Copperhead (2013) Poster

(2013)

User Reviews

Add a Review
18 Reviews
Sort by:
9/10
Gorgeous film with a great message
This film is a treasure. It touches on themes that are as relevant today as they were in 1862 and whilst the tone is somber, the story is uplifting.

Well acted, beautifully filmed and not too long with a great deal of depth. This is a film everyone should see for both the overt and underlying messages regarding political fanaticism and the reprisals of not 'loving thy neighbor.' We agreed that this is by far the best film we've seen all year. Hopefully the Academy will take notice.

If you only spend your money on one film this summer - and are the type who wants to come away from the theater really pondering what you've just witnessed - this is the film for you.

9/10 (I would give it a 10, but I don't ever give any film a 10 as I have heard that IMDb doesn't count the 1's or the 10's in the meta-scores.
18 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Great Piece of American History - Well Worth Seeing
Peter Schaeffer8 July 2013
My daughter and i saw this movie a few days ago. We loved it. It is a great period piece exploring Northern opinion during the Civil War. One town in the North (upstate New York), is divided between Southern sympathizers and fervent abolitionists. Note that this is not a war movie in the traditional sense of the phrase. No great battles are depicted and no leading generals are in sight. This is a political and emotional story of the war on the homefront.

All of the characters are well drawn and express their views without restraint. The movie is built around a love story between a boy (Casey Thomas Brown as Casey Brown) whose father (Billy Campbell as Abner Beech) opposes the war and a girl (Lucy Boynton as Esther Hagadorn ) whose father (Angus Macfadyen as Jee Hagadorn) is a religious abolitionist fanatic. The boy volunteers to join the army, along with many other young men from the town. With the young men off at war, conflicts threaten to tear the town apart and in some respects do.

The war itself is far away, but shows up as casualty lists are posted in the newspapers (and eventually as the dead and wounded return). The scenes of family members scanning the lists of dead, wounded, and missing looking for their sons, brothers, fathers, etc. are as sad, as they historically accurate.

The battles in the town end with both tragic and positive consequences. The movie if beautifully filmed and well acted. A great piece of American history. Well worth seeing.
14 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
good civil war era movie and better yet if you are a fan of those period movies
bcheng938 April 2014
before i watched this movie, i knew already that the director of this movie had also directed 2 very well known civil war movies, 1.gettysburg 2.gods and generals. both of those movies are very well known and focuses mostly on battles and strategies. this movie focuses totally on the civilian side and thoughts on the war. there is not one drop of blood spill in the making of this movie.

if you are a fan of movies with all dialogue and beautiful country scenery and also a period piece then you are in for a treat. this movie does not have any A-list actors or actresses and is an ensemble piece, but there was not one bad piece of acting in this movie.

the movie happens far far away from the battlefields and is instead situated in a town in upstate new york during the culmination of the American civil war. it showed that not everybody in the north share the same feelings about the war. in fact the title of the movie itself " Copperhead " means a person living in the north that is opposed to the war for whatever reason.

very very good ensemble acting, with one powerhouse scene done by the young actor Augustus Prew. what a remarkable young actor...he's one of the main characters in this movie but it was like he was there but not really there and i don't want to spoil it but he made the whole movie. the movie would have been good without him, but he put the oomph into the movie. what he did in the end is pure cinema magic and remarkable for so young an age. Augustus plays the son of the crazy preacher and brother of the schoolteacher Esther.

i am surprised this did not get any Oscar consideration...but then again not, because the director is not one of Hollywoods darlings even though he makes really real and good movies.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Copperhead is an important historical film with unforgettable performances that focuses on the relationships that can get ripped apart by war.
BreakawayDaily11 July 2013
Copperhead is visually stunning, and unlike any other Civil War movie that has ever been made before. The scenery, sets, and costumes present a peaceful environment that stands in stark contrast to almost all other war movies.

Director and Producer Ron Maxwell has solidified himself as one of the leading cinematic visionaries of the American Civil War with his previous works of Gettysburg and Gods and Generals. With Copperhead, Maxwell looks at why good, honorable, ethical men chose not to go to war. He brings the audience not to the battlefield, but to the homefront, and looks closely at the relationships that can get ripped apart by war. Maxwell's fresh angle on the Civil War era highlights how the war affected those who remained at home when their sons, friends and lovers left to join the army.

