IMDb > Call of Duty: Ghosts (2013) (VG) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
Call of Duty: Ghosts (VG) More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 21 reviews in total 

10 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Very fun iteration of the Call of Duty franchise

8/10
Author: Bob Jones
15 November 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

To start out with, video games with recycled features aren't bad, if each iteration is fun to play. The campaign is a completely new story, and while the story isn't quite as good as the previous iterations but is still very enjoyable and entertaining experience. The main villain Rorke is entertaining enough. This campaign is outlandish but fun. On to the multi- player. They made some improvements to the recognizable Call of Duty multi-player formula. For starters, they added the smallest bit of destructible environment. It is kind of weak and there is so little of it that it is hard to notice, but it is a good start for future entries to pick up on. They've added many different guns, for all of you MW3 haters out there. Also added are new maps, lockable doors, a reward that wipes out the entire map, floods, and earthquakes. The new entry in Call of Duty is as fun as ever and I recommend it to fans of the franchise.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

A lacklustre solo player – and multiplayer more and more it lacks a real sense of team competition

Author: bob the moo from United Kingdom
17 August 2015

Two years after it came out, I decided to pick up Ghosts. Having played COD since Modern Warfare, I stopped around Black Ops – partly due to other demands on my time, but mostly because the games had moved so far from the sheer fun I had on COD4, that I really no longer enjoyed it. With MW3, I enjoyed the spectacle of the single player, and the fun of survival, but barely put 24 hours into the multiple player before getting bored – a big contrast compared to the days when COD4 was the only game I owned, and clocked a shameful 40+ days into it (over several years it must be said…but it is still shameful).

With Ghosts I was one of the rare breed buying it for the campaign. I was never one to jump into multiplayer on day one, I always enjoyed the Michael Bay style action and OTT spectacle of the campaigns. Ghosts tries to open on this, but just comes over silly and immediately making the player feel like they are on rails (which we are for the whole game – but the game doesn't need to always be reminding us of this). As a narrative the tight focus on a family in the midst of such a conflict might have worked, but really it doesn't. Instead we get a tired and surprisingly bored story rolled out over missions which rarely excite or thrill. With the other games there are several levels that I can always return to for how much fun they are to play, but with Ghosts I do not think there is one that I felt this way. Indeed at one point I Googled to see how many missions the game had, just so I knew if I could face pushing on through them – seeing I only had 2 left, I preserved.

This is not down to a fan-boy complaint (my days of buying this game on even year 1, far less day 1, are long gone) but just a simple observation: in terms of gameplay and narrative, it really feels nobody had the energy for this. Technically it looks good, but the music doesn't add as much, and the gameplay choices (and lack of choices) are poor – even for those who love the campaigns in the other games, this just comes over like going through the motions. On the other game modes, the aliens one didn't inspire me. More annoying though is survival; it was so great in MW3 but here I just couldn't get into it despite my efforts. Squads seems like a massive waste of time (if you want to play against 5 bots and a human, why not just play against 6 bots offline?).

Multiplayer I had limited exposure to, but I found it perfectly okay for a quick game here and there – but noticeably never felt the passion or addiction I once did. The maps are more and more complex and the vast majority are too big for the type of intense conflict I used to love in COD4. This in turn means that the fun and sheer sense of contest is very much gone from the game. In COD4 the killstreaks were simple and not such an obsession – okay we are far from the "nuke chasing" days of MW2, and I appreciate that the killstreaks and scoring methods is trying to force people to play the games, not play for personal kills – but it is too little too late, they shaped the community too well years before. I still pick it up occasionally because I liked the "offline" version of online with bots and the silliness of "levelling up" removed, but even still it is not really a game with heart.

When I bought this game, I did worry a little that maybe it would trigger COD addiction, and Xbox Gold, and days lost to prestiging again; no such risk with Ghost. It is a game that really lacks enthusiasm in itself, and therefore has none to share with the player. Characters are weak, narrative is hollow, and gameplay never gets the heart pumping. Multiplayer continues the overblown, kill- obsessed path, and, despite some chances to address this, ultimately it never feels like anyone is trying to win the game so much as just pad their k/d ratio, get their killstreaks, and not really care so much as grind – accordingly, the game does takes the same approach.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Bland singleplayer, poor multiplayer and half-decent extinction (though not half-decent enough to redeem this game)

2/10
Author: spam1689321
3 May 2014

I would just like to say before I begin that i am not one of those people who go around reviewing everything one star and writing comments like OMG DIS GAME SOOO BAD YO. I am a long time Call of Duty Player and have been playing since Cod 4.

