IMDb > "Dominion" (2014) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Dominion"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsmessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Dominion" More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 10:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [Next]
Index 94 reviews in total 

101 out of 126 people found the following review useful:

tentatively promising pilot.

Author: t hamilton from Australia
19 June 2014

Dominion seems to be the successor to the 2010 film "Legion".

For those that don't remember it the plot is as follows, God abandons the Angels and they decide its mankind's fault, and thus the apocalypse is born. One angel alone amongst his brethren sides with humanity, and comes to a remote diner to protect one expecting mother whose child is prophesized to be mankind's only hope of survival.

Dominion is set a significant while after the invasion, where by all accounts the demonic (angelic) invasion wiped out all but a few walled off highly defensible cities holding the last of human kind (the one we see bares a strong resemblance to Fallout's New Vegas), and then became somewhat dormant.

The show has believable sets and effects, some interesting stylistic choices on armor and swords and city architecture. The plot isn't incredibly unique, but its not derivative enough that you will know the seasons plot after one episode. Although you likely will guess whats happening throughout the episode 30 seconds before it does happen, nothing is all that surprising.

Decent fight scenes, acting that's up to par, multiple sources of adversity from the Angelic threat to your own people, with one particularly self deluded villain that you will instantly not like. They highlight some social issues like caste systems and economic disparities, which might become important to the story later down the road.

Everything about the pilot is promising, if you're into fantasy entertainment this probably will excite you. Word of caution, only the pilot is released, and its from the Syfy network which doesn't bring its A game often (ever?). The only recently decent show from Syfy was Helix, which started out equally powerfully with no overt mistakes and a promising premise, but the more episodes of it you saw the more obvious it was that the possibilities you imagined in response to all the mysteries the show introduced were vastly superior to the illogical garbled mess the story turned into by the end of the season. I enjoyed the pilot, but if you're short on time wait for a while to see if the show maintains its quality.

Was the above review useful to you?

117 out of 159 people found the following review useful:

A promising followup to Legion

10/10
Author: lmahesa from Indonesia
20 June 2014

First a disclaimer: I have no desire to be a movie critic, and I auto-avoid 'user' reviews made by wannabe critics who like to drop impressive words to show of their knowledge of the dictionary. So, I won't.

Now, here's a secondary disclaimer. I *ENJOYED* the movie 'Legion', and I had resigned myself to not getting a sequel made. A TV series? Better. Much, much better. TV gives an idea room to breathe and evolve over time.

This series took me by surprise, as I hadn't heard about it before. As soon as I finished watching the pilot, I immediately dug out Legion and watched that again. The series is entirely a continuation of the movie, set some years after. The plot makes sense, and the densely packed pilot served to set the scene very well. Then again, I watch for entertainment and don't go looking for errors, so your mileage may vary.

The set, costumes and props are all of a high standard, and there wasn't anything that caught your eye as being out of place or of poor quality. The CGI was very good, with the exception of one high-speed death scene near the beginning which flits by so fast many of you won't notice it.

There is a lot of implied sensuality, though (so far) nothing pornographic other than one costume. I feel they found a good balance there, without being crass for the sake of it.

Now, the acting. I've seen a number of shows featuring Anthony Head (David Whele), and this is his crowning achievement, I believe. In one episode, he gets you to hate him, sympathize with him, pity him... twice I flipped, from rooting against him to siding with him and back again. All this was achieved in a relatively low number of scenes. He isn't the soft touch we've become used to seeing him portray. The love interest, Claire (Roxanne McKee) has shown better abilities than Alex the lead (Christopher Egan) though I think it won't be long before he finds his place once his 'role' in the story is more firm. Casting there was an excellent choice - she even looks like her on-screen father, Alan Dale.

So far, after one episode, this has killed Defiance as it is truly Fantasy/SF, instead of just a Western with SF bits stapled on. Also, it's not a formulaic, monster-of-the-week or crime-of-the-week show... you'll have to follow to keep up.

That makes it expensive, though, and a risk for the studio.

Now. This is SyFy. Call me jaded, but the odds of this not getting canned after one or two seasons aren't great.

Was the above review useful to you?

91 out of 120 people found the following review useful:

Surprised

10/10
Author: theartpirate from United States
21 June 2014

I decided to watch this show just to kill a few minutes, didn't like the premise of it, and didn't expect much from the SyFy Channel.