Even if you are not a big war buff, you will enjoy this film. It puts the spotlight on many issues, not just about war, but about life. It has an interesting story, fantastic dialogue, topnotch performances and is visually exquisite. The film serves as a valuable history lesson on life in that era, and portrays the historical events from a viewpoint that is often ignored. It is a very thought provoking piece of filmmaking and should be considered an instant classic.

Read my full review at Breakaway Daily (www.breakawaydaily.com). There you will also find exclusive coverage of the Copperhead premieres and much more!
9 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Beautifully filmed, but somewhat elegiac in pace for some
Deimos310 January 2015
"Copperhead" is a very thoughtful film, lovingly photographed in the lush upper New York countryside with an authenticity that is worthy of a documentary. It is a story too often ignored--that of those in the North who opposed the Civil War and the effect it had on their communities. Slow paced and deliberate, to some it may seem too lacking in action or drama for a film about the American Civil War. If you want sentimentality, see "Gone With the Wind" and if you want action see "Glory," both fine films. But if you want a sincere look at the Union home front and a look at those who opposed the war and why, see "Copperhead." Now we need a good film about the Southerners who opposed the war, for there were many of them, my ancestors included.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
The best Civil War movie to come out in a long time. Has the feel of North and South but to me this was better.
Tony Heck7 March 2014
"Springtime 1862, that's when the war came home and nothing was ever the same again." Abner Beech (Campbell) is a Copperhead, a northern Democrat who is against the Civil War. He tries to raise his son Jeff the same way. Like most kids do he rebels and decides to join the army and marches off to war. When the war begins to escalate the town, led by Jee Hagadorn (Macfadyen) starts to fully turn on Abner. Things only get worse for him from then on. I am a huge history buff and love Civil War stuff. I was a little leery about this going in though. For me the Civil War movie peaked with Glory and hit an all time low with Gods and Generals (which is easily one of the worst movies I have ever seen). Since this was a lower budget movie I was expecting to be bored with this. I was very wrong. This is a different type of war movie. While it takes place during the war this one deals with the families and those left behind rather then the soldiers. This really shows how the war affected everyone, and the neighbor vs neighbor or brother vs brother aspect is really shown here. I do have to say though that this would have been better as a mini-series rather then a movie. Overall, the best Civil War movie to come out in a long time. Has the feel of North and South but to me this was better. I give this a B+
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Good acting but lacking appeal overall
RTTerry23 July 2013
Copperhead offers an alternative to movies of late, which are inundated with CGI special affects and machine-gun pacing. It is a welcome departure from the current Hollywood format; however that alone does not make it as appealing as it could have been.

Copperhead's storyline development is more suited as a TV mini-series drama, with a strong emphasis on the dialog and drama–period. The acting alone does not save the film, despite the fact the script is exceptional well done and true to the period, as is expected from director Ron Maxwell. After an hour and a half of character development and setting the stage, the final thirty minutes of the movie leaves you wishing there was more to it. The movie ends as it started–relaxed and waiting for something more.

The acting and cinematography is worthy of note, but the screenplay-pacing is not enough to propel the film. A little extra effort and this could have been a classic film.
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Not The Greatest Ron Maxwell Film
denis8881 July 2013
I love Ron Maxweel's films, his sheer scope of grandeur and historical accuracy, his impeccable taste and his keen eye on details. His two master works, Gettysburg (1993) and its prequel Gods And Generals (2003) made him a true genius and placed him the Pantheon for ever. Pity, that there will be no third part of Shaara's trilogy. This one is no sequel, instead, this is a separate entry. The theme is the same - Civil War, this time, small town in New York state, with all its gossips, tragedies and fun. The smoldering conflict of copperheads and unionists is shown well. There is a big problem, though, as for the first 90 minutes the movie is terribly slow and ploddy, but then all of a sudden it begins to gallop as wild beast. Seems like Ron decided to make it shorter and thus cut much of footage. Who knows? The scenery is lovely, and the play of all actors is just marvelous. All young and old actors made their jobs absolutely great. Billy Campbell is a real winner here, as loud, proud man, he shines all the film. His delivery is just awesome. Brian Downey is excellent in his cameo as a priest, while Peter Fonda did his job equally as well. They all did well and real raw, as life truly is. Pity, some errors still stay and that did not allow the film to become another Ron masterpiece
6 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
A different view of the war between brothers.
mark.waltz6 January 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Brothers fight, and sometimes they kill. That is the sad comment on the civil war that had more than just slavery as an agenda. For a young country with only 70 years of presidents behind them, much drama and unrest had grown in a short period of time, and many different ideals were being fought for. This wasn't just through war. This was in individual communities, among family members, and within families, between fathers and sons.

