IMDb > Justice League: War (2014) (V) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Justice League: War
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Justice League: War (V) More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 7:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [Next]
Index 64 reviews in total 

32 out of 40 people found the following review useful:

What happened to DC?

Author: spider_pig113 from Canada
21 February 2014

I wasn't very pleased after watching this. It seems like the superheroes were all being degraded. Look at Wonder Woman in the movie, they showed her as some spoiled girl who only wanted to fight and flash her sword around. That's not how I recall her. She was someone who was powerful but not in the "flash my weapons to get my way" type. It was just sad to see some of my favourite DC heroes be reduced to calling each other poor names and taking things as a joke...except for Batman, who was the only one they really kept close to what his character is typically like. It bothered me that they made almost all of them cocky. I don't think DC has as much pride in their characters anymore after watching this. I wished they hadn't changed the attitudes of some of them because it didn't help at all. J/L:Crisis on Two Earths and J/L:Doom were both better because they had more care for the heroes and the people and they hardly made fun of the Justice League.

Was the above review useful to you?

46 out of 72 people found the following review useful:

Fun to watch, but warnings ahead

Author: kuuk3 from United Kingdom
7 February 2014

1. There is swearing in this movie.

2. It is set-up for a sequel featuring the exact same characters (there is an after-credit scene).

3. Batman appears to be invincible, with the infinite ammo cheat on and untearable suit.

4. Wonder-woman behaves like a child.

5. Darkside is just a bully, with no motivation for his actions. He also carries on fighting when he really shouldn't be able to, and his omega blasts vary in power depending on who they hit.

6. The whole film is pure action with no plot and just a bit of characterisation.

7. Cyborg is a joke. No-one can explain how he got his powers, how they work, what they are, where the ammo come from, what the AI is etc. i know it doesn't explain much in the comic either, but if you willing to scrap Aquaman, then you can make other needed changes to.

8. Superman's transformation at the end is left unexplained as to how.

9. They use the 'reset' switch ending to get rid of thousand of enemy para-demons in one quick sweep (like the end of Avengers). Again it makes no sense and feels like a cheap resolution to a big problem. Too many shows are doings this and it needs to stop.

This is highly fun to watch. The animation is great and I don't have any problems with the voices like the other reviews. There is lots of fighting between the heroes, the monsters, Darkside etc. but thats all it is. Its as though it was written for children, but then we have swearing in it and our heroes acting like bullies and stealing stuff.

As a story, its lacking in every department. There was potential for greatness but it was never utilised. Watch it, enjoy it. But there are superior DC animations and this wont make it into anyone's top 10. But its worth watching.

Was the above review useful to you?

23 out of 32 people found the following review useful:

Grade: C+ - a weak effort by DC Animation

6/10
Author: Joseph Kalai from Singapore
4 February 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Grade: C+

This was a weak effort by DC Animation (DCA), especially following The Flashpoint Paradox, Doom and Crisis on Two Earths. It was let down critically in several areas, namely in Voice acting, Characterization and Plot.

Voice acting & Characterization:

Superman - Alan Tudyk is miscast in this. He is unable to effectively personify the hero that Superman is and comes off a bit of douchebag in certain moments. The costume he wears in this is not classic...and IMHO it does not look great. They could have updated it without losing the iconic look too much (e.g. Man of Steel).

Supes himself comes off as having a God-complex in this film. He does not seem the noble, self-sacrificing, protect the innocent type of hero we've all come to know and love. He also seems mildly de-powered, though he is easily the most physically supreme of the lot. As usual he disappears half-way through the film and needing Bats to save his ass.

Batman - Jason O'Mara did an OK job with gravitas. Strangely he sounded a bit of a mix between Kevin Conroy and David Hayter (Metal Gear series) - which is a good thing. Bats is well characterized in this film and comes across as the investigative lone-wolf type hero.

WW - Michelle Monaghan admirably captured WW quite well. The character was also kick-ass (with a nice ass!) and very warrior-like. Well done!

Flash - Chris Gorham did Flash well. He was also portrayed well being slightly more mature in attitude without lacking the wisecracks.

Green Lantern - poor characterization. While Justin Kirk did the voice OK, the character lacks maturity and is not a leader-type. This is more the Ryan Reynolds version of Hal at work.

Cyborg - well done Shemar! Super character to introduce in greater detail.

Captain Marvel - welcome back Sean Astin (Samwise Gamgee)! Great job and good character as a boy with Superpowers.

Darkseid - poorly executed. They reduced him to a brawler instead of a master schemer. Insanely powerful though, able to resist the entire Justice League all at once.

