IMDb > Teri Meri Kahaani (2012) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Teri Meri Kahaani
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Teri Meri Kahaani More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 20 reviews in total 

10 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

A golden opportunity gone wasted and mowed by weak script

Author: Ketan Gupta from India
26 June 2012

Teri Meri Kahani , based on Taiwanese hit Three Times, was a rom-com love story that could have been crafted better but unfortunately was mowed down by weak direction and poor script.

Teri Meri Kahani explores the story of three generation with one common link in all the narratives– LOVE. The film starts of with the train sequence in 1960 Bombay between a struggling musician Govind and film star Rukhsar meeting on a 1st class coach. The film straight away progresses to the current generation of Facebook and Twitter where Krish meets Radha on a busy street. As the film breaks for the interval , we are swung back to the pre-partition period , where the lover boy Javed juggles between local woman eventually falling in love with conservative yet rebellious Aradhna.

Now , I have been a big fan of HUM TUM (also directed by Kunal Kohli) and was expecting the same heart-warming , emotional touching love story this time. To my surprise, I was disappointing with this film. Even though Kunal Kohli had wonderful story to tell, but the lethargic pace and superficial drama could not salvage the film from falling into the pit. Whenever Shahid Kapoor and Priyanka Chopra meets, it always seems so over the top as if they were meant to meet each other and not through natural means. I like the first story in early 1960 in Bombay more because of the fantastic art direction and good CGI recreating the early Bombay so beautifully. The second story was superficial combined with over-the- top acting by Priyanka Chopra. But it is the pre-partition story which made me sit back and enjoy the story. Never the less , the film is full of loopholes and boring drama which sometimes makes you scratch your hair. As mentioned before script is poor along with weak music. Cinematography is eye-catching with fantastic efforts made in sets to re-create the 1960s of Bombay culture. Background score is hopeless and so is Priyanka's acting . She is the same actress who got national award … can you believe it . The only silver lining in this dull film is superb acting by Shahid Kapoor. I think it is high time we stand and notice this actor's talent. He was the best among three characters as Javed Qadri. His sher-shayari was just amazing along with his dialogue delivery.

So , overall , a golden opportunity gone wasted . Rather than concentrating on technical aspects of the film , Kunal Kohli should have made sincere efforts in the direction and screenplay area. But if you are big fan of Shahid Kapoor , you might give it a chance. Below average : 1.5 / 5

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

A Tasteless Romance

4/10
Author: G Singh from United States
3 July 2012

After viewing Teri Meri Kahani I've come to 2 conclusions - Kunal Kohli is one overrated director and his ONLY film worth praising, Hum Tum, was a giant fluke.

His Mujhse Dosti Karogi was a cheesy romance that can even make Karan Johar and Suraj Bharjatiya cringe. His Fanaa was a novel idea gone haywire in the second half. His Thoda Pyar Thoda Magic was well, a joke. After 4 years, Kohli brings us another romance and he once again, doesn't fail to disappoint.

The whole concept of T.M.K. is interesting and nobody can deny that. In fact, had the writing been in place - it would have been genius. However, T.M.K. is sadly nothing more than 3 predictable love stories in one 2 and a half hour flick.

In 1960, a growing India with a growing film industry has a musician named Govind who has a dream to make it big in Bombay. There he meets film-star Ruksaar and then starts their .

In 2012, Krissh has just had a break up with his girlfriend on his birthday. That same night, he meets Radha, a up to date girl. Then starts their .

Now back to 1910, British ruled India. Javed is a charming womanizer who meets a girl who just doesn't get wooed by his antics. A sardarni by the name of Aradhna. Javed falls in love and there starts their .

Now all 3 stories start out with a bang but fiddle down very easily. Also, the misunderstandings in the movie are so dumb. Especially for the story in 1960 and 2012. To me, the best story is in 1910 but even that story isn't extraordinary.

The climax is rushed and there is no doubt. It's as if the writers don't know where to go now and just give up on the script.

The writing is sore. Kunal Kohli's shayari is very good, however. That is about it!! Shahid Kapoor and Priyanka Chopra save the film from being complete trash. Shahid is excellent in all avtaars. Of Course it's most fun to watch him as Javed. Priyanka looks amazing and acts well too. It isn't the best act from the 2, but good indeed.

Now to director Kunal Kohli. I don't hate or love the guy. I do feel that one major thing that has hurt most of his films (except Hum Tum) is the predictability level. His films don't have the X Factor. Even here, where there is a great idea in place - the boring writing messes things up. His direction is good but he fails in choosing the right screenplay.

