IMDb > Yamla Pagla Deewana 2 (2013) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Yamla Pagla Deewana 2
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Yamla Pagla Deewana 2 More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 12 reviews in total 

17 out of 22 people found the following review useful:

Referential Bag Of Melodrama, Stupidity & Worthlessness. (11%)

1/10
Author: Tejas Nair from the Entertainment Capital of India
8 June 2013

It has no relation to the prequel whatsoever. But it makes huge references to Bollywood movies, songs, dialogs and even the plot is based upon them. The story is derived from stupid caper films of Bollywood which go on to make 100 crore. Nothing new to offer, YMD 2 will buy a good nap only if the theater is properly air-conditioned.

The star cast is wasted, although I can;t expect much from the Deols. Dharmendra should stop acting because he's fell into a stage where he is making fool of himself. Sunny Deol is the only credible guy. I can't understand what Anupam Kher was doing there. Neha Sharma is pretty but the other chick is average. Johnny Lever should stay at home. The monkey exasperates but I would love to frame it as one of the Deols, only with better acting.

Irritatingly brought-up dialogs, made-up action scenes, CGI, large number of goofs, bad editing, useless songs, even poorer dancing, timid references to Bollywood movies (Golmaal), songs, cleavages, poor depiction of relationships, bad direction, dramatic screenplay, weird sequences, confusing locations, long running time and a parade of counter-attacking humor - that is what YMD 2 is all about. With nothing new to offer either in story or performances, this is not the summer blockbuster you are looking for. Having its share of slapstick just makes it to be considered if you are a fan. Nothing could improve this blunder.

BOTTOM LINE: Very bad comedy. Not recommended. 1.1/10. I seriously don;t want another sequel. I need peace.

Can be watched with a typical Indian family? YES

Profanity: No | Sex: No, Implied | Foreplay/Mouth-Kiss: No | Nudity: Very Mild | Alcohol: Strong | Smoking: No | Drugs: No | Violence: Strong | Gore: No

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Its Upto you To Judge What Went Wrong...Poor Writing or Bad Direction Or BOTH !!!

5/10
Author: jaydeep-subhashis from India
8 June 2013

When you have a hit movie and you want to make a sequel to it, I think the responsibility even gets bigger as you are drawing more anticipation and attention than the previous one. And that to when its comedy then it becomes even tougher to match up to the standard which the production team had set and the audience had liked about. The last installment of the Hangover series failed miserably from critical point of view due to this reason and I strongly feel Certain films should not run behind the rage of making sequels to a successful prequel. The sequel to the 2011 hit YPD, this Papa-Sons triple combo this time tries too hard to please the audience. Apart from a handful of humorous scenes rest of the film suffers from over the top writing, flawed screenplay and inclusion of some unnecessary characters and props (the orangutan). Due to the lacklustre screenplay the movie even feels too long. Actingwise Papa dharmendra's comic timing is good but again his amazing persona is trapped in a blemished screenplay resulting an undignified portrayal of a superstar and legend.Total fault of the writer and the director. Hands Down... Sunny Deol did what he could do and succeeds in certain scenes. But the disappointing element was of Bobby who hardly impresses with his acting or comic timing. A versatile actor like Bobby who is already trapped in a string of flops had nothing to do and such careless is the writing and unfunny the dialogues are I thought the character was never meant for bobby deol.

The two girls shows some promise particularly Neha Sharma and Kristina Akheeva looks breathtakingly beautiful but needs to brush up her acting skills.

Anupam Kher is the biggest mistake of the movie and he is there to give you a migraine. Sir, Are you running out of movies?? Why did you say yes to a role which never holds the stance of your name or even image.

Perhaps the only saving grace of the movie is its music which has already hit the chartbusters. Deols must thank the Music directors for keeping the chances of the movie at the box office alive despite so many faults and flaws visible all over it.

To wrap up my view I would say If you are a die hard fan of the deols and love the melody of YPD2, then go for it. Otherwise You can wait for the World Television Premier which I don't think will take much longer.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

A comic sequel without any comedy, energy & entertainment.