Animation style: This is more Korean anime style (as opposed to Japanese anime) which I find more appealing. It tends to moderate between Japanese and Western animation styles. Those who dislike Japanese anime style may find this more tolerable.

Plot: Weak JL genesis plot. Darkseid's invasion play has no clear motive other than to obtain Kal-El. The rest of the heroes are just there because...well...they need to be there to.become.the.Justice.League. Right? ;)

Overall: Poor effort by DCA. I feel they let themselves down by approving an underpar script and miscasting Superman. It doesn't compare favorably to past efforts though still watchable for fans.

Was the above review useful to you?

24 out of 37 people found the following review useful:

"Justice League: WAR" Has Battle Scars

Author: Laurence E Gibbs from United States
2 February 2014

Greetings Superhero Fans!!

I just wanted to let you know that I was one of the fortunate ones who was able to watch this latest animated gem from DC and Warner Bros. in addition to being at the premier, to which I was able to interview some of the incredible talent behind this latest endeavor...including the incredible Andrea Romano.

Justice League: WAR is based on DC Comics' "New 52", which means brand new origin stories and character depictions...if you're up on the current issues, well then only you can be the judge on the quality of these new story lines.

For me, who was never really a true "Comic-Book Geek", only a semi-Comic Book Geek, I am a little disappointed on this latest animated offering...which is sad, because, up until now, I have been nothing but incredibly impressed with all things DC Animated.

Now, please do not get me wrong, the movie is fun, and visually stunning...it is just not what I had hoped in as far as story, character development and execution. "Justice League: THe Flashpoint Paradox", "Justice League: The New Frontier" and "Justice League: Crisis on Two Earths" I felt were better offerings and I have incredible hope and confidence that DC will continue with those as their guides for their future productions.

With all of that said...would I still watch it again? Sure, again, it was a fun watch, and even my 15 year old son, who loves these animated movies just as much as I do, enjoyed watching it and would watch it again...so...go out and get this DVD, which is officially on sale as of Tuesday, 02/04/14 and have yourselves a "Superfriends" time. ;)

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

Terrible - much like the story it was based on

1/10
Author: DarthBill from United States
23 April 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The first in what is apparently meant to be an over-reaching continuity of DC animated films based on the New 52 gets off to a bad start with what is honestly one of the worst stories from the New 52 right out the gate, JUSTICE LEAGUE: ORIGIN by Geoff Johns, re-subtitled WAR here presumably because it sounds cooler.

Plot or lack thereof: Darkseid invades Earth. A handful of DC's big hitters plus Cyborg ban together to fight him. Chaos and mayhem ensues.

Geoff Johns, who wrote the original story, is a good writer, not a perfect writer but a good one. I've enjoyed his work on Green Lantern, and he did a very good job on the opening arcs of New 52 Aquaman - who sadly was taken out of this feature and replaced with Shazam, the hero formerly known as the original Captain Marvel - but his New 52 Justice League: Origin was a terrible story, full of bad dialogue and unlikable over the top characterizations for half the characters assembled, wasting the beautiful artwork of Jim Lee on an invasion plot thinner than paper. In short, it was NOT one of his better efforts. Anyone who reads that opening New 52 arc can clearly see that Johns heart wasn't invested in the story he was trying to tell.

Sadly, this animated adaptation opts to embrace the sloppiness of the original story rather than fix it or improve upon it. While some of the bad dialogue of the book was dropped (such as Green Lantern's rather stupid "Talk in a deep voice" response to Batman criticizing him for creating a green plane for transportation) they've gone out of their way to add more to the list of casual profanity, which now includes "whore" and "douche bag", and that's just in addition to the regular profanity which seems to be on higher display than usual, which just feels incredibly forced as they're trying way too hard to make this feature as "mature" as possible, except this isn't mature - this is a 13 year old's idea of mature.

The painfully unlikable characterizations of half the cast remain too. Fans who thought Superman wasn't "nice enough" in 2013's "Man of Steel" probably won't like him here either; you see the New 52 portrayed Superman in his early career as a cocky rebel, much like he was in the Golden Age (though he seems to mellow across a few time skips), but here as in the original story this is taken to the point that he's portrayed as a straight up thug who appears to be fighting not in the defense of Earth and innocent people but rather he is merely fighting because he happens to enjoy causing property damage and smacking opponents around. There's no sense of altruism in him, no sense of compassion, something even a younger, more rebellious Superman should have, and something he did have in MOS regardless of what the haters say.