Overall, a very bland and tasteless romance with very few moments that amaze the viewer. Dasappointing.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Yet another below average Hindi film that made a lot of promises but fell short in most of them.

5/10
Author: Faisal Khatib from United Arab Emirates
20 June 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

"The film is not about reincarnation", exclaimed Director Kunal Kohli at the press conference of 'Teri Meri Kahani' at the Ritz Carlton, Dubai. It's about three different couples and their love story in three different eras i.e. pre-independence 1910, retro 1960 & social media 2012. Unfortunately casting the same actors for all three eras does confuse you about what the connection between the three stories is. Supposedly apart from true love nothing else.

We start off with the year 1960; film star Rukhsar (Priyanka Chopra) meets musician Govind (Shahid Kapoor) on a train to Bombay and they're instantly attracted to each other. Maahi (Prachi Desai) is the third corner in the love triangle that ensues. Moving on to the year 2012 (London); Krish (Shahid Kapoor) breaks up with girlfriend Meera (Neha Sharma) and literally bumps into Radha (Priyanka Chopra). They get along "quoting Meera" like old jeans. A social media interruption and they go their separate ways. And now comes the interesting bit. Post interval, we meet playboy Javed (Shahid Kapoor) and hard to impress Aradhana (Priyanka Chopra) in Lahore in the year 1910. A jail term later, the lovers find themselves divided thanks to a change in marital status.

"Hum Tum" was a fantastic film. Kunal Kohli had done a brilliant job writing and directing it. Unfortunately apart from that, none of his other films have been particularly impressive in comparison. "Teri Meri Kahani" isn't very different from those films. Using pointless subplots (song and dance in the jail comes to mind) to reach the melodramatic scenes made it seem like he had run out of ideas. And that's where even the best era of the three fell apart. You can't take the viewers for a ride over a completely ridiculous premise.

And then there were the extremely long love songs slowing down the film every time it picked up any pace. I get it that Hindi films need to have songs in them especially when it's a romantic love story. But do the actors really need to sing for five minutes just to proclaim their love for each other? What was wrong with the brilliant chemistry they were sharing? Isn't that enough?

The use of blue/green screen (behind the scene shots showed in the credits) to create the 1960's era was reminiscence of the films that were made then. It was an interesting touch though not sure if it was intentional. The silent/Charlie Chaplin films touch was an honest attempt at comedy though it failed to impress. Computer generated graphics used to depict the Bombay of 1960s were average but got the job done and didn't detract from the story. Shahid Kapoor as Govind was adorable though the chemistry he shared with Priyanka Chopra seemed a little forced. There were plenty of cute moments but you don't feel bad when things go awry. Prachi Desai as Maahi was surprisingly good and effective.

2012 was all about social media and getting drunk. I loved the way social networks i.e BBM, facebook, twitter etc. were used in this era, bringing people close or breaking their hearts. Unfortunately the highlight was the chemistry between Shahid Kapoor and Neha Sharma when they are breaking up. That's never a good thing for a love story. And seriously there is more to 2012 than falling in love overnight while being drunk (remember Ek Main Aur Ek Tu).

Javed was by far the best character in the film. It was well written and brilliantly presented on screen. The chemistry between Shahid Kapoor and Priyanka Chopra was funny, lovable and heartwarming. Apart from unnecessary songs and (some) dialogues, this love story was the best of the three. You laugh along with them and even feel their despair when they cry.

Even with its slow pace, I didn't mind the way the film was edited by Amitabh Shukla. Cinematography by Sunil Patel was well balanced with good camera work and well-designed sets. The music and background score were annoying and repetitive. Costumes weren't outlandish, which was a welcome change from other similar films.

It's hard enough to get a love story right nowadays and it's understandable that trying to tell three in one film wasn't going to be easy. The problem doesn't lie with the concept but the way it's presented to the audience with its rough edges. In the end, yet another below-average Hindi film made a lot of promises but fell short in most of them.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Quite dumb

2/10
Author: aniket sule from India
24 June 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

When you first read about this movie, my instant thoughts were i hope this is not like dangerous ishq. I couldn't take another movie spanning over decades and centuries where the lead couple had a boon from lord krishna.

Thankfully it was not.

This movie though could have shaped up as an awesome romantic comedy as that is where the movie seemed to be heading, but then somehow the Indian directors feel that if there is not enough emotional melodrama the movie will not work.

So the director goes ahead and adds drama (Weepy, touch-feely scenes.) completely out of context.

i would have expected shahid and priyanka to have excellent on screen chemistry but off late it seems that Shahid only has chemistry with himself, at least not his co-stars.

the last 30 minutes of the movies are absolutely dreadful.