Author: bobbysing from India
10 June 2013

Remembering the first installment of YAMLA PAGLA DEEWANA, I enjoyed watching it to a large extent as the film did have many entertaining moments to offer, especially in its second half. And the purpose of mentioning this 2011 hit here is to admit that at times I am really willing to enjoy such illogical comedies 'leaving the brains behind' as widely quoted in the trade, when it comes to films like YPD. So expecting a crazy funny film from the Deols, I was there sitting in the theater like a child, eager to laugh along the trio with full spirits.

But unfortunately, nothing of that sort happened even after one hour into the film and the Deols failed to give me anything more entertaining than what I had already seen in the promos running on the channels. Actually YAMLA PAGLA DEEWANA 2 turns out to be a complete non performer because its fails at various levels rejecting each and every expectation in the mind of a Deol fan. For instance, its quite surprising to see that the very first scene of the film, introduces Sunny Deol in a hugely uninspiring manner without any exciting build up or energy. And then his character is not able to impress or make any kind of solid impact right till the climax, due to an uneven story progression. Besides the writers try to incorporate too many badly conceived plots into the script which don't let any particular one win over the viewer, resulting in a collective fall in the end quite regrettably.

The deliberate reference of SALMAN KHAN and his hits throughout the film indicate the lack of confidence in their content by the makers at regular intervals. The unrequired inclusion of Orangutan (The Ape), without any kind of clear reason or story angle too displays the questionable vision of its director Sangeeth Sivan. But more importantly, the shockingly uninteresting and long sequences in a comedy film, without any witty or funny dialogues really made me doubt on some probable problems during its making, leading to such lifeless project from the Deols beyond imagination. Further it was indeed quite disheartening to see Anupam Kher, the man who was one of the key entertainers in YPD, wasted in such a cruel manner in its part 2, which can even be called as pathetic without any doubt.

In technical terms, if a comedy film keeps moving calmly without any hilarious dialogues coming at short intervals and doesn't have any fast paced sequences focusing on the entertainment factor, then it really cannot be called A Comedy in its real sense. And therefore while watching the film I was constantly thinking about the reason why the Deols approved this kind of project and its script in the first place?

Frankly it was only the love and respect for the Deol family which didn't allow me to take eyes of the screen watching the trio, otherwise the writer & the director had nothing in store for me in their silly and tame execution of a tasteless plot. Dharmender, as usual looks adorable as the con man with a childlike innocence and Bobby gives his best shot as Dharam's associate in some cool dress ups. But it is Sunny all the way, looking strikingly dazzling as the dashing Sikh on the screen fighting the bad men. Sadly he again gets to do the same kinds of scenes with the Sumo wrestlers this time which still fail to entertain the viewers in a prolonged climax.

Neha Sharma & Kristina Akheeva serve as the essential glamour ingredient of the project perfectly but Anu Kapoor and Johny Lever remain wasted. Plus it was really weird to see Mukul Dev in just one short scene in the film, who was again one of the key scene stealers in YPD1. The soundtrack remains another downer in the list with only the title track & "Main Aidaan Hi Nachna" making some kind of ripples due to its indicative lyrics pointing towards the famous dancing abilities of the Deols. But it would have been better if the track was used within the film in a related sequence than being played with the end credits rolling after its all over. Cinematography maintains the grandeur of the project (partially shot abroad) but background score goes over the top with its repeated use of Punjabi beats and loud chorus voices shouting various words.

To end on a decisive note, with a duration of more than 150 minutes its really hard to sit through this so called comedy featuring the lovable Deols. And the blame completely goes to the writer and the director who fail to deliver miserably in this much awaited film of 2013. It was indeed a treat to watch Dharmender, Sunny & Bobby together in a thoughtful venture like APNE and the trio needs to give us better films in the future as per their big reputation within the industry as well as in their energetic fans all over the world. But if you ask me, then with the Punjabi film industry flourishing like never before, its high time the Deols soon come up with a grand Punjabi film made on a good subject (preferably not a comedy) which would be a great news for the trade market within India as well as abroad, for sure.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Did Deols Seriously forgot to Watch the First one?

