyed it, and I did, too. Simple enough story for the kids to understand, with little in the way of violence, profanity, sex to battle through.

Acting was good, as was the CGI. don't go in expecting The Godfather or anything -- but for a family-friendly flick with a good message, this serves its purpose extremely well. The "monsters" are cute enough for the most part and, when they bare their teeth, it's Star Wars-level "scary", if that makes sense.

Overall, check it out.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

At Least It's Got a Good Message (Shrug)

7/10
Author: bkrauser-81-311064 from United States
15 January 2017

I am not going to lie; I was sold on this film before I even walked into the theater. Why…well why the hell not? While most denizens of this year's January Graveyard crop have been ludicrously dour and pitifully boring, Monster Trucks looked like it was going to lean into its silly high-concept and provide enough stupid fun for all. Plus a handful of such obvious marketing ploys have been sold to the public in the past and have still managed to be good even if they were armed with preposterous story elements.

Turns out I was partially right (though mostly wrong) about Monster Trucks. In this film's defense at least it has the presence of mind to steal from the best. Just switch the adorable alien from E.T. (1982) with an oil guzzling tentacled stress ball from beneath the surface of the earth, and Amblin Entertainment might just have cause to sue. But I suppose you could also replace Elliott with a characteristically blasé Lucas Till as our nominal human lead. Suddenly the whimsy has been halved, so I guess suing would just be kicking them while they're down. Am I supposed to be brooding or smoldering here?

Monster Trucks also has the presence of mind to include a rollicking hook to its second rate story. Our monster, Creech makes it a habit to hide in our leading man's scrap-heap pickup truck. A habit he gained while avoiding capture from a nefarious oil company looking to cover up any evidence of a looming eco-disaster. From that point forward it's a Ratatouille (2008)-type scenario where driver and monster work together, gleefully off-roading towards the film's inevitable conclusion. Along for the ride is the nerdy Meredith (Levy) whose, quite frankly, unbelievable infatuation with Tripp (Till) cajoles her to the junkyard in the middle of the night wearing knee-high bobby socks.

Yeah a lot about this movie makes no sense. Like why a geologist (Lennon) would be doing intelligence tests and experiments on captured monsters? How do our leads get out of answering for so much property damage? And why, oh why would Rob Lowe, Amy Ryan and Danny Glover agree to be in this movie?

Yet every time I ask myself these sorts of questions the movie wisely slides in some ridiculous CGI car stunt or some awkward corny joke. I'm then reminded of the spirit of this film. It's supposed to be silly, it's supposed to be goofy and while I'm not a fan of using "kids movie" in a pejorative sense, the pro-environmental message of the film is just enough for the film to squeak by on its merits.

Monster Trucks is not a great movie. It's not even a good movie and certainly not the movie it could or should have been. But it's still the movie we got, and what we ended up getting was a movie about a monster that lives inside a monster truck. No bull, it's as advertised just as it is on the box.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Great Family film

8/10
Author: Chris Stimpy Trickett from United Kingdom
8 January 2017

Starts off by giving little information about some of the core characters. Slowly building up to the first meeting with "creech".

My Kids absolutely loved it, they don't care about CGI, does it look like another, or how hammy some of the acting may be. They wanted to see an fun, entertaining film, and they certainly got that!

In some ways the creature reminded me of "Toothless" from How to Train a Dragon, but that would be down to it being a child.

Overall, the plot was great for a family movie, few minor plot holes, but the kids didn't notice that (nor should they tbh)

Overall, I took the kids knowing what the film was about and what to expect, and it was delivered.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history