IMDb > A Talking Cat!?! (2013) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
A Talking Cat!?!
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
A Talking Cat!?! More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 24 reviews in total 

46 out of 53 people found the following review useful:

A beautiful love story between two teenage boys

10/10
Author: diseriq from United States
27 March 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Justin Cone plays young 17 year old Chris, a cute skinny twink of a teenager who feigns awkward gawkiness around girls in order to mask his budding homosexual desires from his brutally repressive and homophobic father. Yet when he meets tall, handsome, and muscular Trent ("introducing" Daniel Dannas), who lives quite a ways down the street, it's love at first sight as Trent teaches Chris to swim and overcome his fear of water and wetness. Soon both boys ((SPOILER)) are swimming merrily in the pool with their shirts off as Director David DeCoteau candidly documents their blossoming adolescent romance. Chris even finds a girl whom he tutors (played by Anna Paquin's cousin), and she quickly agrees to beard as his girlfriend, allowing Chris to keep his new forbidden love affair with Trent a secret from his father.

Oh yeah, and there's also a cat that talks.

Was the above review useful to you?

51 out of 64 people found the following review useful:

A beautiful example of modern art.

10/10
Author: John Smith from United Kingdom
26 February 2013

This film was an inspiration to me. I was in tears throughout the whole film. This cat goes through so much in it's struggles and I wish I could tell you, but that would ruin the moving atmosphere.

The acting is delivered flawlessly without any error. For a film which truly sticks to it's roots, carrying none of the 'multi million dollar company' vibe many films now show, please, I implore you to seek 'A Talking Cat?!?' for that one perfect moment in your life.

Watching this film was like reliving the days of nostalgic childhood once more and I am certain that this will apply to any viewer, young or old. 'A Talking Cat?!?' is a film truly suited to the whole family.

Masterpiece.

Was the above review useful to you?

32 out of 40 people found the following review useful:

The cat on the poster isn't the cat in the movie

8/10
Author: edibley from America, California
28 March 2013

The cat on the movie poster is not the same as the cat in the movie, but otherwise this movie is perfect. I would have given it a perfect 10 stars but I don't like that the poster shows a cat that is cute and young in an awkward pose but the cat in the movie is never really very awkward and is older, but it is still a cute cat so don't worry you won't be subjected to an ugly cat just one that is different from the one in the movie.

Eric Roberts demonstrates a broad range of emotions, from being annoyed by "beeping machines" to seriously loving on some food, but when I rented this movie I was expecting to hear his voice attached to the cat on the poster, and when it was instead a different cat with Eric Roberts' voice, I felt a little bit thrown off.

Watch this movie a lot of times. Also, I'm working on a poster that is more representative of the cat from the actual movie and when it's ready I'll update my review and post it here.

BE WARNED: THE CAT IS CUTE, BUT NOT THE CAT ON THE POSTER!!!?!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

29 out of 35 people found the following review useful:

Just kill me now.

1/10
Author: bps3013 from United States
30 May 2013

I defy anyone to make it through this direct to video disaster in one sitting. I know I couldn't. There is nothing, NOTHING even remotely redeemable about this mess. Zero production values, a canned and looped music score that would be far more fitting for interrogations of enemies of the state, painful performances from has been's (WTF how desperate were Kristine DeBell and Johnny Whittaker in order for them to debase themselves like this?!) along with a talentless cast of young up and comers, and -the coup de gras- the most unbelievable "talking cat" effect you will ever see. This entire video (I refuse to call it a movie) is an endurance test for only the most brave of souls. Your rage will set in after the first fifteen minutes, and from there on out it's a battle of wills to see who will emerge victorious. Many have tried. All have perished. Consider this your only warning.

Was the above review useful to you?

28 out of 40 people found the following review useful:

Eric Robert's Masterpiece

10/10
Author: adamski1981 from Fargo, ND
14 March 2013

This movie has everything. Action, Drama, and even Magic! In what would be the greatest achievement in the American Dusty Rhodes movie debut. The beautiful scenery captivated me to the point of wanting summer to come along again so I can take a walk in the woods.

The story starts out with a father and son who have a hard time relating to each other. The son, love smitten, is awkwardly befuddled. It moves forward connecting two troubled families together with the work of Eric Roberts masterpiece of acting. You can tell he is a pro, as his delivery is effortless. The second family is struggling financially.

There are twists and turns you would never expect. You expect one thing to happen, and it does something so simple instead, it amazes you. Brilliant when you think about it.