1/10
Author: creedreaper from United States
14 July 2013

Oh where to begin with this one.... I absolutely loveeed the first one. The cast, crew, direction, songs, and the storyline were brilliant on that one. Unfortunately this sequel was a DISASTER.

I was sooo excited to hear that most of the original cast was in this one too and they tied in my fav. new hottie Neha Sharma and Anu Kapoor. But my expectations fell soooo short. I wanted to give a TIGHT slap to the story writer(s) and the director. What were they smoking? You have this elite trio of Deol family which could've been a start of awesome comedy series but instead the time and money was completely wasted.

Seriously no one likes cheap gimmicks like putting in a fake monkey, over-exaggerated thugs wanna-be's, cheap references to Salman Khan's movies. Why even bother making a film if the result would be this disastrous?

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Complete waste of time and money, useless and third class movie

1/10
Author: amehboob_28 from London
18 June 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I wish I can give this movie a zero even if there is something less then that, but sadly the minimum score here is just 1. I am sure after Himmatwala of Ajay Devgan this is the worst movie I have ever watched. Total waste of time and money. No comedy at all, try to make you laugh with childish scenes. Poorly written & directed. Couldn't watch it for more then 15 minutes, from the starting scene till the ending this movie will make you so much angry that you will feel like you should sue the director and whole cast of this movie.

I don't know what is wrong with Indian movies these days, why they think stupid action is important, where everyone suddenly start flying for no reason, seriously this doesn't make anyone laugh FOR GOD SAKE UNDERSTAND THAT. After watching this movie I don't think I will ever be able to watch Deols again.

SUCH A BAD MOVIE. WORST COMEDY MOVIE EVER.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

This was seriously fun

8/10
Author: Jennifer Shaw Hancock (jen-122-636160) from Florida
2 October 2014

This is not a high brow movie. It's a silly fun romp. And as a fun romp, it's a wonderfully delightful and funny movie. If you like Bollywood movies and you like silly comedies you will probably like this movie. This is one of those movies you just have to give yourself over to.

Sunny and Bobby Deol are wonderful in their roles. I'm not used to seeing Sunny so clean and his beard was so beautiful and his smile. (sigh) However, the actor who surprised me the most was Anupam Kher as Dude-G. I had no idea that man has such range - which I realize is a strange thing to say for a movie - that's basically a lot of set pieces/spoofs on other movies loosely woven around a fairly predictable plot line. However, he was great - really owned his role and again, I didn't know he had that sort of range. And Jhonny Lever is always funny, and he delivered exactly what you want from J. Lever.

So, why did I like this movie if it was so over the top and silly. It delivered. It was a bit disjointed at first and I had trouble following who everyone was. However, once the story lines converge - it's all romp from there. I liked the plot. It was simple and went exactly where I wanted and needed it to go. I like to be surprised to - but there is something to be said for a simple plot.

The references to other movies - really funny. And yes, you do need to know who Salman Khan is to get a lot of the jokes. I laughed through this whole movie. The Orangutan Einstein was funny, surprisingly necessary to the plot, and I was howling during the My Name is Sheila sequence.

The final battle was wonderful and funny and, for me, the whole movie held together well. Yes. It's over the top. Yes, it's silly. Yes, it makes a LOT of references to other movies. Yes, it's totally unbelievable. Still, I thought it was well acted and I was totally engaged in the love stories - even though it was obvious how they were going to end. That's one of the things that I love about Hindi cinema. It delivers what you want it to - and this movie does. If you don't know going into the movie that it's going to be over the top silly based on the poster which features a man in a bad orangutan suit, well, there is no helping you.

