IMDb > Killers (2014) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Killers
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Killers More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 25 reviews in total 

23 out of 31 people found the following review useful:

Stylish, witty and brutal

7/10
Author: ns1crr from United Kingdom
3 March 2014

Reminded me of Crimes and Misdemeanors except the two main characters (one Indonesian and one Japanese) are engaged in a succession of brutal serial killings rather than adultery. It has too many flaws to be a great film, with a few dodgy scenes (especially in the Indonesian half), but after a slow start it succeeds in becoming a stylish, intriguing and witty story with a commentary on the public consumption of violent imagery that is subtly done and never becomes patronising. There is good acting from both leads and the supporting actors and a good helping of the over-the-top brutal violence that the Mo Brothers have been specialising in.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 23 people found the following review useful:

Gripping

Author: Red_Identity from United States
27 August 2014

First, it has to be said that this film is brilliantly shot. The cinematography really is exquisite, and the whole film's aesthetic reminds me of the TV show Hannibal, in that it uses a slot of slow-motion and classic musical pieces as well as looking very elegant despite a lot of disturbing content and gore. The directing here is fine, the screenplay has some holes though. The performances are quite strong too, and really do seem to elevate their script's material. As a whole, this is very bloody and pretty horrifying, would not recommend it to the squeamish, but as a film, it's a fine one, if even very flawed at times. Seek it out.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

A somewhat scrambled mess of two story lines...

5/10
Author: Paul Magne Haakonsen from Denmark
22 June 2016

The synopsis of this Japanese and Indonesian collaboration did have my interest grabbed, and I was somewhat excited to sit down and watch the movie. However, I had set the movie up on a pedestal of sorts, because it didn't impress me one bit, and I found it to be just a very mundane and mediocre movie at best.

The story is about two very different men, one in Japan and one in Indonesia, whom meet on a disturbing site that posts real videos depicting the moments of death of mutilated victims. While far apart, the two men have something in common; they are both killers. One kills simply out of sadistic pleasure and the other kills for a perverted sense of justice.

Right, well the story was good at certain aspects, but at other aspects it was just a muddled mess which made very little logic or sense.

What worked out for the movie was the acting, as the two main talents Kazuki Kitamura (playing Nomura) and Oka Antara (playing Bayu) really pulled their weight throughout the movie with their individual performances.

The effects were also working well in favor of the movie. And there is a fair amount of brutality and gruesomeness throughout the movie, so take that into consideration if you are easily offended by visual violence.

However, the movie just had very little entertainment value, aside from showing some brutal and deranged murder scenes. The storyline was just not functioning on a grander level. It was as if I was watching two different movies; one taking place in Japan and one in Indonesia. And directors Kimo Stamboel and Timo Tjahjanto (known as The Mo Brothers) were not really successful in trying to intermingle and merge the two story lines into a coherent and fulfilling movie.

I found the overall result of the movie to be a tepid and mediocre one, and as such then I am rating it five out of ten stars.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Dark and Interesting

8/10
Author: billcr12 from United States
1 November 2014

Two men from different cultures, a journalist investigating a corrupt rich man in Jakarta, and a banker turned serial killer from Tokyo meet in a chat room and form an unholy alliance. The Japanese man abducts and tortures women on camera and uploads them on to the internet. The Indonesian writer becomes fascinated by the videos, and through a series of events becomes a killer himself. The movie switches back and forth between the two characters in a fairly seamless fashion. The acting is excellent, with vivid camera work, but be warned of some explicit and bloody violence. It runs a bit too long at two hours and eighteen minutes, but I still recommend Killers as one of the better films of 2014.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Ferociously entertaining serial killer flick

9/10
Author: Leofwine_draca from United Kingdom
15 April 2015

KILLERS is something different, a hard-hitting and explicitly violent serial killer outing made as a co-production between Indonesia and Japan. It's a film of two halves, one that tells two separate story lines that gradually merge before meeting up at the climax.

The initial storyline is a Japanese-based tale about a guy who goes around murdering beautiful young women in the most vicious way imaginable. Even worse, he uploads footage of his crimes to the Internet for other users to enjoy. This is in the same territory as THE CHASER or I SAW THE DEVIL, absolutely disturbing viewing without dwelling on needless protracted torture or the like. Needless to say it's gripping, with subtle acting and a mature approach to the story.

The second storyline is set in Indonesia, and brings to mind the world of THE RAID and its sequel; a couple of actors from those films feature prominently. It involves a journalist who fails to bring down a crime boss and soon finds himself driven into his own murky world of vigilante violence. The film's heart is present in the form of the likable Oka Antara, a guy who goes on a dark yet gripping journey.