Wonder Woman and Green Lantern don't fair much better. Wonder Woman is portrayed as a dumb, spazzy child trapped in a woman's body who would much rather hack and slash her way through monsters than actually learn from and establish ties with the modern world, and the scene where she freaks out over tasting ice cream for the first time is painfully unfunny. Meanwhile, Green Lantern's arrogance is dialed up so high that he comes off being stupid and mean rather than just cocky. It seems the WB/DC folk are still trying to pass Green Lantern off as their Iron Man - which some believe was one of the reasons why the 2011 film failed at the box office - and they're still failing at it, since they don't seem to understand that there needs to be genuine likability behind the sarcasm, and here GL has none.

Shazam/Billy Batson is an interesting case - Shazam is surprisingly likable if only because Sean Astin manages to make a somewhat engaging character out of the material, but Billy is an obnoxious brat ala the New 52 who insults and degrades those around him (he gleefully calls his friends/foster family morons). Meanwhile the villain, DC favorite Darkseid, is little more than a monster on the rampage rather than the highly intelligent ruler that fans know and love him for being. He could've easily been replaced with Doomsday and it wouldn't have seriously altered the plot.

Voice acting's hit or miss. Batman, Flash and Cyborg are reasonably close to their normal characterizations and their voice actors reflect that, but Jason O'Mara is a shaky Batman at best. Alan Tudyk's voice is too small and too soft for the Superman design, Michelle Monaghan sounds too contemporary and "American" to be convincing as a Wonder Woman who has just arrived to our world and sounds like she would have been better suited to voicing Lois Lane, while Justin Kirk's nasally frat boy voice is a painfully poor fit for Green Lantern.

It's rather telling that the more lighthearted, kid friendly "Justice League Adventures: Trapped In Time" released around the same at select Target only featured far more likable characterizations of the heroes than this overblown "popcorn film" which lacks the heart, soul, and genuinely likable characterizations of the truly great popcorn films.

If this is truly the future of DC direct to DVD animation then the future is a bleak one.

Was the above review useful to you?

23 out of 37 people found the following review useful:

Not Impressed

3/10
Author: grast5150
17 March 2014

I am not impressed with the latest re-envisioning of DC characters. Superman, Green Lantern, and Wonder Woman are HORRIBLE. The voice acting is OK but the dialog is horrible especially for Wonder Woman. I was disappointed to see how the story illustrated Superman. Since when is Superman a spoiled uncontrolled arrogant punk. That is Captain Marvel. I saw nothing of the reserved and respectful Superman which I grew up with. Green Lantern was a little bit too cocky. His powers were a bit too scaled down for me.

The story was OK as a whole but the new character from the NEW 52 did not resonate with me.

Thanks.

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

Very Disappointing...

5/10
Author: superman_l79 from United States
6 February 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I have said for years now, since the DC Comics animated movies started with Superman: Doomsday, that these movies could be made into full theatre release features. Overall, I like them better than the live action movies that DC does. I enjoyed the Nolan Batman series and I liked Man of Steel as well but the DC animated movie line just got it right every time.

Then, I watched Justice League: War...What the Hell Happened?!?!?!?!

The voice acting was terrible (with the exception of Shemar Moore/Cyborg and Chris Gorham/Flash). I will say though, I thought that Jason O'Mara as Batman wasn't awful. It's just somehow not the same when it's not Kevin Conroy. That being said though...actors like Jeremy Sisto, Peter Weller and Bruce Greenwood have done a good job at bringing a voice to the Dark Knight. O'Mara just wasn't quite good enough yet to convince me he was Batman.

The story was supposed to be adapted from the Geoff Johns/Jim Lee story that introduced the Justice League to the New 52 Universe of DC. It was a great story and great art! As blah as I have felt about the new direction DC Comics has taken I have loved the Justice League books so far. Plus, this story gave a great insight into the new take on these characters with their new looks, attitudes and the way they were introduced to each other. It all worked so well. That feeling was completely lost in this animated adaptation.

