Murder in the First (TV Series 2014–2016) Poster

(2014–2016)

User Reviews

Add a Review
38 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
9/10
Good Cop Show
dnolan7144 September 2014
First, I'm a 30 year retired cop. This excellent screenplay and acting really set me back on my heels. This is a pretty accurate show on procedures and politics. In reality the norm is heads will roll if you push as hard as these two cops do. Pressure from the top would squelch any further digging into the main bad guy. He's connected and has his entourage of people connected.

Keep in mind, this is t.v. but this is one well put together show. The underlying heat between partners of the opposite sex can and does occur and it's portrayed very well by the two main actors. Their mannerisms are very accurate also in areas of interviews and interrogations. I thoroughly enjoyed the show and hope it continues with the excellent writing and cast.
38 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
One of the best series this season
lynne_ryan8 July 2014
I love Murder in the First. Other reviewers have complained about it's slow pace but I like the fact that the story takes it's time to be told. It's a cat and mouse game with lots of twists and turns. It's not a cookie cutter model of network TV (a good thing!). The characters are well developed. Taye Diggs and Katherine Robertson are an unlikely pairing but it works. The other characters complement these two and it's an interesting dynamic. Stephen Boccho is a master and it's good to see him back. I have recommended this show to my friends and family and hope it's renewed for next season. Monday night is now my favourite night for TV watching.
33 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Fairly good first show, has potential
gramboo16 June 2014
I disagree with most of the other reviews. I thought it was a fine show. I'm happy to see Tommie Schlamme and the rest of the group together again. Nothing can please everybody first time out. I like getting to know the back story on the various characters, it forms more interest for me. Looks like this is a summer replacement, because when I looked it up on IMDb, the three stars are listed for 10 shows, perfect for summer, but it is certainly better than a lot of the other stuff on TV at this time. I like Taye Diggs and hope to see a lot more of Ian Anthony Dale. I don't know anything about the young leading lady, but like her for my first look, although I do agree about the gun being in a bad place, although as I said, nothing is perfect. Good luck to the show.
26 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Love Murder in the First
klamut19602 July 2014
I am really enjoying the new TNT show Murder in the First and can't believe the negative reviews. It's well written, suspenseful, has complex multi-layered characters and is perfectly cast. I have my DVR set every Monday night and can't wait for the next episode.

Taye Diggs and Kathleen Robertson are superb in their roles and Tom Felton and James Cromwell are great as well. James Cromwell is particularly effective playing the seasoned, high-priced defense lawyer. Even the supporting players do a great job in the smallest roles.

It's a perfect show for fans of Law and Order, Chicago PD, Blue Bloods and NYPD Blue. I highly recommend watching this show. Don't believe the negative reviews - watching this show is time well spent and I've been sorry when each episode ends.
15 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Promising SF based crime drama
phd_travel7 July 2014
There are a few things going for this new crime drama revolving around the SFPD and a tech billionaire. 1. San Francisco is a happening city now and it's always interesting to show the contrast between the homelessness and despair and the dizzying high tech boom. The last few SF based shows have been cancelled like Alcatraz and 9 Lives of Chloe King. Hopefully this series showcases more of the scenic beauty of the city and not just the seamy side. 2. Sympathetic looking leads Kathleen Robertson and Taye Diggs and a multi ethnic supporting cast are watchable and not abrasive like some crime dramas. 3. After 4 episodes the central villain? played by Tom Felton or Malfoy from Harry Potter is an interesting and enigmatic character. At first he seemed to be still too teenage looking (like the rest of the Harry Potter cast) to be effective in his role but he is actually quite good. Since Steven Bochco is behind this I'm going to give this one a chance.
11 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Secrets, sex, murder, and drugs all tied to money and computers oh wow!
Danny Blankenship4 July 2014
This summer I've been watching the new TNT series "Murder in the 1st" and I must say that creator Steven Bochco has this series keeping viewers on the edge of their seat. A single murder case starts it off only the case leads to a world of sex, drugs, and cover up beat it all it happens to be tied to a young rich computer business genius young boy! The setting of the series is in the city by the bay the scenes and images of the golden gate bridge and San Francisco are beautiful. Those images treat the viewer to a good sight after the eyes are salted with blood and murder scenes. Leading the way are two S.F. detectives Terry English(Taye Diggs)and divorced mother Hildy(the sexy Kathleen Robertson it's nice to see her getting work again I remember her Beverly Hills 90210 days). Thru it all the case takes twist with new characters and new leads and a pilot named Bill Wilkerson(the terrific Steven Weber)seems to play a supporting connection to it all. Overall the series is a pretty good suspense and drama thriller one that changes week to week with new things as hidden secrets are uncovered this all makes for an interesting watch!
13 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Not what I expected
alannon1910 June 2014
I went into this thinking it was just another Law & Order clone, like a million other shows out there these days, and I suppose I was somewhat pleasantly surprised.

The main detectives, played by Taye Diggs and Kathleen Robertson, don't initially seem like that great of a combination. She is a single mom who seems to have trouble with even getting a date, and he is married to a dying woman which is putting a lot of strain on his job, and that was primarily the focus of the show. The crime itself seemed to be secondary in nature, which is weird considering the name of the show, but most of time was dedicated to fleshing out the detectives and their lives.

Usually, that would cheese me off; I generally only watch these for interesting homicides and those classic action scenes we all know and love, but this was an interesting change of pace. At the end I found myself wondering if Diggs was going to be alright rather than how their case was going, and I think I can live with that.

I would have given the show higher marks, but I honestly do want to see a bit more action out of this first. Once they pick up the pace a little bit, this might easily turn into a new favorite.
29 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Best of the summer
kols8 July 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Robertson and Diggs are terrific as English and Mulligan, in the same class as Brennan and Booth and Castle and Beckett. Direction is outstanding as is cinematography, both filling each episode with visual nuances that Diggs and Robertson perform flawlessly. Secondary characters are equally good, for the most part. So - Well crafted, well acted and a pleasure to watch.

But, as always, detest repeat villains and drawn-out to the point of soap-opry-ness plots. And, it seems, the whole first season is going to be the Saga of Blunt. Wish they'd have opted for a more traditional episodic format.

That said, I'll take it since, while tiresome, Blunt doesn't succeed in blunting (sorry, irresistible) the pleasure of watching all of the other parts mesh.

One of those parts is Steven Weber, formerly of Wings and a short stint on Without a Trace, as Bill Wilkerson. MIF completes his trifecta; he's actually able to play out-of-control hysteria with understatement. Part of that nuance I mentioned. As is Tom Felton, who pushes Blunt right up to the edge of "strangle-him-on-sight", regardless of his guilt.

Like Bones, Castle and, to a lesser degree, The Mentalist, the point is the interaction between the characters. For me, MIF matches the best while adding its own, unique style of getting there.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
withholding judgment
pmlucore23 June 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I really like the two main detective characters, Taye Diggs & Kathleen Robertson. They both have very interesting private lives that can be developed into future story lines. The plot has my attention so far. Blount was an easy target to begin with however there are many leads to follow. If Blount's right hand man/lawyer is the killer it will be a let down, very predictable. Hopefully it is at least someone like the pilot's wife or the new person Anna. I am expecting some twist & turns please don't let me down!! I am very intrigued so far and will continue to watch although I do have a few reservations. I am a huge fan of the original Law and Order and hoping to find another show to match that originality.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Awful... **spoilers, but really it's hard spoil a show that's already rotten**
Brain K13 June 2014
Warning: Spoilers
The biggest break in the case is when the leading actress realizes that a duck is also a bird... great detective work there. All of the interrogation sequences are ridiculous, the first sets the standard. They question two kids (twelve maybe?) on a public basketball court (detectives don't do this!) and threaten to take them to jail where the detective suggests that one kid so "pretty" he would get taken advantage of leading to one kid pissing himself and the other spilling everything. This sets the standard for the whole show, nobody cares about realism or developing real characters, interrogation involves the person being questioned refusing to answer until the detective makes a RIDICULOUS threat that nobody would fall for, and the witness then spills everything. Terrible characters, mediocre acting and horrible writing. I would describe this as being a cop show as imagined by an eleven year old. It would seem that the writers' and actors' only experience of police work came from watching second rate cop shows and they decided to come together and make an even worse carbon copy of what they saw. I had to wash this garbage show from my mind by watching The Wire.
13 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
In a word BORING!
snowdogmom-710-80550310 June 2014
I agree with jseymour-23-736835. Boring. I had trouble sitting through it until the end and then the story continues next week! None of the actors brought me in to watch this. I just normally like this type of show. However there was nothing different about this procedural that would make me want to watch. The characters were not really interesting just mundane dealing with the same things we all deal with in real life. Kept waiting for the storyline to pick up but it never did. Location, another big city, is just the standard these days. I liked King and Maxwell that was in this time slot last year and it was canceled. At least it had some quirky characters. I'll be switching the channel and watching Longmire instead after Major Crimes.
30 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Dreary, tedious, no comedic relief, forgettable
jseymour-23-7368359 June 2014
Tried to pay attention, but I kept on waiting for something to happen. I sat there torn, thinking my time would be better spent cleaning the kitchen.

This show has unbelievably, dreary dialog presented in a plodding manner. The sound level is flat. No one gets too excited until Taye Diggs slams a suspect's head into a table toward the end of the episode. We're to understand it's in frustration of both the crime and a bleed over his prospective grief over his dying wife. The show features awful music as if they can't afford to pay for a real band's current tunes. The only time the sound changed is when the show went to commercial, jarring me out of the zone. Hey, and I watched this without inebriation.

The cinematography is uninventive. The plot is procedural and predictable. The show is boring. The actors portray flat, one-dimensional characters. Nobody shows an endearing quirkiness. The boss cop has no interesting behavior - no quirks there either. The writers give the actors nothing to work with and the director apparently doesn't deviate from the script.

Skip this one.
34 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Sooo predictable
droszel2 July 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I watched it because of who's involved in its creation. I stopped because, regardless of who's behind this and what his past credentials are, this thing was conceived on cruise control. Flat acting, story line that makes the willing suspension of disbelief almost impossible, and plot twists you can see coming 2 or 3 commercial breaks away. Too bad.

Now, that's really all I have to say, but apparently I have to say more: I have to generate 10 lines of text. Given how weak this show is, after you say it's weak, there really isn't all that much more to say.

It's weak. It's predictable. It's unbelievable. The characters are uninteresting.

What more can one say?
9 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Stock characters, re-tread ideas, no surprises
jds1001116 June 2014
There's nothing new here. These characters are pulled off the shelf of the basic Hollywood police show writer. Bochco was original several years ago, but this is just running the same material through updated cameras.

The lead actress over-acts everything; she has no sense of pacing, no subtlety. She's there to fill the space of the female character, and she brings nothing special to the role, whatsoever. She seems painfully obvious about just playing on the 'hot chick' motif of so-called actress.

But, she's consistent with the writing and directing in general. Taye Diggs is out of his element, and can't bring most of the other 'actors' up to to a higher level. Richard Schiff is wasted in a minor role of yet another stereotype.

The show has the feel of people simply fulfilling contractual obligations: very little effort behind the writing. Peopled by too many sub-par 'actors' who are either being allowed or encouraged to overplay roles, and to make sure that they don't go deep into character development. This is all about telling instead of showing. And, the stuff that is being told is stereotypical and therefore boring.
16 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
functional police procedural
SnoopyStyle12 August 2014
This series follows a single case from beginning to end for each season. It's produced by Steven Bochco, the granddaddy of modern TV cop shows. It lasted 3 seasons on TNT. Terry English (Taye Diggs) and Hildy Mulligan (Kathleen Robertson) are San Francisco police investigating partners. In the first season, they're investigating internet entrepreneur Erich Blunt (Tom Felton) after the deaths of his father and the flight attendant of his private jet.

As a police procedural, there isn't anything ground breaking or anything that Bochco hasn't done himself countless times. Following a single case for the whole season is not necessarily new either. It's good enough for a TV show even thought the genre is saturated. The two leads are capable TV actors but there was a few missteps. They try a romantic subplot which crash and burn. It's a little bit of a struggle but I think they start developing chemistry after they drop the romance. Tom Felton is still not a big presence and he's sometimes overshadowed by the bigger actors. That works sometimes but I think he needs another gear which is still beyond him for now. This promises to be a proficient procedural but not much more.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
totally agreed with the other 4 reviews
BasicLogic11 June 2014
This is a terribly scripted dreary drama series. it should be cut and shelved immediately after the first episode. And by doing so, TNT and Turner Original Production should fire all people related to this series. Casting was also so poor and disastrous, none of them looked convincing; those male and female inspectors? absolutely a joke! There's no charisma or any attractive strong character in this series that could make the viewers keep watching.

Kathleen Robertson's Hildy Mulligan role is very unconvincing. Her high heel shoes look so dumb and so inappropriate, her satchel on her shoulder looks more like cosmetic arrangement instead of any practical use, both were stupidly and heavily copied from the European mystery drama series, Anikka Bentzon: Crime Reporter.

What a shame, dude.
14 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Not Happy
hmmanley-316 July 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Not what I expected. The cast is good, but it's like the Killing. It goes on and on. Every week it's about the same thing. Not like watching other shows - that every week have a new theme, which makes things more exciting. It misses creativity. Very disappointed. Gave up and will not watch again. And what happened about someone actually mourning about the loss of a loved one, and all of a sudden is trying to hook up with his co-worker. It is very cold. I want to be excited, led on every week to a new journey. I don't see it coming. The acting is good, but the writing is mediocre and long lasting. Each or at least every few weeks it should change. I am not interested in mini-series, and that's what this seems to be. This does not get my attention
7 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
This Was a Yawn
sly31128 August 2014
If you want to watch a gripping story line, incredible characters played out by engrossing actors, you need to watch the 1995 first season of Murder One. This is the real deal. Murder in the First was boring from the get go. The characters were weak and self-absorbed. The acting was poor and the players appeared bored. That Hildy character was not believable for even one moment- please with the single mom shtick. Boring story line with a techie character that needed to be slapped regularly. By the fourth episode I was gone. The defense attorney was a big blowhard-- no Daniel Benzali for sure. Hopefully there will be no second season; but alas I fear there will be. Another loser for TNT. Watch Murder One if you get the chance. It is compelling.
8 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
A solid cable TV police show
osanders6914 August 2015
Solid cable TV police procedural that takes place with San Francisco as the backdrop. Entertaining and fast paced with believable characters. Some of the standard cop show tropes remain but no TV cop show is without some. Speaking mainly about season 2 which was a bit deeper then season one as part of the season deals with a mass shooting and its effects on a community and at least tries to present a scenario of how or why it would happen. The show does a yeoman's service of unveiling the season's story arc all the while introducing secondary stories that ultimately intertwine with the main season story arc. Its done in a straight forward fashion while avoiding too much predictability. In other words its not an "A,B,C" procedural like "Law and order" but its not a extremely hidden clue mystery like "True Detective" which I think makes the payoff and resolution at the end of the season a lot more satisfying. its a good binge watch (which is how i viewed it) it seemed a lot more satisfying watching it in that fashion. I think the show's "Bochco-isms" are apparent in the way the police struggle with personal issues while they tackle the dilemma of "brothers in blue" versus doing the legal good and how that often still opposes the moral good.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Boring, slow, lame beyond belief
salso azimi28 July 2014
This is the worst show I have ever seen, there is no humor, drama, action or anything of interest at all. A character no one cares about, who was only in one scene for a second, is killed and they plan to milk a murder no one cares about for a whole season, no way. This should have been one episode, two at the most. There are no trial scenes that should be longer than 10 minutes let alone hour after hour, episode after episode, of drivel. The writing is so bad, slow and boring it doesn't matter who the actors are this script would not work or be interesting even if meryl streep played the lead, they lost half their audience almost immediately
8 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Quite possibly the stupidest villain in television history
balphagor2 June 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I enjoyed the first couple of episodes, because it appeared that the show was going to face off between two dogged investigators on one side and a genius with limitless resources on the other. I imagine in real life the latter always wins, because in this case, the supposed genius turned out to be little short of a drooling idiot. He made a number of mistakes that no one who's ever watched a cop show would ever make, nor anyone with common sense.