I guess I'll start with the singleplayer. For those who don't know, this game is set 10 years after a war where the South Americans took control of America and parts of the World. You play as a a small group of Freedom Fighters (see: terrorists) called the ghosts. You also have a dog though you wouldn't know it because he only appears in 1 mission. The plot is lacking. A lot. Now I'm the sort have person who can forgive this as long as the gameplay is fun but this just isn't. Here is the basic layout of each mission: Walk to point a. Killed wave and bad guys. Walk to point b. Kill wave of bad guys. Walk to point c. Kill wave of bad guys. View something that is supposed to further the story and make you hate the antagonist. End of mission. I think I've covered the story. Moving on...

Multiplayer. The Basics: If you are new to the series, the multiplayer is 8v8 matches on maps set across the globe. There are multiple gamemodes like team deathmatch (first team to 75 kills win), Domination (capturing and holding flags earns points, first to 200 wins), Free-For-All (Every man for himself. first to 30) and a few others. Getting kills earns EXP. Getting enough EXP. levels you up. You can then unlock guns. not much has changed since before apart from the addition of squad points. They're basically CoD points from BO but they now apply to everything. Not just attachments. Everything. I personally don't like this as it makes unlocking guns too easy and you could have very powerful guns early on. Maps: The maps are bad. My main problem with them is that they are very big. Like i said, 8v8 do you spend lots of times running around. the problem with this is that it promotes camping because people think "Why should i spend lots of time trying to find someone when they can come to me." This means that you will spend lots of time running around then step into a building only to get shot by the guy who'd been sitting there for the last 5 minutes. You know its bad when the first kill happens 3 minutes in. The only good maps are strikezone and Warhawk because they are more like the medium sized maps in previous CoDs. So basically the maps are too big and everyone camps. Spawning: The thing with this game is, when you're not getting killed by a camper, you are getting killed by a dude who just spawned right behind you or you are spawning in front of a guy. the worst is definitely that the game doesn't recognise the Guard Dog (a dog which protects you until it is killed) kill streak as a player so i once spawn in the spot only to get killed by a dog 6 times in a row. Once i even spawned inside the dog which was funny until it ripped me apart. To test the spawning on the game, whenever i get a sat-com (like a UAV but it is a placeable object on the ground) i will always place it where i spawn. Normally i will work a very short distance (around 1/6th of the maps length) only to be informed that the enemy have destroyed my SAT-COM. That has to be some of the worst spawning i have ever seen in any game. The Technical Stuff Things like the hit detection, weapon balancing, connection. All perfect. It's sort of weird that the one time they manage to get this right, the muck everything else up.

Extinction Extinction is a mode where a group of up to four players must use a drill to go around an area destroying alien "hive's" It's a bit like zombies, except: The aliens do not appear in waves, only when the drill is placed. They do get progressively harder, however. It ends after destroying the 14th hive and placing a nuke to blow up the final hive. You create a class by picking soldier class (Weapon specialist, tank, medic and engineer) It's not as the fun.

The reason I don't find it fun is because it will always be the same. With zombies you can experiment, you can play differently every time, you can really change things around. with this you can change what class you use which slightly affects gameplay.

The Verdict. I wouldn't buy this game. The singleplayer is boring and the story is bland. 1 star. The multiplayer has bad maps and the spawning is very broken. Players don't help this by deciding that they must all camp. The great hit detection and balanced weapons make up for this though so the game gets an extra half star. Extinction is a decent gamemode to play if you've got nothing else to do and, despite its faults, it can be quite good at times so that gets the game another half a star leaving the game at 2 STARS The Final Verdict: You can borrow it from a friend, you can rent the game but whatever you do don't buy it!

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 23 people found the following review useful:

Social Degen of duty: Ghost gets shot in the back

3/10
Author: DustinRahksi from Canada
11 November 2013

DON'T READ IF YOU ARE A CALL OF DUTY SOLDIER. I only bought this game so I could suffer through it's BS, that and I've been playing this franchise since 2004, it's kind of hard to just stop playing it. I get amused when people claim to be old school COD players when they started Black ops. Now, I have nothing good to say about this game, mainly because the god-amn thing doesn't work when ever I try to play it. Most of the issues from BLOPS 2 return, plus they had some other game breaking ones as well.

The story and survival: The story mode is almost as ridiculous as Homefront, it's your standard American fist bumping, teaching the kiddies to be patriotic and violent. The survival with aliens is flat out lack luster, zombies got old after two games, this got old after two minutes. Story gets 0 out of 5 stars. Survival gets I out of 5 stars. Off to a great start so far IW.