Please watch if you have absolutely nothing better to do and are bored with life.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

This Cannot be From the Director of Hum Tum

5/10
Author: houghtonconnor17 from Salt Lake City, UT
15 January 2013

The only truly decent thing to say about Teri Meri Kahaani is that the lead actors performed their roles well. The film actually encapsulates three stories in one, and therein lies the problem. There are three main issues with the film that make it unsatisfying in every way.

The main problem with the film, and where the whole premise falls apart is that there is no true thread to tie these stories together. Without some common theme (aside from a very loose boy meets girl connection), the only thing that differentiates these stories is the time period (Set in the 60's, present day, and 1910). The second major problem is that despite trying to flesh out three stories entirely in two hours, Kunal Kohli does not give enough flesh to any of the stories in order to make you really enjoy them. The only story with any meat in it as well as having characters who are not completely reprehensible (the one set in the 1910's) is given as much or less screen time as the boring tale set in the present day. Finally, the movie fails in a big way as, with the little character development that we are given, we are urged to loathe or at the very least not care about most of the characters involved. Either Priyanka or Shahid's characters or both are cast in an unfavorable and somewhat confusing light in each of their various avatars, and, despite being so horrible and with so many issues, their stories just abruptly end in a way that is extremely unsatisfying to the viewer. The two rays of light for this picture are the beautiful Urdu poetry segments and songs and the refreshingly able Prachi Desai who shows in only a few minutes worth of screen time that she has true acting talent. That, however, is not enough. I would strongly recommend passing on this one as it will likely leave you completely unsatisfied.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

An average rom-com!

5/10
Author: Manjul Jani from Mumbai
29 November 2012

The movie was good in parts. The ending was very linear without any ups n downs which makes the climax not as good as the rest.

The 1960 era Mumbai was beautifully recreated with VFX. 1910 era was also fun. 2012 era was OK. Top notch cinematography by Sunil Patel. Some nice dialogs and shayaris by Kunal Kohli. Shahid was awesome as Javeed and Govind. Priyanka was good as Aradhana and Rukhsar. The movie didn't do justice to both their talents. Cool music by Sajid-Wajid. Nice costumes. Overall it was a hard work effort, presentation wise by Kunal Kohli, but unlike Hum Tum and Fanaa, it doesn't connect.

In the end, the movie confuses you whether it gives any message regarding love or its just 3 love stories! Its a feel good one time watch rom-com.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

The inspired concept of a love story happening in 3 different eras simply takes you no-where.

3/10
Author: bobbysing from India
23 August 2012

Kunal Kohli has been associated with 'All Inspired Films" since his first venture & working on the same formula, he once again comes up with a film based on another borrowed idea, this time taken from a Taiwanese film called "Three Times" or "Zui Hao De Shi Guang". Reportedly Imtiaz Ali was also inspired from the same film for making his "Love Aaj Kal". But then he didn't blindly follow it and his script talked about the different eras as part of flashbacks related to his few key characters. Whereas in TERI MERI KAHAANI, Kunal adapts the concept as it is from the original giving it his own Indian touch in the three different eras.

Now where the original deals with 1911, 1966 and 2005, this present version deals with 1910, 1960 and 2012. But this time Kunal really works upon the inspired concept and majorly re-shapes it with his own vision converting it into a marginally interesting one. Honestly, I neither liked the Taiwanese film for its lifeless content nor I really loved the present unclear version of Kunal Kohli. However I would like to mention one big difference here, in the way a story can be conceived by two different directors making it more realistic in their own ways.

In TMK, when the script moves into 1910 we get to see the era depicted by colourful sets, people from different religions, British police officers and freedom fight struggle going on in the country along with few peppy songs. But when the Taiwanese film goes into the year 1911, its narration suddenly becomes mute as a silent movie….Why….because obviously it was an era of silent screen communicating with the audience through the running captions. And that's the difference between the vision of a creative director and a commercial one.

Talking about 3 distinctive love stories happening in 3 different eras in TERI MERI KAHAANI, it basically looks like a direction less project taking you no-where. As it begins with 1960s everything is fine and you enjoy watching the lively era without any major development in the story. But when the same keeps happening in the other two eras too then one becomes restless and starts looking for the basic purpose behind showing all this. In fact till the last 20 minutes of the film, both the viewer and the director remain clueless about what is happening on the screen in a strange manner. And when all the explanations are given in the final reels, one doesn't feel convinced or interested at all in the way it is depicted.