There were many specific things that made me feel that this movie was inferior to the previous DC animated releases: 1. Darkseid: He was lame and became the ridiculous generic bad guy they made him out to be in the Super Friends cartoons back in the 80's. He even had that annoying, graveled voice similar to how he sounded back then. Good fit for what Super Friends was, bad for this movie. 2. I may be the only person to say this but…Where the hell was Aquaman? I enjoyed his character in the DC Comics version of this story. In fact, he has become quite the bad ass in the New 52 universe and they toss him out for… 3. Shazam! OK, while I respect the direction they've taken with the new origin of this character in the comics I did not like his addition to this story nor his characterization. Besides, if you're going to replace a central character from the original story why use Shazam? (Who will always be named Captain Marvel to me, not sharing his name with the Wizard that gave him his powers.) We already have Superman in the mix, why bring in Shazam? Now I've always liked Sha…I can't do it…Capt. Marvel and while I realize he's similar to Superman they are different characters. Bottom line though, if they wanted to have a story with the new Capt. Marvel they should've made a movie about his new origin. 4. Could Wonder Woman have been any cornier?! I see the direction they were trying to take but it took a wrong turn. She sounded like she could've been a perfect fit for the campy old Batman TV show. (Love that show though by the way.) Her characterization was not a fit for this story. And did we really need the ice cream scene? 5. Superman and Green Lantern's voices did not match them at all in my opinion. Once again, I think I know what they were attempting to do but it just didn't work. These characters are based off their new looks and attitudes from the New 52 storyline but the voices just didn't fit that for my taste. GL just came off as a stupid blowhard as opposed to a headstrong newbie with his ring. And Superman…Alan Tudyk is a good actor and all but I didn't feel he was a good fit for the Man of Steel. Superman should have a commanding yet understated voice being a Kansas boy. Granted this was an interpretation of the new Superman who has not been in action for long and hasn't fully developed into his role as a hero but he came off way too cocky and kind of a douche. 6. OK, I'm an adult and I'm not saying that my language is completely clean. Plus, some of the DC animated movies lately have had mildly harsh language lately (as well as Lois Lane giving Brainiac the finger in Superman: Unbound) but this movie took it a bit too far I think. Sure they may have been trying to match the gritty nature that the New 52 is taking in the comics but this just seemed forced. "Hey, it's the New 52 style so we should probably have people cursing a lot." MINOR DIALOGUE SPOILER... 7. This may be nit-picky but…When the President asks what their team's name is at the end of the movie, Sha…Captain Marvel says "The Super Seven!" I'm sorry, not only did you have him replace Aquaman, now we're giving him lines from characters that are ACTUALLY STILL IN THE STORY?! Flash said that when asked in the comic story.

Overall, this movie was sub-par from the movies released previously from DC. I hope that they don't feel that the continuation of their animated films has to stay along this line because there are many great stories from before the New 52 that could still be adapted to the small screen. Get your act together DC…

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

a very disappointing 'effort'

5/10
Author: jokredge from Athens, Greece
5 February 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I didn't really have high hopes for JL:War to begin with. I have read the comic book Origin, and although i enjoyed it, i didn't really think it could be translated well into a full-length movie. The biggest problem is DC's decision to move away from making fun, intelligent, thrilling JL movies, and just making 1 and a half hour blockbuster animations, filled with gritty "bad ass" dialogue and stupid pop-culture references.

The movie's biggest problem however, is the total mis-characterisation of it's iconic characters, heroes who have been done so much justice in DC's previous efforts (JL cartoons, previous DC Animated features) that it is heartbreaking to watch them here.

SUPERMAN in this movie, is a muscle-head, a total grunt whose only role is to punch this and that, and hit on WW. His dialogue is non-existent, and he really comes out more like a lobotomized Hulk,rather than the most iconic superhero of all time. WONDER WOMAN is a murdering psycho, dressed like an generic anime loli. CYBORG is.. a cyborg alright, but not CYBORG. His origin is different, his character is different, his powers.. You could really replace the three heroes above with original characters. It wouldn't have been agood movie, but at least it wouldn't be an insult to the fans of the JL.Now to the less butchered characters: BATMAN is classic batman.His voice could be a tad monotonous but not really bad, and not really fond of the new costume (that goes for all of them, but batman's in particular makes him look less like a 'weird figure of the night' and more like a metal gear character). SHAZAM-FLASH are the most underused and generic characters they could come up with. We get no backstory at all, no character build-up, they are just there to brawl, although the Flash gets a really badass action scene. THE GREEN LANTERN is the only heroe i really enjoyed in this movie. He's young, cocky, arrogant and borderline psychotic, but you know what?That's Hal Jordan! He is the protagonist of this movie, taking the helm in all the big fights, getting the only character progression in the movie, and his and batman's are the only interractions that come off as real-life people talking. DARKSEID is so badly butchered and underused, that i can;t talk about it without major spoilers but, it is very bad. Any fan of the real lord of Apokolips, get ready for it.

Now, the action was good(not Flashpoint good), although , with 3/4ths of the film being fighting scenes it could get boring at times.The music score was OK, a little underwhelming. All in all, it is an OK movie to watch once, but given DC's past track record, with movies that really push the borders of superhero cartoon animation, if you are a fan, watch the company's previous efforts and pass this one.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Utterly Deplorable

2/10
Author: ikrani
25 February 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I'm still not sure what kind of drugs the execs at DC are taking, but they need to find some new meds if they thought this was a good idea.

First of all, let me start by saying that I do not read the comics, nor should I have to. A movie should be able to stand on its own without the need to consult outside material. This movie does not stand on its own. It is the worst direct-to-video DC movie I have seen to date.

The story is okay: Darkseid invades, the Justice League scramble to stop him. Unoriginal, but those are the kind of stories where you can make your characters shine. And there are a lot of problems with this story. For example, how does the Flash know that Batman is real but Hal Jordan doesn't even though The Flash and Hal are on first-name terms with each other? Why does Batman act like he's never seen Superman before when he already knows his secret identity? Why did the Ring choose Hal even though he's an enormous douche-nozzle? All these questions and more will NOT be answered because the movie doesn't care.

The characters in this movie are terrible. Gone are the days of Bruce Timm and Paul Dini's Justice League, replaced by a bunch of REALLY annoying ass-jackals that are nothing like the role models and lovable figures that we had ten years ago. Batman is still Batman even if he's way smoother with his hands than he should be, the Flash is okay despite having a fangasm when he meets Batman, Cyborg is more or less the same, Wonder Woman is a fish out of water that behaves more like a child than a dignified warrior princess of the Amazons (imagine Starfire from Glen Murakami's Teen Titans if you took away all the funny), Hal Jordan is a unlikable self-obsessed egomaniac who cares more about his image than doing his job as a Green Lantern, Billy Batson a.k.a. Captain Marvel (I refuse to call him Shazam; that's the wizard's name) is a pessimistic CRIMINAL who steals football jerseys and constantly makes me question if the wizard who gave him those powers was really desperate or really drunk, and Superman has a major ego that blinds him to the fact that THERE'S F**KING ALIENS IN THE NEIGHBORHOOD.

And then there are the pop cultural references. These are not the comedic pop cultural references that things like Freakazoid and Disney's Aladdin played for laughs, these are the result of DC execs saying, "Hey, let's get in with the hip crowd by putting in a bunch of annoying throwaway references that will no doubt give our fans aneurysms when they hear them!" Well, congrats, DC; between Hal Jordan using the word "douche" (looked in a mirror recently, Hal?), him wanting to get on to TMZ and Captain Marvel talking about World of Warcraft, I almost got a pre-paid ride in an ambulance. Since when has DC EVER needed pop cultural references to make good movies?

If you want a solid story in which all the characters are portrayed accurately and timelessly, go watch Bruce Timm's Justice League cartoon. This movie is an indication that DC no longer cares about its fans and just wants to take shortcuts by doing what it thinks newcomers will like to the point of offering up one character after another on the Altar of Fanboy Rage. The only thing worse would be a Teen Titans Go movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Overall a disappointment...

Author: A_Different_Drummer from North America
3 February 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

A huge disappointment after Flashpoint Paradox (also reviewed by this writer). It is oddly faithful to the very first DC comic brand, appropriately named ACTION, because there is a lot of action here. But that's all. No connection with the audience. The voice actors sound like they would rather be somewhere else, especially Batman. The writers clearly spent too much time watching the AVENGERS live action because they have started to believe they can write banter and witty repartee like Joss Whedon. Which they cannot. (All they do is create dialog which will embarrass some parents, but likely not their children). They have, OMG, given Green Latern lines of snarky dialog which – trust me – could only ever be spoken convincingly by Robert Downey Jr.-- and the only place THAT is going to happen is inside a REAL alternate universe. DC itself, having happily entered a fantasy world when everything old can be re-invented and re-imagined exactly to their liking -- much like the Federal Reserve is doing with the world economy -- seems determined to extract every possible dollar they can from the Shazam franchise. Even though there is really no such franchise. And the Shazam story, with its goofy mysticism and other foibles, raises the Spiderman legend to the level of King Lear in comparison. Plus, it is more than a little annoying that they tried to save money on animation by not drawing any bystanders in the endless fight scenes. Even Superman 2 live-action -- back in the age of dinosaurs -- knew that, if you destroy cities helter-skelter, there are going to be some fleeing civilians somewhere. As for the villain, maybe its just me, but I am getting tired of giant Androids trying to take over Earth. There are more interesting planets to conquer out there. Trust me. I read a lot of comics.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 7:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot synopsis Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history