The 86th Annual Academy Awards (2014) Poster

(2014 TV Special)


Host Ellen DeGeneres decided to see how many re-tweets she could get by posting a "selfie" photograph on Twitter, and included actors Jared Leto, Jennifer Lawrence, Channing Tatum, Meryl Streep, Liza Minnelli (not pictured), Julia Roberts, Kevin Spacey, Brad Pitt, Bradley Cooper, Lupita Nyong'o, her brother "Junior", and Angelina Jolie. Indeed, the selfie broke the record for most re-tweeted Tweet with over 1 million shares, and caused Twitter servers to crash for a short period of time (which DeGeneres also acknowledged during the show).
John Travolta accidentally mispronounced the name of Idina Menzel as "Adele Dazeem" while introducing her to perform Best Original Song nominee (and winner) "Let It Go" from Frozen (2013). News of Travolta's faux pas quickly went viral across the Internet, to the point that a fake Playbill insert for Menzel's Broadway musical "If/Then" proclaimed Menzel would be replaced by "Adele Dazeem" for subsequent performances.
At 23, Jennifer Lawrence is the youngest person to receive three acting nominations. The record was formerly held by Teresa Wright.
Receiving her 18th acting nomination, Meryl Streep breaks her own record of most nominations received by an actor or actress.
Judi Dench was the only nominee not to attend the award show. She was in India, in order to finish her work on The Second Best Exotic Marigold Hotel (2015). Cate Blanchett mentioned this in her speech and used it to point out that female driven films are successful at the box office.
David O. Russell became the first director in nearly 50 years to helm consecutively-released films (Silver Linings Playbook (2012) and American Hustle (2013)) that were nominated for all five major Academy Awards (Best Picture, Best Director, Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Screenplay). Mike Nichols was the last director to achieve this feat with Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? (1966) and The Graduate (1967). And he's also the first (and as of 2014 only) director to manage to direct all the four acting Oscar nominating categories in two films (again Silver Linings Playbook (2012) and American Hustle (2013)).
Dallas Buyers Club (2013) becomes the first movie to win both male acting Oscars in ten years, for its stars Matthew McConaughey (lead) and Jared Leto (supporting). The previous time this happened was when Sean Penn (lead) and Tim Robbins (supporting) won for Mystic River (2003) at The 76th Annual Academy Awards (2004).
Producer Megan Ellison is the first woman and only the third person ever to received two Best Picture nominations in the same year (for Her (2013) and American Hustle (2013)). The other two people are Francis Ford Coppola and Scott Rudin.
Dallas Buyers Club, American Hustle, and Blue Jasmine all received "Best Original Screenplay" nominations despite that fact that these are all adaptations. Dallas Buyers Club is loosely based on an article based on the true story of Ron Woodroof. American Hustle is also based on a true story that follows the novel, "The Sting Man: Inside Abscam". Blue Jasmine is also a modern day re-telling of the play, A Streetcar Named Desire.
Ever since AMPAS increased the number of eligible films for Best Picture nominations in 2008, this ceremony resulted in the highest number of "shut-outs" for the Best Picture nominees as of 2014. The five out the nine nominated films that didn't receive a single Oscar were: American Hustle (2013), Captain Phillips (2013), Philomena (2013), Nebraska (2013), and The Wolf of Wall Street (2013).
8 of 8 found this interesting Interesting? | Share this
Share this: Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Permalink
On January 16, 2014, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences nominated songwriters Bruce Broughton and Dennis Speigel for Best Original Song for the title song to the film Alone Yet Not Alone (2013). Two weeks later, on January 29, 2014, the Board of Governors voted to rescind the nomination after AMPAS found out that Broughton, a former governor and executive committee member of the Academy's music branch at the time, had improperly contacted other branch members by e-mail solicitation for support. AMPAS did not replace the nomination with a runner-up, and only four songs were nominated.
Barkhad Abdi and Lupita Nyong'o both received Oscar nominations for their debut feature film roles, in Captain Phillips (2013) and 12 Years a Slave (2013), respectively. Nyong'o went on to win Best Supporting Actress.
9 of 10 found this interesting Interesting? | Share this
Share this: Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Permalink
Nominee The Wolf of Wall Street (2013) set a new record for the most "fucks" (or some variation of it) used in a feature film, also making it the Oscar-nominated movie with most "fucks" used.
6 of 9 found this interesting Interesting? | Share this
Share this: Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Permalink
Three actors received Oscar nominations in the Best Picture category (the film's producer is the one who gets the award or nomination): Steve Coogan, Leonardo DiCaprio and Brad Pitt, with the latter winning the Oscar.
1 of 1 found this interesting Interesting? | Share this
Share this: Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Permalink

See also

Goofs | Crazy Credits | Quotes | Alternate Versions | Connections | Soundtracks

Contribute to This Page