IMDb > The Black Water Vampire (2014) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Black Water Vampire
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Black Water Vampire More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 10 reviews in total 

6 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Nothing special, but great monster makeup and a suspenseful finale saves this movie.

7/10
Author: (cameroncashmn@gmail.com) from Somewhere
18 February 2014

I have to say, after reading some reviews I wasn't expecting much, but I was pleasantly surprised. It wasn't great, for sure, it took from pretty much every backwoods horror/Blair Witch Project type movie, but at the end of the day, I really like those kind of movies.

I was most impressed by the monster. The makeup was actually quite spectacular and creepy, it looked great. There were only a few jump scares but they weren't cheap, there were genuine jump scares without that annoying loud "bwong" sound. (You know what I'm talking about.)

It starts out kinda shaky, the beginning of the film builds and loses atmosphere and it feels kind of awkward, the acting isn't anything special; but the last 40 minutes were great. The ending was kind of darkly comedic and a little goofy, but it tied everything up very well without just coming out and explaining the movie.

Overall nothing new or innovative, just another entry in the ever growing library of found footage movies, but entertaining at the very least.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

Oh my God, Why?

3/10
Author: waynehackett6 from United Kingdom
30 January 2014

This is just terrible. There was a long drawn out beginning that amounted to a very poor middle and a pathetic end.

I get the concept of "Found video tapes" but feel that it was done and gone away with Blair Witch.

This film and story line would have suited a traditional filming method but the ending should have been given a lot more thought.

There is no originality with this film, which is a real shame because there are so many books out there that can provide the film makers with a truly terrifying story that could be portrayed on film.

The vampire him/itself was very much along the lines of the original Nosferatu, with no fangs to speak of, but actually the only highlight of the whole film.

Opinion is really a personal thing, and if you like this whole found tape thing, then you might enjoy it.

Me, I am going to stick with the proper way of filming and watch the "jump out of your skin" films.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 23 people found the following review useful:

Vampire found footage

7/10
Author: victoryismineblast from Canada
27 January 2014

In the town of Black Water, WA, four women have been killed in the woods within the last forty years. Documentarian Danielle decides to make of movie about the events and brings a production crew of three to the town to investigate.

The women had been found mutilated and with bite marks. No blood was found at the crime scenes. A man is on death row for the murders and Danielle doesn't believe he is guilty.

They interview the convicted man, who seems crazy, and writes a symbol on the partition glass in blood, but doesn't give them much by the way of answers.

Next they go on a hike in the snowy woods to visit the crime scenes and gather what information they can. This is where the real action starts. The movie gets pretty interesting here as they are stalked in the woods.

People will draw comparisons to The Blair Witch Project here, fairly, since it does follow the same formula. The one review I skimmed said that it was wrong to show the creature, that what you don't see is scarier, a la Blair Witch. This is not true of course. Depending on what movie you are making and what you intend for the audience, both ways can be very effective, and it works here.

I had a lot of fun with this movie, especially the last two scenes, which pay homage to two very popular horror movies. 7/10.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Can't get any worse

1/10
Author: cosmo d. from United States
24 January 2014

Amateurish.

Poor in every respect ...

Inane dialogue.

Badly acted.

Poor Direction (if any at all)

A very sub-par copy of The Blair Witch Project.

I've wracked my brain trying to think of one positive thing I can state about this film and I've come up empty. I have thousands of titles in my film collection and this film has the distinction of topping my list as the worst film I've ever seen.

This movie has absolutely no redeeming qualities.

One thing I can say about this film, is that it's very good to use as a sleep aid.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Almost put me off Found Footages movies for good!

3/10
Author: atinder from United Kingdom
15 March 2014

Yes, I am still fan of the Found Footages, there are some good one out there but those get over shadows by so many bad ones, just like this movie.

First hour is was just re-make of THE BLAIR WITCH PROJECT , instead word Witch was Vampire.

The set up of movie was same as ^.

How they interview the people about Witch in TBWP, the same thing happens here, then they Vampire makes marks in the wood, just like the Witch made those signs in the wood.

And did something mark there tent, yes, a bit like the rock signs out of the tent in TBWP and if that was not bad enough , the first hour of the movie, was very, very, very, very boring.

However unlike THE BLAIR WITCH PROJECT , they do show creature and the last 20 mins were things start happen. ( I was so bored by then, I could care less what happens, I just wanted the movie to end.)

When finally get to see the Vampire looked more like creature then anything, I didn't find it scary at all, I actually find it funny looking and every time appeared out of the blue , I laughed .

There was small sub plot near the end of the movie, were one the campers were taken by it and lead to very strange but funny ending.