The storyline is unpredictable throughout, only becoming predictable for the violent climax. But for the most part it's exemplary: dark, harrowing, exciting, the sort of wide-reaching storyline that can only be told through cinema screens. The reason it's so good is that it focuses on the psychology of the killers, which makes this much more than another boring slasher. It's outstanding, in fact.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Not raiding/rating the right way

7/10
Author: kosmasp
31 December 2014

This is not a critique to other people voting for this movie. This is me trying (hopefully succeeding too) to be funny. And all because of the Distributors and their insistence on making this or better connecting this to "The Raid". Obviously you can connect many movies with each other by producers, effect people and more (see 6 degrees of Kevin Bacon if you haven't heard of that). But this has nothing to do theme wise (or otherwise) with the Raid.

To wrap your head around that fact, you do have 2 hours. And while there is a lot happening, it's the ending that will stay with you (for better or worse). The movie is pretty violent (maybe one connection to The Raid) and very convoluted too. This is either a good or a bad thing, depending on your taste. One thing it definitely is, is strange

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Expected something slow, but OK - good. So, what is it i got?

10/10
Author: Bugs_Bundy from Austria
6 January 2015

----------------------- NO SPOILERS AT ALL ----------------------

I've just finished watching. Surely, at the very first, i have to admit, that i am stunned in every way possible. Although i expected not that much of it at all. But, that was swayed by all the fuc**d up reviews i read. They said, the movie is slow, hard to watch, absolutely predictable, bla bla bla and especially etc. The best for this film to be loved by you, is to have that special interest for ALL kinds of Psycho - Movies, in any kind, and especially that sweet special interest for stunning character-developments. (i would name a few of the many examples, that it refers to as tribute, but, sadly, it would spoil too much of the story-line) Everything is told, through two truly extraordinary actors. Both of them are taking everything of their act to the maximum .... Without taking the reality felt, away from it. Different, realistic, bad spirited and still.... with a real good piece of heart. And if it comes down to the perfectly paced soundtrack, also, all my wishes were fulfilled. So, for me, i really can not agree with these reviews i have read quite recently.

But, and this is for sure, i can not recommend this movie to anyone. It is quite violent indeed. Definitely not soothing to the softly-minded or -hearted. So please, anyone that got that hard stomach to take this kind of film...

...HERE IS OUR NEW MASTERPIECE

--- Which is, honestly, the best Homage, to so many great movies i love, movies that are done by people, loving what they are doing, loving the source of their drive. And out of that, combine them, and make something new with it. While through this, repeated said, it is a good movie for someone, but a Masterpiece for the right ones.

Thank you for reading this very subjective Review.

Sincerely your's

Bugs Bundy

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

great character!!!!!

8/10
Author: banyubee
9 April 2014

i really love this movie

some people said that this movie just too gory with no reason well, actually the main highlight of this movie actually is the difference between these two characters

both are killers but yet have very different reason itself the character development just spot on and i can't ask for more

main actors are great and i just so in love with this movie and personally i don't think this movie is too gory or sadistic it's pretty mild if you already watch the mo brothers work before

all and all it's such a great movie

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

"The first artwork is always Untitled" - Bloody Masterpiece

10/10
Author: Haider-kazmee from United States
12 January 2015

Don't miss out on this movie, and if you seen I saw the Devil then you must watch this .I saw a trailer recently and I had no Idea what was going on in the trailer. I noticed that Merantua films, xyz films, and Gareth Evans was involved in this project. If you have seen the raid, or raid 2 you know that those three things I've listed are not going to disappoint you. The movie revolves around a Japanese psychopath who kills for the fun and feeling of it. There are very few movies in which they show the mind of a killer and how he thinks at times. The effects in this movie look very realistic . I really love the blend between the Indonesian and Japanese world. Don't give the movie a bad rating because you thought it was disturbing . The movie competes with I saw the Devil, and The Chaser. Acting-9/10 Score-10/10 Violence- 10/10 Story-9/10 Overall :10/10

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Fans of I saw the devil, Chaser, American psycho shud definitely check this dark psychological thriller.

10/10
Author: fella_shibby from India
27 May 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

A brutal and yet intriguing movie with a highly original plot. Not for the faint of heart. Intense kill scenes, surreal and psychological imagery and plenty of suspenseful action throughout. Creative cinema going on here. There is good acting from both leads and the supporting actors. Props to Kazuki Kitamura (Kill bill 1 n 2, Raid 2, Azumi 1 n 2, Suspect x). He is awesome in this film. He has that killer appeal that is really interesting to watch. The other lead Oka Antara (Raid-2, VHS-2 segment Safe haven) acted well too. The tagline "Inside Us Lives A Killer" really tells us about this flick. Good suspense n tension thruout. Scenes that felt like final ones but they weren't. There was tension in finding out how would the characters end up. Though some were guessable, there were several unexpected scenes. Directed by Kimo Stamboel n Timo Tjahjanto known as The Mo Brothers (Macabre, Takut-segment Dara, ABCs of death-seg Libido, VHS-seg Safe haven). Jus a lil bad part of this flick. A bit long n the hotel chase scene looked too fake. I mean how he evades all those men???

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history