All this changed after the first 20-30 minutes, plots, subplots, twists, complex characters and a unpredictable future were all cleverly woven into the story.

I was hooked, not so much by the special effects (they were decent), not by the acting (not bad) but by the story line. I feel there is great potential here for the development of characters within a good complex story.

I will be tuning in to see where this goes.

Was the above review useful to you?

59 out of 77 people found the following review useful:

I love it

9/10
Author: dariana-ro
30 June 2014

As far as I can see people love or hate this show. There aren't many moderate opinions in the reviews. I can see why people who are religious may be offended by the idea that angels can turn evil and try to kill people and God would just leave but you should try to relax and not take it so seriously .

I love this show. The actors do a decent job, I like the characters , there are many ways they can develop the plot and the special effects are not so bad (I like the wings).

So God disappeared , no one knows where and why, and Gabriel and many other angels blame humans for it . Gabriel thinks God was very disappointed in humans but didn't had the heart to send another flood or something to kill them so he just left so he does not have to see them anymore . They say that hell is not fire but the pain of not being in the presence of God (or something like that) so probably for the angels in this show who spent all their life in the presence of God to suddenly be alone must be hell. That can make someone go a little crazy.

I am looking forward to the next episodes . I can't wait to see what the Whele family will do next in their quest to control the town, find out more about other towns and the tattoos . I hope we get to see Michael fight a lot in the future .

There is also talking about some black worshipers in town . It looks like some people worship Gabriel now as God and William Whele may be one of them.

If God leaving was a test many angels and humans are failing it.

Was the above review useful to you?

36 out of 40 people found the following review useful:

What you need to know

7/10
Author: dwaynemayo60
26 December 2014

I have no idea why these reviewers that are trashing this show are so hard on it. It's a really decent TV show. I did not find it overly talkative or boring. Unless they are just having a religious issue with the show or expected it to be exactly like the movie LEGION or what?

I really don't get it. I've enjoyed the first 3 episodes, good plot, good acting , good sets, good cgi.

This is definitely a show to watch if you like sci fi/fantasy Not for kids tho, definitely. I watch a show to be entertained not to take it as an attack on my religion or to learn what God is about. If they want to make angels the enemy I got no problem with that. I mean the Devil was an angel too, right?

So to sum up , don't let the trash reviews scare you away they must have some agenda I'm not aware of because this really is a decent show if you like the genre (like how I used the word genre? shows I'm smart LOL)

If you like the pilot you'll like the show, If you don't then it's not for you. nuff said

Was the above review useful to you?

49 out of 69 people found the following review useful:

Could be good

7/10
Author: robin_should from Germany
20 June 2014

Must admit I do not remember having seen the film (Legion) but it did ring a bell so I was up for a new series about, once again, saving mankind. I am a Supernatural fan and that has the same principle, bad angels, good angels, demons, God gone etc but on a more down to earth basis, and it can be really funny. This however seems to be more doomsday. It is well made, at the moment, but that can change. The main characters are OK. I am getting a bit frustrated with the same twists in plots, there seems to be so few surprises these days, you are always waiting for the traitor, the hero, who doesn't want to be a hero, and as always the love interest. If this does make it to a full season I hope the writers will at least try to surprise us. A little bit of humour would be nice too as life in what ever stage is not always deadly serious. Saw that some one mentioned all the actors are British? Not quite true but there does seem to be a a lot of Aussies staring in things these days, I'm all for it, I think they are refreshingly unpretentious, which makes their characters more believable.

Might have to re-vote depending on which way this goes.

Was the above review useful to you?

28 out of 37 people found the following review useful:

Good Show

7/10
Author: Ben Hinman from United States
24 July 2014

There's nothing immediately spectacular about Dominion that has me raving about it, but its entertaining, and has some very nice cinematography. There's a well developed world, and its unique to the premise, and the visuals are no doubt inspired in part by baroque and renaissance art. Its actually quite different from Legion, though it takes place around 2 decades after the events in the movie, it explores a lot more and humanizes the villains and their motivations. I actually like dominion more than the movie because it paints the "8 balls" as they've come to be called, as more than monsters.