In short, the first era of the 60s remains the best out of the 3, whereas the representation of 1910 remains the weakest. In between these two, the 2012 version of the love story never rises above the average. So, where the initial 40 minutes of the film are refreshing, the rest showcasing the other two time periods simply give you nothing. And in the end, it really makes you think that why on earth Kunal chose this inspired subject when he never knew what he is going to do with it on the screen. The director also remains confused in his re-creation of the past, both in the sequences of 1910 and 1960. For example, he shows a big flex hoarding being displayed in the year 1960 whereas there were only handmade hoardings or multiple-sheet paper posters used in that time for publicity. Moreover, he takes too many liberties in depicting the complex 1910 era when India was still struggling under the British rule. But here the silver lining in the dark is that probably TERI MERI KAHAANI is the first film ever which takes the British rule over India in such a positive and cool manner. And I seriously wish this was done in a more appealing way because it could have actually turned the film into something interesting.

Technically, though it was quite cosmetic in looks but still I enjoyed watching the 1960s graphical representation (Set Designing & Cinematography) on screen and loved the spirit in this particular part of the film. But the same cannot be said about the 1910 era as its recreation was in fact way below the mark and not competent at all. In the performance section, both Shahid and Priyanka frankly had nothing to do in the script except looking good and keep smiling. The story doesn't give them the opportunity to display a wide variety of emotions and they both majorly remain the same throughout the film. Yet TMK can easily be called a Shahid's film more than Priyanka's. The pair does well particularly in the first half of the film but frankly I liked Prachi Desai's small cameo a lot better than Shahid-Priyanka's complete two hour act put together. Neha Sharma is OK looking quite different from her looks in CROOK and Vrajesh Hirjee is as usual fine in his role of a reporter or detective.

In all, the only merit of TERI MERI KAHAANI is its soundtrack which gives you some good foot tapping numbers keeping you engaged in its otherwise uninteresting storyline. Sajid-Wajid can easily include this film in the list of their better works as the duo's music truly remains the only hero in TMK unarguably.

So you can go for it, in case you love watching your favorite actors doing the same routine song-dance-drama on the screen in a feel good script without any basic storyline. It does have some cool, lovable moments in its 3 love stories happening in 3 different eras. But at the same time TERI MERI KAHAANI is also one of those unexplainable films which strongly forces you to think that 'How could a lackluster script of this kind get approved by such renowned and image-conscious Stars of the current times?" or "Do these actors ever read the script on which the film is supposed to be made or not?

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 27 people found the following review useful:

A Nutshell Review: Teri Meri Kahaani

8/10
Author: DICK STEEL from Singapore
23 June 2012

The first thing that sprung to mind when I heard about the premise was that this could be like Hou Hsiao Hsien's Three Times, with three love stories presented in short story style, set in three different eras, and starring the same actor and actress as would be lovebirds. It's the quintessential love story in each of the short films presented, with little narrative links between the tales. And quite unlike a typical Bollywood film, I was surprised when everything came to close in just under 2 hours, succinct and to the point, exploiting the boy-meets-girl- loses-girl formula with success, three times over.

Written and directed by Kunal Kohli who helmed films like Fanaa and Hum Tum, the stories presented were uncomplicated in style and presentation, and is absolutely charming, being an automatic and excellent choice as a date movie. Each story is based on serendipity between the couples, with each chance and debut encounter being nothing short of memorable, developing into something a lot more, before a roadblock gets in the way which curiously almost always being the fault of the guy. And with each cliffhanger comes the hope that everything gets resolved with a fulfilling positive ending, not just because the writing and characterization make us root for the lovers to be together, but that Shahid Kapoor and Priyanka Chopra share this remarkable chemistry opposite each other, that doesn't betray the point tat this is only their second pairing after 2009's Kaminey.

And Teri Meri Kamaani starts off with arguably its best segment set in the 1960s, where impressive CG gets combined with old school styled movie sets to bring out not only a believable blast from the past setting, but to add a unique flavour to the way films in those days get made in studios as well. Rightly apt for this tale is Chopra playing Rukhsar, a movie star who meets Kapoor's Govind onboard a train, sharing a trip to Bombay and then sowing the seeds of what could possibly be a start to an unlikely romantic relationship between someone famous, and an in-between jobs musician. Complicating matters is Govind's neighbour Maahi (Prachi Desai) who got utilized to try and shake off a persistent tabloid journalist, with a cruel twist set into the narrative.

Then we move into London 2012 at Stratford Upon Avon, with Kapoor's Krish having broken up with his girlfriend Meera (Neha Sharma) on his birthday, and began on the wrong footing with the stranger he bumped into, Chopra's Radha, but after a day and night of partying, and a semester of modern day instant messaging flirting and maintaining a long distance relationship of sorts, trouble comes when Meera decides to embarrass Krish online by posting less than flattering private photos of Krish, and for his tit-for-tat action really throwing a spanner into the budding relationship formed with Radha.