Multiplayer, the only reason anyone bought the game, which was a pretty weak reason to begin with. Here are the flaws I have discovered in the mear hour and a half I have played, or should I say, I could only play because it hasn't worked in two days. That IW, it's good to know the millions of people on PS3 don't deserve your exclusive platinum quality that you give to Microsoft. Flaws: 1. Maps are too damn big, and have no rhyme or reason. 2. This mans army is full of children. 3. The lag is the same old same old. 4. The graphics look like they are from 2008. 5. The single player is moronic and boring. 6. Not a single one of the faults I addressed below were even considered, except for the limp ass specialist. 7. Spawns are too close on the big maps, you always get shot in the back or spawn where you just died. 8. Same gun sound effects used in every other IW game. 9. Strip club map for the little 12 year olds to giggle at. 10. Dogs can kill you from ten feet away 11. Maps are thee worst in series history. 12. Every body hates it already. Besides the maps and camping, the biggest problem is IW has tailored this game for campers, it literally forces you to "adapt" to their new formula. Rushers get punisher, while MLG pro campers get rewarded.

Here's a paragraph from my "CoD ghosts sucks" list, it describes how the game plays for me. It's been two days of trying to get this game to work again, it worked on Friday, but hasn't worked since. Activision is a joke, same sh-t happens every year. But unlike the last fews years were I could actually join a match and play, this year it just freezes in the lobby right when the match timer runs out. When I enter kill confirmed, it freezes instantly. When I enter team death match, the lobby works just fine and I can hear people talking. The timer runs out, and it freezes. I've searched for hours on the internet for people with the same problems, there's a lot of them. Hell, my computer may have a virus now, all because this stupid ass game refuses to work. I'm stuck with this until February, no BF4, no Killzone Shadow Fall, just a 120 dollar game that doesn't work. How am I supposed to return a hardened edition, EB games won't take it back and give me a new one. Speaking of EB games, how many god damn times to I have to buy a game from them, that is either cracked or defective.

I have confirmed that all core COD fans have left already, and that all pre-MW3 fans don't give a sh-t any more. So that leaves factual evidence that 12 years olds are the only ones left, and the unfortunate adults that.... hide in corners and head glitch for a KD ratio IN A VIDEO GAME, WHAT DOES THAT GET YOU IN THE REAL.

If you want my full thoughts and rants about the game, go check out my list. As I am writing this, I am thinking of trying to go get the game to work, even though my efforts are futile. The game is a complete disaster, but the COD nerds will still defend it with their lives. Well, I'm off to go see if this game will work.

Nov. 13th/14th update: So I got the game to work on the 12th, and have put eight and a half hours in so far. The multi-player is broken beyond repair, you spawn and die within half a second at least a dozen times every hour, if it ain't that, you are probably just getting shot in the back. I play kill confirmed exclusively, since you can't very well count of getting kills, you minus well go for tags. And I consistently beast because nobody plays the objective. The guns suck, aside from the pump shoty and HB. There is barely anyone playing, I'm level 32 and am already rank 10'000 in the KC play-list. On the positive, it is more enjoyable than BLOPS 2, I love the Honey badger, Tar 21, and also spread my time through whatever garbage they through in. I haven't touched anything outside of AR and SMG categories, squad points are scarce, to bad you couldn't just unlock them as you progress. Stone Haven and Soveriegn are a snipers paradise, they just run around and quick scope you in a millisecond, or snipe you across map with an ACOD scope, same sh-t different year. I've only met one player who I had to battle with for 1st place on the scoreboard. He got the better k/d, but I always got more tags, so I claim victory.

Was the above review useful to you?

not the worst Call Of Duty out there

8/10
Author: disastrousdallas from Essex
21 January 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Whilst the Series hit a low point with this entry it actually started the decline with the next entry in the series.

Whilst every Call of duty released since this game has used an advanced movement system this one retained the Boots to ground and whilst many people criticize it for being a boring game, if you play it with friends and add in some competition you can get numerous hours of fun from the multiplayer.

The campaign is considered Lack luster for its poor story and one that doesn't make any sense, when if you pay attention you can see a well crafted story with the opening level that features what appears to be a measly missile launcher in space, is in fact much more horrifying as it is much worse than that, the Campaign shows a military family growing up in an destroyed America, and having heard stories about an elite squad known as Ghosts, and learning that the one targeting them is a former presumed dead member of the ghosts.

with a campaign featuring realistic and believable settings such as a space station and underwater, it is just as believable as the Modern Warfare trilogy and considering the later Call Of Duty games that counts for a lot.