Basically the premise is, the archangel Gabriel led the host of lower angels in a war against humanity, basically blaming them for god leaving, just like Lucifer did millennia before, and Michael was the only angel to stand against them and defend humanity, helping to found the city of Vega and protect them from the possessed humans, who basically destroy most of the world, minus a few well protected cities. His solution isn't perfect, and what was meant to be a temporary caste system ends up in a full blown economic segregation leaving the ultra rich living in luxury, with the poor and abandoned living in squalor beneath. Over the years word has spread about a "chosen one" who will save mankind and end the war, with some believers, and some believing it is nothing more than a fantasy. Enter the main character, who grows up a penniless orphan, enlisting in the military just to have something to eat, who finds out he is the child they had spoken of. And then there's the higher ranks of angels who don't have black eyes, and sometimes bear wings, who up until that point hadn't been forced to pick a side.

There's definitely some movie clichés in there, but they play out in a way thats somewhat new and interesting, and touch on some topics that haven't been covered. One of the things that i like about this series is the main antagonist is a part of the ruling bureaucracy, and despite being your cliché diabolical politician, everyone basically sees through his bullshit already and tells him to cut the crap whenever he starts spouting off some lies or blackmail. Its a nice change of pace to see characters who aren't stupid and overly trusting. On the other hand, i wish there was a bit more skewed logic behind gabriel's assertion "its humanities fault god left". You'd expect a bit more from a once near omniscient being thats thousands of years old. Maybe some overly complex overthought justification, nothing near that simple and small minded. At any rate i think the directors can take some hints from the show supernatural, which at some points bears a similar premise, because they've got the angel mindset down to a science already. But its nice to see they're taking it in a different direction, and i'd be curious to see if Gabriel has any plans to release Lucifer from the pit to fight along side him. It'd certainly be in his favor.

All in all, its pretty good. The cinematography is probably the best part about this show, its very deep, saturated, elegant and classical. The opening titles especially reflect the theme, that this show might be something you'd see through the frame of a renaissance painting, rather than something of the modern age.

Was the above review useful to you?

31 out of 43 people found the following review useful:

Epic

Author: Juliet van Ree from Netherlands
23 August 2014

This series has been an amazing surprise. I can see why it's not for everybody, but if you like post apocalyptic series with a dark side to characters... Then this is your piece of cake.

The Angels are portrayed as bad ass creatures which goes against cultural views current society has of them (as cute winged beings that protect you). Even if you see a "good" angel it has a dark lining around it.

The storyline is interesting and doesn't lose momentum on the go. Not once does it get boring or predictive. There are plot twists and unexpected moves. Very interesting.

The acting work is done pretty well. Especially Tom Wisdom (who I didn't see on screen before) is promising.

The setting of the series is awesome. The post apocalyptic theme has really been incorporated into the set in great detail *tumbleweed passes by*. Really thumbs up for the set builders.

All in all I'd say it's a must see.

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

If you like gritty, post-apocalyptic mythology with a great level of depth, this is the show for you!

10/10
Author: TJ_TeeJay from Germany
19 July 2015

25 years ago, God disappeared. That's Dominion's opening line, and the introduction to the show's mythology. Now, you may be thinking, okay, this is a show about religion and angels and Christian belief. But before you judge all too quickly, let me stop you right there. Because it's not.

First and foremost, Dominion is a show about humanity trying to survive in a harsh, post-apocalyptic world. Mankind is caught in the middle of an ugly war waging between the Archangel Gabriel and the Archangel Michael. What is left of society is trying to overcome the hardships they face every day in the few cordoned off enclaves that withstood the invasion of Gabriel's lower angels. And it's Michael who tries to protect them to the best of his ability, waiting for the Chosen One, the savior of mankind, to be revealed.

Dominion is based on the movie Legion and continues the film's mythology, jumping ahead 25 years in time. Season 1 shows us the world of Vega (the former Las Vegas), which gives a home to many of the survivors of the Extermination War. While the people in the lower castes lives a rather measly life, the royalty of the city plot their schemes and get caught up in politics. It's ugly and complicated and ultimately explosive in these unstable times.

And while it's the political battles that keep Vega busy, Gabriel is plotting his next strike against the humans with his surviving army of higher and lower angels. All hope is now upon the Chosen One, who goes by the name of Alex Lannon, and who is struggling to understand what role the tattoos on his body may be playing in saving the earth and mankind from further destruction.