1910 Lahore forms the final part of the trio of stories, with Shahid Kapoor playing the Casanova Javed, who uses his charms on unsuspecting women around his village and gains a notorious reputation. Here he chances upon Chopra's Aradhana while escaping from soldiers in colonial India, and amongst the lot, this story dwells a little bit on the political climate of the time, and a more conservative courtship between the lovers. Gone are the fancy song and dance, or modern day conveniences, and in comes poetry which the characters recite in playful repartee, which I'm quite certain the nuances in remarks exchanged were sorely lost in translation.

Tackling multiple roles in a film isn't something new for Priyanka Chopra, having played 12 different characters in What's Your Rashee, and adopting 7 different personas in 7 Khoon Maaf. Once again she showcases her versatility and justifies why she's at the top of the game, and being one of the best Indian actresses amongst her generation, combining glamour and striking poise when they're called for. Aradhana allowed her to showcase a lot of restraint in a more conservative time period, while a more bubbly nature shone through as Radha. Shahid Kapoor does what he does best, and comes to life as Javed, the only character here who had to undergo tremendous transformation, although the other less flashy role of Govind probably served as the more interesting of the three he had to tackle. And together, the Kapoor-Chopra pairing proves to be once again something that probably movie goers will not get enough of.

Kunal Kohli has a winner in his hands, opting for something straight-forward and direct, and having a wonderful cast bringing life to his stories. Perhaps I would have enjoyed it a bit more if the stories are linked more than just thematically, although this may be sticking to the same old formula already done to death by cinemas from around the world. Still, Bollywood has its usual song and dance sequences which work extremely well here, and has technology to thank for in recreating sets of 1960s Bombay that's impressive, with its slight rawness and less than pristine rendering adding to some charm of that era. Highly recommended!

Was the above review useful to you?

The best thing about love stories

9/10
Author: Katrina Rowley from Utah
7 January 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Before I start the review I'm going to share a little about me so that you know where I am coming from. I am an American girl in my twenties who has fallen in love with Bollywood movies. I depend completely on subtitles. The Bollywood I watch is mostly from the 1990s-today. I have now watched 50 of them; believe me, I just finished making the list.

Teri Meri Kahaani immediately became one of my top favorite Bollywood movies. I realize that I am biased. I love the singing and dancing of typical Bollywood movies. I love romantic movies, especially ones with happy endings. Also, I am a huge fan of Shahid and Priyanka, and will watch a movie just to watch them. However, I almost didn't give this one a try because of reviews I read. So I decided to write a review for someone like me.

This movie is exactly what it says it is: 3 love stories. They are from 3 time periods. They are not connected. Although the couple is always played by Shahid and Priyanka, this isn't a movie that emphasizes rebirth. This isn't a deep movie that changes your view of the world. Instead, I believe that this movie is simply trying to show the endless appeal of love stories. If you love a good love story, then you will enjoy this movie.

Now I am going to get a little specific. "HERE THERE MAY BE SPOILERS!" You've been warned.

The modern love story in 2012 is set in Shakespeare's stomping grounds of England by no accident. The Bard knew that people love a good love story. They are timeless, and can be retold in every type of situation whether that is Elizabethan England, our modern age of cell phones and Facebook, or a British occupied India of 1910. No matter where you look, love stories have challenges and happiness. This shows quite clearly when you stick 3 of them together. Individually the 3 love stories in Teri Meri Kahaani might seem weak at the climax when they all are mixed together, but you need to consider the climax of the movie as a whole. These are 3 very different love stories, but we are cheering for all three of them there at the end. And that is what a simple, good love story is all about. That is what Teri Meri Kahaani is all about.

Was the above review useful to you?

Puts a smile on your face when you leave

7/10
Author: eyestoremember from India
7 October 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Since watching it i have heard scores of people for criticizing the movie for not being too original and having a bad screenplay and frankly i had enough. I myself am a writer and saw not that big of a loopholes and last of all the movie managed to put a smile on a face and after a long time i was really happy on seeing a film just like my friend. I agree the effort on Priyanka's part appears half hearted in some scenes as compared to the really honest performance from Shahid though i agree the script needed some push in the 2012 era but still onus should be given for the twist in the second half... The background music in some scenes should have been better and the scene in the bar where Shahid and his ex keep posting embarrassing pictures of each other is really the attention catcher and a indication of how social networking can harm your reputation in seconds. Though the pace could have been a bit faster but only in rare parts you feel this need.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings External reviews Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history