I don't know if ending was meant to creepy but I found the scene odd but very funny at the same time.

3 out of 10 if wasn't for last 15 mins, I would have gave it a zero!

Avoid this movie and just Check out Chasing the Devil (2014) Much better movie and one fav out found footage genre.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

I didn't get it, what was the intent of the director.

4/10
Author: Muhammed Salman Shamim from Crunchy, Pakistan
6 February 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I would rate this lower but the director intended of portraying tribute to films like Blair Witch, which I got but there was nothing impressive or original that would make this film memorable. The whole found footage thing was well not at its best and I would've expected more chills and thrills in this format with more of an active crew. A good attempt but didn't get the job done. This was more of a tribute film than a horror movie, and simply put the whole hillbilly vampire child thing didn't make sense at all. This is a movie you could avoid and never even know you missed something. Better luck next time boys. I do agree with a review I read about this film that it should've been a normally shot endeavor rather than food footage, yes it would've changed the complexion of this movie greatly.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Seriously?...

2/10
Author: Paul Magne Haakonsen from Denmark
14 November 2016

I would not have ventured into this movie if I had known it was a 'found footage' movie prior to sitting down to watch it. Why? Well, because I detest the 'found footage' genre with a vengeance. It is just such an indescribably ridiculous genre, and once you have seen a single movie in the genre, you have essentially seen them all. Why pay money to watch something that you could practically shoot yourself if you own a digital video camera?

True to the 'how-to-make-a-questionable-found-footage-movie', "The Black Water Vampire" follows that recipe step by step, and it makes for a super predictable movie, and a movie that really is fully and wholly unnecessary.

The movie is about found documentary-makers (duh!) who venture into the woods to investigate the strange and bizarre cases of four murdered women found naked, drained of blood and with odd bite marks on their necks. But as they are alone and deep in the woods, they realize that they are not alone, and that there might actually be some solid proof to the tale of the Blackwater Vampire.

Sheesh, talk about being generic. The storyline is the same cast mold that is used in every single other 'found footage' movie. And the recipe has grown stale and weak a long, long time ago.

Truth be told, I had my mobile phone out within 20 minutes into the movie, after having realized that it was just another generic 'found footage' movie, and I didn't put down the phone before towards the end, just to see how lame the ending of this ordeal of a movie would be. And speaking of the ending, without giving anything away, I can honestly say that the ending was just as ridiculous as the rest of the movie had been.

The acting in the movie, well I will actually say that Danielle Lozeau, Andrea Monier, Anthony Fanelli and Robin Steffen were doing good enough jobs with the limitations imposed on them from the script, the storyline, the genre, and from director Evan Tramel.

As for the effects in the movie, well they were scarce and you only get to see some in the last third of the movie, give or take. The creature effects were adequate, at least for the creature in the forest. The creature in the cabin, not so much... That one was actually downright ridiculous and it had me laughing so hard that I almost spilled my cappuccino.

"The Black Water Vampire" is as generic and predictable as every other movie in the 'found footage' genre. And do yourself a favor and stay well clear of this 2014 movie, because it just isn't worth the effort, at least if you are not a fan of this boring genre.

I am rating this movie a generous two out of ten stars, solely because that the four main acting talents did manage to salvage some of this ordeal.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Terrific last scene!

10/10
Author: UnderworldRocks from China
21 May 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This is truly one unique and enjoyable vampire film, the only vampire film of found footage style that I know of other than "Afflicted".

I saw this film a few weeks ago, and even now find the last scene chilling and terrific. It brought the entire film to a stunning conclusion.

I have seen over 100 vampire films ranging from Nosferatu (1922) to the latest A Girl Walks Home Alone At Night (2014). So when it comes to vampire films, I am not easy to impress. But I gotta say The Black Water Vampire rocks. It stands out amongst my collection of vampire films.

Love this Blair Witch Project genre!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Baby vamp... what the......Are you f-ing kidding me right now?

4/10
Author: angiris
17 April 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Lets just start out pointing of that this film is pretty good. It's without question entertaining and not cheap looking in design, acting or such typical ways... All in all this could've easily been a 5-6 out of 10 if not for some few but major flaws.

One could argue that this is the poor mans Blair Witch with a bloodsucking twist.

The story is about this small documentary crew (wannabe's anyway) who wants to find out what truly happened for a couple of brutally murdered girls several years ago. They travel to some backwater town and really weird stuff begins to unfold... That's basically what happens without spoiling too much.