As we move into season 2, the show gets darker, grittier, and more powerful. The Dominion universe is extended to other cities and towns in what's left of North America. We discover the seemingly peaceful town of Mallory, AL, which raises a lot of questions. And then there's the unruly, messy underground city of New Delphi with its eccentric leader Julian. The power play has only just begun.

Would I recommend Dominion as a show to watch? Yes, absolutely! Its universe draws you in and wants you to learn more about the world of Vega and the Cradle. The characters are all intriguing with a lot of depth to them. I was hooked from the very first episode, and that says a lot because I was more than skeptical when I started watching it (and only did so because it came highly recommended by a friend).

If you haven't given it a try yourself, I can only recommend that you do so to form your own opinion. And if you're interested in learning more about the show, drop by dominionfans.com or syfy.com/dominion, which are both excellent starting points for finding out just what exactly you're in for.

Was the above review useful to you?

35 out of 63 people found the following review useful:

Dumbinion...

4/10
Author: Rob_Taylor
26 June 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

So, knowing this was a spin off I went back and watched Legion before watching the pilot of this series. I then lowered my expectations (going from film to TV is always going to be a little disappointing) and sat down to watch.

Oh my! There is a good idea in the basic premise of the show, but good lord did they do their best to kill it.

For starters, it's been just twenty years or so since the destruction of civilisation at the hands of angels. Humans are clustered into small enclaves for survival. Angels are everywhere and they hate us. And so on and so forth...

So why, in such a short time span, did the humans feel it necessary to rename Las Vegas to just Vega? Do their scavenging parties get lost when they go outside the walls? I can imagine someone looking at a map (which they probably still use to navigate) and going "Hmmm. Can't find Vega on the map, just this Las Vegas place. How do we get home?" It's just ridiculous.

Equally ridiculous (and laugh-worthy) are the angels themselves. Having decided to "Kill All Humans!", they seem, for the most part, to have been turned into drooling, demonic caricatures of themselves. There is little frightening about watching such a black-eyed, soulless demon murdering innocents on TV. How about if they'd actually retained the angels more traditional image of a shining paragon of good, radiating power? Wouldn't that have had more impact than some frothing, drooling thing? Okay, back to the twenty years have passed thing...

The survivors seem, in this limited time frame, to have reverted to a form of upper and lower caste system mish-mashed together with a healthy dose of ancient Rome. It's a pitiful attempt at showing a dystopian society that just makes you shake your head all the time they spam it in your face.

And just who was it that decided that all such societies have to have manipulating, power-hungry people in them that serve their own ends rather than the people they supposedly protect? It just shrieks of lazy writing. Save me from writers that think political intrigue is required in every show. Just cause Game of Thrones has it doesn't mean you need it in everything.

So, the pilot plods along pedestrianly for the most part, introducing us to the cast and the setting but doing little to keep your interest. The characters are uniformly bland and uninteresting and it is difficult to like any of them, except maybe for the "Newt" analogue.

Towards the end, our hero receives the gift of magic tattoos that will reveal to him how to save humanity from the evil angel scourge. Except, going on the strength of the first bit that he deciphers I suspect the tattoos are going to be a Macguffin designed to further the plot whenever needed by telling the hero where to go and what to do. Either that or he's just gotten himself a full body Magic Eight Ball to dispense pearls of needless wisdom such as the "Beware those closest to you" as happened at the end here. Sheesh!

I had hopes for this show after re-watching Legion, but this is just dire. It's going to bog down in political machination and not go anywhere fast. It will be interminable. Expect nothing much to happen all season. If I were writing it there'd at least be a season's end payoff - maybe a Pompeii-like destruction of Vega and the survivors left having to fend for themselves in the "outdoors" in the last episode. Something worth watching all the dreary in-between episodes that we are sure to get. But I doubt that will happen.

EDIT: So I forced myself to watch episodes two and three. Briefly, we are allowed to leave the drearily-envisioned Vega, but only so that the hero can be forced to return there. Oh God! It's so tedious and obvious! Three episodes, I'm afraid, is my limit, which makes it even less watchable than Helix, in my book.

SUMMARY: Tries hard not to be a formula show, but fails very quickly. A nice idea, maybe, but hampered by dire-logue and stupidity, it is sure to have a short run.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 10:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings Awards External reviews
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history