IMDb > "DTLA" (2012) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"DTLA"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsmessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"DTLA" More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 9 reviews in total 

14 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

Amateurish

5/10
Author: MacCarmel from California
28 June 2013

Intrigued with the 7.2 IMDb rating on this one, I decided to check it out. I could not even make it through two full 30 minute episodes. I thought the writing was awful, the dialogue laughable and the acting was mostly straight off the high school stage. Perhaps, had I decided to stick with it, I might have been in for a pleasant surprise. But, given what I saw, I don't think so.

I could give something like this a 7 or 8 rating simply for existing in the world of not much LGBT television options. But writers of shows like this need to step up their game and put things on television that are actually worth watching. The days of getting a 10, and a ready and forgiving audience eagerly waiting for your subpar product, are over.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Awful acting

2/10
Author: onsetbeachbum from Cape Cod
19 November 2013

I can't believe anyone that would give this show anymore than 2 stars, the plots are OK but the acting is just terrible. I couldn't make it 10 minutes through the second episode because the acting was so painful to watch. I was hoping a gay show would come around again since Queer As Folk and hoped this was it but this show can't hold a candle to it as far as the acting is concerned. Which is probably why it only made it one season.

I was surprised by the main character because I have seen him in other movies/television programs, I think what was bothersome is he bobbles his head to much trying too hard to act, I wanted to reach into the television and tell him enough with the head movements, Just act!

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Poor writing leads to poor acting

4/10
Author: The Man from United States
20 November 2013

Darryl Stevens is definitely the most natural, at ease, effortless, and probably most seasoned,actor in the cast (aside from small roles from wonderful actors like Leslie Jordan, Melanie Griffin and Sandra Bullock). The script is pretty contrived and the acting is sometimes painfully forced. Sometimes it felt like the editing was to blame, but over all it was a failure in the writing.It was a good effort, but didn't come together. It was nice to have a variety of gay men shown in some positive light along with their straight friends, but the script just seemed to be all over the place. Aside from some sexy, hunky men showing a little skin, this was rather lackluster.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Not perfect but worth watching,,

Author: Celeste James
14 April 2014

Given that this show was made on a small budget and were trying to create characters with depth and complexity in thirty minutes, I thought the show was great. I think if they can get the backing of a production studio with a decent budget behind it, it will be fantastic! I found it refreshing to see gay characters portrayed in a way that is not stereotypical and showed their lives As a whole, not just focused on their sexual orientation. Actually, that is only a small facet of their lives. This show touched on relationships, friendships, family, career choices, and addiction. I watched the unedited versions on Netflix. There were a few production problems, with sound especially. Some of the story lines weren't as fully developed as I would have liked. And probably not as much as they would have wanted either. I mean, how in depth can you get with seven characters in nine episodes that are thirty minutes? There were several guest appearances that were fun to see, but I don't think they were utilized as well as they could have been. Some of the scenes seemed rushed and out of place.. i.e. Paul Mooney as Len's dad. It seemed to come out of no where and the dialog hinted at a strained relationship between father and son, but there really was no time to explore any part of that relationship and if that scene were cut out, we (the audience) wouldn't have missed it. I did read that if DTLA comes back for a second season the shows will be a full hour-which I think would be most appropriate. I also found it a little weird that some actor's nudity would be blurred out while others would be on full display. I mean, one would think if you signed up for a gig that required nude scenes, you would be prepared for that no? Overall I found the characters to be interesting and I wanted to know more about them. Fingers crossed that we'll see a second season on Netflix soon.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

6.7 stars!!!! LMAO try 1.5, BUT

1/10
Author: k-pasa333 from los angeles
3 July 2014

This writer is not so gifted in ideas involving words, relationships, love, other human beings, friendship, loyalty contradictions, denouement, beginnings, etc. But instead tries to teach us that we're all just food for thought, expendable, things to use, ideas to bounce off of, tricks to be played. I could see at certain points where there was some twinkling light of brilliance, a touch of genius had graced this for a minute like silver, a little whisper, a little voice that disappeared. Its sad because there is a trace of someone or something brilliant that shined for a minute. Its confusing. But I do feel this sadness, this hurt not in the actual acting or writing but in the production. This absence of talent that could have been, like a great work that was left on the playground. The acting is bad but not just by that alone. The director has no idea of space, using it to enhance emotion, power, greed, doesn't understand light and how it is used to convey or intensify the scene, the mood, seems to be still learning about film. I get the feeling that a more talented partner was cut out, denied and discredited. Because there is a shadow in this that hints a what could have been, but is lost to time, buried and forgotten.