PS - I was telling my husband about it and my 9 year old son is now quite eager to see it (he likes Hindi movies too - start them young). So we will be watching it again shortly.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Laugh and leave

6/10
Author: Jasrick Johal from Vancouver, BC
19 November 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Yamla Pagla Deewana 2 is better than the first thanks too amazing over the top action, great performance by Sunny Deol and great 2nd half. YPD2 is double the fun, double paisa vasool.1stHalf starts of with no story but slowly picks up.YPD2 has a similar story which is about a father and son who are thieves and how the older brother trying to change them, just add +masti. Acting,Sunny shines with amazing action moments,and great comic timing.Bobby is hilarious as Q,and Dharmendra gives nice support.Also Anupam Kher, Johnny Lever, and the Monkey are hilarious.Neha Sharma and Kristien are there just for glamor and they do well,they're hot.Overall YPD2 is a illogical,leave your brains at home comedy,with good action,good performance by Sunny,a great 2nd half and the Q story is LOL.YPD2 also plays tribute to Salman Khan and those scenes are great.. Only - are weak beginning, too many characters and length

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Strictly for Deol fans

Author: silvan-desouza from India
12 June 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Deols were a saleable name, Dharam was a hot name in 70s and early 80s but then he started doing rubbish films in 1990s, even in his 60's he still played the hero and made trash films like Policewala Gunda.He cameback in 2004 and gave some hit films like Apne and APD mostly with his family. Sunny Deol was a big star in 90s but then his films got outdated, he too got a hit after ages with Yamla Pagla Deewana which is his only hit post Gadar perhaps in this millennium and perhaps some few small average runners. Bobby Deol hardly gave any hits in his career except Humraaz, Soldier and a few more. Nowdays all 3 Deols mostly work together only. Yamla Pagla Deewana 2 as all know has no connection with part 1 just the characters are the same. This time the film is set in London, and shot lavishly Director Sangeeth Sivan after crap films like Apna Sapna Money Money(2006) follows the same formula of those type films. The film has the same plot and tries very hard to make you laugh. The film has scenes which make you wonder which era do this writers belong? Sunny Deol's car starting on it's own? An ape who does so much of stuff? The climax is the most idiotic one has witnessed since long time. In the original Sunny shouted and threw people in air but here he also punches Sumo Wrestlers and Ninjas. The film does have a few redeeming scenes like Sunny Deol's drunk scene, or a few scenes between Bobby, Sunny and Dharam

Direction by Sangeeth Sivan who debutted with Zor(1997) a flop starring Sunny Deol and then came back with Kya Kool hai Hum which was at least quite funny and then ASMM which was terrible is nothing great here. Music is okay

Sunny Deol shows he has good comic timing and does his best though he is getting typecast now and should do some challenging stuff, as he is cross 50+ Dharmendra looks jaded but shows he still has the talent Bobby Deol supports the trio well Neha Sharma and Kristina do nothing much but are okay Annu Kapoor with a wig and a fake English accent is okay too Anupam Kher looks idiotic in his stupid role even Johny lever's mimicry of Srk as DON lacks the punch,He and Sucheta are nothing great

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

This is a story about expressing emotion and coming clean, hoping for a positive result but shedding the weight of the world.

Author: guyfawkes3969 from Mumbai, India
12 June 2013

After reading a lot of ambiguous reviews I decided to make the trip myself to catch the much awaited and heavily promoted Yamla Pagla Deewana Part 2, starring the highly celebrated and decorated family of Indian cinema, The Deols.

The film begins with the god fearing Paramveer Singh Dhillon (Sunny Deol) who is now working in the United Kingdom as a debt collector (chuckles begin because of the aptness of the role). He saves a man from committing suicide and is a general Good Samaritan carrying on with his life earnestly. Things seem to be finally falling into place and 'Rabba' is on his side as even from miles away it seems that he has had a positive impact on his infamous father and deewana brother. The devout son and elder brother Param still sends money back home to support the make belief flower shop and even ends up financing their "change of scene" from the holy lands onto the Royal Shores of Great Britain! Here we go…..

Yamla Pagla Deewana and the bells ring through with Dharmji as, Yamla Baba, who comes hand in hand with good luck and commercial success, to all his Bhakts (followers). "Release yourself" "Give in to me" and that is exactly what I did with the legendary Dharmendra posing as a spiritual teacher, effortlessly mesmerizing all his 'Bhakts' (Followers) with a discourse which has them all spellbound while his partner in crime/son Gajodhar (Bobby Deol) makes away with the divine loot. Got to say that this actor still has the legs in him to outrun some of the best today in comedy. The timing impeccable and the panache like he hasn't missed a step.