There are many ironies in the arguments being made within communities, within families, and between fathers and sons. It's a community at war, those who support Abraham Lincoln's fight to emancipate the slaves and those opposed to his methods. Democrats argue against the Republicans, and vice versa, making statements quite timely today.

The beauty of the land long before highways and huge cities destroyed much of it is breathtaking, and the countryside of upstate New York state is breathtaking. Copoerheads, the phrase for anti-war believers, describes several of the main characters, passionate about their beliefs, feeling betrayed by their own families, yet considered traitors by their neighbors. It makes for great war drama, and turns this into another war between northerners living together, yet torn apart against the right of free speech and basic constitutional rights. Many of these issues are potent today as the land of the free finds itself divided once again.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Educational and Emotional
Emily Odell29 December 2015
Copperhead gives a look into the life of a small town in the North during the time of the civil war. The town is bitterly divided into political parties, the Republicans who are pro-war and the Democrats, or Copperheads, who are Northerners against the war. In a Romeo and Juliet inspired scenario, the daughter of a Republican falls in love with the son of a Democrat. To gain the blessing of her father, the boy goes off to fight in the war, against the will of his own father. Though the story is historical fiction, many aspects of the time and of the war are portrayed accurately, with an abundance of historical details. Whether you're a history lover, a student, or just bored, you'll love this romantic yet heart-wrenching film.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Great movie showing some of the ugly realities in Civil War era America.
finalword8242 July 2013
First thing first, I am a die hard patriot. I love movies that deal with historical American issues like The Revolution, or The Civil War. As such, it seems as though this movie was made to cater to my kind of audience. Awesome. The movie started a little slow if you aren't one for dialog, (I ,however, love dialog.) but don't worry it picks up. The acting was very good, the cinematography was nicely done, and in the end we have a very nicely put together piece about one of the hardest times in the history of our great nation. If you are a fan of the movie Gettysburg (both movies are made by Ronald F. Maxwell) you will probably enjoy this movie. In turn, if you haven't seen Gettysburg but enjoyed this, go and see it ASAP!

All right lets get down to it: Cinematography-8 Acting-9 Plot-9 Score-7

Rating for Copperhead: 9
6 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
It's best if the Civil War is already an interest of yours.
josiahkwhite22 April 2017
Warning: Spoilers
It's certainly not a movie I'd recommend if it's your first Civil War movie. Start with a crowd pleaser like Glory instead. The movie has a lot to say about war and peace, but it's hardly a good introduction to anti-war movies. Start with a winner like Hacksaw Ridge instead. This movie isn't in the same league with either of those great war movies.

About the only other valid criticisms you could make are: 1) The first 3/4 of the movie is a bit slow moving, and could have been more dramatic. 2) The quality of the sound was a bit lacking, which is unfortunate when the use of dialect already makes the words a bit hard to follow.

As other reviewers have said, it's great especially because it's different from most Civil War movies, showing the way a war can tear a country apart almost as much on the home front as it does on the battlefield.