The Multiplayer experimented with a few things but unlike later games didn't destroy the core game, with new features being game modes slightly changeable maps and a new weapon class, it didn't break anything and its balanced, some of the core game Maps were a bit of a let down with some being so big that you couldn't find anyone for most of the game, and others being so small that it would be unfair if you spawned on one side of the map.

The New game mode entirely was Extinction, whilst often labeled as a poor and shoddy rip off of Zombies, it is the furthest thing from it, the only similarity is there are weapons around the map you can buy, but unlike zombies you cannot repurchases the ammo from the weapon, with a more objective based game play than Zombies had at the time, Extinction relays on teamwork and cooperation by each of the people playing it, and choosing the right load-out can make all the difference, with a later introduced Teeth System that allowed the player to have upgrades to there profile, whilst it made the game easier, at the same time the DLC maps become tougher and more difficult, and with the Extinction Campaign having a story that was enjoyable to guess at what was coming next it was a Great Alternative to Zombies despite what people say and is the main highlight of the Game.

The Game was the second to feature a Micro DLC system but unlike later games it doesn't break it and it is Purely Aesthetic and is mainly skins for your multiplayer character which included some Legends from previous games such as Captain John Price, Captain John "Soap" Mctavish to name a few, and some from the campaign Of ghosts it makes for a fun experience, the only problem is you can end up in a game against a team of Captain Prices, but it just adds to the fun of the Game.

Overall the Game is fun if you play with friends and if you take the game with a pinch of salt, and buy the DLC if you want the Full Extinction experience, I'm not saying its the best game in the franchise but its far from the worst.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

A good game but can let you down at times.

7/10
Author: jbrewer187
3 April 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Ghosts is a game that is hyped and critiqued as a bad or good game, I'm kinda neutral. Campaign is a mode that should be the most critiqued part of the game. To me it feels like this could happen in the future but I'd rule it out. The ending is the most disappointing part of the game, your character Logan gets captured by Rourke, the main bad guy, and is turning out like Rouke. But it does mean there will be a sequel to Ghosts. I give the Campaign a 6/10.

Multiplayer is really hyped, as bad as it sounds, I have a lot of fun with it. My favorite mode from mw3 is infection and the bad thing about ghosts infection is you only get one gun. But they made an update where you get more weapons. The character creator is a nice add on to the game and they added the tactical knife as a weapon which is a nice feature. I'm jaded about Extinction mode for ghosts. It has many flaws. It's really hard to kill the aliens and you have to start out with a pistol. I would agree with most people and saying that it tries to copy Zombies from bo2. I give multi-player and extinction a 7/10

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Good game, not worth the hate

9/10
Author: angell-an-wright from england
29 June 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Now i am a HUGE fan of CoD games. I have played pretty much every CoD game available for the PS3 and soon enough for the ps4.

I bought this pretty much as soon as it came out. I was very excited to play it and i have to admit that it didn't disappoint me. I know quite a few people who have played CoD games and called them 'repetitive' but i really didn't think it was. There were many different scenarios that you didn't have in the previous games. For example in one of the first missions you are in space.

None of the CoD games or any games in fact that i've played have ever been in space shooting enemies.

The content in it isn't really that bad... Yeah there's blood splattered when the guys are shot and the scenes where Riley *an army dog* jumps on an enemy and kills them which could be seen as 'scary'. But in my opinion it isn't as bad as a lot of games i've seen and played. Another problem is there isn't a content blocker though as i said there isn't much swearing nor that much blood.

I would recommend to a lot of people if they like FPS *first person shooters*. If you like games which there will be a good storyline, a lot of shooting, a lot of enemies and no QTE's then this game is perfect for you. The storyline if pretty easy to follow and i didn't struggle in finding my way. It's pretty much... Follow the enemies and you'll get to your checkpoint...

There are some annoying things in it though. One of the first thing which is no fault of the game is the damn lag... If you have a laggy console like me you'll end up raging like mad *trust me... i ain't lying* Another problem is it's a pretty quick game *im a gamer and have been for around 1 year and a bit now* i could complete the game in my first go in around 2-3 days. I find this with pretty much all the CoD games.

The good things are the graphics are really good, the voice acting is perfectly chosen and the game is really really really good. Even if you have no friends *like me* and have to play single player on the storyline. It's very fun to play

I give it a 9/10 as it's a good game but isn't perfect... Would recommend to anyone. Def worth the money and the time to buy it and complete it

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

This is an actual review. Please read (spoilers)

7/10
Author: itsupdawg Official from United States
13 November 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Overall, I give this game eight out of 10. I'll break it up into the three categories: campaign, multiplayer, and extinction.

CAMPAIGN: The story and concept behind the campaign I felt was very well made. Most of the technology and military light is either real today or currently being developed, such as the ODIN space station. However, I feel that this game, and call of duty in general, is starting to slide more towards the movie style of writing. This in turn affects gameplay, story, and the concepts behind them. The game is very scripted, and there is not a lot of the "free roam" that others CODs have had. The game has too many plot twists and is very confusing, as the main antagonist seems to survive everything that is thrown his way.

MP: The multiplayer in this game compared to previous installments is good, but not great. Most of the guns are overpowered, and they are all available for purchase right from the start, which can be frustrating to those being killed. The maps have a lot of corners and tight chokepoints, which can be hard to maneuver around, even with the new lean system. I like that most of the kill streaks are ground-based, but some of these are a little bit overpowered.

EX: Extinction feels like a very sloppy remake of both survival mode from MW3 and zombies from the black ops series. It also pulls mechanics from left for dead, as well as dead rising. After a wild, the game feels very redundant, and starts to lose its touch. Extinction limits you to only have 6000 points, or dollars, at a time. This makes for some very annoying purchases of weapons and attachments.

I think that COD: Ghosts at its core is a good game, but could use a lot of improvement. Replay value high, but not as high as BO2 or MW2.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

Ghosts Doesn't Fit The Title

5/10
Author: mrxelement from United States
12 November 2013

Here we go again with our Call of Duty makers revamping the single player, multiplayer, and our brand new mode Extinction! First all COD:Ghost should be priced as a $40 and not a full on $60 game. Ghosts isn't a game you should be getting now, wait until its price is lower.

The Multiplayer- Maps are huge barely finding anyone on the map, spawn- camping is way horrible in this COD, confusing customization, less weapons, useless character customization, new modes, and this happens to be the worst COD:MP I've ever played. Trust me you wanna blow your brains out.

The Singleplayer- A decent story that has some cool scenes but the ending left me with a bad taste.

Extinction- Now this mode is completely fun with challenges within a onslaught of aliens slashing out. What ruins it is that you only get one big map out of the whole game. Makes it a waste since you have you purchase another $50 on the season pass to get more maps.

They sure did screw up a lot things in COD:Ghost.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

3D nVision review and gameplay

7/10
Author: ratcat0 from Australia
28 June 2014

Hi all its Ratcat here your nVision 3D reviewer. OK lets get started. On a high end PC with a late Video card (GTX780) with 3 GB VRAM and 6 GB system RAM this game performs quite poorly. Loading times are insufferable. The atmosphere they have produced is supposed to look real because as we all know many game developers go for overly (not entirely realistic) colourful environments but the devs in this case have done the reverse. The scenery is generally too bleak to be believable, although there is a feature under 'Advanced Graphics options' to turn off Colour-blind control which certainly gives a bit more colour to the environments. NVidia recommend that you do not play in 3D but I found it quite playable except the dog looked like an apparition with strange vertical lines and ghosting (no pun intended). Unfortunately every time you start a new game from where you left off you cannot play in 3D until you go into advanced graphics options make any change then reverse it and save, this causes the game to go through another load which as stated can take quite a while. There is a new feature where you are able to control an attack dog and actually see through his eyes (wow they must have thought for ages to cotton on to that one!) As I have stated in the past. My idea of a great game is one that you simply cannot put down, with C.O.D it is a struggle to keep playing without your mind drifting off to "Hmm did I buy enough bananas to last the week?" The biggest disappointment is the bland repetitive game-play. Find enemies shoot, kill and move on. There are moments through the game when you find yourself engrossed to a point but then you are spirited back to reality while you wait for the next map to load. Games have lost the sense of exploration and adventure these days. Thankfully I waited a long time before I went out and purchased this game at about 1/3rd the original price which I believe is all it is worth. Maybe play it once just for the halibut (see what I did there?) For such a hyped game it is really a disappointment. You wait for a map to load - play for five minutes then wait an eternity for the next map to load. I did not try the multi-player but if you do, go for standard 2D as 3D will slow your PC down too much therefore leaving you at a distinct disadvantage... IE: Lag will kill you in a frags notice. 7 out of 10 rubber chickens

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history