IMDb > House of the Witchdoctor (2013) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
House of the Witchdoctor More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 12 reviews in total 

7 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Home invasion goes bad for all involved - audience included.

4/10
Author: chrismackey1972 from United States
26 September 2014

A group of 5 college-aged kids go to spend the weekend at the house of one of their parents. Before they get there, they stop in town for something to eat. Two of them are confronted by a man who was recently released from prison, along with his demented side-kick. After that scary incident, the group of kids get in the car and continue to their destination. The parents are a bit creepy, but nothing is really thought about it, and the parents leave the house for the evening, leaving the kids alone. Just by chance, the ex-con and his friend are driving by, trying to find a house to rob, when they come across the place where the kids are staying. They break in and the fun begins.

This is a slasher, but not in the typical sense. Usually, a slasher is a movie with an unknown assailant. In this movie, it's very obvious who the killers are. There are the typical slasher props of blood, boobs, butts, gore, 3 rape scenes. Considering that this was low budget, they were a bit graphic, and - like all rapes scenes - were a total turn-off to me. There are also some typical clichés, such as the most commonly used; the phone not working. Another of the clichés is when the victims have the chance - the very definite chance - of killing the badguys, they simply smash them in the face or the nuts or try strangling them instead of using the knife to do the job quickly. All of that gives the badguys the ability to overpower the kids and...well, do their horrific best on them.

I did not like this. The two boyfriends were the most useless people in the entire movie. They make a point of showing how muscular one of them is, but when the badguys break into his room and grab his girlfriend, they don't have any weapon out at that time, and the big, strong boyfriend doesn't even try pouncing on them.

To some extent, this was a movie where the characters - specifically the goodguys - did such stupid things, I had to really laugh. But all-in-all, the movie, especially the ending scene in the basement, was not at all what I thought it would be, nor did I like it.

I gave this a 4-star rating because the acting wasn't that bad, considering it was low budget, and I think one has to consider that when rating these things. The cinematography was pretty good. The storyline...not so much.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Evil little bugger with teeth

6/10
Author: matzernstmatzernst from Germany
28 September 2014

Most Horror movies nowadays suffer from a complete lack of originality. House of the Witchdoctor doesn't. It's an entertaining, evil little bugger with teeth. And guts. And, of course, it has Bill Moseley.

The storyline is a nice twist on the usual "Five friends spend the wekend and get butchered" theme. There's also some really bad acting, especially the two evil guys display some extremely funny buffoonery, but this, too, is fun to watch. At least if you don't have a problem with trash, cause this is basically a Trash movie with a better budget. I think most Horror fans would enjoy the ride, you get your share of blood and gore, some laughs (a lot of laughs actually) and, um, Bill Moseley. Did I mention that before?

If you like 80s Horror as I do, you might also notice the smell of those days that reeks from this movie. Which is a good thing.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Horrible

2/10
Author: arfdawg-1 from United States
29 October 2014

The Plot:

Evil wreaks pure havoc and bloody murder upon Leslie Van Hooten, a beautiful young girl, and her unsuspecting fellow grad students as they make their way to her family's extravagant and yet isolated estate.

Peter (Bill Moseley- Texas Chainsaw Massacre 3D, House of 1000 Corpses) and Irene Van Hooten (Leslie Easterbrook- The Devil's Rejects, Police Academy), the young girl's mother and father, leave the group alone for the weekend, so that she may mourn the anniversary of her boyfriend's shocking murder.

But the peaceful weekend soon turns to hell when they find themselves being savagely terrorized by Cliff Rifton (Allan Kayser- Night of the Creeps, TV's Mama's Family), a crazed and recently released career criminal, and Buzz Schenk, his drug addict side kick whom are hell bent on raging a torturous killing spree.

OK. So this is one of those one-year-later movies that's been done a hundred thousand times before.

It's very slow in the beginning. Painfully slow with boring melodic music.

Then it takes a weird violent turn but it's still not very interesting. It fact, it turns stupid. And back to being excruciatingly slow.

The acting is an abomination. The inevitability factor is non existent.

The movie truly sucks.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Fun, somewhat

Author: Red_Identity from United States
20 September 2014

The reviews for this certainly made me anticipate it more. As it is, it's not the usual horror flick you'd expect, but because I kept reading about its originality, I was disappointed in where it did go. It just seemed like too simple a set up, not to mention very obvious, since the film clearly doesn't hide that its hiding some secrets and it sort of becomes apparent early on with a glance exchanged between two characters. Still, the film works despite of itself, and the two leading male antagonists are quite good here, and seem to actually be having a lot of fun which helps the film's energy.Overall, nothing all that great or even all that good, but worth it.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Homage to 1970s Rape Revenge Films, with a Twist

9/10
Author: AliceCraven from United States
23 September 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The first half of House of the Witchdoctor hearkens back to the uncomfortably gritty ultra- violence of 1970s films such as "I Spit on Your Grave" and "The Last House on the Left." The final act of "Witchdoctor" eschews the standard rape-revenge formula in favor of the occult and supernatural, and delivers quite a bit of unexpected humor in the process. Solid performances from a great horror cast make this a joy to watch. Allan Kayser is convincingly savage in his role as one of the criminals. Bill Moseley and Leslie Easterbrook deliver darkly humorous performances as suburban parents with a twisted secret. Genre fans may also recognize Dyanne Thorne of "Ilsa, She Wolf of the SS" in a bit part as a neighbor.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Pure entertainment!

9/10
Author: T Spence from United States
26 September 2014

I loved this movie. It kept me on the edge of my seat. It's a fun, scary, intense movie with plenty of gore, terrorized victims, sex, drugs, blood and even some dark humor, mostly delivered by "Buzz" who was my favorite character. He's a character who you love to hate. His sidekick is a piece of work too. They draw you in and make you want to watch them. All the acting is good however. I liked the setting too. This movie is not your typical horror flick, so stay with it. There's an interesting twist here. This has all the makings of a cult classic. I can't wait to see what this director does next. I like his twisted style! Warning: Not for the timid!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Shouldn't have ever been made

1/10
Author: bobbynitefall from United States
10 February 2016

Badly written, badly paced and badly acted.

It's like they had 30 minutes worth of material and tried to spread it out into an hour and a half. Much of the dialog seemed ad-libbed or written by someone who doesn't actually interact with other people.

The plot was forced and the "twist" was so obvious as to not be a twist at all.

The only slightly redeeming part of the movie was Bill Mosely and even that seemed forced.

The ending was so hokey and again seemed made just to lengthen the film.

The final ending was laughable. Bad.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

How to Make an Effective Modern-Day Horror Movie

Author: lazarillo from Denver, Colorado and Santiago, Chile
10 October 2014

This is not a great modern-day horror movie, but it is a very effective one that I'd put somewhere between "House of 1,000 Corpses" And "House of the Devil", but also with a little rape-revenge thrown in. It has a very effective atmosphere with two college-age couples accompanying their friend "Leslie Van Hooten" to the wintry, isolated home of her parents on the anniversary of her boyfriend's death. It then turns into a pretty harrowing rape-revenge film when two criminals show up, who one of the couples had earlier tangled with. Rather than becoming a slick modern-day torture porn at this point though, these scenes have the more gritty feel of something like "Last House on the Left" (the 70's original). The movie then takes yet another turn, however, into a more "House of the Devil" territory, as is given away by the title (and perhaps the name of the main protagonist).

The characters are little more well-drawn than in other movies. They're college graduates and seem a little smarter than usual. One couple is the typical pair of horn-dogs who can't stop humping each other, but the other pair are Christians who spurn pre-marital sex (more unusual and more interesting). This doesn't mean that ANY of them are necessarily going to come out too well though. This also has an interesting scene where one of the rapist-murderers gets out of prison and stops to visit his deeply religious mother. It's unusual to give a character like this any kind of third dimension, but it actually makes the things he does later more disturbing.

The name actor here is Bill Mosely ("House of 1,000 Corpses"), who plays the "Van Hooten" father, but special mention must be made of the unknown cast of young people and the "democratic" use of nudity. The three girls all get naked. Nudity is pretty necessary here--you can't really make a harrowing rape-revenge film while pussy-footing around actresses' "no-nudity clauses". But even if some scenes are a little gratuitous, well, all horror movies today seem to have gratuitous (as in pretty unnecessary to the plot) sex scenes and shower scenes like this, but a lot of times they do them WITHOUT nudity, which is both pointless and annoying. Besides, the female characters are also the most well-developed and interesting--they're not just porn star types with fake looking breasts who are obviously just there to get naked. Calle Stephens and Emily Bennet are slightly better actresses, but Summer Bills deserves some mention, not just for being a very appealing little cutie, but I never would have found my way to this movie except I saw HER on the Investigation Discovery channel portraying the girlfriend of XXX superstar/possible murderer John Holmes (the same character played by Kate Bosworth in "Wonderland") and I was curious what else she was in. It's a pretty dumb motive for watching a horror movie maybe, but, hey, it worked out OK.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

One of the best horror films I've seen recently

9/10
Author: torreyian from United States
22 October 2014

This film proves that you don't need a big budget, or fancy special effects to create a great movie. I loved the way it kept shifting between sub-genres, shifting from slasher to revenge to... well, I'm not quite sure what I would call where it ended up. That shift kept me guessing the whole time, which is a rare and wonderful feature in a movie.

Although the gore is minimal and not particularly graphic, there is a considerable amount of nudity and fairly graphic sexual content that might make this an uncomfortable movie to watch with the family.

As for the acting, I had no real issues with it. The characters were not complex, as is to be expected in a horror film, and the actors handled them just fine.

If you enjoy horror movies, this one is definitely worth watching.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Total waste of time!

2/10
Author: venusboys3 from United States
7 October 2014

The lowdown is... this is an attempt to make a Rob Zombie-style grindhouse horror movie... by someone with absolutely no clue of what makes those films work.

Really, I'll watch some awful horrid garbage and manage to find SOMETHING I liked about it... but I just could not manage that here. Mostly I'm going to blame the writing/directing. Nearly all modern movies look fairly decent... good technology and loads of film school graduates who know how to use it (even if they haven't a clue how to tell a story). The acting... it was hard to tell. A lot of it seemed awfully flat... but the script was so utterly putrid and it's not apparent there was an actual director on set... so... I'm loathe to blame the performers.

Just plain bad... and not even the fun sort of bad.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Official site Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history