But part of the reason I loved it so much is that I find myself in agreement with the film's disparaged "Copperhead." While slavery is unbelievably cruel and inhumane, ending slavery in 1865 just wasn't worth the terribly high cost in blood. Brazil was the last country where slavery was legal in the Western Hemisphere, and they ended it in 1888. So even if the Civil War had never been fought, slavery in the South would almost certainly have ended by then anyway. If America had split into two countries, why would this have been so wrong? This is a controversial point of view -- then and now -- but I was pleased to see it argued with such conviction in a very watchable movie.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Important Message for our Divided Times
hewilson2-72-79686815 April 2017
The average rating for this film on IMDb is 5.5. I find it to be worthy of a much higher ranking. An astute film critic might quibble with some of the acting and occasionally the direction. But overall, in my humble opinion, this is a very good film. I'll start with the finish. The ending of this movie makes a powerful statement in our divided times. Try if you can, to imagine just how divided the country might have been during the civil war. This is the only film I recall addressing that question at all and now that the filmmakers have broached that subject, I can see how some might say it could have been done better. But boy is it a good story. A great story in fact featuring tremendous performances by Billy Campbell as Abner Beech, a contrarian in the North and Augustus Prew as Ni Hagadorn, the peacemaker in a divided town. If the ending doesn't move you, nothing will. Despite a slow start, this film moves along well and had both a great finish and worthy message. I enjoyed it very much.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Wasted potential
Erin N.28 January 2016
As far as elements go, Copperhead had everything that it needed to become successful. It was very historically accurate and provided an insightful look at the other side of the Civil War, showing how the divisions created were not as simple as North and South, and that the war affected everyone, at home and on the battlefield. Still, it seems that this film was missing something quite large. Despite its well aimed angle and interesting storyline, it became boring at several interludes. The actors also could have done a better a better job and parts of the script seemed incredibly cheesy, detracting from the film's genuine quality. Nevertheless, it was an interesting watch that cushioned education and historical accuracy with an entertaining and fantastical story.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
For and against the war
Emily58983 January 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Seeing the difference between how those acted who agreed or disagreed with the actions of the war was quite interesting to compare. Depending on how you felt also affected your interactions and feelings of others, which makes sense. But also then families had strict rules with interactions between children. Enlisting I'm the army was a common thing, but also heartbreaking to families during this war to see the goodbyes that took place was saddening, families, parents, significant others leaving. As many kids do, the child of the "Copperhead", rebels and joins the army. The differences between Democrats and republicans seem very extreme. After a devastating disaster and this time it wasn't the death of a soldier, the families become even more heartbroken. "War is a fever." The acting in this movie was well done and the setting fit well for the time period, also helped to better understand what was going on then. Living in Upstate New York, it's interesting to see what where I live might have looked like during the war. The music in the movie was an excellent representative of what Army bands played while marching. The storyline does not focus on the lives of the soldiers and the bloodiness of the war, but those at home, how the war affected the regular citizens, in the north.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Removes the Stain of Birth of a Nation
artrouble212 July 2013
Warning: Spoilers
what is Liberty? Lincoln Vampire Killer was a far superior movie to the overwrought Lincoln. The one feted by Hollywood and the Washington Know Nothings, politicians and their ilk. Django Unchained told home truths in a colorful language intolerable to some. Spike Lee can suck it and I'm not the only one who told him so. Copperhead is a rare glimpse into the real realm of liberty's forge in a way few have experienced it. As a proud New Yorker and American this July 4 I hope and wish you will see this truly amazing explication of US and how we came to be. Copperhead is a quiet and powerful story that has a depth that will over power you slowly yet completely.
4 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Worth seeing, could have been better
lazaruslong191219 July 2013
The trouble with this film is that Ron Maxwell uses the historical narrative approach of "Gettysburg" and "Gods and Generals" and it doesn't work with a novel, which is plot and character driven. I'm willing to bet that was part of the "creative differences" between he and Jason Patric, although Billy Campbell does a fine job as Abner Beech. All in all, a movie worth seeing if for no reason than its novelty in challenging the historical narrative of "North Good/South Bad," and for a number of powerful scenes. Angus Macfadyen's comments to his daughter following the Battle of Antietam being one. Campbell's discussion of slavery with his ward is another.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Wishing It Was About the Snake.
Python Hyena16 July 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Copperhead (2013): Dir: Ron Maxwell / Cast: Billy Campbell, Angus Macfadyen, Casey Thomas Brown, Lucy Boynton, Peter Fonda: Disappointing Civil War drama about how we label those whom do not share our views. It regards a feud between two families. We have a farmer, played by Billy Campbell who has two sons although one is all but neglected while the other disappoints him when he begins dating the daughter of his rival. It also doesn't help matter when this son rebels and heads off to fight in the war. Angus Macfadyen plays the rival, a preachy type who operates a factory that makes barrels. Casey Thomas Brown plays the older son of Campbell whose views differ from his father's, and Lucy Boynton plays his love interest whose father disapproves. This all sounds good accept that when a film is advertized as a Civil War film it should deliver something that resembles a war film. What director Ron Maxwell presents is a corny drama with lame romantic elements that have all the appeal of a bad TV movie. Maxwell previously made Gettysburg and Little Darlings and here he combines elements of both and fails miserably. The acting is atrocious with lines bellowed out like an attention yearning stage play. Even a veteran actor like Peter Fonda got sucked into this charade with little to do. The screenplay works, for the most part, up until the corny ending where everyone comes together with a lesson learned. The only lesson learned is viewers attended a film themed with "love thy neighbor" while wondering when the actual Civil War footage would emerge. Score: 4 / 10
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews