IMDb > I Spit on Your Grave 2 (2013) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
I Spit on Your Grave 2
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
I Spit on Your Grave 2 More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 11:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 105 reviews in total 

60 out of 88 people found the following review useful:

Vengeance is a real bitch! ◆≈≈6/10≈≈◆

6/10
Author: J. Davis (horrorsession@gmail.com) from USA
6 September 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

It's a title that sends instant recollections of one of the most brutal & torturous horror films ever made, a title that is infamous to all horror junkies alike. I still remember from when I was a child, pulling down the original I Spit on Your Grave (1978) VHS tape from atop the entertainment center where it was poorly hidden from me. Those visions that were burned into my young mind still remain fresh almost three decades later, it was one of the most unflinchingly dark, utterly disturbing, nightmarish and uncomfortable films of the century. I would have to say the rape portrayed within is as nasty and uncomfortable enough to match any other film I've ever seen. I can only imagine the reaction of some of the audience members during screenings of Meir Zarchi's cult classic in its theatrical release in 1978.

When Steven R. Monroe decided on the remake in 2010, my curiosity was unparalleled and my expectations were high to see the difference of interpretation of the times, considering how much the horror genre has evolved and changed over all these years, sort of building up a mainstream tolerance with the addition of more and more films in the vein of Texas Chainsaw Massacre, The Hills Have Eyes, Saw and Hostel. Audiences have become well accustomed to the level of violence, somewhat similar to the original "I Spit". That said, Monroe blew the doors off theaters with his masterful remake in 2010 which very much lived up to it's predecessor and in some ways even far surpassing it, much of the success lied on the shoulders of the superb performance of young Sarah Butler, certainly her breakthrough performance.

Taking all of that into account, it's a safe bet that most viewer's expectations going into "I Spit 2" are going to be set pretty high considering Steve Monroe is again in the director's chair. There is one thing worth noting here and it's the fact that unlike the original film written by Meir Zarchi and it's remake which was essentially a carbon copy of Zarchi's script with Stuart Morse's name attached, I Spit On Your Grave 2 is a completely fresh reboot from writers Thomas Fenton (SAW IV) and Neil Elman, a producer with a few Sy-Fy channel scripts under his belt. These changes are definitely noticeable as the "I Spit 2" sequel serves up slightly less graphic rape scenery and to some extent lacks the very sharp uncomfortable edge that the first two films leave you straddling. In no way am I saying it doesn't deliver the expected smörgåsbord of graphically violent and downright uncomfortable scenes, it did, but it failed to affect me mentally like other films of this kind often do. It didn't quite fully enrage me during the rape scenes, possibly because I wasn't able to fully connect with Katie's character. Not that this makes this a bad film, but it did play a large role on how emotionally charged I was at times during the film and seems to leave the audience too unattached to receive the kind of emotional payout that its predecessors delivered on.

As the story goes, Katie (Jemma Dallender) a very beautiful young woman looking to break into the modeling business ends up with a phone number of a photographer Ivan (Joe Absolom) and after a quick call she agrees to come downtown for a photo shoot free of charge. When Katie shows up, things don't go as planned when they insist she pose nude, she abruptly leaves, but not before getting the attention of Ivan's brother Georgie, who becomes obsessed with Katie. Later that night, Georgie (Yavor Baharov) , who got Katie's home address from the release form she had turned in at the beginning of the shoot, ends up at her door with a handful of pics that were taken before the nudity issue arose. Katie reluctantly takes the pics and after some urging finally gets Georgie to leave, only to awaken in the middle of the night to see Georgie sitting in her dark bedroom filming her. They immediately struggle violently and in the process, make enough noise to draw the attention of a neighbor/boyfriend Jayson (Michael Dixon). After stabbing Jayson, he binds and rapes Katie while her boyfriend lies watching on the floor bleeding out. When Georgie calls his brothers for help, Katie ends up being smuggled out of the country and sold out for further sexual abuse and torture by some seriously sick-minded individuals. Left for dead, badly beaten, battered, bruised, and broken, a stroke of luck gives her the chance to regain herself and take brutal vengeance upon all who harmed her, torturing each of them similar to the way in which they abused her, only she's so, so much more motivated.

Everything else was all pretty tight, production values, cinematography and score were all befitting for the making of a solid horror flick, but in the end it's just not on the same level as the remake. It's worth a look for horror fans just as long as it's clear that "I Spit 2" is going to be a decent step down from the revenge masterpiece that preceded it.

Was the above review useful to you?

38 out of 57 people found the following review useful:

Delivers in Spades!

Author: Shaza123 from Australia
22 August 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I am a massive fan of revenge themed horror movies. I admired the original I Spit, and adored the remake, so I was more than a little excited for the sequel. High hopes are almost always a bad sign. They can often ruin the movie experience. This was not the case today. Holy Mother of God!!!

As a continual nod to the original and the predecessor, we open with the side profile of our protagonist, where the title feature appears, I Spit On Your Grave 2. Katie is our protagonist. She is not an author like our previous victim, she is an aspiring would-be model. But she needs some professional shots of her to sell her portfolio, and decides to contact some cheap photographers.

Upon ringing them, a thick, Russian sounding accent greets her, and promptly asks her to text him a photo of her before agreeing to meet. This unusual and personal request throws her, especially since he also seems to know her name. She hesitantly does and receives a positive response. Soon after, Katie enters this cheap photography shop, and by cheap I mean CHEAP. There's even a guy sleeping on some boxes to the side. Most people would take one look at this dodgy place and bolt. As Katie looks around, unsure of herself, she is greeted by Georgy, another Russian sounding bloke, who appears friendly, maybe even too friendly, to her. The photographer, Ivan, is the one who spoke to her on the phone, and promptly tells her to get dressed. She does and poses while he snaps her, and for a few minutes seems to be quite relaxed. That is until Ivan tell her to lose the dress completely. Katie decides enough is enough and leaves as quickly as she can.

Well, being that this is a sequel to I Spit, we know things will get bad. And boy do they. Katie hears a knock on her door and finds Georgy standing right outside with the photos to give her from the shoot. Perhaps more than a little freaked out that this man knew where she lived, she closes the door as quickly as she can, and bolts it. Unfortunately, that doesn't stop Georgy from getting into her apartment and watching her while she sleeps. When she wakes up and sees him, things escalate VERY quickly. In a brutal and horrific rape scene that can be compared to the one in Irreversible, we see that this movie really wants to stand out from the remake and the original. And I gotta admit it does a damn fine job. This movie is intense on every level, and the pain has only just began.

As a rape and revenge movie, this movie delivers in spades. With at least two graphic rape scenes, as well as horrible abuse and torture, the first half is not easy viewing in the slightest. You'll feel sick and disturbed, but that's a good thing. The more we see Katie suffer, the more intense her revenge will be. And yes, her vengeance is cruel in every sense. It takes things up a notch and will have you both sick to your stomach, and cringing in your seat. While I won't spoil anything here, what I will say is castration, is actually NOT the worst thing you can do to a man. I do believe Katie found something even more cringeworthy, more cruel and painful. Good luck watching this scene, fellas, you'll need it. Yes, the revenge scenes totally made the first half worth it. I do enjoy the creativity that went behind them. It'll get a nice conversation going, about what could be the worst thing you could do to another human being. Stay tuned to see what Katie has in store. I guarantee some jaws dropping.

As for everything else, this movie is pretty mediocre. Apart from being a rape and revenge film, it really has nothing to do with the first one. The acting isn't anything special and there are so many plot devices that really don't make sense. But being the movie it is, that's perfectly okay. The original I Spit was a grindhouse movie, which promised rape and revenge. Likewise the remake and sequel have followed lead. This is a rape and revenge film, and that is exactly what you get. If you want pain, gore and gruesome revenge, you have come to the right place. If you thought I Spit was extreme, trust me, you haven't seen anything yet. See this movie! And enjoy.

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Better than the first.

