IMDb > Wild Tales (2014) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Relatos salvajes
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Wild Tales More at IMDbPro »Relatos salvajes (original title)

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 15:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 142 reviews in total 

261 out of 290 people found the following review useful:

Too much fun and human darkness for one day.

9/10
Author: Patrick Richard from Argentina
25 August 2014

Watched last night at the theater with my girlfriend.

It's a compilations of 6 tales, but they don't have the same type of lenght, humor or darkness. Each one is unique.

1) Airplane tale: fantastic, hilarating and surrealistic story to open the series.

2) Coffee shop tale: shorter, but dark and makes you wonder what's "freedom" for some people.

3) Road tale: excellent. A really LOT of violence and a little bit of humor makes this one of the best tales in the movie.

4) Human limit tale: a man that's having a couple of really bad days explode when he runs out of patiente. Great acting.

5) Accident tale: 90% darkness. And the fact that could be a very possible story makes it even darker. Shocking finale.

6) Wedding tale: almost impossible to qualify. Hilarious for the most part, but at the end, it will make you wonder to whom you are spending your whole life with.

Seeing this compilation in a theater for the price of one, its a damn good deal if you ask me.

Go watch it.

Was the above review useful to you?

151 out of 170 people found the following review useful:

Clever, dark and funny

8/10
Author: sanarg from Argentina
25 August 2014

The movie is actually 6 short films, all related by brutal violence motivated by different situations. Family. Society. Government. It works very well like that, lasting over 120 minutes that go by quickly. It feels very fluid. Szifrón's eye is very precise. You can tell everything was very well thought. I wouldn't say this is a philosophical film, but it is clever entertainment, that makes you think if this wild tales are actually that wild... Even though this stories are taken to the extreme, everything feels somehow possible when you look back.

Darkly humorous. Watch it.

Was the above review useful to you?

125 out of 154 people found the following review useful:

Just Brilliant !

10/10
Author: Diego Eusa from Argentina
27 August 2014

6 Stories - 6 masterpieces! They perfectly combine thriller, drama, humor and the common topic is the violence.

Each tale is independent from the other, but all of them have something special that makes you really enjoy.

The situations introduced in each story are actually based on real life, of course the are intentionally exaggerated with a sense of satire and irony that really makes you laugh.

The picture is the best I have seen in an Argentina movie and the music "made ​​in" Santaolalla is sublime.

The actors/actresses are amazing (specially the bride - Erica Rivas) In my opinion it is one of the best non-English Language movies ever.

Was the above review useful to you?

109 out of 125 people found the following review useful:

Absolutely brilliant!

9/10
Author: Bruno Youn from São Paulo, Brazil
24 October 2014

Revenge is a dish best served cold indeed! Wild Tales has one of the most electrifying openings I've seen and is a very funny, clever, brutal and thrilling film. Director/Writer Damián Szifrón puts together six different stories that all have revenge as their common theme. While some might be more engaging then others, they all have a lot of dark humor and take unpredictable turns. Wild Tales would certainly make Quentin Tarantino proud with its excellent blend of stylized violence and sharp comedy. This is undoubtedly the most fun I had watching a movie this year and I cannot recommend it highly enough!

8.7/10

Was the above review useful to you?

99 out of 118 people found the following review useful:

What a wonderful idea!

10/10
Author: romanvartanov2014 from Russia
30 January 2015

I went to see this movie hoping to get a brake from Hollywood production. And I did. It was amazing, one of the best movies I've seen on big screen in 2 or 3 years.

Plot consists of different stories which all have one thing in common: they are about revenge. Every single story starts rather boring. At the very beginning I was thinking "What's so wild about it? It is just lame" and by the end of the intro I was like "Holy God! No, they did not just twist it like that! OMG!"

And it gets better. A true masterpiece. I am from Russia so for me it was rather interesting and surprising that Latin America is so similar to Russia. The views, the behaviour of the people, the insanity - all like at home.

You won't regret seeing this movie. Don't take your kid or your grandmother though.

Was the above review useful to you?