This show would make more sense if you believe from the first the killer is trying as hard as he possibly can NOT to get away with it. I liked the cast; pity the plot was disastrous.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Amazing Series:Props to All
energyimages24 August 2015
Let's just say it: although MitF is not as dynamically captivating as Breaking Bad—in terms of plotting, writing, characterization, and acting, it is every bit the equal of BB. In BB, dynamism is front and center; in MitF, subtlety rules. The producers and writers took a big chance on this season (2015). The first episode was almost an overload in terms of dramatic action. Then the next three or four episodes slowed W A Y down—seemingly. In fact, those episodes were establishing plot points and fleshing out characters in preparation for things to come. Now, as we're getting well into the season, the narrative arc is increasing in intensity with each episode. The smallest bits matter; the finesse is astonishing. Especially masterful is the symmetry between the primary hero, Hildy, and the key villain, Dustin. Both parts are remarkable for their underplayed restraint. Boring? Definitely not. Totally the opposite. This has to be one of the most intelligently crafted series ever on the tube. (Just remember: no good deed goes unpunished.) Jus' sayin'.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Best show since law & Order...
cinc413 August 2014
I really loved this show. I am a Law & Order fanatic and never really find a show that I can compare to it, however I was so in tune with this show, that all week I couldn't wait for the next episode. I really hope they continue this series. I found that the show consistently had a little twist to it. That's what made it very interesting, and although you might have known the way the ending would happen, it still made you wonder right up to the end weather you were right or wrong. I think that all the actors and actresses were superb. I would suggest that anyone that has not seen this series go back and find the repeats on TNT and watch it for yourself. If you like crime shows than this is one I am sure you will enjoy!
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Sigh, continuity
bfjb10 June 2014
Warning: Spoilers
This appears to be a miniseries format, some complain of the slow start but I like that they are building a case to a conclusion. Glad Bachco is not following the old format of 3 parts plus finale, IE: wrong guy, maybe right guy, make case, and get 'em. Has potential, character development will be the key to success.

Sigh, good start but continuity issue with The Jet. Outside is Next Jen 737 BBJ, cockpit shot is Boing 727, round dial engine instruments instead of glass cockpit, glimpse of Flight Engineer seat sideways, and red emergency breaking handle left of engine instruments. At least there wasn't a shot of a B-52 landing gear like was common in the '60's.

Looking forward to see how they resolve the cliff hanger, the APPLSCN (Jobs clone) is just too obvious.
5 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Quit after 2 minutes
ZeloDude12 June 2014
I turned off the show at the 1:30 minute mark when the female detective getting ready for work retrieves her gun: Which is lying on the top shelf of an UNLOCKED closet across from her very young daughters bedroom, where it is easily accessible by the girl, any of her friends, or anyone else in the house. What it is is not locked up in a gun safe, close to the woman's bed where she could guard it or quickly get to it if needed in the middle of the night. I hate stupidity of detail in TV shows. These kind of nit picky errors always make me wonder: If they can't get this right, what aren't they getting right about things I don't already know? The show makers already assumes I'm stupid after two minutes, so how hard will they try to get anything right at all?
11 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews