IMDb > Search Party (2014) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Search Party
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Search Party More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 19 reviews in total 

7 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

This movie is worth watching.

7/10
Author: Philip Meddows from Australia
6 July 2016

I just wanna join the people who think this movie is awesome. If you like romantic comedies with ridiculous antics, this film will have you smiling and laughing in no time. It's better than any Sandler or Farrell movie recently released. Anyone who gives this less than a 7 star rating was probably not in the mood for this type of movie. Last night I watched The Hateful Eight and although I'm a massive Tarantino geek I actually enjoyed this more. I might be a little bias as I also love Silicon Valley, but we can't always be in the mood to watch a cinematic master peace. Sometimes we just want to be transported away to a place that doesn't take itself to seriously.

Was the above review useful to you?

22 out of 41 people found the following review useful:

Under rated Worthy Comedy with an undeserved rating

8/10
Author: David Solomon from United States
23 May 2015

I was looking for a good comedy over the weekend. Happened to come across this, I sort of liked the idea but then I looked at the rating it was given. That kind of put me off. However I still decided to watch it. I must say I was amazed.

Its a hilarious comedy, unpredictable in the are you high kind of way. I thoroughly enjoyed it and specifically wrote this review, my first one to let others know, the rating is deceptive, it has been for some reason underrated which this title does not deserve.

I have given it an 8. I think it deserves that.

If you are looking for a fun over the weekend unpredictable comedy for good laughs, this is it.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Poor man's Hangover is EXACTLY Right....

5/10
Author: djmrmusic from United States
1 September 2016

Listen, I had a good solid beer buzz watching this, same as all the Hangover movies. The Hangover movies? I was busting up! THIS movie?!, well OK, I had a few laughs, I don't regret watching it while a bit on the drunk side, but it's really is just a piggy back kinda rip-off of the hangover movies... grab some brews... catch a buzz, you'll be somewhat entertained, but it's not brilliance, or comedic gold by any standard... it is what it is, an attempt to capitalize on the hangover movies...just really REALLY late...lol

what else can I say to make this long enough?!

get some brews first, it will be a bit funnier that way!

Was the above review useful to you?

A Lower Grade Hangover Movie That Still Delivers Plenty of Laughs

4/10
Author: NDbportmanfan
23 April 2017

Search Party is about two friends that have to try and rescue Nardo as well as Nardo's relationship with Tracy. This movie does have a similar feeling to the Hangover movies but Search Party lacks the writing and overall direction of the trilogy. What I found this movie to have that the Hangover doesn't is great comedic actors. This might just be personal preference but I find Pally, Miller, and Middleditch to be a lot funnier with their timing and physical comedy. The overall cast is about the only reason I gave this movie a try. I even got a Garfunkel and Oates song in there so that was another plus.

The bad would be the writing as some of the lines were cringing, especially with Middleditch. The movie didn't seem to flow as nicely as the Hangover or for that matter look as sharp. As I said earlier that the three headlines are really funny but their characters were not the best. Pally is supposed to be a semi successful business dude but it never comes off that way. The whole angle of Pally being the put together one of the group didn't vibe with me and it felt out of place. T.J Miller is the typical T.J Miller character so no real complaint there. Middleditch is a combination of Doug and Alan from the Hangover which is fine but they made him overly stupid. So much so that it seemed to downgrade the movie altogether. The supporting cast had some time to shine and I appreciated all of their scenes overall.

I would give this movie a pass unless you are a fan of these actors like I am. Even then I would proceed with caution and low expectations.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

In some case, 'friends forever' was mistaken.

6/10
Author: Reno Rangan from Somewhere in the Cosmos
4 July 2016

Being a B movie, it is not that bad. It is eligible for some minor exceptions and if you consider that while watching it, then it does not disappoint much. Yes, there are many similar films like this, but what makes it somewhat special is that it is quite freely explored its contents without stressing out on detailing everything. I meant it was a simple road adventure film and you would feel it very familiar yet you will realise that it is not worth criticizing it.

The actors were decent, but expected much better. Directed by a newcomer who had written many screenplays similar this theme. Like I said it was quite predictable, at a time decently enjoyable with a few laughs now and then, especially that Mexican police station scene was hilarious. You might get a million reasons to dislike it, but you achieve nothing from it. According to me it was surely a decent watch, hence not a must see, but if you do, then don't take it seriously, try to have fun within its limits.

6/10

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

Raucous Hangover/Road Trip-style comedy

4/10
Author: derekwinnert from United Kingdom
26 May 2015

Search Party is welcome as a raucous Hangover/Road Trip-style comedy. But it is not a very good one, though, to be fair, it's not terrible either. The three main actors try very hard to raise laughs, and are reasonably winsome, and there are quite a few laughs dotted throughout the movie and some really funny moments. T.J. Miller and Adam Pally star as early-30somethings Jason and Evan who set off for Mexico to reunite their buddy Nardo (Thomas Middleditch) with Tracy (Shannon Woodward), the woman he was going to marry until Jason disrupted the wedding. Nardo is naked and in a tight situation until he finds a pair of tights, and then he's in a tights situation. At least till he's back naked again. http://derekwinnert.com/search-party-2105-movie-review/

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Refreshing

7/10
Author: dantonstl from orlando
13 April 2017

Im watching this right now.its great.kinda like the zappas & van pattons.Seriously,i think i heard tj miller say this is older than the hangover..the famous film trilogy and also that he was ed helmsley....almost like its a recreation purely made out of boredom and meant for fun.i thought the scenes with the organ harvester shooting his crossbow at the car.were hilarious. And i think i saw that one girl making cooing porn noises in public at a restaurant where i was eating pancakes.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Couldn't get past 1st half an hour.

1/10
Author: Raul Rodgers from New York City
7 July 2016

Absolutely no believable chemistry among the cast. I didn't even laugh once after viewing the film for the 1st 25 minutes. The sad reality is the fact that I am actually a TJ Miller fan but this just did not work out and he could not command this cast or make me believe for once that what was happening could actually happen. The comedians who are actually funny in real life could not act for s@it in this film, pardon my French. The whole interaction between the actors was obviously uncomfortable and awkward. Jokes didn't land and although at points they tried to make certain situations realistically funny, it was not. The pool scene was not funny. They tried to make the situation realistic but it was horrible. Was this film ever screened to an audience, I highly doubt it. I don't know what favors were done for this film but it is so obvious that they just gave this film to TJ Miller and gave him powers and he gave his close comedian friends a break but they cannot gel. This was the complete opposite of The Hangover. This is basically a prime example of what not to do when trying to make a fun road adventure buddy film like The Hangover. Sad attempt. Very Very sad attempt.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Not a single laugh after 20 minutes.

2/10
Author: OneEightNine Media from United States
16 May 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Whoever that one guy is, you know the guy I'm talking about. The guy who happens to be the reason anyone would even watch this movie. He is in this movie but not funny. The poor guy just doesn't have any material to work with. The dialog is dry and unfunny and after 20 minutes of giving this movie a chance, I had to stop watching. I refused to even give it a chance because this is a freaking comedy that didn't even make me crack a smile. Hey, there is a reason this movie is a straight to video deal, because it sucks. I mean, the beginning wedding scene should have been grand and funny and the shot in the arm and blah and whatever. This movie isn't even worth reviewing or watching or whatever. Save your time and skip it, you'll thank me.

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 31 people found the following review useful:

Watch this movie stoned.

10/10
Author: Luis Gallego
18 June 2015

Man... I don't know if it was the weed, but I laughed the hell out of this film.

I have never laughed so much (I swear). And, even though it is a comedy, the movie follows an actual pattern and is not a bunch of jokes dropped all over the length of it. The jokes are funny, the acting is hilarious, the story is a little predictable, but still interesting. This movie made my day and somehow got me laid.

I'm not gonna go into spoilers (Mostly because you don't need them to know what's gonna happen), but I'll say it's got a hungover-like style and lots ridiculously funny stuff.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history