84 out of 107 people found the following review useful:

6 hilarious black comedy live action shorts

9/10
Author: paolo-rosse88 from Chile
25 August 2014

This Argentinian movie was released in my country (Chile) on last Thursday, and since i heard very good comments about the movie i decided to go to a Cinema at Parque Arauco in Chile and this is what i wrote about it:

The film is split into six unconnected stories, watching each story is around 20-30 minutes long and you feel like you're watching a live action short film. What do they have in common? All of them are a mix between drama and comedy. The script is hilarious, even if the lines are sad, it's so full of black comedy, that there were people rolling on the floor laughing at the Cinema.

I'd write much more about this film, but i think i might be spoiling it, so i prefer to tell you that i can't wait to watch it again. So please do NOT miss it.

Was the above review useful to you?

83 out of 110 people found the following review useful:

Very dark, very funny, extremely realistic

10/10
Author: abisio from Miami
29 September 2014

Wild Tales (Relatos Salvajes) is perhaps the darkest and funniest movie I saw in years; but is it really a comedy ?. No it is not. Six tales about human that are obviously related to the Argentinian reality (abusive government, corruption, people indifference) but certainly can be applied to many other countries in the world; USA included.

Telling about each tale will cut the impact and somewhat surprise of each one. Let's just say that the outcome of each tale is sometimes predictable; but driven by logic not clichés.

As always happens; some histories are better than others; but even that will be different for different viewers.

In brief; an excellent movie that deserves to be seen by people with a brain and a will to think.

Was the above review useful to you?

66 out of 84 people found the following review useful:

Time does not heal all wounds.

10/10
Author: raven-64-833785 from Miami
12 October 2014

Time does not heal all wounds. One thing leads to another in six outrageous, hilarious and extreme stories of revenge. A jilted and emotionally volatile bride wreaks havoc at her wedding with an equally unstable new husband, a towing company hauls away one too many times the vehicle belonging an explosive expert, and two macho drivers – one in an Audi and the other in a pile of junk – go head to head with explosive road rage, among other delicious and fiery adventures. The utmost fantasies fulfilled, the extremes of emotions, and the riot of laughter that engulfed me from all sides, I cannot remember having such a good time watching a film. The director, who answered questions at the 2014 Toronto International Film Festival, said the film is about the pleasure of losing control and giving in to unrestrained passions. Is it ever!

Was the above review useful to you?

57 out of 70 people found the following review useful:

"All may lose control"

9/10
Author: Martin Rosig (tin257@hotmail.com) from Rosario, Argentina
23 August 2014

It's hard to review an unconventional movie, because this one is sort of six movies all in one. Relatos Salvajes (Wild Tales) is about six different and independent stories with one thing in common: the limit of our patience, or like it's tagline says..."All may lose control". Ordinary people that find themselves in awkward situations they didn't look for, and that's the beauty of this movie. It's almost impossible not to feel identified with one of the characters, with one of their situations, despite the awkward moments they struggle that in some passages make us feel uncomfortable. And the merit of director Damián Szifrón is to tell those stories with an exquisite combination of intrigue, suspense and a remarkable and effective dark humor. The acting, editing, photography and the music of Gustavo Santaolalla are all ingredients that give extra points. You'll get out of the cinema talking to each other which tale you enjoyed the most and reviewing some of their hilarious scenes.

Was the above review useful to you?

46 out of 65 people found the following review useful:

Modern rage + black comedy

8/10
Author: dardo766 from United States
25 August 2014

Mixing modern rage with black comedy this collection of shorts rises above expectations to become one of the best and funniest movies from Argentina along with The Secret In Their Eyes and El Aura, and probably the most accessible for international audiences

Six unrelated stories that share a common theme of revenge are shown back to back, and not edited back and forward like it's usual with these kind of movie, some of them are better than others: the opener, the road rage incident, the hit and run, and the wedding stand out, while the more conventional and predictable "Bombita" and "The Rats" still entertain thanks to superb writing and directing

There's a few annoying problems with logical plot holes like why would the rich yuppie go out of his way to put the damaged spare tired in his trunk (and thus leaving it open) when running for his life and factual errors like on the wedding episode the bride's threats about this husband's companies are meaningless because in Argentina possessions are considered marriage goods ("bienes gananciales") only if the are acquire during the marriage and not before like the screen husband's companies, and like these are others but among such high quality stuff glaring mistakes like these are more evident

highly recommended

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 15:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history