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 23 people found the following review useful:

Bizarro Soft Porn sets mixed with home computer special effects

1/10
Author: kristin morgan from United States
14 April 2013

Wasn't sure whether to give it one star out of ten, or ten stars for the films pure lack of any sort of slot to fit it in to. For one thing- the soft porn style sets are not your imagination, the director, David DeCoteau not only makes gay porn- he also directs CHILDREN'S films. And uses the same sets.. makes me uncomfortable knowing children's films are also done by this same guy, under an alias company name "1313" on IMDb. Thanks Nathan Rabin, I KNEW it. You just confirmed my fears.

Soft porn music, lighting, sets... the crappiest special effects for the talking cat ever. Picture a photo shopped-style moving black "mouth shape" for the poor cats mouth- and a drunken sounding Eric Roberts as the cat's voice. The cat is neither cute, nor cuddly- the film does not use the cat pictured on the film's ad poster.

The film totally reminded me of "The Room" in it's weirdly quiet way. I was waiting for a character to waltz in and casually mention "didn't you hear? I have cancer.. Bye!" A million dollar budget?? Why? How? I wonder if some of their budget went to "hush money" to the child actors' parents. Wouldn't surprise me! This is one of those "you've GOT to WATCH this" films.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

This move makes my soul hurt.

1/10
Author: michaelndubois from North Carolina, USA
14 September 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Turned it on for the kids. Left it on for the same reason that you can't turn away from a train-wreck. I'm seriously not sure if the homoerotic undertones were intentional due to the director's past experience, or because he cast two gay kids to pretend to be straight boys interested in girls. The unconvincing acting coupled with the painfully shitty lines makes me want to stab myself repeatedly. The faux phone conversations are equally impressive as well. The two old people's cohesion after the "car scene" is also mind-blowing. I particularly like when the "mom" pulls the cheese puffs out of the oven with her bare hands then hands them to the old guy and he drops them cause they're too hot. I seriously think this whole cast was speed-balling the entire movie... If you just have nothing left to do before you die then maybe, MAYBE watch this just to convince yourself that it is time to go.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

All you need to know about this "movie"

1/10
Author: Xenomaster from Atlanta
16 January 2014

I recently watched this "film" for my podcast, where we solely review awful movies. I painstakingly sat through it twice with a stopwatch and timed all of the runtime of the movie spent on establishing shots (there are FIFTY-SEVEN OF THEM), credits, and shots of the cat lying or waddling around. This sums up the movie better than anything:

Between the credits, establishing shots, and shots of the cat, those all take up THIRTY PERCENT OF THE 83-MINUTE RUNTIME. I have never seen a movie that so blatantly pads its runtime with scenery. And what's scarier than that is that there are literally dozens of instances (that I didn't time with the stopwatch) where the human characters are shown doing nothing but sitting and looking at things for several minutes at a time, or walking up stairs, or standing and looking at random objects. It is pathetic how poorly edited and shot this movie is.

Literally nothing happens in this movie. If you don't believe me, go see it. You'll go cross-eyed before you ever find anything resembling a plot. If this thing was competently made just from a sheer editing standpoint, it would be 4 minutes long...if that.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

This movie has changed my life.

10/10
Author: ericludwig97 from Antarctica
17 October 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The emotion I emitted will watching this glorious work of art matched the intensity I felt in other films such as The Titanic, The Blind Side, Precious, and The Boy in the Striped Pajamas. At times, this movie was so intense that I could not control my body causing me to scream out in orgasmic sorrow. I really enjoyed the repeated nature scenes as they gave me some time to absorb and reflect on what I had witnessed. Through the love of Trent and Chris, I realized that it was okay to be gay and immediately ejaculated all over my tight chest. I then spent the next 20 minutes weeping uncontrollably. Semen and tears became one in a cesspool on my belly-button. Homosexuality is something that we all need to accept and experiment with. I think it is safe to say that Eric Robert's role as Duffy was his master work. He was good in The Dark Knight, but this tops any of his previous works. His powerful voice shook my body to the point of excretion. This film has made me realize whether you are gay, a talking cat, black, or human, we are all the same. We need to work with each other if we want to save cats from car accidents. All it takes is a towel and a piece of string.

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 25 people found the following review useful:

A tale of two families, and a cat.

10/10
Author: Victoria Scott
2 July 2013

Wow, this movie is truly an exceptional work of art - it's heartwarming and heart-breaking in equal measure.

How incredible to see the world through a cat's eyes - and not just any cat! Duffy is a cat of unusual depth and wisdom.

The special effects are unmatched in excellence, except by the acting. And the soundtrack? If Mozart played the synthesizer, he would write this! Truly, this is the film of the year.

Quote: "Is that a cat? I wonder what it wanted!"

"You know, I've spent a lifetime working in office buildings, drinking coffee. I'm no Humphrey Bogart."

"I am too good sometimes." -Cat

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history