Now... the problem that this film is first of all the MAJOR LACK of appropriate reactions to the weird stuff that happens. Ask yourself this... If a 80 or so year old woman, who you just had a super weird and creepy as hell conversation with, stood outside your rented cabin in the middle of the night... completely still...watching you..... not moving or saying anything....and then suddenly just disappeared wouldn't you be just like HUGELY creeped out! and on the verge of panicking or freaking out or something or at least on the way to get your gun or something... Now...I know I would BUT we don't see that here. Exactly what I said happens and the characters reaction to this is so IMMMENSLY passive! That IS A HUGE FAIL and a completely unnecessary one. We get force fed this super dark and scary as hell moment plus a super freaky atmosphere and even though its execution dominates the lacking behavior, which should be in accordance with it, brings upon its utter destruction.

Flaw 1: Missing reactions = The lack of the results in ruining the dark atmosphere and the awesome moments that are supposed to frighten and affect us = Fail.

The second flaw is of minimal show in the film but its something that we need to highlight so that it can be canned ONCE AND FOR ALL! STOP!!! JUST STOP WITH ALL THAT CHEAP, UNNECESSARY CGI! Cheap CGI or just CGI in general have become the trademark of a cheap and bad film. It's a mark of laziness and lack of ambition and it doesn't do the film credit in any way. One simply cannot reward CGI in a film and people who rate films because of it are desperate of finding SOMETHING..:ANYTHING to be generous...

Third and final major flaw : The Plot. I really liked this film up until that god damn ending. Are you F-ing kidding me! Vampire Baby... REALLY!! A BLOODSUCKING... MURDERING...STALKING...!!!!RAPING???!! wtf... vampire is our protagonist... REALLY! WHY!!! WHY OH WHY!!

Why did you do that to yourself. Plot holes aren't a problem here because the ending manages to sum 'em all up which I'm grateful for. problem is that the final summation ..well...sucks! Everything becomes to comical or B-movie like and thats not something you're expecting during the beginning and middle of the film. It starts out well and the tension builds and thats all cool. The film it definitely worth a look.

The problem is that it ends in such a poor way. A vampire baby...that is what this entire thing was about. Thats why all those girls died before... its because the weird town and its townsfolk are breeding vampires... yea.... They're all like. ooooh and ahhh..look how cute it is... (focus on baby) freaking fangs and monster face and all that... Jesus... If you rate this film to be a B-movie or comical in some sense..then the ending works... BUT... I had hoped this would end more like Blair WItch Project did. Open, unexplained, weird and scary... thats cool... thats good film making because it leaves the viewers wanting more.

Here we're spoon fed, along the the vampire baby (bad joke I know), this explanation to it all and the focus of the monsters and all that which we expected to dominate the plot is just forced to step aside and the REAL masters of evil make their appearance. It fails. badly.

Hillbilly, backwater vampire worshiping, and nursing - wtf, crazed redneck townsfolk... they are our explanation to all that death and mystery... Entire town..corrupt...filled with cultists... allowing the Nosferatu vampire thingy to kill and rape women only to produce vamp babies.... God...it fails so much that I don't even know.

All in all the film is worth a look. Its like Blair witch with vampires ...and crazy rednecks... unfortunately... its entertaining enough and not a total let down.

It just could've been so much more and so many flaws could've been avoided. I blame the director. There's just not enough build on the frightening and scary moments that carry this film. Not enough content is present ... wasted potential ...

A good film thats definitely worth a look. An interesting and different approach to the vampire genre and as stated by another dude reviewing this the makeup is pretty cool too. A bit of CGI messed with it but all in all its a dude in a vamp costume chasing people..really freaky and cool.

Recommended for sure but be mindful of the ending. It could've been a 5-6 but because of the B-movie features in the end it drops to a 4. I hate giving it that because I liked it but wasted potential must be called when seen so it won't happen again.

Dumb errors are whats holding this back. The rest of the content is actually pretty damn good. Acting is solid too with the exception of those lacking reactions and realistic behavior...again..I blame the director...

Okey film, decent horror but could've been more.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Ughhh.

3/10
Author: yaktheripper from United States
24 February 2014

This is a snore fest. If you loved the Blair Witch (I didn't) then you'll probably be pretty mad that the guys who saw this said..."Say, let's remake the Blair Witch but rename it Blackwater Vampire or whatever the sodding title is. Chick decides to do a documentary about a murder she thinks is fishy, blah, blah, blah, blah, and then blah. The vampire was a pretty good design. The vampire screaming was okay but needed to be toned down a bit. The rest is rubbish. A slow, trek through a woodlands in search of an answer to something troubling the filmmaker...but this time with SNOW! The ending...oh my dear god...was just STUPID. There I said it. I'm sorry...but guys you gotta do better. Where's the originality?

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Ratings External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history