IMDb > The Boss (2016) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Boss
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Boss More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 11:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 110 reviews in total 

124 out of 201 people found the following review useful:

Do you have to be immoral to be funny????.

1/10
Author: lovenewyork-21166 from United States
10 April 2016

Melissa McCarthy stars in a senseless adult comedy movie. "The Boss" failed to entertain me from the start till the end.The comedy is too cheap and the obscenity in language and behavior did not make me laugh at all. Honestly,I thought I am watching a silly porn-like comedy movie.

Melissa McCarthy portrays the role of Michelle Darnell, a shameless and a selfish businesswoman who does everything bad for the sake of her own arrogant welfare. Her wicked and reckless behavior led to her imprisonment of course.

I am totally disappointed with this boring movie because its senseless vulgarity and the lack of comedy made of this film a total waste of time and a bad movie of the year 2016.

Was the above review useful to you?

70 out of 112 people found the following review useful:

Where Have All The Good Writers Gone???

1/10
Author: patsworld from United States
14 April 2016

And what one earth is wrong with Melissa McCarthy? She is beautiful, talented, funny….and yet she keeps making these foul, way too much sex pieces of trash. It's hard to figure out why. Do people in Hollywood think there are no more decent people out here wanting to see good, funny movies? Nobody left without the mouth or mind of a waste container? If so, they are wrong. The thing is, with this movie in particular, it could have been very funny. Good cast, fair premise, but instead we ended up with a film that was nothing much more than garbage. When a movie ends and everyone is just looking at each other with, "What the heck did we just waste money on?" looks on their faces, it's not good. Even worse, waiting for this one to come on, we were treated to a couple of coming attractions with pictures as bad, or worse. Foul language, as if the writers have completely lost any ability to write witty, clever dialogue, or dialogue at all that isn't merely four letter words, over the top sex that, frankly, is not interesting, is tiresome, and is so over- done. Who decides to spend money putting out money for this stuff? Nobody with any intelligence, I'm thinking. Too bad. You're cheating movie audiences, big time.

Was the above review useful to you?

58 out of 92 people found the following review useful:

Please ... Don't Waste Your Time or Money!

1/10
Author: nra-05473 from Central Valley CA
11 April 2016

I was ready for a fun, entertaining comedy and it failed at every level. Melissa and her hubby should not ever collaborate on a venture again, the writing and execution was forced which did not flow. We love Melissa, however she should have taken her concept to a professional writer. Peter Dinklage did not deliver which was completely surprising considering his career performance with Game of Thrones. For the most part he looked like he was in pain in all his scenes. I'm sorry to say, it is not even worth a future video rental. This is the first review I have written, I want to save you the pain! I wish I would have read reviews before spending my time and money. Let's wish Melissa a better script for any future movies, as this was a pure dud.

Was the above review useful to you?

47 out of 73 people found the following review useful:

Not for children - then don't put them in the film

1/10
Author: professorscott from Seattle
13 April 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

It was said right here on this site, this is a lousy film, save your money, don't go see it. I went to see it because I liked Spy a lot - I thought perhaps this one would have funny parts, be interesting, clever and maybe have original humor.

Sadly I didn't walk out. I'll walk out of bad films but maybe it was the tasty bag of popcorn I was eating slowly, and enjoying my free Coke from my Regal points.

I am disappointed that the filmmakers chose to use children throughout the film, yet they used foul language and some adult themes that gave it an "R" rating, thereby preventing young children to see a film that could have been fun if they had cleaned up the language. And with a wider audience, surely they could have figured out that it could have made so much more money.

I truly do not understand the thinking behind the use of children in most of the film yet not making it suitable for them to enjoy - certainly there are enough "R" rated films that use adults, but very few films that use children with proper language and making a film the whole family can see.

If a film has an "R" rating, then leave children out of the story. Easy enough to do.

Was the above review useful to you?

50 out of 79 people found the following review useful:

Comedy in movies getting worse and this film proves it

1/10
Author: hp-anzinger
20 April 2016

TV shows: Almost every year you see a new clever comedy show like Scrubs, Simpsons, Big Bang Theory, Southpark, Malcolm in the Middle, ... You don't have to like it, but at least acknowledge that it is very clever and well written.

With movies on the other side it's a different story. Here the trend is that it is getting worse and worse. We are almost at a point where we were in the 80's.

The problem: The movies make money and as long as this is happening we will see movies like "The Boss" in the future. Or another theory - I'm getting to old for this kind of movies.

Was the above review useful to you?

57 out of 94 people found the following review useful:

Terrible Waste of Time and Money

1/10
Author: xinfatale from United States
20 April 2016

I can't believe I let my friend drag me into watching this .... atrocious film.

This movie relies on ugly, immoral jokes that demean and pigeonhole people into old fashioned stereotypes. Making fun of lesbians? Seriously who does that anymore?! Also, if the jokes are ugly and cheap to begin with, forcing child actors to say them doesn't make the jokes any prettier. Slang terms and vulgar words do not automatically equal humor. Far from it.

Absolutely tasteless.

The Boss lacked subtlety, and I found myself comparing Melissa McCarthy's role to Donald Trump, and not in a good way, mind you. There was nothing funny about the film---the violent attempt at slapstick humor failed. It was badly timed and came off rather flat. No one was likable except Peter Dinklage's role. Even then, he is shoved into a stereotype about funny midgets. What are we? 8 year old children? That was the last time I ever laughed simply because someone was shorter than average.

There is a way to mix violence/vulgarity to create a comedy (See Deadpool, Hot Fuzz, etc.), but The Boss definitely never even took off. Just pure failure.

Hated the film. I don't recommend wasting your brain cells on this.

Was the above review useful to you?

38 out of 57 people found the following review useful:

An unfunny Melissa McCarthy film? Yes, Sadly, It Is

1/10
Author: adrian-m-miller from Sydney, Australia
24 April 2016

What can i say but wait for her next one. There isn't a redeeming scene in this entire film.

She would have been better off leaving this for someone else and put all her efforts into reprising her role as Sookie in the Gilmore Girls remake (luckily she will be a bit player at least).

The script should never have gotten green lit, its atrocious.

I don't have adequate words to express show truly awful this is.

From the moment you see that over the top televangelist haircut, you should be forewarned that this is going to be truly terrible

Avoid

Was the above review useful to you?

26 out of 35 people found the following review useful:

If they paid me, I would not watch this again.

1/10
Author: mjk-08559 from Norway
24 April 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

By far the worst movie I have seen in years. It is so bad, that I find it difficult to find a comparison that sank to its level.

As an attempt to create a movie for 21st century viewers it fell very far from the mark.

The stupidity of the storyline, coupled with the over use of the F bomb just made the film appear to have been written by half-wits...No offense meant to the genuinely mentally challenged...

The 'fight' scene? Had someone been watching that video, 'fight like a girl' and taken it literally?

What is funny about watching little kids fight? The fact that they were all girls was not in the least relevant. It would not have been funny if they were all boys, or mixed. Kids being violent to one another is hardly comedic.

It was crude, unfunny and deeply offensive on a good many levels.

I will not even bother with the rather overt gender bashing that went on.

The movie is offensive for all the wrong reasons.

But did it have any redeeming qualities at all?

Well, Kristen Bell played a supporting role, but even Veronica Mars was not going to stop this bus going off the cliff.

Recommended ONLY if...No....No. There is no 'if.' Under no circumstance can this movie be recommended to anyone. Save your money. Go home, watch the paint dry. You will find it infinitely more satisfying.

Was the above review useful to you?

49 out of 82 people found the following review useful:

The Queen of Crass and Crude goes to the Nth Degree

1/10
Author: steven-leibson from United States
12 April 2016

Melissa McCarthy has made a deserved name for her crassness and crudeness. I found her raw humor in Bridesmaids and The Heat to be extremely entertaining. But this movie, which presents her as a businesswoman in the mold of Martha Stewart, does her a disservice. What set McCarthy apart in the movies where she shines is that she's the one being crass and crude, surrounded by more normal people who make her stand out. In this movie, everyone seems to be trying to be just as crass and crude, if not more so, including the numerous girls playing Girl-Scout-like cookie sellers who get into a street brawl over cookie-selling territory. Poorly written movie. Not funny. Despite that, the movie is doing well in the box office. It's hard to imagine the audiences for this. Too crude to take kids. Not enough adult humor for adults.

Was the above review useful to you?

77 out of 140 people found the following review useful:

Another McCarthy-Falcone misfire.

1/10
Author: Dave McClain (dave-mcclain@hotmail.com) from United States
8 April 2016

Sometimes a filmmaker is simply too emotionally invested in a movie to see when it needs to be better than it's turning out to be. Of course, every filmmaker needs to be passionate about his/her cinematic endeavor, but there is such a thing as letting emotions get in the way of sound artistic judgment. It often happens when the same person both writes and directs a movie (his/her "passion project"), especially when also acting in the movie. Then, there's an even greater danger of things going wrong when these kinds of overlaps involve a married couple. It happened when Dax Shepard wrote, co-directed and starred in the pointless action-comedy "Hit and Run" (2012) which co-starred his real-life wife Kristen Bell. In 2014, another couple, Melissa McCarthy and Ben Falcone, took the practice of overlapping jobs and complicating it with marriage to another level by co-writing and co-starring in "Tammy" while Falcone also directed. That movie made money, but was poorly received by most critics and many Movie Fans as well. 2016 has the pair taking the same chance with the comedy "The Boss" (R, 1:39), which, ironically, co-stars Kristen Bell (but her husband is nowhere in sight). So, is "The Boss"… boss? Read on.

McCarthy stars as Michelle Darnell, a high-powered businesswoman and motivational speaker whose childhood (back and forth between an orphanage and foster care) taught her that the only person she can depend on is herself. She's self-centered, arrogant and basically amoral. Michelle generally uses and abuses her personal assistant, Claire (Bell), and Michelle's bodyguard isn't much more than her personal hype man. When Michelle is arrested for insider trading and sent to jail for five months, everyone abandons her, former lover and long-time business rival Renault (Peter Dinklage) buys her companies and the authorities freeze all of her remaining assets. Looks like someone has to start all over again.

When Michelle is released from jail, she doesn't have anyone to call or anywhere to go, so she takes a taxi to Claire's apartment. When Claire gets home from her new job (where she works for a crazy Darnell disciple played by SNL's Cecily Strong), Claire's pre-teen daughter, Rachel (Ella Anderson), convinces her mom that they have to do something to help Michelle. Claire allows her former boss to stay in the apartment until she gets back on her feet, but Michelle's feet remain reclined on Claire's couch until Claire forces Michelle to do something to earn her keep. Michelle takes Rachel to her Dandelions meeting (think Girl Scouts) where the troop leader (Kristen Schaal) is discussing their cookie sales.

Michelle gets an idea that her "way back" is to form a group called Darnell's Darlings which will teach girls business skills as they sell the unusually delicious brownies that Claire makes from an old family recipe. Michelle gets Claire to make the brownies and help with the troop and gets Rachel to help her recruit various tough girls and other misfits to join up and sell brownies for a percent of the profits. Michelle also approaches her estranged former mentor (Kathy Bates) for financing to help expand the business, but as all this is going on, Renault and his equally evil assistant (Timothy Simons) are keeping tabs on Michelle and her new business, hoping to increase the payback that he feels her still owes her.

"The Boss" is mostly unoriginal, uninspired, unrealistic and unfunny. The clichéd plot lazily recycles the often used story of a main character who has been hardened by a tough life and doesn't know how to give or receive love. Falcone's direction randomly makes use of McCarthy's talent for physical comedy, but rarely gets her or the other actors to show us anything interesting or even very likable about their characters. Both the script and the acting give us characters who often change their tones and their attitudes toward other characters abruptly and with no clear reason why. We also see characters meeting for the first time, but acting like they already know each other, again without explanation.

There is also a lack of realism in the way the script portrays the fallout from Michelle's crimes, and her business dealings as the head of Darnell's Darlings, but this comedy's biggest flaw is its lack of… comedy. There are a few laughs to be found here and there, but the movie's other problems just kill the mood. Besides that, the movie's attempts at humor are overly dependent on cartoonish violence involving children, cursing around, by and at children, and vulgar sexual references which come off as more crude than funny. McCarthy herself has been much funnier in previous films and hopefully she'll be funnier again in her future projects. Sadly, her character in this film is one boss who should be fired herself. "D+"

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 11:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot synopsis Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history