Was the above review useful to you?

Loved DTLA

10/10
Author: sinnerofcinema from United States
30 August 2015

Not sure why so many reviewers here are trashing this show. I understood what it was trying to do and I'm kinda please I bumped into DTLA at the video store. I haven't heard of it and don't like watching series, but this one got me addicted and that's a good thing. Kudos to the actors for really giving it their all. I actually teared up during the the 3rd episode when the main couple had decided to break up. I felt their pain and vulnerability under the pressure cooker of circumstances. It's not perfect, but DTLA set out to do what it wanted to do and it does it successfully. I for one was glued one disc after another and could not wait to see what was going to happen to the characters next. Totally recommend! Also, it was awesome to see Luenell and William McNamara two great actors in my book!

Was the above review useful to you?

Beyond Dreadful

2/10
Author: hjames-97822 from United States
8 May 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I can't stand being patronized. As a gay man I will no longer settle for so called "gay themed" programming that seems to assume if you give me some pubic hair you are permitted to bore me. I want real story lines about real people. Even people who don't go to bars, don't snort and don't obsess over their hair.

Terrible, predictable dialog. Boring, boring, boring story lines and sub plots. The sex scenes are (just for the record) typical and predictable. It's basic soft core. (No money shot. No visible penetration.) I can tell you what shots are coming next before they do them. The only thing I'll say is they managed to A) get some reasonably attractive people desperate for a job to act in this mess and B) they got some people of color in the cast. I sometimes think porn is mostly a Caucasian thing.

The whole thing reminds me of a sort of visual gay elevator music. Yuck.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Eye Candy

3/10
Author: BlindMan-11 from Canada
29 March 2015

1. The writing was sub-par. It was only for the nudity that I am guessing any of the gay community would bother to watch this show.

2. The acting was painfully high school drama production. It was the one thing that makes it painful. Each actor most of the time would wait for the other person to finish his line and there was a slight pause and then the reaction.

3. Camera: Was the dude who was operating the camera on crack? It was jerky and not in an artist way. It got sometimes so bad that you needed a Dramamine pill not to get screen (car) sick.

4. Most of the story lines started and then did not really go anywhere. Of if they do go anywhere, it took way too long to get there. With the Melanie Griffith - Sandra Bernhard characters, what was with this whole part? Why where they needed or what did they add to the show? My only guess is, the producers where 'hoping' for a second and many seasons, and these people would become part of the back story to the production.

On the positive note: There was enough buffed eye candy for any gay man to enjoy and the sex scenes were good without being too gratuitous.

All of the characters had major flaws in their makeup and there is no reason to discuss this area because this is just a fictional show...without saying that I am glad I would not be a part of this group.

Enjoy but with knowing that just because it is gay orientated does not mean that it is great entertainment.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Flawed but entertaining

5/10
Author: decromwell
30 December 2013

This movie has sub par writing, acting, and technical production, there, I admit it up front. As to whether I would encourage or discourage others on viewing, I would definitely encourage with the knowledge that this is a flawed production. Overall I enjoyed viewing this series and therefore gave it a 5 out of 10 rating. If you are looking for intellectual stimulation or interesting commentary on gay life there is some but not always developed skilfully to gratifying conclusions as one would get in a more masterfully done project. Some acting is overly emotional and feels like the character is "acting" rather than naturally interacting. Without giving anything away there are also situations that seem gratuitous within this season. Encounters happen but then are not mentioned again. This leaves feelings of unfinished story lines (perhaps bad editing). This is a series and perhaps things might be explained in the following season but given the uncertainty about the continuation of a TV series, wrapping things up better would have been very much advised inside the season instead of one that follows. Two or so of these "unfinished" stories involve the main character and are also somewhat contradictory to his presumed values. If you are laid back and can enjoy a flawed but interesting story then you just might find this series an OK diversion.

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history