7/10
Author: batteredcakes
1 April 2014

This was waaaay better than the first. Kinda slow for awhile but had more...spunk? The chick in the first movie was mostly dazed throughout everything until the end and before everything happened. This chick was alive and kicking throughout the whole movie. They added a twist and a completely new environment and they made it better in the sense that this was more of a revenge movie than the first where the first was pretty much just a rape movie because of how much they prolonged that damn moment. This movie is still disturbing with what happens to the chick BUT they didn't drag out the rape scene as long as the first. They actually shortened it by a lot, but it wasn't all one...long scene. It was like three where they showed the first one but was really short, second one only lasted seconds and the third wasn't even shown. This was more of a movie than the first, it didn't just feel like hardcore porn with barely any gore at the end. This felt like a real movie with pretty awesome revenge in it. This was a revenge movie with some rape, it can be disturbing to a lot of people but this wasn't like the first movie where the first movie felt like a rape movie with some revenge, this movie is a revenge movie with some rape.

Was the above review useful to you?

19 out of 24 people found the following review useful:

If you liked the first one you will like this too. This is for a select group. Very graphic. I say C+

5/10
Author: Tony Heck (cosmo_tiger@hotmail.com) from United States
16 September 2013

"Tell me you like me!" Katie (Dallender) is an aspiring model living in New York. Trying to make a more professional portfolio she accepts an offer for a free photo shoot. Things are going well until they ask her to take nude shots. Refusing, she leaves but the crew finds her and does the unthinkable. Now all Katie has on her mind is revenge. If you have seen the first one you will know what to expect. If you haven't I should warn you this is extremely graphic and violent and not for everyone. There are intense scenes of torture and mutilation but because the woman doing these things was raped by the people she is doing this to it makes it hard to feel sorry for them. If you liked the first one you will like this too, but again if you don't think you can handle it don't watch it. This is for a select group. Overall, not as good as the first but mainly because the rape and abuse of the woman seemed worse and that isn't fun to watch. I give it a C+.

Was the above review useful to you?

19 out of 25 people found the following review useful:

Torture and Revenge

6/10
Author: Claudio Carvalho from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
24 January 2014

In New York, the teenager Katie Carter (Jemma Dallender) is an aspirant model that works in a restaurant. She is advised to prepare a portfolio with a professional photographer to have a chance in the fashion world but she cannot afford to pay about two thousand-dollar for a session. She sees an advertisement of the photographer Ivan (Joe Absolom) offering free photos and she contacts him. She goes to his studio and his brother Georgy (Yavor Baharoff) welcomes Katie while their brother Nicolay (Aleksandar Aleksiev) is sleeping in a corner. Ivan asks Katie to wear less clothes and she gives up of the session.

On the next day, Katie is surprisingly visited by Georgy that insists to give a flash memory with her photos to her. Katie accepts and during the night, Katie is surprised with Georgy in her room. She screams and the super Jayson (Michael Dixon) comes to her apartment but he is stabbed to death by Georgy that rapes Katie. Georgy calls his brothers and Ivan drugs Katie to clean the mess. When she awakes, she is in the basement of a house being successively abused by the brothers. Katie escapes but she discovers that she is in Bulgaria. Detective Kiril (Georgi Zlatarev) does not trust on Katie and calls his acquaintance Ana (Mary Stockley) that offers to take Katie to a shelter to have a bath and then to the American Embassy. But when Katie arrives in the shelter, she discovers that she is back to the same basement she had fled.. The brothers sell Katie to the violent middle-aged Valko (Peter Silverleaf) that tortures her before raping. Then the brothers bury Katie in a box in the basement; but the floor collapses and she survives in old catacombs and helped by Father Dimov (Valentine Pelka) that offers food and clothes to her. When Katie is physically strong, she plots an evil revenge against those that have tortured her.

"I Spit on Your Grave 2" is a rough movie about torture and revenge and not for everyone since sensitive viewers will certainly be shocked with the violence. Movies about revenge are usually attractive, maybe because many people do not believe in justice any more, and "I Spit on Your Grave 2" is no exception.

The storyline is the same of the original movie and its remake, i.e., woman is abused and tortured by many men and succeeds to escape from her captivity and kills them one by one. However, the story and screenplay is different from ""I Spit on Your Grave".

All the cast has great performances but the unknown Jemma Dallender is impressive. The plot has holes – for example, why Kiri has not connected to Nicolay that was murdered in a night-club, or why he did not connect the dots to Ana after having a conversation with Father Dimov? The conclusion also disappoints but this movie is not bad. The problem is that as I have previously mentioned, the viewer must have stomach to bear the cruelties. My vote is six.

Title (Brazil): "Doce Vingança 2" ("Sweet Revenge 2")

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 23 people found the following review useful:

I had to look away

7/10
Author: Gezzerboy from London
12 October 2013

I have seen the original and the remake back in 2010 which i thought was a well made film. This time round the plot was different but had the same undertone of rape and violence. Yes the plot is pretty thin but the sheer brutality of the scenes endured by the girl kept me watching and almost willing the girl on to survive. The lead was played very well and I found myself having to look away at several points as I am sure any MAN watching this will, especially the balls in the vice scene... Good film overall and well made. Should they leave it here, well i would say yes as its now run its course. Go see it and cross your legs :)

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Gory, nasty, grim and 100 percent satisfying!

8/10
Author: Casper Jansen from Copenhagen, Denmark
15 January 2014

Holy f**k! I just finished watching this nasty piece of rape and revenge flick. As I liked the remake of the first one, I had some great expectations to this one but then again, sequels usually can be pretty tame. But not with this second Spit!

I will not get into plot details about but just say that the rape and abuse of Katie is difficult to watch. I felt sick more than once and wanted to pause my blu ray player. Jemma Dallender is fantastic. Her acting is real, authentic and 100 percent believable. No stupid or "heroic" reactions from her - genuine fear! Although it is very difficult to Watch, I hang on because I knew that the revenge was coming up.

The revenge scenes, oh boy. Even more sick and gory than the first film. If you are into rape and revenge films, I think you will be satisfied. For guys especially one scene will be the time you want to stop the film and go puke - I almost did.

True Hostel style but with the balls to get really grim and nasty. Spit 2 is a gory and satisfying piece of horror.

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 26 people found the following review useful:

Remake of a Remake by the director of the remake.

Author: amesmonde from Novelist of The Final Version
14 September 2013

An American wannabe model is raped, shipped to Europe and degraded until she escapes and plots her revenge.

Writers Thomas Fenton and Neil Elman offer a solid script, the claustrophobic NY apartment and then the European setting adds an air of danger for Katie's ordeals, it's pity the unsavoury Euro angle has be been done so many times already. In the vein of Hostel 2, Saw and following the format of the 1978's I Spit on Your Grave and its 2010 remake, director Steven R. Monroe's latest wincing film like its predecessor is nasty, arguably needless and borderline exploitation. Nevertheless, it feels more realistic than many of the films of its saturated genre and the cop and the priest play against expectations adding some surprise.

Jemma Dallender is first rate as Katie and gives a great performance but her character is not as liable as it's former lead Sarah Butler's Jennifer Hills. The supporting cast are all excellent notable are Mary Stockley, Joe Absolom who pulls off a good accent as Ivan and Valentine Pelka as Father Dimov.

It's a film of two halves, the first being the horrific abuse of Katie, the second revenge kills on her captors. Monroe's film looks good, it's slick with plenty of atmosphere, blood, great effects with the ominous lighting and locations heightened by Damian Bromley's photography. Corey A. Jackson's score also adds to the unnerving edgy scenes.

With the pro-woman, feminist, revenge angles already debated highlighted and explored with the 1978 version, this offering would have been a equal if not a better re-imagining than the 2010 remake but despite some great acting it's now left slightly redundant with even less to say.

Monroe's offering is commendable and as it is certainly not DVD fodder (like Hostel 3), it has cinema release execution and production values like his first instalment. Monroe needs a breakout movie but given the subject matter this just isn't it.