They have not changed one bit since the original film released in 2011 and are out to make the most of it. The con is still on but this time the action shifts to the United Kingdom, where the almost Sherlock and Watson of the con world have set their sights on Mr Yograj Khanna (Anu Kapoor) a former rich affluent tycoon neck deep in financial debt. To ease his troubled mind and in search of the winds of change he makes his way to sacred Varanasi, where he is in for a holy surprise.

"Oberoi Pranaam" with great gusto and pomp, almost like a Houdini trick masked in some tantric mist, walks in Oberoi, Oberoi and Oberoi, Dharamji's new alias along with Bobby. The Oberoi parivaar and their quirks and tricks really grew on me, something like visualizing the big wig families you only read about in the papers.

The suited booted heavily accented dynamic Mr Yograj Khanna now considers Dharmji and the rich Deewana Punjabi Munda, Prem as his new found friends and associates who can help solve his problems and give him a solution to what he is undergoing. Little do they know that as these 2 crooks are looking to inherit a fortune from the heavily accented and ornamented Mr Khanna. The accent to me was just perfect as it was intended to be a put on, a trademark of the socialite elite in the United Kingdom.

Forever indebted to Yamla Baba, Dharamji is able to convince Khanna Saab to allow his daughter's hand in marriage to his Deewana Punjabi Munda son, Prem (Gajodhar/Bobby).

Khanna saab's daughter Suman and Prem begin their turbulent relationship and subsequent bonding over their favorite actor Salman Khan. Now the showcase of admiration over one's favorite actor is definitely a trick from yesteryear cinema. It brought back fond memories of Kishen Kanhaiya for me, where Anil Kapoor and Madhuri Dixit's love for cinema is criteria that leads to attraction. Whether 6-7 corny references point to things being over done i would beg to differ. "If you are giving it up for Bachchan" less than a month ago then admiration for a current mass superstar is definitely forgivable. Call me lenient but if I'm setting myself up to be entertained not intellectually stimulated and who else to draw inspiration from but possibly the current king, Salman Khan.

This is a story about expressing emotion and coming clean, hoping for a positive result but shedding the weight of the world. It also reflects the various circumstances and situations our 3 main protagonists find themselves in overseas in a foreign land. It also shows us that beneath the facade and charade of showing tremendous wealth, a lavish lifestyle or creating an aura around oneself everybody in life has problems or issues. Through comedy which is fast paced with whacky action, typical Bhangra pop catchy songs, a host of funny and hilarious over the top action sequences, YPD 2 has a meaningful insight to it. Is material gain, pursuing it the only thing which can make us happy today or is living life your own way with those you love, trust the better option. It's what beneath the surface which counts not the outward display which tempts as well as paints an erroneous bigger picture. What is the real truth is what the film asks you? Is landing in to a bigger zone of trouble really worth it with artificiality and living a lie.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Probably the worst movie ever made by humanity

1/10
Author: tictack from India
19 July 2013

I curse myself for watching this piece of crap. Why am I writing the review? well, I could not help myself but to badmouth this utter pathetic and ridiculous mess which comes expectedly from the worst two actor sons of quickly dying legend of Dharmendra because of such nonsensical work. Deol's have not done any good for their minuscule reputation that they are left with. These two monkey actors Sunny and Bobby Deol act even more ridiculous than the fake Gorilla in the movie which I dunno originated from whose fertile mind who thought it will add humor and attraction in the movie. The comedy scenes are the ones which have been shown millions of times in the Bollywood movies and lesser talked about the fight sequences the better as they not only defy all the laws of real physics but also unwritten laws of reel physics too. Only little treat for eyes are two girls who look beautiful but I could not fathom the lovely Caucasian paired against old man Sunny Deol. The legendary Anupam Kher is absolutely wasted in the movie. I cannot give zero stars as it is not an option. Don't dare watch this unless you believe a Gorilla can make a multimillion dollar painting twice by accident.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history