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 34 people found the following review useful:

Gorier... Nastier ... And not anywhere as good as first one

2/10
Author: Boyd from London
10 September 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The 2010 remake of the film with the best poster ever was amazingly good, considering what it was ... It was tense, well written, very well acted and exciting ... I feel kind of guilty about using that word in this context, but it was ... It was a well make film and a surprise when I was expecting something like... Well ... This The only reason for this is to up the anti ... Its nastier and gorier ... It also suffers from that fact in as much as it looks as if thats all they were doing it for ... There is NO tension ... It just goes on and on and bores the pants off the audience This is the thing about this endless torture ... It is ... It isn't frightening ... It isn't tense ... Its just more torture ... We've seen it before and unless there is an interesting, well made, framework to have it in quite frankly it is just a load of effects In the 2010 version I really cared about the heroine ... In this she just isn't a good enough actress to pull it off ... And her character is really a bit dumb ... Mistake And what is this thing dumb Americans have about the eastern block ... They are not all depraved and corrupt ... The final scene of this as she walks towards the American embassy is laughable and hopefully a huge embarrassment to the director

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

I did get a decent amount of gratification from Katie's brutal revenge.

8/10
Author: Hellmant from United States
26 September 2013

'I SPIT ON YOUR GRAVE 2': Four Stars (Out of Five)

Sequel to the 2010 remake of the 1978 cult classic 'DAY OF THE WOMAN' (which was later retitled 'I SPIT ON YOUR GRAVE', to capitalize on it's notoriety). All three films are torture/revenge movies about a young woman who is brutally raped and left for dead (by four men) and then she hunts them down, one by one, and gets her gruesome revenge. This film is less a sequel (as it's only similar to the 2010 film in title and premise) and more just another remake of the original film (it's even credited as being based on 'DAY OF THE WOMAN' in the film's end credits). It was written by Neil Elman and Thomas Fenton (who also co-wrote the torture porn sequel 'SAW IV') and once again directed by Steven R. Monroe (like the 2010 film). This sequel is about as well made and effective (at the genre it's trying to represent) as it's two predecessors. Definitely not an enjoyable film going experience (in any way) but it delivers the gore, disturbing terror and grindhouse style revenge thrills that viewers of these types of movies expect.

The story revolves around an aspiring model named Katie (Jemma Dallender, who gives an amazing performance) working as a waitress in New York. She calls the number for an ad, which promises free professional photos, and meets three brothers (Yavor Baharov, Joe Absolom and Aleksandar Aleksiev) in the studio they shoot out of. After they try to talk her into doing some photos naked she leaves and goes home to her apartment. One of the brothers, Georgy (Baharov), shows up at her apartment; first to offer her free pictures and then later taking photos of her, in her bedroom, while she's sleeping. He proceeds to tie her up and rape her and then calls his brothers for help cleaning up the crime. The three brothers drug Katie and ship her to their home country of Bulgaria where they proceed to rape and torture her. A business associate of theirs, named Valko (Peter Silverleaf), joins them in Bulgaria. Of course you know what happens next.

The original 1978 film is one of the most controversial films of all time and has been criticized both for exploiting rape and man hating (due to the evil characterisations of it's male characters and the excessive torture scenes of them, some involving their genitalia). Roger Ebert notoriously called it a "vile bag or garbage" and gave it (and it's original remake) a zero star rating. The 2010 remake received the same kind of harsh criticism (and there were reports of several men walking out on screenings of that film in theaters) but both films also have received an equal amount of praise, with some calling them 'pro women' feminism and cathartic. I haven't read the reviews on this film yet but I imagine it would get the same kind of reaction. I basically felt the same things about it as I did the first two films; I felt miserable the first half of the movie but did get a decent amount of gratification from Katie's brutal revenge in the second (and the death scenes are once again extremely creative and grotesquely imaginative). Once again I don't think this movie (like the others) is telling anyone how to feel about Katie's actions (whether they're right or wrong) but it does make a compelling and disturbingly entertaining flick. Not a great film but a more than decent example of the 'torture porn' genre (just like it's two predecessors).

Watch our movie review show 'MOVIE TALK' at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AQkUJbRVsoM

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 11:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history